1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. Viking Lif
Double Caution. We travelled between Bucharest and Budapest in September 2017. There is no point criticising the ship as crews change so often that the complete atmosphere changes. The Viking organisation needs reassessment but it appears that ships are reluctant to pass feed-back to head office. We thought the food was bland (other than a great breakfast). We managed to get our concerns addressed through our travel agent as Viking did not respond to the survey tick of them contacting us directly. Our answer to the food comment was that Head Office stipulates the menu!! (And the way the food is cooked and presented??) I have read this before - no feed-back to head office but "that is the way it is done" attitude. That attitude was prevalent throughout the cruise, when it was raining no-one brought umbrellas to those waiting to board even though they were available on the ship. Other cruise lines do this. Viking does not provide what it advertises but is average and enjoyable at that level of expectation. (We were expecting what was advertised.) There are not quiet areas for a drink and chat as our tour director took all the time before dinner and much of after dinner, in the lounge telling us of the next days excursions, with slides, so the next day was only a repeat, by the local guides, of what he told us. A waste of time and a waste of space. My first caution. Realise that if you book directly with Viking and change your mind, in any way, you lose your deposit. It is lost from the moment your cruise is confirmed. Use a travel agent. Also without previous notification, when you receive your tickets, you find that Viking absolves itself from any damage to your baggage, etc, even if caused by its staff. Second caution. This is a boring area of the Danube. There is only one stop along that route where you can actually get off the ship and walk to a town. The other stops are at industrial loading areas (which are not working) so our advice is, unless you particularly want to see the old Communist countries, pick any other cruise in Europe, such as Budapest to Amsterdam. We feel that Viking missed the point especially on this cruise. While there was no opportunity for free time exploring and long bus trips for excursions, Viking could have made this trip memorable by emphasising the food (and reducing the time that the tour director took in the relaxing areas). Hope this helps

Double caution

Viking Lif Cruise Review by Schroeder1

1 person found this helpful
Trip Details
Double Caution. We travelled between Bucharest and Budapest in September 2017. There is no point criticising the ship as crews change so often that the complete atmosphere changes. The Viking organisation needs reassessment but it appears that ships are reluctant to pass feed-back to head office. We thought the food was bland (other than a great breakfast). We managed to get our concerns addressed through our travel agent as Viking did not respond to the survey tick of them contacting us directly. Our answer to the food comment was that Head Office stipulates the menu!! (And the way the food is cooked and presented??) I have read this before - no feed-back to head office but "that is the way it is done" attitude.

That attitude was prevalent throughout the cruise, when it was raining no-one brought umbrellas to those waiting to board even though they were available on the ship. Other cruise lines do this. Viking does not provide what it advertises but is average and enjoyable at that level of expectation. (We were expecting what was advertised.)

There are not quiet areas for a drink and chat as our tour director took all the time before dinner and much of after dinner, in the lounge telling us of the next days excursions, with slides, so the next day was only a repeat, by the local guides, of what he told us. A waste of time and a waste of space.

My first caution. Realise that if you book directly with Viking and change your mind, in any way, you lose your deposit. It is lost from the moment your cruise is confirmed. Use a travel agent. Also without previous notification, when you receive your tickets, you find that Viking absolves itself from any damage to your baggage, etc, even if caused by its staff.

Second caution. This is a boring area of the Danube. There is only one stop along that route where you can actually get off the ship and walk to a town. The other stops are at industrial loading areas (which are not working) so our advice is, unless you particularly want to see the old Communist countries, pick any other cruise in Europe, such as Budapest to Amsterdam.

We feel that Viking missed the point especially on this cruise. While there was no opportunity for free time exploring and long bus trips for excursions, Viking could have made this trip memorable by emphasising the food (and reducing the time that the tour director took in the relaxing areas). Hope this helps
Viking Cruises, Community Team has responded
Dear Schroeder1, Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed overview of your experiences aboard Viking Lif. Understanding and addressing feedback from our guests is one of our top priorities, so we appreciate you sharing your comments here with the Cruise Critic community and allowing us the opportunity to address your concerns. Although we are disappointed to learn that you were dissatisfied with your cruise route as well as your experiences with our staff and crew, we do want to assure you that your feedback has been recorded and will be addressed. The level of service that you have described is certainly disappointing and not the level of service we strive to deliver to our guests. Schroeder1, if you would kindly send your contact and booking information to TellUs@vikingcruises.com, we would appreciate the opportunity to put you in touch with one of our experienced Customer Relations agents so that we may better understand your concerns and how we could have made this a more enjoyable journey for you. We hope to hear from you through that outlet, Schroeder1, and wish you a wonderful day in the meantime. Sincerely, Viking Cruises
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of The Independent Traveler, Inc.
Schroeder1’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Service
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Viking Lif price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email

Cabin Review

Cabin 223
We had a balcony but a French balcony it almost as good. Cabins were excellent and the cabin staff extremely efficient,
  Viking Lif Deck Plans