1. Home
  2. Cruise Lines
  3. Seabourn Legend Review
  4. Seabourn Legend Cruise Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2015

We decided to take one of the last of the 'Legend' cruises. Embarked in Barbados. Got to ship around noon, promply checked in and sat in the lounge until 1:30p.m. We enjoyed free flowing champagne and snacks until our suite was ready ... Read More

We decided to take one of the last of the 'Legend' cruises. Embarked in Barbados. Got to ship around noon, promply checked in and sat in the lounge until 1:30p.m. We enjoyed free flowing champagne and snacks until our suite was ready and then escorted to our quarters. Once we got to our suite, another chilled bottle of champagne awaited us. Our suite was nice, clean and well laid out. Walk-in closet, decent sized lavatory, etc. Our only problem was the thermostat which was stuck. Maintenance tried their best to fix the problem.

Our ports were small islands. Stopped in Gaudelupe, Dominica, Antigua and Prickly Pear. Not much to see on these islands, however our reason for the cruise was just to relax onboard and catch some nice sun.

The food and service were amazing on this ship. The food was outstanding, even the lunch buffet in the Verandah. This was our fourth Seabourn cruise and with each one, we feel like the service continues to be better than the cruise before. The cruiseline must be doing something right because every person we came into contact with was smiling and usually knew our name. The staff seemed to know our routine of caviar and champagne each day in our suite. I thought we'd be bored on such a small ship, however it was quite the opposite. Entertainment was good and especially the Spanish guitar by Clark Berger. We bought his CD and listen to it quite often at home.

The real treat of our trip was a 'marina day' at Prickley Pear island. The ship tendered people ashore and served barbecued lobster, chicken, etc. The staff served caviar and champagne 'in the surf' which was so special. In the background a recording of Phil Collins singing 'Another Day in Paradise' played which made it ever so magical. I'll never forget that day.

The worst of our trip was having to leave the ship at the end of the cruise and head back to Miami. So sad! We asked several of the crew where they were headed once the Legend was out of the fleet and many of them didn't know. I sure hope that Seabourn can use them in another ship or else find them a good contract because the staff were all excellent. We've already booked two additional Seabourn cruises. Cannot wait!

Read Less
10 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: November 2014

I have sailed previously on Royal Caribbean and Carnival since I had children and those lines were great for that purpose. My husband and I wanted to do something special for our 10 year anniversary so we booked with Seabourn. I regret ... Read More

I have sailed previously on Royal Caribbean and Carnival since I had children and those lines were great for that purpose. My husband and I wanted to do something special for our 10 year anniversary so we booked with Seabourn. I regret that we had not done this before since these small ships will be going to Windstar. Even though they will be the same ship I can't imagine that they could match the luxury we experienced.

We arrived at the St. Maarten cruise port very early and wondered how we were going to deal with our luggage as we wanted to go into town. There were people there that took our luggage and locked it up, we then took a cab into town.

When we got on the ship we were treated with Champagne and a small buffet then quickly shown to our room where a bottle of cold champagne was awaiting. Our Steward came and asked what type of soap we desired and I chose my favorite from L'Occitane! The min bar was well stocked and had our requested liquors.

I was worried as we had the least desirable room on the boat, cabin 103. It was important to me that I have a bathtub so this is what we ended up with as we were in the GTY category. I had no problem with this cabin, I never felt cramped. This cabin may not be for everyone as you really feel the motion however, we have a sailboat and are used to the movement, so no issue for us. This cabin has a window that is deep and I would put pillows in it and sit, had a great forward view! The cabin was quiet, the bed comfortable. We do take white noise with us so we rarely hear anything at night. We were also right by the self serve laundry which we used over the two weeks, it was nice to be so close.

The food was excellent we preferred to eat in Restaurant 2 as we like to be outdoors no matter the weather.

One of the great things about this boat is that you meet most everyone on board. There were people from all over, most were Europeans and Canadians, fewer Americans. The drinks were great. Food choice was wonderful.

The service was perfect for the most part, there were 2 times we had an issue with room service. Room service was great, I saw many people having glasses of champagne and caviar delivered in the afternoon.

The problem I saw with service was during the afternoon tea, they would put out sandwiches which were done in 2 minutes and nothing more put out for 30 minutes.

There were never any lines or waits, everything was low key, the entertainment was great, I really enjoyed the music provided by Judy and David along with all the others! Liars club was hysterical!

My only suggestion is make your own shore arrangements the excursions offer by the line are limited and not the best options. We did put down a deposit for another trip, can't wait to travel with Seabourn again!

 

Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2014

This was our second Seabourn cruise and we loved it more than the first. We were somewhat apprehensive about sailing on the Legend because of it's size, age, etc., however we enjoyed every minute. The staff went to great lengths to make ... Read More

This was our second Seabourn cruise and we loved it more than the first. We were somewhat apprehensive about sailing on the Legend because of it's size, age, etc., however we enjoyed every minute. The staff went to great lengths to make sure our cruise vacation was perfect. We met so many people on board that were loyal Seabourn cruisers and even ones that were celebrating over 450 cruising days with the line.

Our boarding in Athens was easy. No lines to check in. We were ushered onto the boat to the lounge and then escorted individually to our suite. As I understand the Legend was the oldest ship in the fleet, however it was well maintained. Our suite had a walk-in closet, full bath with tub/shower, plenty of storage, etc.

The food onboard the Legend was outstanding. We never made it to the dining room for breakfast or lunch, however it was the only choice of an evening, unless you wanted the full meal delivered to your suite. The Verandah was open each day for lunch when we were in port and the buffet had a different theme each day. We especially enjoyed the English and Spanish themes. The paella was out of this world. There was never a problem of getting a table for two in the dining room. The menu had a good variety of options, all of which were excellent.

Every day we had champagne and caviar delivered to our suite, at no extra charge. If you are looking for a variety of entertainment at night, this would not be the cruise for you. In general, the entertainment consisted of the cruise director and his assistant doing a show production. One evening a British comedian performed, which was nice.

In summary, we will book future cruises with Seabourn. They have spoiled us from sailing other lines, including Crystal, Cunard, Azamara, etc. Wonderful cruise!

Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2014

We have sailed on the larger ships of Cunard,Celebrity and RCI. However this is the first time we have sailed on both Seabourn and a ship that has only 200 passengers.

We were apprehensive about what to expect but as soon as we ... Read More

We have sailed on the larger ships of Cunard,Celebrity and RCI. However this is the first time we have sailed on both Seabourn and a ship that has only 200 passengers.

We were apprehensive about what to expect but as soon as we arrived we were escorted on board by friendly crew to the lounge to complete our ship formalities whilst being offered canapes and champagne. After a short wait the cabins were ready. We were allocated cabin 225 a very spacious ocean view cabin with a large bathroom with shower only. This was an adjoining cabin used for families but saying that we did not hear the next door neighbours apart from the odd telephone ring.The cabin had the usual complimentary luxurys you would expect, fluffy dressing gowns and slippers,Molten Brown toiletries and a welcoming bottle of iced champagne. On other cruise lines we usually bring two bottles of wine onboard to have in our cabin during the cruise however this is not necessary on Seabourn as your choice of beverages is already waitting in your cabin.

This was a 12 night cruise and only one formal night where all men were expected to wear black tie or at least a dark suit, ladies did not over dress like on the larger cruise ships. On all other nights if you were eating in the main dinning room men were required to wear a jacket otherwise no entry was permitted. If you forget to take a jacket one can be provided free of charge by housekeeping and a selection are kept at the restaurant entrance. The cafe Veranda which doubles up as an night time alternative is more relaxed and jacket is not required. However reservations are required to eat in here and it appears that you are only permitted to eat on two occasions otherwise you will be weight listed.

All food and beverages from soft drinks, alcohol and hot drinks are freely flowing, large measures and complimentary unless you want to choice wine off an expensive wine list. The wine we received was excellant and changed nightly depending on the course. Although you could ask for an alternative wine that had previously been served. The food was outstanding and menus varied . There was never a meal that we did not throughly enjoy unlike on some larger cruise ships were the food becomes very bland and uninteresting on occasions.

Another pleasant surprise with Seabourn is that free shuttles are provided to the towns if the ship is not docked within a short walking distance.

The service we received was excellant and most crew knew our names by day 2. The service tips is included in the overall price of the cruise and without exception the crew did a great job. The same waiting crew seemed to rotate between venues so that some days the lounge crew were the same as the waiting staff in the main dining room.

Seabourn is expensive but by the time you consider that the prices includes service, 5 star accomodation and food. Free flowing alcohol, nightly first class entertainment and often coach shuttles then it is good value.

The passenger profile was 50 % USA with the rest of passengers from UK, Europe and Australia and NZ.

Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: May 2014

This was our second Seabourn cruise so that is what we are comparing it to.

Pro- Fabulous food in main dining room. Every meal there was outstanding.

Excellent staff in both cabins and restaurants.

Rooms were ... Read More

This was our second Seabourn cruise so that is what we are comparing it to.

Pro- Fabulous food in main dining room. Every meal there was outstanding.

Excellent staff in both cabins and restaurants.

Rooms were excellent- we were on level 4

Captain did superb job in rough seas.

Ports of call were interesting and fun and geautiful.

Cons- this is very much nit picking but the staff pushed the wine selection at lunch and dinner when we told them we were " no alcohol". They did have alcohol free champagne in our suite which was a positive. On our last cruise the wait staff remembered our drink preferences but not this time.

This is a bigger "con"- the ship had plumbing problems. While our suite had slow drains that were fixed immediately our friends actually had waste Water back up from their toilet flooding their bathroom. It too 2 days to fix and to date, they have not received an apology or comment let alone credit for this. I Would have expected a cruise line of this caliber to be " all over" this . As we disembarked in Barcelona many people were complaining about no hot water, however we had no problem in our suite.

Another negative was that the people on board with info about each port ( the local people they hired) were not so well informed as they should be about the port town.

Food in Restaurant 2 - The Veranda- was not very good on the night we ate there. We ended up doing dessert and coffee in the main dining room. breakfast and lunch was excellent.

Wifi was awful.

Bottom line- will we cruise again on Seabourn? Absolutely! But not on one of the Ships they sold to Windstar, as this one was. We are looking forward to trying one Of the newer ships.

 

Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2014

After disembarking in Hong Kong this morning from a fortnight of sincere pleasure on the Seabourn Legend, one has to ask, “how can our life possibly return to normal after we have just experienced one of life’s most amazing ... Read More

After disembarking in Hong Kong this morning from a fortnight of sincere pleasure on the Seabourn Legend, one has to ask, “how can our life possibly return to normal after we have just experienced one of life’s most amazing experiences?”

Our cruise started in Singapore on the 6th of January 2014 and unfortunately finished in Hong Kong today, the 20th of Jan 2013.

This was a very special cruise for us as we were about to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary cruising through Ha Long Bay off the Vietnamese Coast and one that was planned well in advance.

As per most on board, we arrived at our embarkation port of Singapore a day prior to our journey and booked into the Shangri-la Hotel in Orange Grove Rd.

The day of embarkation, we decided to take our time and enjoy the Hotel and it’s sublime offerings and then taxi to the port at around 1:30pm for a 2pm boarding. It was like checking into the “First Class” counter whilst the passengers that were boarding the larger Cruises were not as lucky!

We were greeted by Filipe Pereira (Maître D’ Hotel) as we checked in and to our astonishment he had recorded our request for an Anniversary Dinner on the night of the 18th (our anniversary) that I had emailed the offices of Seabourn in Seattle some weeks prior.

Upon entering our Suite (316) we realized that for the next two weeks this felt like our second home! We unpacked knowing that there was ample room to relax and unwind. We were then welcomed in our suite by Kitty (our housekeeper) who then advised us that anything we wanted we could get and to that end displayed perfumed Soaps for us to choose and confirmed with us our wine and beer selections so that she could complete the Bar Fridge for our journey. She also politely advised us if we wanted to arrange for refills, just call room service. So far, so good I thought with a huge WOW!!!

Our first night at dinner in The Restaurant was sensational, and it was there that Filipe introduced us to Neal Anthony Breen (Chef de Cuisine) to decide on what we wanted on the menu for our special night. We chose dishes that only equaled that of a 5 or 6 Star establishment, like Lobster Thermidore, Beef Wellington etc, etc and the entire night was something that we will remember forever.

The Wine Sommeliers’ (Tehanna and Duncan) in both Restaurants excelled with their knowledge of globally produced Wines. We were not disappointed once with the quality and selection on board, simply top class.

Not to be missed was the delights of the Entertainment Team which was headed by the ever so entertaining Simon Gillespie (Cruise Director) and his assistant Ashley. They performed with gusto and kept the entire ship rocking with their simple one liners and specialty array of invited acts who certainly kept an abundance of laughter flowing throughout the entire two weeks. Well done to all of them, it would not have been the same without their wealth of entertainment experience.

The “Club” Lounge became an absolute favorite during the course of the Cruise, as it was the meeting place that we met new acquaintances, whether it was a game of trivia or a night of rock n roll, it just did not matter. The head bar man, Sandro certainly knew how to impress with his array of Tropical Cocktails and it was certainly service with a capital “S”. Along with Sandro, and his assistants Virginia (Canapés’) and David (Waiter) the Club Team really knew how to look after us and everyone else that enjoyed their hospitality.

The Highlight

The Caviar in the surf at Ko Kood off the coast of Thailand was something out of this world. We had a day on the Island with a BBQ to beat all, even Pig on the Spit, which was a very nice change. We had never experienced this before since our previous cruise was on the Croatian coast. We were delighted with the day and thought that they went out of their way to certainly impress which they did so in style.

I must make a special mention about the crew on this ship. I found all the staff to be amazingly good at their job. Yes, Seabourn staff are always good, but the crew this time seemed to go more out of their way than ever before.

The itinerary for this trip was great, we loved going up the Thai coast and then the Vietnamese coast with stops in Bangkok, Ko Kood, Saigon (Ho Chi Min City) and Hoi An (Da Nang) and we also appreciated the commentary from the onboard guest speakers. I don't think that we have ever had such a relaxing holiday before. A fortnight seemed ages when we were booking the cruise, however it passed so quickly that it seemed to go past in a blink of the eye.

We will book again for sure, just need to work out where and when, and no, it can't get better than this, if you want to spoil yourself or have the one cruise of a lifetime, I highly recommend a trip on Seabourn!

 

Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2013

WOW! Seabourn did it again. This was our third voyage on Seabourn and it keeps getting better and better. I will be sad to see the smallest ships leave the fleet.

There were 7 days at sea but so much going on that we barely had ... Read More

WOW! Seabourn did it again. This was our third voyage on Seabourn and it keeps getting better and better. I will be sad to see the smallest ships leave the fleet.

There were 7 days at sea but so much going on that we barely had time to take a nap. Former Ambassador to Saudi Arabia Fowler gave lectures that were wonderful. As did the former Oxford Professor. Both are articulate and inspiring speakers.

I was impressed with the food and the food service. Portions were within reason and one does not leave the table overstuffed. The food is a good as any fine restaurant any where. The presentation is elegant. The wine glasses never seem to get empty. This goes for room service as well. Attentive service served course by course.

We have sailed on the other high end lines but Seabourn never ceases to amaze. Have you ever been to a block party on a ship? Does the Captain call you by name? Do you know what a BBC is?( Sit out on deck and one will be put into your hand.)

.

Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: September 2013

We have been on quite a few Seabourn cruises but never to the Mediterranean. The itinerary of ports and islands were fascinating and that is why we chose this cruise. The service from everyone on this ship was 6 star plus and I cannot ... Read More

We have been on quite a few Seabourn cruises but never to the Mediterranean. The itinerary of ports and islands were fascinating and that is why we chose this cruise. The service from everyone on this ship was 6 star plus and I cannot thank them enough. The cabin was a nice size and clean and tidy and the girl who looked after us was excellent. The wine waiter was very good and always had the wine I liked, the waiters were very helpful and polite. The breakfasts were excellent with a big choice, lunches also very good. The diner in the main restaurant at night was very average with food covered in sauces. Unfortunately the food is not fresh very hard to enjoy when at home everything is fresh. The menu is sometimes a lottery as to what arrives rather " lost in translation " but it has improved from our other trips with Seabourn. Unfortunately we went ashore everyday and saw fantastic fresh food in the markets. The patisseries were excellent.

Unfortunately the air conditioning in the cabin was appalling and I arrived fit and well and after a couple days developed an appalling cough which I did not expect to get an 6 star ship, also the ship smelt stale.

The staff were very helpful with embarkation and disembarkation thank you for all your help. The on the last night of the cruise our cabin was stripped of our flowers and fruit made us feel very unwanted.

The linen was not 6 star standard the sheets were not crisp and rather grey, the towels had very rough edges and also rather tired looking.

 

Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: September 2013

We have travelled before with Seabourn on their little ships in the Caribbean. The standard of their crews has always been of the highest calibre and this voyage was no exception.

In spite of a myriad of nationalities and ... Read More

We have travelled before with Seabourn on their little ships in the Caribbean. The standard of their crews has always been of the highest calibre and this voyage was no exception.

In spite of a myriad of nationalities and languages, the crew appear to integrate well.

It was truly lovely to see previous crew members such as Tiaan, Mariana and Claudia, who greeted us warmly as long lost friends, and we truly did feel part of the Seabourn Family.

The breakfast and lunch menu was superb if always rigidly identical, although the hot carvery at lunch did alter daily. Baked beans were at breakfast every day, what about spaghetti occasionally, may be fried rice ?

We did find the shouting of one steward taking orders in the Verandah restaurant a bit OTT, and quite annoying.

The evening meal on the Verandah was lovely for the first week with a good food variety, but the second week was dull and boring, very serialized and repetitive..

The main dining room can be deadly if you unexpectedly get put on a large table with guests from a different planet, but one can request a table for two in a quiet alcove and that is most pleasant.

Be aware that if you are invited to join a crew member at a table for dinner, they may not turn up for whatever reason and you suddenly find yourself not being entertained as you thought.

The patisserie chef did a quite outstanding job, and his creations and flavours were of the highest standard. His chocolate deserts, and small patisserie creations were delicious. Thank you.

We loved the Market lunch in the saloon, but it was only held on one day in twenty, regretfully. There was the most delicious huge roast turkey that when I later requested some of it cold, was advised that it had all been trashed.

We loved the efficiency of shore tendering and the shore beverage and shading set up.

We loved the room service, their speed of delivery, always polite, very efficient and the food delicious and always hot.

We loved the local tour experts at each port outside the bureau with maps and information.

We loved our room stewardess who always smiled and carried out her duties perfectly. Though why she trashed our flowers in our cabin on our last night seemed a bit draconian. Certainly made us aware we were out the next day..!

We loved the daily quote for the day at midday from Captain Dag.

There are however a few disappointments.

The internet is useless on board, through the inadequacies of the ISP, but one would have thought that the power of Carnival would have solved this. I do not believe their other ships have this problem. We went ashore and found a free high speed internet café in every port to communicate with the outside world. In a very short period of time, instant communication with the world has become paramount, for most people.

We thought it was an adult ship, so to see a child, although well behaved was not a good look. Nobody has ever mentioned children could travel. During the voyage the child was taken into the casino, in our country that is a criminal offence, but was treated very lightly by both parent and casino staff.

Hate arriving in a port on a Sunday, with shops closed. Hate sailing at 4.30 pm from ports that traditionally close at 1pm for siesta, and then sailing at reduced speed to the next port, to save fuel when we could have sailed later and enjoyed the evening ambience of some beautiful ports and their environs.

These voyage itineraries are planned 2 or 3 years in advance, and could be better orientated around guest considerations as opposed to being out of port by 5pm to avoid port charges and pilotage overtime.

We have paid a premium and should be able to demand a better service.

The quality of the bed linen and towels goes down each time we have travelled. I hope we are not expected to bring our own next time.!

The Molton Brown cosmetics etc are lovely.

Did appreciate plenty of coat hangers.

The wash room facilities are scarce, and only one iron (?)

The menu is on a ten day cycle so variations of food are strictly governed from America, and their food variety is not known for great diversity.

It appears that all food is flown from America. No local produce was seen to be delivered at any of the ports.

They do not buy locally, for health/safety reasons or the likelihood of some American suing them for food poisoning, from some distant shore, that hasn't been inspected by Carnival. All the fish is frozen and looks as though it comes from Vietnam.

A request for lettuce hearts, that never arrived during the voyage, plenty of outside leaves though.

One has to keep asking for condiments, it was only later in the voyage that a small variety of sauces and mustard appeared. I felt intimidated asking for food additives, as though it was some kind of challenge.

At home we use a vast array of herbs and spices, such as Sumac and nutmeg. Ground ginger is often sprinkled on Cantaloupe melon, but a request only resulted in Jullienned whole ginger.

In St Florent we bought two fresh avocados and had them in the cabin...great joy.

The evening shows are not until ten PM and they were not well attended due to their lateness, and lack of quality.

The shop had an adequate selection of various items including very acceptable jackets with a "cruise" label at a very affordable price, but the price shown did not include taxes up to 21% and then they varied depending which country you were dealing with. Most confusing.

Did appreciate the little personal touches from the crew, such as putting photo memory chips on to CD, looking after luggage in secure areas, to suit guest requests. Did appreciate the spontaneous delicious birthday and anniversary occasion cakes that were served

Thank you Seabourn. Without you we would never have seen such a wide variety of both large and small ports, which at the end of the day we saw, took heaps of photographs, had many wonderful moments, and over our eight voyages have made lifelong friends who visit and stay with us. ..

 

Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: September 2013

Having researched cruise lines thoroughly in an effort to persuade my husband that this form of holiday 'might be alright', I chose Seabourn and Legend to sail from Monaco by way of St Tropez, Livorno (for Florence and Pisa), Bonifacio ... Read More

Having researched cruise lines thoroughly in an effort to persuade my husband that this form of holiday 'might be alright', I chose Seabourn and Legend to sail from Monaco by way of St Tropez, Livorno (for Florence and Pisa), Bonifacio (Corsica), Gozo, Malta, Siracusa (Sicily), Lipari (Aeolian archipelago), Amalfi and finally to Civitavecchia for Rome. High expectations were fulfilled in terms of suite accommodation, food, service, lack of regimentation and a Seabourn will to satisfy each and every whim.

The chauffeur driven Mercedes from Nice airport to the main port in Monaco was a good start with the ensuing embarkation process completely painless and surprisingly speedy. Even the safety drill was fine and a good, initial way to chat to the other inmates.

Our suite on deck 5 (206) provided the patio doors, opening onto a Juliette balcony was perfectly adequate and with the doors open, gave a terrific feeling of airiness. The refrigerator had been stocked up as requested, and the fruit bowl (accompanied by cutlery and napkins) was replenished daily. The bed, pillows and bedlinen were of the best quality so a good nights sleep was not in doubt. Although the walk-in closet, aka 'dressing room' was on the wee side, there was plenty of hanging and drawer space for our needs. You wouldn't want to ablute a deux in the bathroom as it was too cosy for that, but nonetheless, everything you might require was there. Lots of shelf and cupboard space and the shower was sufficiently fierce to keep the Americans quiet. Additional little touches were the atlas provided and a glossy little book to keep, which covered all the ports we would visit. The seating area in the suite comprised a comfortable sofa, with a rug supplied in case you felt chilly, a height-adjustable table from which you could eat, 2 additional stools in case of visitors and 2 armchairs. All well thought out and perfect.....although, it did occur to me that a pair of binoculars might have been useful.

The system of inviting guests to hosted dinner tables throughout the cruise also provided a shortcut to hooking-up with like-minded others. But as the days passed, we found ourselves declining these as we had made arrangements to dine with people we had met. There was plenty of after-dinner entertainment on offer but we tended not to avail ourselves of that, apart from the on-deck BBQ one evening which involved much singing and dancing, and hugely enjoyed by all. I did notice that there were Pilates and Yoga classes on offer, together with early morning runs/walks - but for me, it was just a passing acknowledgement!

The service was utterly impeccable. To a man/woman, the entire crew could not do enough and are clearly trained to within an inch of their lives. The food is inclined towards the American market in terms of menus, but is none with worse for that as it was tempered by modern, European cooking techniques and portions which were definitely not gargantuan. Should you wish to breakfast and dine in your suite, then that too is catered for.

Disembarking at ports, whether you have signed up for a Seabourn tour or have chosen to operate independently, is completely painless. No queues. The two Seabourn Legend tenders (used when anchored offshore) run regularly and we never had to wait for say more than 10 minutes when we wished to return to the ship.

Now to our comrades on board - the guest list which is supplied to you after a couple of days demonstrated that the majority were from the USA. The next largest group was from Australia followed by the UK, with Japanese, Chinese and European stragglers. All of these were what could be described as professional cruisers, with the majority doing certainly more than one cruise per year and very many on their third of this year. Although there was clearly an enormous number of repeat Seabourn customers, lots of them had also tried other lines - the overwhelming feeling that came across from those people was that Seabourn provided the very best formula.

To endeavour to provide a balanced review, I wanted to catalogue the negatives. However, there was only one, which lay with the IT department. I had chosen to sign up for the 24/7 internet service at a cost of $399 (other guests noted that this was probably the annual cost of their domestic internet service!). Unhappily, it was not up to the mark and in fact missed the mark by a wide margin. Ok, it is provided by satellite (which my domestic service is also, as I live on an island on the west coast of Scotland and I am all too familiar with this), but the continual dropping-out or not being able to access it when asked was maddening. I resorted to getting up at 3am when I knew that most right-minded people would be in bed, to try to send and receive emails and so on. Clearly not good enough and on the day of departure, issue was taken with this and Seabourn did the decent thing and refunded the charge. Well done chaps!

So, would I recommend Seabourn? Without hesitation.

Read Less
Seabourn Legend Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 5.0 4.7
Dining 5.0 4.7
Entertainment 3.0 4.2
Public Rooms 3.0 4.6
Fitness Recreation 4.0 4.1
Family 1.0 4.1
Shore Excursion 3.0 4.1
Enrichment 3.0 4.0
Service 5.0 4.8
Value For Money 4.0 4.6
Rates 5.0 4.4

Find a Cruise