1. Home
  2. Cruise Reviews
  3. Celestyal Majesty
First off I must say that the itinery was amazing, great ports and places to visit, Corfu, Koper Slovenia, Venice, Zadar Croatia, Dubrovnik Croatia, Kotor Montenegro and Corfu. We have been previously on the Celebration and expected similar standards, this was not the case, we paid for and outside room and paid extra to reserve the room as we wanted a double bed and not singles. A big mistake, this room was tiny and with no room to swing a cat about half the size as the same standard of room on the Celebration. In comparison the basic inside rooms which were substantially cheaper were a much better size. Again on the Celebration if you went to the different restaurants you found different foods, but on the Majesty no matter where you went the menu was the same in the Waiter Service and the Buffet restaurant, what is the point of that. Something also very disappointing was the service in the Waiter service restaurants, we prefer those as they add to the occasion and make you feel more special. They are supposed to be open sitting and no booking, however by the 5th night of the cruise, I observed that many people in the Seven Seas restaurants had indeed been able to reserve the same table with the same waiters every night and to add insult to injury on this night (the baked Alaska night) anyone sitting who had done this got free chocolates and flowers from the waiters. We followed the rules and sat where we were placed every night, I thought we had been forgotten so when I asked why I didn't get flowers or we didn't get chocolates, we were told they were just for those who sal at the same table every night, this is appalling and I made a complaint and spoke to the most senior manager, they did not seem to get how awful this is, you are either bookings or open sitting and do not give flowers to special customers, we all pay the same and you can not treat some of your customers like second class customers, give everyone flowers or no one flowers. In the end they had a meeting and offered us a bottle of wine, which we turned down as we were on a drinks package anyway and I did not feel that I wanted to return to the restaurant again after that, we finished off the cruise in the buffet restaurant, good food, but not that special service. I have had no further feedback about this, Thomson sort this out, we will not be back on the Majesty due to this, we were not the only people to raise this. Another point, 6 weeks before we left we were informed that dock in Venice was changed and the boat had to dock in Chioggia, 2 hours transfer from Venice, we booked for the Murano/Burano/St Marks trip and it was a shambles, we had the furthest journey on the slowest boat, we had 40 mins in Murano, 90 mins in Burano and just 40 mins in St Marks. I complained about this and have had no reply from Thomson whatsoever. The 3 stops would work if you were in Venice but not when you are 2 hours away. It would have been better to have cut St Marks out and have given us more time in Murano and Burano which were beautiful but rushed and there is not a lot you can do in Venice in 40 mins, we lost loads of time just trying to dock our the trip boat at each port. It was a very frustrating day and I am also cross that Thomson have not got back to me. However, I must emphasise that this itinery was amazing,we loved the ports of call. The Housekeeping and Bar staff were all amazing and made up for the poor waiter service.

Not the Best Thomson Ship

Celestyal Majesty Cruise Review by Christinejtanner

Trip Details
First off I must say that the itinery was amazing, great ports and places to visit, Corfu, Koper Slovenia, Venice, Zadar Croatia, Dubrovnik Croatia, Kotor Montenegro and Corfu.
We have been previously on the Celebration and expected similar standards, this was not the case, we paid for and outside room and paid extra to reserve the room as we wanted a double bed and not singles. A big mistake, this room was tiny and with no room to swing a cat about half the size as the same standard of room on the Celebration. In comparison the basic inside rooms which were substantially cheaper were a much better size. Again on the Celebration if you went to the different restaurants you found different foods, but on the Majesty no matter where you went the menu was the same in the Waiter Service and the Buffet restaurant, what is the point of that.
Something also very disappointing was the service in the Waiter service restaurants, we prefer those as they add to the occasion and make you feel more special. They are supposed to be open sitting and no booking, however by the 5th night of the cruise, I observed that many people in the Seven Seas restaurants had indeed been able to reserve the same table with the same waiters every night and to add insult to injury on this night (the baked Alaska night) anyone sitting who had done this got free chocolates and flowers from the waiters. We followed the rules and sat where we were placed every night, I thought we had been forgotten so when I asked why I didn't get flowers or we didn't get chocolates, we were told they were just for those who sal at the same table every night, this is appalling and I made a complaint and spoke to the most senior manager, they did not seem to get how awful this is, you are either bookings or open sitting and do not give flowers to special customers, we all pay the same and you can not treat some of your customers like second class customers, give everyone flowers or no one flowers. In the end they had a meeting and offered us a bottle of wine, which we turned down as we were on a drinks package anyway and I did not feel that I wanted to return to the restaurant again after that, we finished off the cruise in the buffet restaurant, good food, but not that special service.
I have had no further feedback about this, Thomson sort this out, we will not be back on the Majesty due to this, we were not the only people to raise this.
Another point, 6 weeks before we left we were informed that dock in Venice was changed and the boat had to dock in Chioggia, 2 hours transfer from Venice, we booked for the Murano/Burano/St Marks trip and it was a shambles, we had the furthest journey on the slowest boat, we had 40 mins in Murano, 90 mins in Burano and just 40 mins in St Marks. I complained about this and have had no reply from Thomson whatsoever. The 3 stops would work if you were in Venice but not when you are 2 hours away. It would have been better to have cut St Marks out and have given us more time in Murano and Burano which were beautiful but rushed and there is not a lot you can do in Venice in 40 mins, we lost loads of time just trying to dock our the trip boat at each port. It was a very frustrating day and I am also cross that Thomson have not got back to me.
However, I must emphasise that this itinery was amazing,we loved the ports of call. The Housekeeping and Bar staff were all amazing and made up for the poor waiter service.
Christinejtanner’s Full Rating Summary
Enrichment Activities
Value For Money
Embarkation
Dining
Public Rooms
Entertainment
Cabin
Fitness & Recreation
Shore Excursions
Service
Free Price Drop Alerts
Get Celestyal Majesty price drops
250,000+ people have entered their email
By proceeding, you agree to Cruise Critic’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Cabin Review

Cabin 418
Very disappointing, no room to swing a cat and so small I did not take a photo out of embarrassment. No way I would show that room to my friends. Think about rooms with single beds or even give up the view to get more space

Port & Shore Excursion Reviews

  • Cavtat Walking Tour
    Great trip, pretty seaside and I would definitely like to go here for a holiday
    View All 29 Cavtat Walking Tour Reviews
  • Walking Tour
    What can you say and amazing fairytale city. We went to Cavat and Dubrovnik we did the tour so we could learn more and there is so much to see. I could have spent so much more time there. One of the prettiest places ever, I will definitely go back
    View All 62 Walking Tour Reviews
  • Kotor
    Our favourite, the most amazing fairytale place, winding streets, a great walk to the fortress and what views back over the harbour and surrounding mountains. We loved Kotor and again would go back, it looked so small but there is so much to do and the views as you sail out of Kotor are fabulous
    View All 736 Kotor Cruise Port Reviews
    View Cruise Critic's Kotor Cruise Port Review
  • Burano Island
    A rushed trip to Murano, Burano and St Marks, no time anywhere with quality have given feedback to Thomson and no reply so far. Murano and Burano are beautiful and deserve more time to see them
    View All 36 Burano Island Reviews
  • Zadar
    A beautiful port, very historical and loads to see. Again no need to do a excursion it's simple to do, great bars, loads to do and see, from walking the city walls, the roman ruins or the coastal walk a lovely stop
    View All 105 Zadar Cruise Port Reviews
    View Cruise Critic's Zadar Cruise Port Review