1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. Seven Seas Mariner
For many years we wanted to take this cruise; finally the timing was perfect. However, we did not expect to be disappointed on so many levels. We have sailed on all the Regent ships other than the newest one and only had 10+ experiences; this time was different. The ship is beautifully appointed and the cabin as perfect as usual. However, the staff did not meet expectations, not did the choices of dining. La Veranda no longer has buffet dinner as an option; many nights we had a 1/2 hour to 45 minute wait to be seated for dinner and one half of one of dining rooms was not used for anything. The quality of food was still exceptional. When it came to excursions, we were wait listed and never got on to two excursions. One of the reasons we chose Regent was because the excursions are included. If there is not enough room for the guests, the included excursions become a moot point! Needless to say, we were very disappointed.Two destinations were worthless. There was very little to choose from in Saguenay, and Charlottetown, where we were wait listed for a carriage ride offtered us nothing other than a tour of "Anne of Green Gables" house, which was a wasted few hours. We were also wait listed for a carriage ride in Quebec City and wound up walking around on our own (although the cost of the Regent cruise includes excursions, we were not renumerated for the excurions). We should have stayed an extra day in Boston where this is much to see. The staff at reception and destinations were less than friendly. We did not feel welcomed with a smile and felt as though we were bothering them with simple questions. Friends whom we convinced to sail with us on their first Regent cruise (they were Princess and Celebrity sailors), did not have past Regent cruises to compare, but they were surprised that the choice of dining rooms and extracurriculars (such as art classes, cooking classes, daytime activities) were not available. We were sorry we asked them to join us and are a bit embarrassed we raved about Regent.

Not up to Regent standard

Seven Seas Mariner Cruise Review by JanieJanie

95 people found this helpful
Trip Details
For many years we wanted to take this cruise; finally the timing was perfect. However, we did not expect to be disappointed on so many levels. We have sailed on all the Regent ships other than the newest one and only had 10+ experiences; this time was different. The ship is beautifully appointed and the cabin as perfect as usual. However, the staff did not meet expectations, not did the choices of dining. La Veranda no longer has buffet dinner as an option; many nights we had a 1/2 hour to 45 minute wait to be seated for dinner and one half of one of dining rooms was not used for anything. The quality of food was still exceptional.

When it came to excursions, we were wait listed and never got on to two excursions. One of the reasons we chose Regent was because the excursions are included. If there is not enough room for the guests, the included excursions become a moot point! Needless to say, we were very disappointed.Two destinations were worthless. There was very little to choose from in Saguenay, and Charlottetown, where we were wait listed for a carriage ride offtered us nothing other than a tour of "Anne of Green Gables" house, which was a wasted few hours. We were also wait listed for a carriage ride in Quebec City and wound up walking around on our own (although the cost of the Regent cruise includes excursions, we were not renumerated for the excurions). We should have stayed an extra day in Boston where this is much to see.

The staff at reception and destinations were less than friendly. We did not feel welcomed with a smile and felt as though we were bothering them with simple questions.

Friends whom we convinced to sail with us on their first Regent cruise (they were Princess and Celebrity sailors), did not have past Regent cruises to compare, but they were surprised that the choice of dining rooms and extracurriculars (such as art classes, cooking classes, daytime activities) were not available. We were sorry we asked them to join us and are a bit embarrassed we raved about Regent.
JanieJanie’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Fitness & Recreation
Shore Excursions
Service
Onboard Experience
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Seven Seas Mariner price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email

Cabin Review

Seven Seas Suite
Cabin SS 823
excellent service, lovely room with nice amenities
Deck 10 Suite Cabins