1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. Scenic Jasper
The water levels are low in Europe and itinerary disruptions are not the fault of Scenic, however what was controllable by Scenic was not well done for the most part. To Scenic's credit, tour director Richard worked his heart out to try and make the trip enjoyable for all and they are lucky to have him. The cabin was as advertised, small but comfortable. For anyone sailing in fall, skip these ships with the glassed in porch. You lose room and seldom open the windows, especially with all the flies in Passau! Dining was dreadful with food that was poorly prepared or of such small quantity that it became a subject of conversation amongst passengers. Even the specialty restaurant was not as good as the dining room on an Oceania ship. The dining room service was dodgy at best. Getting a second cup of coffee in the morning was near impossible and at supper the service looked like a fire drill with staff running here and there. Put this down to lack of staff. The excursions from day 3 to day 7 were as advertised. The endless bus trips the rest of the days did not make for great outings. e.g. Two hours in Regensburg instead of a day. To sum up, Scenic has very nice brochures but is very poor at delivering on the promise.

Not up to expectations

Scenic Jasper Cruise Review by MP at sea

3 people found this helpful
Trip Details
The water levels are low in Europe and itinerary disruptions are not the fault of Scenic, however what was controllable by Scenic was not well done for the most part. To Scenic's credit, tour director Richard worked his heart out to try and make the trip enjoyable for all and they are lucky to have him.

The cabin was as advertised, small but comfortable. For anyone sailing in fall, skip these ships with the glassed in porch. You lose room and seldom open the windows, especially with all the flies in Passau!

Dining was dreadful with food that was poorly prepared or of such small quantity that it became a subject of conversation amongst passengers. Even the specialty restaurant was not as good as the dining room on an Oceania ship.

The dining room service was dodgy at best. Getting a second cup of coffee in the morning was near impossible and at supper the service looked like a fire drill with staff running here and there. Put this down to lack of staff.

The excursions from day 3 to day 7 were as advertised. The endless bus trips the rest of the days did not make for great outings. e.g. Two hours in Regensburg instead of a day.

To sum up, Scenic has very nice brochures but is very poor at delivering on the promise.
, The Scenic Team has responded
Dear MP at sea, Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that this wasn't the cruise you were hoping for in regards to the poor food and service. The quality you mention isn't the usual high quality that we provide and I have passed your feedback onto our team to address further. We are pleased to hear though that our Tour Director Richard made your trip an enjoyable one. Best regards, The Scenic Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of The Independent Traveler, Inc.
MP at sea’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Scenic Jasper price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email
By proceeding, you agree to Cruise Critic’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.