Their are several reasons not to cruise with Oceania, especially on the Riveria. 1. Multiple norovirus outbreaks, 3 outbreaks since Dec. 2015. The latest one on March 20th. This is shortly after the massive CDC supervised cleaning that the ship underwent following the Feb. 12 outbreak. There is obviously a problem with the cleaning procedures on Riveria. Yes passengers or crew can bring the norovirus onto the ship, but that is true for all cruise lines, so why has the Riveria not been able to protect you as their guest from contracting this virus. See CDC website for the history of outbreaks on this ship and others. From now on this is the first website I check before picking a cruise ship. The second is Cruise Critic. 2. Very poor management response to these problems. We were on the cruise following the 2/12 outbreak. We were given no warning about the science experiment cruise we were to embark on. Oceania knew that crew was to be conscripted into cleaning chores versus providing the Exceptional Service that was promised in their brochures. The first three days were filled with chaos in the dining venues and stress filled ventures around the ship watching the crew apply massive amounts of disinfectant all over everything and I mean everything. Not relaxing. 3. No ships officers were seen during all this madness and management never acknowledged until the day before we arrived home that there many problems with service. They threw us a bone by offering a free drink. 4. The ethical way to have handled this situation would have been to contact the passengers before the cruise of (2/22 )since management knew at least 5 days before that the norovirus outbreak had occurred and offer us the option of not taking this cruise with a full refund since they could not guarantee that we would not be exposed to the norovirus. Or state that we would be sailing on a voyage that was less than promised in service and amenities and if we chose to take that chance offer a discount or not, but give the passengers a heads up. 5. Be aware that Oceania's response, if you are caught in one of the nightmare cruises, is I quote from a letter I received from Guest Relations "not a matter for which we can extend any form of compensation" even though they acknowledge that the circumstances on ship "was challenging for all involved". So to summarize Riveria has a history of Norvirsus outbreaks, Oceania has a poor response to this problem both in keeping you safe and in guest relations. Finally, when asked to compensate you as a passenger for less than what was promised even though they knew there would be problems on your cruise, their response is DECLINED, but come back and sail with us again. Fat chance of that Oceania.

JUST SAY NO TO OCEANIA RIVERIA AND THEIR NOROVIRUS ITINERARY

Riviera Cruise Review by Zebra2

43 people found this helpful
Trip Details
  • Sail Date: February 2016
  • Destination: Bahamas
  • Cabin Type: Penthouse Suite
Their are several reasons not to cruise with Oceania, especially on the Riveria.

1. Multiple norovirus outbreaks, 3 outbreaks since Dec. 2015. The latest one on March 20th.

This is shortly after the massive CDC supervised cleaning that the ship underwent following the Feb. 12 outbreak. There is obviously a problem with the cleaning procedures on Riveria.

Yes passengers or crew can bring the norovirus onto the ship, but that is true for all cruise lines, so why has the Riveria not been able to protect you as their guest from contracting this virus. See CDC website for the history of outbreaks on this ship and others. From now on this is the first website I check before picking a cruise ship. The second is Cruise Critic.

2. Very poor management response to these problems. We were on the cruise following the 2/12 outbreak. We were given no warning about the science experiment cruise we were to embark on. Oceania knew that crew was to be conscripted into cleaning chores versus providing the Exceptional Service that was promised in their brochures. The first three days were filled with chaos in the dining venues and stress filled ventures around the ship watching the crew apply massive amounts of disinfectant all over everything and I mean everything. Not relaxing.

3. No ships officers were seen during all this madness and management never acknowledged until the day before we arrived home that there many problems with service. They threw us a bone by offering a free drink.

4. The ethical way to have handled this situation would have been to contact the passengers before the cruise of (2/22 )since management knew at least 5 days before that the norovirus outbreak had occurred and offer us the option of not taking this cruise with a full refund since they could not guarantee that we would not be exposed to the norovirus. Or state that we would be sailing on a voyage that was less than promised in service and amenities and if we chose to take that chance offer a discount or not, but give the passengers a heads up.

5. Be aware that Oceania's response, if you are caught in one of the nightmare cruises, is I quote from a letter I received from Guest Relations "not a matter for which we can extend any form of compensation" even though they acknowledge that the circumstances on ship "was challenging for all involved".

So to summarize Riveria has a history of Norvirsus outbreaks, Oceania has a poor response to this problem both in keeping you safe and in guest relations. Finally, when asked to compensate you as a passenger for less than what was promised even though they knew there would be problems on your cruise, their response is DECLINED, but come back and sail with us again. Fat chance of that Oceania.
Zebra2’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Fitness & Recreation
Shore Excursions
Service
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Oceania Riviera price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email

Cabin Review

Penthouse Suite
Cabin PH3 7135
This cabin was the best thing about our cruise. It was roomy and very well appointed with draws to put your clothes away and a fairly good size closet. The bathroom was a good size also with lots of storage as well. Our cabin attendants were wonderful. I think out butler did a good job under the circumstances, he was conscripted into the cleaning effort and was not available to help unpack. He did try during cruise to make sure we comfortable. Since dining lunch venues were so chaotic we spend the second day in our room and on our verandah to destress.
Deck 10 Inside Cabins, Balcony Cabins, Suite Cabins