1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: May 2018
This is our second and by far not our last. You embark on an adventure and leave as family. There is a feeling among staff and other travelers that makes you feel like it is a home away from home. The time goes quickly and tears fill your ... Read More
This is our second and by far not our last. You embark on an adventure and leave as family. There is a feeling among staff and other travelers that makes you feel like it is a home away from home. The time goes quickly and tears fill your eyes as you say goodbye. Price affordable for what you receive in return. The rooms are clean and always refreshed with bottles od water for your convenience. This is our second adventure with Viking. We did the Rhine from Amsterdam to Switzerland taking advantage of the extra days in both countries extending our vacation. Experiencing the Alps is something we never will forget. The many vacation options, River or Ocean cruises, are so tempting you become addicted to traveling with Viking. They keep you informed by social media and mail of all that is waiting out there for you. Viking is the only way we will travel. Safe , affordable, friendly and most important very organized so you can sit back and let them take over for a lifetime memory. Read Less
Sail Date: May 2018
This was our first Viking cruise. The travel opportunity to visit key cities and countries impacted by WW2 along with the TV ads and research we did on Viking influenced our decision. The historic opportunity was enhanced by key tours ... Read More
This was our first Viking cruise. The travel opportunity to visit key cities and countries impacted by WW2 along with the TV ads and research we did on Viking influenced our decision. The historic opportunity was enhanced by key tours and excursions in the ports of call. The ship gave us the opportunity to experience beautiful scenery and meet "locals" that were friendly and accommodating. Castles dating back 1000+ years were a real experience. Due to the ratio of crew to passengers we were able to develop relationships that were meaningful and lasting. We have sailed on Ocean cruises many times. Going forward we will take more Viking cruises and are already planning our next trip. We had a unique opportunity after the trip that was facilitated by Viking. The pillows on our bed were perfect. Upon returning I called Viking Customer Service to find out where they purchased them. While on the phone the representative provided me with a web link in Germany. I then corresponded directly with the company and we now have 4 pillows in route to our home in the US. We have never experienced this service on other cruises. Viking is now the way we will go. It was an opportunity we are glad we did not miss! Read Less
Sail Date: April 2018
We had high expectations based on what we had read and seen regarding Viking cruises. We are happy to say that our experience was just as wonderful as we had expected. The preparations using My Viking Experience had us well prepared for ... Read More
We had high expectations based on what we had read and seen regarding Viking cruises. We are happy to say that our experience was just as wonderful as we had expected. The preparations using My Viking Experience had us well prepared for our voyage and counting down the days. OUR daily newsletter when we arrived help with that as well and was a fantastic touch! The pick up at the airport was quick and friendly. The cabin was efficient and well maintained. The service was impeccable. The food was delicious every day and our excursions really gave us a great sense of the cities we visited. We felt comfortable and care for the entire journey. No detail was left overlooked by our Viking crew who made our experience a phenomenal honeymoon! We have decided this is the only way we will travel moving forward, it was that good! Bravo Viking! And the Var crew too! Read Less
Sail Date: April 2018
We had previously taken a Viking river cruise and enjoyed it. We had heard so many good things about Viking and wanted to visit the places on this trip. It was perfect and thoroughly enjoyable! The entertainment was fabulous and the staff ... Read More
We had previously taken a Viking river cruise and enjoyed it. We had heard so many good things about Viking and wanted to visit the places on this trip. It was perfect and thoroughly enjoyable! The entertainment was fabulous and the staff was attentive and always friendly. We had such a good time. We didn't book very many optional excursions because the included excursions were so good. We also wanted to have free time to do exploring on our own or to just enjoy the ship while in port. We were especially impressed with Czesky Krumlov and it was an included trip and took the entire day. It is a special place and had so much to see and do. Don't miss it! We added a stay in Prague at the end of our trip and were highly impressed with the city. We could have stayed longer and seen more. It is an impressive city. Read Less
Sail Date: April 2018
Everyone who has taken a Viking Cruise raved about it so I began with very high expectations and was delighted they were met! It was luxurious to be able to unpack and stay in the same lovely room for a week. Every day, we returned from ... Read More
Everyone who has taken a Viking Cruise raved about it so I began with very high expectations and was delighted they were met! It was luxurious to be able to unpack and stay in the same lovely room for a week. Every day, we returned from breakfast to a made up room and at night, the next day’s itinerary and other information was left on our bed. The service staff were friendly and helpful without exception and grew to know us. The guided tour each day was just enough and allowed us to continue exploring on our own if we chose. The food was excellent - like eating out at a fine restaurant for every meal. Socializing with other guests allowed us interaction but also, we had plenty of opportunity to be by ourselves. Viking really seems to have North American guest service down to a fine art. We have already booked another cruise! Read Less
Sail Date: April 2018
Organization was fantastic, everyone new exactly what to do and when. From front desk to stewards to the servers and bar service, the service was stellar! Wish I would have written down names. Next trip I will. We had an on ship emergency ... Read More
Organization was fantastic, everyone new exactly what to do and when. From front desk to stewards to the servers and bar service, the service was stellar! Wish I would have written down names. Next trip I will. We had an on ship emergency and my wife had to go to the hospital. Everyone new what to do and how to take care of the situation. I am so grateful for the staff. Food was amazing everyday, especially the dips and regional menus. Port time was very sufficient and the excursions were staffed with experienced personnel. The ports were all so fun, we stayed an extra two days in Budapest and the staff at the Hilton and the accommodations were first rate. What a beautiful city! What a blast, everyday was another post card. The cruise director was so knowledgeable it blew my mind. Already booked next year for the Rhine!!! Thank you!!! Read Less
Sail Date: March 2018
I never had been on a river cruise and had heard how wonderful they are! I chose this particular one, because it went to the cities and the countries I wanted to experience. Viking did make the trip go very smoothly. My sister-in-law and ... Read More
I never had been on a river cruise and had heard how wonderful they are! I chose this particular one, because it went to the cities and the countries I wanted to experience. Viking did make the trip go very smoothly. My sister-in-law and I took all of the side tours we wanted, which added greatly to our cruise. We also elected to do a pre cruise extension in Prague. All of our connections went very smoothly with Viking meeting us at the airport, transferring us to our hotel which was the beautiful Art Nouveau Palace Hotel, and picking us up for our bus ride to our ship in Nuremberg. It made us feel very comfortable that all the details of our journey were organized and confirmed. We knew where we were going and how we were going to get there. We were able to add a couple of additional side tours onboard the ship, once we were aware of what our time restrictions we had. Read Less
Sail Date: November 2017
I went on this cruise with my family who are former Viking cruise-goers. My first impression of the ship was that it was very nice and well maintained. You could tell the staff cared about the ship's presentation. There was a smoker a ... Read More
I went on this cruise with my family who are former Viking cruise-goers. My first impression of the ship was that it was very nice and well maintained. You could tell the staff cared about the ship's presentation. There was a smoker a few balconies down, and staff promptly handled the situation so I was able to enjoy my balcony the rest of the trip. The cabin was very nice, and surprisingly big for what I was expecting on a boat. The food was great, and I enjoyed the Chef's recommendations each night. I appreciated the variety of foods to choose from each night, from Thanksgiving themed dinner to Asian-inspired meals. Our cruise had to be altered at the last minute due to weather flooding the river, but Viking continued to arrange buses to the nearby cities so we could keep our planned excursions (which were good) as well as add other last minute options taking into consideration the inconvenience of being stuck. As part of the weather accommodations, they arranged a local river boat to take us up the scenic part of the river to view castles, as well as getting to go back to nearby towns that we had limited time at originally. Most of the excursions were good, but the walking tours were disappointing because some of the sites we didn't go in, simply stood out front and saw them while the tour guide talked about what we'd see on the inside if we did go on, which we didn't. I'd go around the city on my own instead of a walking tour, but they don't tell you the meeting place for the buses until the end of the tour, which seems like an easy enough fix with advanced planning. The trip was supposed to be Christmas themed, but we were a few days too early for the fist cities so their Christmas markets weren't open. However, they sell the same types of items in the rest of the cities so I didn't mind but if you want to full Christmas week then I'd suggest a later time. Read Less
20 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: November 2017
Um no, no thanks. Never again. I signed up for a Viking River Cruise "Christmas in Germany" cruise in April 2017 for my mother's 50th birthday on assurances we would see "tons of Christmas markets" in Germany ... Read More
Um no, no thanks. Never again. I signed up for a Viking River Cruise "Christmas in Germany" cruise in April 2017 for my mother's 50th birthday on assurances we would see "tons of Christmas markets" in Germany - which was the ENTIRE point of the trip to Europe during Thanksgiving. Otherwise we'd have stayed home, it's cold, it rains, it's miserable but the Christmas markets are legendary and something my mother has always wanted to see. So for her birthday, I paid for this cruise. I booked the most expensive room - one of two Explorer Suites on the third level at the aft of the boat. Our ship was set to depart Nuremberg on 25 November with everyone embarking on 24 November for a 7-day cruise culminating with a final stop in Cologne. The brochure had the Nuremberg Christmas Market on it - one of the most famous in Germany. It spoke of all the Christmas merriment and smells of mulled cider and Christmas sights we'd see during our cruise. During our first nightly port meeting - our cruise director, George, informed us that the markets in Nuremberg, Bamberg, and Wurtzberg were all not yet open and were set to open the following week (after we'd all gone home). This meant of all the sights we'd see and places we'd stop - we would see only two markets over seven days - Koblenz and Cologne. Instantly pissed off. Now, during our cruise it rained and rained and rained. It was also freezing. So all our walking tours were miserable. And no markets. Also, because of all the rain, the water level was so high that our boat only barely moved once and we had to be bused long distances early in the morning from the boat. Hours on buses. Dinners in town at cheap places because we'd get back so late. This happened for about three days before we were eventually forced to disembark three days early (two nights left) and stay in a cheap hotel 40 minutes outside Cologne. Essentially, I did not get to stay in expensive suite I paid for for two nights, I didn't see the Christmas Markets I paid for (as they were not open yet no one checked the calendar), I did not get the food I paid for for several days (breakfast, lunch and dinner two days in the hotel) and then when we ate in town due to the 3.5 hour one way bus rides we ate at places that ONLY served beef and brat and cabbage - for two additional days lunch and then dinner not to mention the fully stocked fridge and snacks in our room that are complimentary which we did not have at the cheap hotel. I eat very healthy and expected the various menu options on the boat (fish, veggies, etc.) Viking is not cheap and I expected to get my money's worth. I did not. Not even close. Viking tried to make some things up to us - booking a stop in Miltenberg to shop (still no market) - and booking a cheaper option (fried chicken and soggy veggies for lunch) on a day boat to tour the Scenic Rhine - but it was too little too late for me as we'd spent HOURS on buses. You could also skip Wurzburg and the beautiful Wurzburg residence and go back to Bamberg for the Christmas market again another day - my mom wanted to see the historically rebuilt residence. Also, you could pay even more money (I'd already paid $10,000 for this cruise) to go on an extra excursion to Heidelberg and see their Christmas town (I don't think their market was open but they have an all-year store-type thing) which I chose not to do because, again, I'd already spent $10,000. Apparently you get bused a lot anyway during these - sometimes 2+ hours each way to these places. I thought the boats pulled into the towns. No. When I returned I demanded a partial refund - Viking initially offered me a standard $1100 in a future voucher. I said no. They then offered $3300 for a future cruise that I had to book in the next 12 months before it expired and wanted me to sign a non-disclosure. Are you kidding?! For a VOUCHER. They don't sell cruises that are cheap - so in order to see any compensation for this farce of a cruise I'd have to pay them MORE money. At this point - I never want to cruise with them again. Let alone give them thousands more. That is bad business and not a way to compensate customers for mistakes. Their customer service is awful and I have been put off by the entire experience. I expected better. They told me that they were only "offering" four Christmas markets during this cruise. News to me and everyone else I spoke to on the cruise, most of who flew on Thanksgiving night specifically for the Germany Christmas markets and were devastated not to get to see them and had verified with booking agents and customer service they would see ALL of them in every town we visited. Instead, we saw where they were being set up and would be open the following week for the next cruise. I mentioned that the most famous of the trip, Nuremberg, was on the first page of the cruise booklet and the agent, Rayna, who I spoke to, informed that the photo was simply for marketing purposes and we were never going to see that one, despite embarking and spending two days in Nuremberg. That is shameful. Well, of the four they "offered" - I got to see two of them. Even had they all been open, the schedules were so packed with bus rides, lunches, and walking tours of the cities, at best we had a hurried 30-60 minutes to walk the town by ourselves anyway. So the Christmas markets were never the main attraction - they were simply an afterthought. Extremely disappointing to my mother and I who planned the entire trip ONLY on the markets since she has wanted to see them her entire life. Otherwise, I could easily have visited Europe during warmer and less rainy and windy months when I could've enjoyed it. From Googling the company at this point I see this part of Germany has issues often with low or high water and clients being removed from boats and swapping to others. What a pain. Also, many complaints against Viking for cruises with issues where they refuse to try to make it right. I for one, plan never to use this company again and I would strongly encourage no one else to either. Viking continues to hold onto the flooding as my main concern in any interaction we've had - when really - it's more about misleading me about the Christmas markets and the calendar. I'd never have booked had I known I was only ever going to see 4 Christmas markets to begin with - they let everyone think the theme of the cruise was that and book according. Acts of God are one thing - but messing up Christmas market schedules and misleading customers then claiming they got to do "most of what was promised" (a direct quote from a snarky customer service agent who told me I had no recourse and they would not be discussing with me further) is simply not OK. Most of the individuals I saw on the cruise were elderly - extremely so - and probably take the vouchers for future cruises - don't complain - and don't go posting reviews all over the internet. I'm 33 years old and and I LOVE to travel and I travel 5x or more annually on luxury trips. I had hoped this experience would foster some loyalty for me with Viking and offer another way to travel for me and my friends and family. I had high expectations for them. I even had high expectations they would make this right when I got home and so far I have been nothing but massively disappointed. Bottom line - Viking River Cruises misrepresented what this cruise was about and is now refusing to offer compensation aside from vouchers (which will cost me more money to use and I am not accepting that) for my missed Christmas markets, two nights of missed accommodations and missed food services on a restricted diet. **Update 29 December 2017: I just spoke to the very polite and apologetic Viking agent who has been trying to contact me about this issue - I was now offered either 50% off a future cruise - or $500 in cash but both will require an NDA be signed. I'm not signing an NDA for a voucher Viking River Cruises. You owe me a cash refund and much more than $500. You misled every single passenger into thinking they were going to see all those Christmas markets and you are trying to cover the mistake up. There were a ton of elderly people on that cruise and most of them traveled on Thanksgiving day to be there. You should be ashamed. My mother and I spoke to dozens of people who were all furious and upset as they had only done this particular cruise for the markets. Now I'm being told Viking was only ever "offering" four. News to me. Even still, I only saw two. Do better. I appreciate the apology - but asking me to spend more money with you after a mistake this big - is nothing but bad business. **Update 30 December 2017: BUYER BEWARE - Viking River Cruises has shady social media, PR and customer service tactics involving having employees leave 5-star reviews and having multiple reviews left to push down bad ones. I have refused to sign an NDA as they will not refund my money - today they disabled their reviews on their Facebook site which seems a response to this review I posted on 27 December 2017 about a recent Christmas in Germany Cruise I took where they mis-represented the scheduled events - they can't delete it however - so the link below shows the original review - I've also posted it on my own FB page, on Yelp, here and made it public for all internet searches so it can be found. Bc it had so many comments and likes it was still at the top of the "Most Helpful Column" and they couldn't have that.... Original review link for Viking River Cruises on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alison.mccombs/posts/10104486688307539:0 Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: November 2017
I have had no interest in a typical ocean cruise experience. Shopping and gambling aren't my thing, which is what interested me in a Viking River Cruise. The activities and itineraries offered were exactly what I was looking for. ... Read More
I have had no interest in a typical ocean cruise experience. Shopping and gambling aren't my thing, which is what interested me in a Viking River Cruise. The activities and itineraries offered were exactly what I was looking for. Viking River Cruises have designed their itineraries to highlight the various regions and cultures, while providing an excellent opportunity to gain a more thorough appreciation for the countries, regions, cities we visited, and cultures we learned more about. The architecture and cultural experience were what I was looking for. The world class cuisine was an added benefit. The ships tour director was very knowledgeable, friendly and approachable. The on-board entertainment was excellent. Our shore excursions were led by people from the respective areas we visited. They were very informative guides, with a very clear passion for their cities. Our cabin came with sufficient space for the two of us to store all of our belongings. Our cabin was functionally designed and while not large, provided the necessary living and sleeping space for two people. Read Less
Sail Date: November 2017
Wonderful, conscientious and attentive staff. Comfortable, well appointed stateroom. Excellent tour guides. Amazing food. Terrific fellow travelers. I have only superlatives for the Romantic Danube river cruise I took. As a solo traveler, ... Read More
Wonderful, conscientious and attentive staff. Comfortable, well appointed stateroom. Excellent tour guides. Amazing food. Terrific fellow travelers. I have only superlatives for the Romantic Danube river cruise I took. As a solo traveler, I found myself easily included in all the activities, never without good conversation with friendly people. I found each daily tour extremely well presented by knowledgeable, personable and well spoken guides who gave rich, historical background to the site, town or city we were visiting. I loved walking the cobblestoned streets and visiting gardens, historic buildings, churches, monasteries, markets and an opera house I'd only read about before. I enjoyed having enough free time to go off on my own to a museum, to have coffee and the local pastries at the cafes, and to spend time in the elegant shopping areas of the beautiful old cities and towns. I even enjoyed finding my way via the local public transportation systems! The food aboard ship was delicious and plentiful, well presented and always fresh. I was most delighted by the dinners having some choices that reflected the cuisine of the area we were visiting. The chef and his staff were quite amazing. The ship's entertainment was fun. It capped off most evenings with a final touch of pleasant satisfaction. It was a wonderful trip and I look forward to going on another Viking river cruise in the near future. Read Less
Sail Date: October 2017
We had never taken a river cruise before, but we had very high expectations. We were both recently retired, two dear friends were traveling with us, and we were excited. That said, there was this quiet anxiety that maybe the trip was ... Read More
We had never taken a river cruise before, but we had very high expectations. We were both recently retired, two dear friends were traveling with us, and we were excited. That said, there was this quiet anxiety that maybe the trip was over-hyped and might disappoint. It did not! In fact, we could not have imagined the terrific experience we were about to enjoy. To put it simply, Viking staff and program exceeded our expectation at every turn. Our stateroom was clean, comfortable, quiet and attractive. The staff was UNBELIEVABLE! You'd think at least one would have "a bad hair day" once during the cruise. Never! They were on an A Game that did not stop - professional, courteous, friendly, helpful. The food was fantastic. The tours well organized with excellent guides. You get the picture. So here's just one example of the Viking standard of service. On the final day of our journey, a number of us needed to be at the Budapest airport for 6 am flights. This meant departing the Var at about 3 am. So what did the staff do? The served a breakfast for us at 2:00 am! They also provided a bar of cold cuts, cheeses and breads so that we could make sandwiches to carry onto our planes. This while the staff gathered our luggage and placed it on our bus to the airport. This was Wow Service with an exclamation point. We enjoyed every moment of our cruise from Nuremberg to Budapest. An experience we will long and happily remember. It was the experience of our lifetime! Until we sign up for another Viking cruise. Read Less
Sail Date: October 2017
Itinerary, love Viking, our 2nd river and one ocean Montreal to NYC, wonderful. Highly recommend to everyone. Service is perfect, tours are well planned and interesting. The only point of disappointment was the 2 times we were parked ... Read More
Itinerary, love Viking, our 2nd river and one ocean Montreal to NYC, wonderful. Highly recommend to everyone. Service is perfect, tours are well planned and interesting. The only point of disappointment was the 2 times we were parked between 2 other Viking ships, no light in the rooms, couldn't use the balcony; the entire ship was dark. Tour manager was very knowledgable, loved the expert lectures on board. Food was always delicious and appealing. Service everywhere was perfect, always attentive, aware of what guests needed, swift and friendly ....in just the right amount. Room was kept very clean, service was perfect; asked once and they consistently provided what we needed without reminders. Front desk very helpful anytime we had a question. Especially helpful when we had to disembark at 3:30 am! Staff was out there, attentive and effecient. We had rainy weather, however, tours continued, can't control the weather. Thank you! Read Less
Sail Date: October 2017
We were invited by another couple to join them and it sounded like fun. We were so glad we went. From the beginning of being met at the airport we were looked out for and taken care of. All of the details had been prepared for and our ... Read More
We were invited by another couple to join them and it sounded like fun. We were so glad we went. From the beginning of being met at the airport we were looked out for and taken care of. All of the details had been prepared for and our needs were taken care of. The staff was courteous and considerate. The food was excellent (well, there was too much), the entertainment was great, and the onshore guides were great. We especially enjoyed the cruise through the Wachau Valley with the river surrounded by scenic vineyards interspersed with castles and were glad this was a scheduled feature of our trip rather than having transversed the valley at night. Arrangements for departure were all taken care of including early morning transport to the airport in plenty of time to catch our early flight with the guide even helping people print of their boarding passes. Read Less
Sail Date: October 2017
We chose this cruise because we wanted to share the experience with family members who were able to travel at the time the cruise was scheduled. It also was after October 1 and the rates were lower then. The ship was delightful and very ... Read More
We chose this cruise because we wanted to share the experience with family members who were able to travel at the time the cruise was scheduled. It also was after October 1 and the rates were lower then. The ship was delightful and very comfortable. The excursions were first rate and the guides very knowledgeable. The food was just outstanding and all cruise staff members were cordial and very helpful. Sasha, the Cruise Director did a great job. We learned a lot about Danube River history. The help on arrival in Budapest and departure for home from Prague was great. We were greeted at and transported from Budapest Airport and a Viking Representative literally took us by the hand to navigate the Prague Airport boarding processes. The musical presentation in Vienna was a highlight for us. If we river cruise again, we will definitely schedule with Viking. Thanks for a great experience. Read Less
Sail Date: September 2017
We wanted to go to Eastern Europe and visit the main cities on the Danube River Cruise. It was our first river cruise and we hope it won’t be our last. The whole crew and service was wonderful. The food was outstanding. Elvin was our ... Read More
We wanted to go to Eastern Europe and visit the main cities on the Danube River Cruise. It was our first river cruise and we hope it won’t be our last. The whole crew and service was wonderful. The food was outstanding. Elvin was our main waiter and he was extremely accommodating. All the tour guides were knowledgeable and made things interesting. The onboard entertainment was fun. We enjoyed Sylvia the pianist/singer. She has an extensive repertoire and played our requests. All the shore excursions and extra tours were terrific. Two other couples were in our party and we met so many other nice people on the boat. We were really glad we signed up for the extensions in Prague and Budapest. Both are beautiful cities. We did wish we had more time in Vienna so we would suggest you allow for more time there. There are so many wonderful sights and landmarks to see and not enough time. Hi Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2017
Picked this cruise for the itinerary. 3 day pre cruise in Prague was great but I could have booked the Hilton for less than half the price on my own . The included hotel breakfast was excellent. The Viking experience was way below my ... Read More
Picked this cruise for the itinerary. 3 day pre cruise in Prague was great but I could have booked the Hilton for less than half the price on my own . The included hotel breakfast was excellent. The Viking experience was way below my expectations and very expensive. I am a vet cruiser, mostly on RCCL and Celebrity, first time on Viking. Our itinerary for the first 3 days was changed to accommodate ship maintenance for which no details were provided until after the fact "technical issue". The ship spent an entire day in dry dock and Viking claimed there would be no impact. The reality is that the 1st 3 days of the cruise was diminished to a bus tour rather than scenic river cruising to accelerate our travel to reach dry dock in order to "meet our appointment schedule". Most of our travel after excursions was by bus. I could have booked a bus tour for a lot less money. We never made it to Passua. The small cabin size was shocking, not enough storage for my wife and myself. Needed to live out of a suitcase under the bed. The food was marginal at best, as an example there was one evening where we were only offered 3 entrees. The food on Celebrity is significantly better. Given no scenery the first 3 days, not a whole lot to do. For our troubles they offered drinks one evening in the lounge but given we had the drink package that was a big zero for me. The additional excursions were nice but very expensive. Would very likely not repeat with Viking. Very nice itinerary, mediocre accommodations, marginal food and very expensive. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2017
My wife and I booked this cruise because we thought sailing the Danube would be a beautiful and fun experience -- and it was. The ship was superbly maintained and always immaculate. Our cabin was amply sized and comfortable; the dining ... Read More
My wife and I booked this cruise because we thought sailing the Danube would be a beautiful and fun experience -- and it was. The ship was superbly maintained and always immaculate. Our cabin was amply sized and comfortable; the dining and service on board the ship were first rate; the shore excursions were fun; and the cruise director had boundless energy and gave extremely informative and well researched lectures before several dinners. Our most interesting experience was the WWII tour of Nuremberg. Standing where Hitler delivered his loathsome speeches to hundreds of thousands of his Nazi followers and then visiting Courtroom 600, the site of the Nuremberg trials where some of his most rabid henchmen finally were brought to justice, was simply chilling and deeply moving. Our two day pre-cruise stay in Budapest also was very enjoyable -- we had breathtaking views of Pest from our hotel window and our visit to the Dohany Street Synagogue and the nearby memorial to Raoul Wallenberg were other highlights of our trip. We will definitely book another cruise. Read Less
10 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2017
In many ways I hate to give such a critical review because the boat itself, the food and the accommodations were all exceptional, The staff were unbelievable. the the program director, George was wonderful. We marveled at the consistent ... Read More
In many ways I hate to give such a critical review because the boat itself, the food and the accommodations were all exceptional, The staff were unbelievable. the the program director, George was wonderful. We marveled at the consistent high level of service they delivered. While the land tours were uneven, they were mostly good and helped you to get a flavor for the region. Night lecture by a Bavarian scholar was excellent. However, due to high demand for river cruises on the Danube the boats are often required to tie up 3 deep while in dock. The venting systems for the boats pool between the boats and creates an unbelievable stench that permeated throughout the boat. It was impossible to be on the upper decks if you wanted to breathe. The common areas in the center of the boat made us gag on several occasions. The smell was not so bad in the rooms but because we had another boat tied along side, our balcony abutted the other ship. Not only was the view obstructed but it necessitated keeping the drapes and darkening shades drawen or you had to either look at a show you didn't want or you gave a show you didn't intend. Not acceptable.. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2017
My husband and I traveled with 2 other couples. First time for all of us. We had a great time. Everything was excellent from shore excursions, to our meals and our rooms. The ship was very clean in all of the common areas, also. The ... Read More
My husband and I traveled with 2 other couples. First time for all of us. We had a great time. Everything was excellent from shore excursions, to our meals and our rooms. The ship was very clean in all of the common areas, also. The meals were awesome. I tried so many different foods. The presentation for every meal was very appealing. Our favorite port was Budapest. The finale to a great vacation was the night cruise into the cities, after dinner. The lights were beautiful and very romantic!!! I would also like to mention, the Viking Rep at the Budapest airport. She handled our passports/check-in and made sure we were in the correct line for our airline. All of Tour Guides in all of the ports, were very knowledgeable and interesting. Some were very amusing and made it fun! I mentioned your cruise to everyone back home and passed out your brochure. We would love to travel again with you, but we will have to save, maybe in 2019. Read Less
Sail Date: June 2017
New adventures for all of us. From DC, Philly and London, we gathered two days before the cruise at a well-located and comfortable hotel on the Pest side of Budapest. We took advantage of two separate guided walking tours to learn the ... Read More
New adventures for all of us. From DC, Philly and London, we gathered two days before the cruise at a well-located and comfortable hotel on the Pest side of Budapest. We took advantage of two separate guided walking tours to learn the history and explore this beautiful and vibrant Hungarian city. Traditional restaurants featuring local fare were plentiful, and we enjoyed two very full days prior to beginning the cruise. We even did a one- hour Segway tour. It was fun but difficult on the Pest side because of the crowds, easier to navigate on the Buda side at the lower elevations by the river. The Var was conveniently located and transferring from our hotel to the ship couldn't have been easier. We quickly learned all the offerings and nuances of our ship. The food was wonderful throughout, and the chef and staff never disappointed with a variety of delicious cuisine. The highlight at the beginning was a beautiful nighttime Danube cruise where we were able to experience the beauty of Budapest from the river under the lights. The rest of the ports and excursions were equally as exciting from romantic Vienna, scenic cruising through the Wachau valley, charming Passau and Regensburg, traversing the many interesting locks, and bustling Nuremberg. Following our wonderful cruise, we spent three exciting days in Prague which included an outstanding city guided tour and a fascinating day spent at Terezin, used as an internment camp during WWII. We all agreed that it was a fantastic trip and we look forward to doing something similar on one of the many opportunities in Europe. Read Less
Sail Date: May 2017
We (my husband and I, both retired) thoroughly enjoyed this, our first, river cruise. Te ship was modern and very comfortable. Our room was a little tight but nice with the balcony, which we used often day and night. The food was ... Read More
We (my husband and I, both retired) thoroughly enjoyed this, our first, river cruise. Te ship was modern and very comfortable. Our room was a little tight but nice with the balcony, which we used often day and night. The food was excellent. I have a restrictive diet and the maitre de was more than willing to be sure I had plenty to eat right down to delicious gluten & lactose free deserts. The shore excursions were all led by very knowledgeable guides, most of whom were university professors. We have already planned our next adventure on the Viking Truvor from Moscow to St. Petersburg in June 2019. Excursions were included, so the price for the cruise was well worth it. A bottle of water was provided each excursion. Also, sodas, beer and wine were included in the price. We've sailed on 6 ocean cruises with another line and for the price, we couldn't match the value. Read Less
Sail Date: May 2017
We wanted to experience the Danube River and to begin the trip with an extension in Prague. We highly recommend spending several days in Prague. Touring the Jewish quarter was particularly meaningful for us. The service was ... Read More
We wanted to experience the Danube River and to begin the trip with an extension in Prague. We highly recommend spending several days in Prague. Touring the Jewish quarter was particularly meaningful for us. The service was attentive and reliable. We appreciated the extra effort from the dining room staff in celebrating our wedding anniversary. The ship is well designed. We enjoy having the full floor to ceiling window. I would have preferred more time in Nuremberg before departure. The guides are first rate. The food is consistently very good, particularly the appetizers and desserts. We enjoyed the excursions. For us, the walking tours are the most interesting. George was an enthusiastic and excellent program director. The pianist, Sylvia, was superb. The onboard lectures were interesting. The night cruise in Budapest on our last night was a highlight. We felt that we had a better sense of Budapest than Vienna. The opera performance onboard also was very entertaining. We look forward to another cruise. Read Less
Sail Date: May 2017
This was our second Viking cruise and it won't be the last. This time we went with two other couples (their first time). Again, as with our first cruise on the Seine, we were not disappointed. The ship was great with all public ... Read More
This was our second Viking cruise and it won't be the last. This time we went with two other couples (their first time). Again, as with our first cruise on the Seine, we were not disappointed. The ship was great with all public areas easily accessible. Our cabin comfortable with all the comforts one could ask for on a cruise. I can't say enough about the unbelievable crew and staff! When it was time to disembark it was like saying good-bye to new friends. The shore excursions, programs on board and the entertainment on board were perfect. We had the best guides in the cities - as on our previous cruise from Paris to Normandy, these guides were friendly, efficient and so knowledgeable. Last but certainly not least, the food is out of this world on a Viking River Cruise. Every meal was something to look forward to. Vienna will always be one of my favorite cities and the Strauss/Mozart concert was wonderful. Our cruise ended in Budapest, our first time there. What a spectacular ending to a fabulous tour. We will always remember cruising up and down the Danube at night with the gorgeous city of Budapest all lit up. Read Less
Viking Var Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 4.0 4.4
Dining 4.0 4.4
Entertainment 3.0 3.9
Public Rooms 5.0 4.6
Fitness Recreation 1.0 3.2
Family 1.0 3.2
Shore Excursion 4.0 4.4
Enrichment 4.0 4.2
Service 4.0 4.5
Value For Money 3.0 4.0
Rates 4.0 N/A

Find a Viking Var Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click
Compare and book excursions for your next cruise