• TRAVEL NOTICE: Learn more about COVID-19
  • Write a Review
  • Boards
  • Log In
  • Find a Cruise
  • Deals
  • Excursions
  • More

Viking Tor Review

4.0 / 5.0
Editor Rating
141 reviews

Expensive Bus Tour

Review for Viking Tor to Europe River
User Avatar
xamaliadx
6-10 Cruises • Age 60s

Rating by category

Additional details

Sail Date: Oct 2018
Cabin:

We just got back from the Romantic Danube Cruise that turned into a partial bus tour. We were supposed to sail on the Var, but instead we went on the Tor, Wilhelm and another ship I can't remember. That's right...three different ships, two days of four hour bus trips, and sailed through the Wachau Valley at night. The first two days went fine from Nuremberg to Regensberg. After that, it was grueling. Many of the optional tours were canceled, and our time was very limited in Vienna and Budapest. The last night was on a ship in Budapest with service practically non-existent. The scheduled entertainer wasn't even there. The cruise should have been canceled, rather than subjecting us to packing and unpacking, climbing on and off buses, and having to get up at the crack of dawn to be ready to go. I felt sorry for some of those people who had a hard time getting around. The last day, we helped a man get down a steep ramp to the ship, as there were no crew members around to assist. The offer of 25% off on another cruise is an insult, as I doubt very much that I'd go on another Viking cruise. The trip was not at all what they advertise and we and many others were extremely disappointed.

Response from VikingS, Community Team

Thank you, xamaliadx, for taking the time to share your recent Viking experience with the cruising community. We recognize that you are one of the many affected by the itinerary changes...

10 Helpful Votes

Find a Viking Tor Cruise from $1,999

Want to cruise smarter?
Get expert advice, insider tips and more.
By proceeding, you agree to Cruise Critic’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.