15 Viking River Viking Gullveig Cruise Reviews

Wanted to see Germany and Austria. The sights were beautiful, espcially Salzberg and Munich which cost extra, but we were rushed during the excursions with only 45 minutes of “free time”. Captain and manager were great but the front ... Read More
Wanted to see Germany and Austria. The sights were beautiful, espcially Salzberg and Munich which cost extra, but we were rushed during the excursions with only 45 minutes of “free time”. Captain and manager were great but the front desk was unhelpful. The “store” only offers Viking items, no essentials. The tickets that Viking booked had ridiculously long layovers in Frankfort and a 3:30 am departure unless you spend $50 to pick your own times (we were unaware that you could do this because the booking agent was oblivious). Also they say they take Amex but the front desk hassles you if you try to use an amex card to pay. Wireless rarely works and there are only a handful of movies to watch on the tv. If you are under 50 and not white or heterosexual, mingling may be challenging. The people are our cruise were oddly cliquish and pushy and were given special treatment. On the positive side, the boat was clean, food was excellent. Luckily, we ate upstairs, not in the crowded buffet style dining hall. Will not cruise on overpriced Viking again. Read Less
Sail Date April 2019
Numerous friends recommended Viking River Cruises. We decided to treat ourselves to the Romanic Danube Cruise. The Viking brochure states, "It's pure pleasure to travel with such ease..to unpack just once and relax to an ... Read More
Numerous friends recommended Viking River Cruises. We decided to treat ourselves to the Romanic Danube Cruise. The Viking brochure states, "It's pure pleasure to travel with such ease..to unpack just once and relax to an ever-changing canvas of breathtaking landscapes...to dock in the center of small towns and stroll right off to begin your exploration." This is what we were expecting, however, not what Viking produced. Ten days before our trip we called Viking because we were hearing there were problems with low water levels. We were told, "Your trip will be just fine." Two days before our flight is scheduled, we receive an email from Viking stating there will be a mid-cruise "ship swap" and we will be transferred by motor coach to an identical ship. Our next email from Viking arrived while we were flying to Munich/Brussels/Budapest. It informed us due to low water we will be spending the night in a hotel in Budapest instead of on Gullveig and will be transported to Vienna by motor coach(150 miles) the next day. Our dream vacation became a bus/river cruise that was exhausting. We were able to enjoy the upper deck one time sailing through the Wachau Valley. The only port that we were able to stroll right off the longship was in Regensburg. We were able to participate in most of the tours that were scheduled. However, once again motor coach rides up to 1 1/2 hours were necessary to get into the city. Most of our tour guides were extremely knowledgeable. During Manager Jurgen"s farewell speech he stated that our specific cruise was the 2nd worse Danube Cruise of the year. Even the Program Director, Debra Thomas, suggested we communicate with Viking so they would be aware of our disappointments. "Because we believe your overall cruise experience may have been affected by an unexpected situation" we were offered a 25% discount on our next cruise which expires in one year. A 25% voucher is not sufficient compensation for what we experienced. Viking knows our cruise experience was indeed affected. They also know it was not an unexpected situation. The water levels have been low since August. I wish Viking would have shared exactly what changes would occur in our cruise, and given us the choice to cancel, or reschedule our trip. We feel that Viking was dishonest and manipulative. Now that our cruise is over, Viking states in an email to me, "We regret to hear that your recent cruise was impacted by severely low water levels, and are sorry to hear of your disappointment in the necessitated changes. If you have a November, Danube cruise scheduled with Viking, and you have travel insurance cancel your trip! If you want to go on any river cruise do your research regarding the best time of year to go. Word of mouth is powerful advertisement! After all, that is why we chose Viking. I will be using my voice to let others know they should consider other cruise companies if their vacation dream is a river cruise. Read Less
Sail Date October 2018
We chose a river cruise because we wanted to travel by boat and expected to enjoy the views along the river and have the luxury of not unpacking daily. the reality of our vacation was that viking was not upfront with us about the water ... Read More
We chose a river cruise because we wanted to travel by boat and expected to enjoy the views along the river and have the luxury of not unpacking daily. the reality of our vacation was that viking was not upfront with us about the water levels along the danube. we called the week before our departure and were told that there were no changes to our itinerary. we received an email thirty minutes before boarding our flight to europe stating that we were going on a different longship because of the low water levels. like other travelers that have posted reviews about low water levels, we feel that we were deceived by viking personnel. Each time that we were unable to make it to the next port, we were informed the night before with the comment “just a few inches makes all the difference!” well, here is my observation....those bushes that are growing in the middle of the danube did not just pop up over night! viking has been pulling the wool over traveler’s eyes for a long time! they string the customer along day by day and pretend as if this is something new. One day we spent three hours traveling on a bus to go from one ship to another. it also took us two and a half hours on the bus to go see passau from the remote location of the ship. in fact, in two days we rode for 6 hours on a bus! Another day passengers had to ride a bus for one and a half hours to budapest and then back to the boat that evening. Ten people from our group decided we could not take another bus ride. we decided not to take the 90 minute bus ride to budapest and opted instead to walk around the town where we were docked. (komarno, slovakia) our captain and activities director met with us the night before and said we would be docked until the next evening. the following day when the others were bussing to budapest, we took a tour in komarno and had lunch before walking back to the ship. we were shocked to discover that our ship had sailed without us, knowing that they had briefed the passengers that we would be at this location until the evening. they knew we were off the ship, but they sailed anyway with only 4 passengers. We had to take taxis to the new location and were quite upset. The point of this review is not the there were low water levels, it’s that viking is deceptive in their approach. viking tells people daily that there are no changes to the itinerary when they know they are never going to make the schedule as planned. yes, you will get to the cities, but you will be logging a lot of bus time and not very much sailing time. After returning home, i contacted viking customer service. i was not satisfied with our conversation. they seem to take the approach that they can’t control the water levels. what they can control is their approach and they should be less deceptive! it appears that they offer some of their dissatisfied customers different “deals.” based on their perception of your inconvenience, some customers get a higher percentage off of a future cruise and some are even offered a shipboard credit. Read Less
Sail Date September 2018
Viking sent us an email informing us that the first part of our journey would be by bus two days before our departure, this did not give us enough time to discuss with 8 people to continue or cancel. The short notice for such a large ... Read More
Viking sent us an email informing us that the first part of our journey would be by bus two days before our departure, this did not give us enough time to discuss with 8 people to continue or cancel. The short notice for such a large investment in a vacation in addition to bringing new customers to Viking is not acceptable. Viking knew about the problems on the #Danube River at least 3 weeks prior to our departure. We were told by #Viking staff that at least one of the ships had been docked in Budapest for three weeks without moving due to the low water situation. We believe that Viking knew we would not be sailing for more than 2 days on our trip. When we called, Viking said that only one section was bad and that only the beginning of our trip would be effected which was false Read Less
Sail Date August 2018
As a repeat cruiser on Viking, I was disappointed to find that low water levels on the Danube significantly changed almost every aspect of the cruise. We were notified that we could not cruise to the last two ports only 2 days before our ... Read More
As a repeat cruiser on Viking, I was disappointed to find that low water levels on the Danube significantly changed almost every aspect of the cruise. We were notified that we could not cruise to the last two ports only 2 days before our departure and then found out when we got there that the ship could not even be at the embarkation point. It was a week of multi hour bus rides and required a total of 6 hours on a bus one day to reach our tour of Nuremberg. Although I realize the low water levels were not within Viking's control, I believe they should have given us the ability to cancel in advance. Once we got there, it was just a series of disappointments including docking at a port in Passau that was industrial with multiple Viking ships side by side so there was no view out our window except the ship next door. We were never in a situation where we could walk off the ship in a port in the evening and rarely docked for any longer than the time it took to do the excursions. A discount on a future cruise is not enough to compensate for the inability for us to make a choice to go on the trip as I have discovered through research that the water levels were dropping prior to that and should have triggered Viking to give us that choice. What we would do from day to day was a mystery until after dinner when we got the program. And then it was "where would we be bused to today". I will say that the on-board crew did everything they possibly could to make up for it, especially the program director (Deborah) who worked very, very hard to coordinate a plan for every day, which was always changing. We will never take a cruise on the Danube again and will think twice about committing to a Viking trip knowing that these type of major changes would not net us a choice to cancel. Read Less
Sail Date August 2018
Our son and daughter in-law wanted to see Nuremberg again because my wife grew up there during the war.We wanted to see places we had never seen before in Europe. Taking this river cruise allowed us to do both. None of us had ever been on ... Read More
Our son and daughter in-law wanted to see Nuremberg again because my wife grew up there during the war.We wanted to see places we had never seen before in Europe. Taking this river cruise allowed us to do both. None of us had ever been on a river cruise before. We had friends that had been on many Viking cruises. We didn't consider any other cruise line. The food was great the waiters and service could not have been better. The included tours were all very good. The ship was nicer than we expected. The included tours were great. The ports were outstanding.We went on 2 optional tours that were very good. We found out in Passau the ship could not go any farther because of low water conditions. We had to take a bus to Regensburg and Nuremberg. We missed out on 2 tours but were refunded for them. We were sent a voucher to cover the inconvenience we encored. We are not happy with having to take a second cruise within a year to get the refund. I can understand Viking is at the mercy of the weather but we should have been at least given 2 years to use the refund or better yet given cash for the inconvenience. Read Less
Sail Date July 2018
We chose this cruise as I always wanted to go on a river cruise. I did my research & knew about rivers being too high or too low, about be tied up to another boat etc. so I was prepared for the unexpected. We were going in November ... Read More
We chose this cruise as I always wanted to go on a river cruise. I did my research & knew about rivers being too high or too low, about be tied up to another boat etc. so I was prepared for the unexpected. We were going in November so I knew it would be rainy, cold & grey but we got a good price. We flew thru Viking but elected to pay an extra $50 each so that we could pick our flights. We were so happy to have done this as our times were reasonable. Others on board had to be up and out by 3:30am for their departing flights. We took the 3 night pre-cruise package in Prague. We were met at airport & reached the hotel (Sheraton) by 10:30am. We met with Viking rep. who was excellent. Our rooms were ready which was great due to jet lag. With the help of the Viking rep. we found an ATM and got Czech currency. Please note, you need to pay for public bathroom in Prague and most of Europe. The next day, we had a 5 hour bus/walking tour of Prague which I enjoyed. The next day, we had free time to explore Prague. The hotel was excellent, with full buffet breakfast that was very good. Viking Rep was available 7:00am -7:00pm. Departing Prague for Nurermberg, we were bused and it took about 4 hours. Arrived on the ship at 4:00pm. They had a welcome reception with wine tasting. We elected to take the drink package as it was 300 euros per cabin. No added gratuities. It was a good deal as the wine and beer offered during lunch and dinner was not very extensive. For example, they didn't offer a Chardonnay or Riesling. Food on board was excellent. No complaints. Service was fair. There is no assigned seating. They call it open seating which means you sit with others. The problem is everyone goes to meals at the same time. At breakfast, the tables were not cleared off and if you were late you had to search for a clean seat. The breakfast & lunch were buffets but you could order off the menu. We didn't know this for serveral days. No one informed us. I had to ask for more water repeatedly, other items such a coffee cup, napkin. These are small things but all the reviews I read said the service was excellent so this shouldn't happen. I thought service on major cruise lines better. We enjoyed sharing tables and met wonderful, interesting people. We had a balcony room on the 3rd level. The room and bathroom were small but adequate. Due to the weather we didn't use the balcony but it was great to have the large window for light. In Budapest, we were tied up next to another Viking boat so the view was another stateroom. Most of the ports, you had to be bused to a location to take the tour. I felt that everything was too structured and regimented. Some tour guides talked and talked and overwhelmed you with facts. In Nuremberg, we took the optional WWII tour and enjoyed it. In Vienna, we took the evening Mozart concert tour and it was good but not what I expected, It was held in a room with regular straight chairs with everyone squeezed together. If you are a serious classical concert going, it is not for you. The cruising from Passeau to Vienna was beautiful. This is what you see in their advertisements. Other than that it felt like a escorted land tour. Up at this time, eat breakfast, on the bus, walking tour and then onto the next port. Everyone I spoke to loved the cruise but me. I don't think I will take another one. If you don't like escorted land tours, I don't think you would like a river cruise. Read Less
Sail Date November 2017
We chose this cruise of the Danube based on an outstanding experience with Viking in China. Unfortunately, our experience would not be duplicated. We were disappointed that "Mother Nature" did not cooperate and the water levels ... Read More
We chose this cruise of the Danube based on an outstanding experience with Viking in China. Unfortunately, our experience would not be duplicated. We were disappointed that "Mother Nature" did not cooperate and the water levels were low and so our itinerary was altered significantly. This resulted in many long bus rides, certainly not what we were expecting. In addition, our itinerary had to change to accomodate an international air show and we did not get to "cruise" the Danube!! In all of the 8 days scheduled on our cruise, 4 proceeded as expected. However, it was the unprofessionalism and poor and incorrect communications from Viking, both corporate and the ship's management, that resulted in a terrible experience and is the basis for this rating. The company was either unaware or unwilling to correctly notify us of where we would be embarking. We spent 2 plus days of our pre cruise vacation trying to find out where we were picking up the cruise. Once on the cruise, there were issues with noise above the cabin which the ship's management could not or would not address. Is Viking so big that they do not care how they are perceived by their customers? There was no effort on the part of the Company to provide any additional service or acknowledgement of a difficult and unfortunate situation. They could have bought the passengers a drink! On a positive note, the general staff of the ship was outstanding. They couldn't do enough! Read Less
Sail Date June 2017
This cruise was a birthday gift and anniversary celebration in one, from my wife. We arrived a day early in Nuernberg to meet family and got to see the old city. I am glad we did, because, the river was low and the boat could not travel ... Read More
This cruise was a birthday gift and anniversary celebration in one, from my wife. We arrived a day early in Nuernberg to meet family and got to see the old city. I am glad we did, because, the river was low and the boat could not travel up to Nuernberg; it was berthed at Passau. Of course, Viking has no control over this. They do mention in their advertising "small print" that this can happen; they just don't tell you that it happens quite frequently - see other reviews on here. Because customers had booked excursions in Nuernberg and Regensburg, Viking had an obligation to fulfill these, so they bussed the passengers from Passau back to these cities. In the case of Nuernberg that is a five hour round trip bus ride; and that after many have flown in from the US east and west coast the day before. Then there was the double and triple berthing of the boats in port. Again, in the "small print" they warn you this may occasionally be necessary. It seems that in every port it is necessary. So, if you have paid additional as we did for a balcony, you can forget about using it; you will only be staring into someone else's cabin or a concrete wall at the Passau recycling depot. The food was okay. I have had better on larger cruise ships. The cabin was adequate and better than I have had on cruise ships. Don't expect too much in way of internet connection if that is important to you. The crew, from Captain on down to the galley boy, was exceptional. They needed to be to make up for the other shortcomings. When we returned home, I wrote to Viking and told them my grievances. I felt we should be compensated for the things we had paid for but never received; such as, the cruise from Nuernberg to Regensburg and then on to Passau; such as the balcony for which we had paid additional. After all, if I hand over my hard earned money for these things and am not given them, surely the seller has an obligation to refund the value of those items. On returning home, we each received a voucher towards a future cruise. Very nice if we were to undertake another cruise, but my wife and I are in our 70's and for reasons of health, we may not be able to take another cruise. I needed to talk to the Viking office. I finally reached the Viking corporate office and spoke to a representative. His attitude was "well we are sorry, but that is all that Viking is willing to offer you". Of all the things that concerned me about this trip, the "take it or leave it" attitude of this representative I found the most disturbing. Viking is absolutely the company that knows how to sell their product. Unfortunately, the product is not of the standard they would have you believe. I would not recommend a Viking river cruise to anyone. I have already spoken to two sets of friends who were planning on a Viking cruise. They have switched to another cruise line. Perhaps Viking could learn something from this and improve their customer service. Read Less
Sail Date June 2017
We chose this Viking River Cruise after watching ads and hearing from people how wonderful Viking is. We were supposed to leave from Nuremberg but unfortunately the Danube River was too low for the ship to come into port there. So we met ... Read More
We chose this Viking River Cruise after watching ads and hearing from people how wonderful Viking is. We were supposed to leave from Nuremberg but unfortunately the Danube River was too low for the ship to come into port there. So we met at a hotel and were bused 2 1/2 hours south to a little north of Passau which would have been on our 3 day. Instead of putting people up at a local hotel in Nuremberg who had paid for tours on Sunday the day we were supposed to be there, they bused everyone 2 1/2 hours to the ship and then on Sunday they bused everyone who wanted to back to Nuremberg another 2 1/2 hours and then again back to the ship for another 2 1/2 hour bus ride. They parked the ship next to a concrete wall on our side which we had a balcony on! Paid extra to have a balcony but now we faced a concrete wall for 3 days! When we finally said late Tuesday for 5 minutes into the port at Passau they docked and within 5 minutes of docking another ship pulled right up next to us and we were looking into another state room on another boat so instead of enjoying our balcony we had to close the curtains and not even have daylight in our room! That was the way it was the entire time of our cruise which was only from a Sunday to a Saturday. When I called Viking upon return I was told that we went in the busy season and therefore it had to be expected! Expected to pay $800 extra for a balcony that we couldn't use! There was no action to try and make it up to passengers for the inconvenience. The food was good and so was the service, but making us feel important or that anyone cared that we missed out on 3 days of our vacation NO! All Viking was willing to do was give us a credit towards another cruise and we will NEVER NEVER take a Viking cruise. Read Less
Sail Date June 2017
Three months prior to our cruise, Viking was most gracious and accommodating with taking care of all our travel arrangements from LA to Budapest. After taking two spectacular European ocean cruises in the last 18 months, both my husband ... Read More
Three months prior to our cruise, Viking was most gracious and accommodating with taking care of all our travel arrangements from LA to Budapest. After taking two spectacular European ocean cruises in the last 18 months, both my husband and I were even more excited about this Viking River Cruise. We loved seeing the videos and hearing others who had experienced this cruise in the past, that is, until we heard in conversation from a complete stranger that the river was so low that they needed to switch ships and take rides on motor coaches to various destinations. I contacted our Viking agent to see where our cruise stood. She was "unaware" of the low level and put me on hold to check the conditions. She indicated though the river was slightly low the ships were still able to pass through the various stops. Of course there was nothing we could do at this point. We packed our bags and headed to the airport. To make a long story short, scheduled flights were delayed and upon arriving to Budapest one of two pieces of luggage was missing and no one was at the airport to pick us up which was an indication that no one was checking. After going back and forth by phone with the ship, we ended up taking a $25 cab arriving at 1:00AM. Unfortunately we missed our only chance to see Budapest. The ship's desk staff was pleasant and took charge of finding our luggage (three days later after spending $130.00 for clothes). We did enjoy the ship itself. It was clean and well taken care of. The working staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Our stateroom was comfortable. The meals were tasty and well presented. The tour guide at each stop was very good. They were well informed and had a good sense of humor. My biggest disappointment was how Viking handled parts of the river too low to cruise upon. Fact: The river was low weeks before our cruise left and Viking ships were unable to complete the cruise by river. It appeared that Viking management staff was instructed to deal with it and took the brunt of all the complaints. The captain never appeared to address the conditions with his 190 paid passengers. For example, it would have been helpful to hear from the captain why the various long ships had to line up side by side where we could only see the inside of another ship's stateroom and not the river. Or what plan is in place for the passengers once the ship could no longer move. It was always left to our program director to explain and make adjustments. If the captain is responsible for the safety and well being of his passengers, then it would behoove him to personally be candid with Viking's paid customers. Since the ship was unable to travel to Nurenberg, we took a three hour motor coach ride to Nurenberg where after our tour, we were put up in a hotel in order to catch an early flight. I am assuming that Viking Cruise line is a multi- billion dollar business.FYI One hour of free drinks for one evening is very poor compensation and in poor taste. If that's the best Viking can do for their customers then I, as well as others, will take our business elsewhere. Read Less
Sail Date September 2015
Upon arrival in Budapest we were informed by the Viking pick up that we would have to be bused 1 1/2 hours to where the boat was docked because of the low river level. The boat was docked in an industrial looking site with a view of the ... Read More
Upon arrival in Budapest we were informed by the Viking pick up that we would have to be bused 1 1/2 hours to where the boat was docked because of the low river level. The boat was docked in an industrial looking site with a view of the dumpsters. We did not get to experience the lights of Budapest at night because there was absolutely zero cruising in Budapest. We were bused back to the city the next day for a short tour. The time spent on the bus greatly shortened our time to see the city. We were able to sail to the next 2 destinations. Upon returning to the ship in Passau, we were told the ship could not sail onto our other destinations.(Regensburg ,Kelheim, Main Danube Canal and Nuremberg) From this point on the trip turned into a bus tour not a river cruise. We spent many hours on a bus just to get to the places we came to visit. It was very disappointing and not relaxing because the time spent in each port from that point on was greatly reduced because of the bus ride to and from. In fact, we decided to not go to Nuremberg because we were gone for 12 hours the day before and would have had to be back on the bus at 8:30 am to go to Nuremberg. The bus back from Nuremberg wasn't scheduled to arrive back until evening. We rented a car and did our own thing that day versus spending 3 1/2 hours on the bus.The only concession that was offered for any of this was an open bar one evening. Perhaps the most frustrating thing of all was knowing that Viking was well aware of the low river level situation but at no point was forthcoming about it. The tour guides at each destination were very good. The ship itself was nice. We did have issue with the fact that we had the most expensive suite and it was located over the motor at the very end of the ship. Had we cruised as were supposed to have, the noise and vibration from the motor would have been a problem. The food was fine but only available as scheduled. Considering the considerable disruption to the itinerary it would have been nice to have a little flexibility on the availability of breakfast and dinner. The ship was very clean and the staff was nice. All in all it was a VERY EXPENSIVE BUS TOUR! We cruised 2 of the 8 days of the cruise. Our reimbursement for this was a $2500 credit to be used within a year for another Viking cruise. Customer service could have cared less that we did not get what we paid for. I was told that we received an e-mail to inform of possible problems with the river level. Problem was, we received the e-mail the day after our arrival on the ship! Read Less
Sail Date September 2015
Our cruise started out BAD because we were not informed that the 20th of August is a Hungarian National Holiday and that we would NOT be able to get a taxi to the ship from the train station. There was no information available at the ... Read More
Our cruise started out BAD because we were not informed that the 20th of August is a Hungarian National Holiday and that we would NOT be able to get a taxi to the ship from the train station. There was no information available at the train station to tell us where the ship was docked, etc. We finally found a taxi driver who would try to help us find our ship however, we ended up at the wrong end of the docking area. No one from the 3 Viking cruise ships docked there (we could not see the names) could tell us where our ship was other than "down that way". After schlepping our suitcases for about 2 km (street along the docks was closed due to upcoming fireworks), we found the dock where our ship was supposed to be but it had moved because of the fireworks scheduled that evening. No sign or any information - we finally found someone who cared and they told us that the ship had moved at 3pm (we couldn't get our staterooms until 3pm) and would return about 11pm (some 8 hours later). We walked another km and finally found the ship. Not happy campers when we got there. Did I say that it was really HOT? And then, we were invited to a Welcome to the Cruise drink in the Lounge. Some invitation when they ask you to pay for your own drink. Not an "invitation" I would accept again. Our "French balcony" was neither French nor a balcony. It was a sliding door that would open to look out and let in fresh air - however every time we were docked, we were sandwiched between two other ships and so our only view was of curtains on another ship. Couldn't open the door for safety reasons because of the very close (6-8 inches) proximity of the next ship. And we paid extra for this! (by the way, all the ads on TV show a chair in the room - our stateroom was not big enough for a chair and so there was no such thing as sitting and enjoying the view from our stateroom) Food was good for the most part and the staff was very accommodating. Unfortunately the gal in charge of tours, etc., forgot that there were people whom she should be telling information - she would tell one person or a small group and assume that the word would spread to all the rest. This did not happen and it resulted in a great deal of extra walking, etc. Not cool when you have older people who don't need the extra miles. Low water in the Danube was an issue. We were told by friends in Nurnberg that we would not be able to sail that far but that was denied by the crew - "Oh, they had some rain this past week and now it is ok" Not so much! A bit of honesty would have helped here. Local tours had to be rearranged resulting in some being cancelled. Not a happy situation. I realize that Viking is not responsible for the low water in the Danube, but a little honesty ahead of time would have been welcome. The good part - we met lovely people and really did enjoy ourselves outside of the problems. However, I would not recommend it to my friends because of the reasons stated. Read Less
Sail Date August 2015
Background: This was our first river cruise. My wife and I have been on most major ocean cruises (45) to nearly all continents. Point being is that we are no novice at cruising. We have been on excellent to bad cruises and have rolled ... Read More
Background: This was our first river cruise. My wife and I have been on most major ocean cruises (45) to nearly all continents. Point being is that we are no novice at cruising. We have been on excellent to bad cruises and have rolled with the punches. We selected three day pre-cruise in Prague. The hotel Corinthia was not the newest but the accommodations were nice and Prague was one of the best cities I have ever been in. Highly recommend. Got an email from Viking that the river was low and we had to go to Passau to board the boat. I got this email only because the Corinthia Hotel had outstanding Wifi. I even made a face book call back to the USA in the bar which was a treat. Point being here was the email from Viking was the only warning that the trip was going south. Got bused to Passau. Viking should advertised this "cruise" as a sit in port then bus. We spend hours on various buses trying to "make the best of it". I came to hate the phrase as the Viking entertainment director seem to like it a lot. We sat in Passau next to an industrial site with a view of the dumpster for three days. My balcony view was a concrete wall. I requested to leave the ship and get credit. Was told by ship's personnel that they could not make that decision. Only "corporate" could make that decision and corporate would contact us 5 business days after the cruise. This meant the very distinct and as it turned out likely possibility of paying twice. Go back to Prague or stay on the ship was the choice. Did not have the guts to take a $7000 hit so stayed on the ship. After three days of a seven day cruise, we were not in the best of moods so that may have colored our judgement somewhat. Here are some other observations: Food : Poor to mediocre. Served hot dogs for lunch. Now that is real luxury dining for you. Viking gives the impression of gourmet dining. I have been on cheap ocean cruise ships serving 2,000 people that did a better job. I was served as an appetizer at dinner a half of a breaded chicken wing on a very large plate. Must be the large plate made it special. Could go on but you get the idea. Think the gourmet chef was on holiday. Room: Cabin was nice so no complaints. The cabin was even wired with 110 volt American style outlets. Entertainment: Small ship so did not expect much in the way of entertainment. Had a piano player that was good. Bar: Spend a lot of time at the bar as we were not cruising. Made a pretty good margarita. Main complaint is we lost three days of the cruise and have hear absolutely nothing from Viking. Seems this low river has been going on for six weeks prior to our arrival. If I had know that this was going on, I would have cancelled before I got there. Viking informed us the day after we arrived and we were told we "had to make the best of it". Very poor customer relations. Based on the food, lack of cruising, over priced for what you get, and poor customer relations, I recommend that you stay far away from Viking as you can. Read Less
Sail Date August 2015
A few things you should consider before taking the cruise. 1. Internet is poor. Viking will tell you the internet connection is great (I called twice beforehand), and you can place video calls and watch video. This is not the case. Their ... Read More
A few things you should consider before taking the cruise. 1. Internet is poor. Viking will tell you the internet connection is great (I called twice beforehand), and you can place video calls and watch video. This is not the case. Their connection is poor. Unfortunately, I was unable to conduct some business via internet as planned. Normally not a big deal but I wish they would have told me the truth. 2. Food is just Ok. No room service, and no "real" food except meal times. This was a issue for us as some of the excursions included dinner and the dinner was low quality. 3. Rooms are very small. I'm blessed to get a suite on most of my cruises and I had a main level suite with a balcony. It was right next to the lobby and very convenient. The pictures make the suites look bigger than reality. Be forewarned. 4. Security is non-existant. Like it or not we live in a dangerous world. Viking doesn't seem to be too concerned. Unlike most cruises I have been on, there is zero security. Nobody checking to see who gets in board. No key card checkin or out. The good news is you can bring booze on board. 5. Speaking of booze, the Silver Package is a bargain. Very reasonable for those that drink often. 6. Ports were pretty interesting. I went and it wasn't terrible but there are other options that are better and safer. I would not consider Viking again. Read Less
Sail Date October 2014
Viking Gullveig Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabin 4.0 N/A
Dining 4.0 4.4
Entertainment 3.0 3.8
Public Rooms 5.0 4.6
Fitness & Recreation 1.0 N/A
Family 1.0 3.4
Shore Excursions 4.0 N/A
Enrichment Activities 4.0 N/A
Service 4.0 4.5
Value for Money 3.0 N/A

Find a Viking Gullveig Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click