10 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2017
I chose this cruise for the itinerary and the quality excursions advertised. It is the smallest ship I have sailed on. I would not recommend the two night pre cruise stay in Seville. The excursions were good, especially Cordoba but the ... Read More
I chose this cruise for the itinerary and the quality excursions advertised. It is the smallest ship I have sailed on. I would not recommend the two night pre cruise stay in Seville. The excursions were good, especially Cordoba but the Melia Sevilla was substandard, undergoing renovations and had a lack of food outlets. Not everyone wanted to go out after a day sightseeing. I cannot fault the staff on the ship. Excellent service and sailing down the river after leaving Seville was very pleasant. A visit from a flamenco group was a nice surprise as was the sangria provided.The excursion to Jerez from Cadiz was well run and well organised. Good tour of the bodega, generous sherry tasting and lots of tapas. So apart from the noisy cabin issues ( see cabin review ) I was a happy sailor. Good company from fellow passengers, an interesting, well travelled lot. Then came Morocco and Mourad, the tour guide from hell. We got a detailed and boring rave about the different Moroccan ethnicities, all the way to Marrakesh. Lots of repetition. Lunch at the Grand Savoy was OK and then we set out for the Medina where he literally raced through all the lanes, no stopping to point out or explain items on sale. At the Ben Yousefa Medrassa we were treated to a long rant about the 5 pilars of Islam. At this point I complained to our VTA escort and here I need to note that Mourad was incredibly rude to this nice young man, constantly screeching 'Harry count!!' Finally reached the square exhausted. Back at the hotel, some room keys, mine included, took over 45 minutes to arrive. Poor. I skipped the included dinner and show and had room service. By the way this hotel, the Grand Savoy, was not the hotel advised in a last minute pre cruise email. The next day we could not visit the Bahia palace (a film crew were there) so went to the Saadi tombs near the Kasbah. A visit to the Majorelle gardens was a pleasant reprieve, but not worth an hour stop. Lunch was at a lovely riad. Nice surroundings but very average food and only 2 loos for the ladies. You can imagine the queue. I had asked Mourad that morning, before leaving the hotel to slow down. He didn't. When I spoke to the excursions manager I was told that there would be another guide for Rabat and Fes. I hope so but I did not find out as I came down with a really nasty bug despite hand washing and sanitizing. I must say the crew, medical staff and reception were incredibly kind and professional. I have done overland excursions , Petra, the Taj Mahal, Machu Pichu, from cruise ships before. I expected VTA to provide a superior product. It didn't. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2017
We cannot criticise this little ship in any way. The organisation was wonderful from boarding to disembarking. We were a little concerned at some of the critical comments but soon dismissed them. The food was simply wonderful wherever ... Read More
We cannot criticise this little ship in any way. The organisation was wonderful from boarding to disembarking. We were a little concerned at some of the critical comments but soon dismissed them. The food was simply wonderful wherever we chose to eat. Breakfast on the rear deck was like stepping back in time. Lunch inside (or an the rear deck) could be ordered or self served. There were everyday choices such as fish, salads, etc at one end of the dining area with a huge and colourful dessert spread at the other end, In between was the daily specials such as Japanese, curries - a different choice every day. Pizzas were brought around too. The wait staff couldn't do enough for us. I couldn't wait for the next lecture as they were so informative and enjoyable - dry history made live. Our excursion briefings, by Zoe, were concise and to the point. Everything covered, to the point and not treated like children. I really liked the way she asked for questions, "Does anyone have any questions that would benefit the group?" Some of the excursions were a little too long in the bus but I understand that there were changed to an overnight stay. The guides were excellent. WE skipped on tour in Nantes and found a local street train. While we adults sat up like kids in a toy train, it took us through back streets and to all the sights. We will look for these in future. We have been to London many times and did not need the sight-seeing part of the extended pre-cruise but thought it worthwhile after a long flight from Australia. It was especially as our bags were delayed. The extra time, post-cruise, in Lisbon was best of all. what friendly people and great food. WE would recommend this ship to anyone, especially those who like the added knowledge of the lectures instead of "boring cruising". Read Less
MDaniels, Customer Services @Voyages to Antiquity has responded
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time aboard Aegean Odyssey, and thank you for sharing your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2017
Flying from Australia to set sail from Tilbury (London) it was great to have two 'pre-cruise' days built into the itinerary to enable recovery from jet lag as well as exploration of the departure port. Our hotel was situated just beside ... Read More
Flying from Australia to set sail from Tilbury (London) it was great to have two 'pre-cruise' days built into the itinerary to enable recovery from jet lag as well as exploration of the departure port. Our hotel was situated just beside the Tower of London which meant we could wander over the road to explore that historical site. The VTA organized London sightseeing tours were terrific - a quick 'taste' of all the major sites. Embarkation was quick and hassle-free - a feature of our re-embarkations at every port of call. Being on a smaller cruise ship, we moved quickly through security to re-board at the end of every day's shore excursions. The on-board staff were helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Cruise Director Richard did his job brilliantly. Entertainment was very appropriate for the passenger profile. The highlight of the on-board activities would have to be the series of lectures provided by various guest lecturers. These were informative, interesting and at times very amusing, and attended by virtually all passengers. The lectures brought the sites we visited to life, giving us a greater understanding of the history behind the areas visited, and the changes that have occurred in Europe over the ages, resulting in the modern day Europe we visited. A highlight of the trip (although it is hard to pick just one) was the evening visit to Alhambra Palace - cooler, better light for photography and fewer tourists around - just us!). In summary, this is a very convenient way to visit the coastal areas of these western European countries - no change of hotel each night! Read Less
MDaniels, Customer Services @Voyages to Antiquity has responded
We are delighted that you had a wonderful time with us this summer and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you back on board some time soon.
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2017
Embarkation at Tilbury was hanpered by poor car parking arrangements but, from the moment we got on board, the crew were efficient and friendly.The trip was enhanced by the quality of the lecturers who were both knowledgeable and ... Read More
Embarkation at Tilbury was hanpered by poor car parking arrangements but, from the moment we got on board, the crew were efficient and friendly.The trip was enhanced by the quality of the lecturers who were both knowledgeable and entertaining. The cruise took in the Northern Scottish Isles before and after Iceland. Bad weather caused the Captain to cancel one listed port and shorten another. This resulted in a couple of trips, one bird watching and the other whale watching, to be missed but, at short notice, these were replaced by similar trips at other locations. The reasons for these changes were carefully explained by the Captain and his crew but a few passengers seemed to think that it was either his or the ship's fault. This is not the newest or, thank god, the largest ship but it is well maintained and cannot be expected to ignore gale force winds and seas. Despite this VTA later compensated all passengers with a very generous refund of over £220 per person. Previous voyages we have taken with Fred Olsen and others, when similar disruption has taken place, did not merit an apology let alone any suggestion of compensation.We gained the impression of a company with a strong sense of customer service and would be more than happy to take a cruise with VTA again. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: July 2017
One needs to know what to expect, so please read their brochure carefully before booking this ship. We believe you will enjoy the experience, if, and only if you have made the correct match for you. What we liked and did not ... Read More
One needs to know what to expect, so please read their brochure carefully before booking this ship. We believe you will enjoy the experience, if, and only if you have made the correct match for you. What we liked and did not appreciate. The ship is clean. The staff,overall, with one or two exceptions are great. More training was required for some of the servers. The Dining room dinners were right on but breakfasts were a challenge. Every morning I found myself desperately waiting for a piece of toast. A station for toast would be a huge improvment. A little thing to some but not to this passenger. Speaker, tours etc were bang on target. Entertainment was my only disappointment. We did enjoy the classical music but please upgrade the repetitious piped in music to post 1950. The overall impression of the entertainment is that it is geared to those over 80 years of age. This leads to an issue you need to understand that there are many very senior passengers on-board. This cruise line definitely caters to seniors. Will we travel with this company again? Yes, we are already booked for a back to back cruise in 2018. We have clear expectations of what to expect and the pluses outweigh the negatives. Great value for the dollar. Read Less
MDaniels, Customer Services @Voyages to Antiquity has responded
Thank you for your recent review. We really appreciate your comments and these have been passed on to our Operations Team for review. We are looking forward to seeing you back on board for your next back to back cruise.
7 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2017
Visiting Iceland was the main reason for choosing this cruise. Having cruised previously and pleasurably with Swan Hellenic we had hopes of a similar experience but it was not to be.Our cabin, which was forward on Columbus Deck, ... Read More
Visiting Iceland was the main reason for choosing this cruise. Having cruised previously and pleasurably with Swan Hellenic we had hopes of a similar experience but it was not to be.Our cabin, which was forward on Columbus Deck, immediately impressed as somewhat spartan with no chair and one rather miserable picture by way of decoration. In rough weather the noise in this cabin was akin to an artillery bombardment and I do not consider the £3000pp we had paid represented value for money. Ports of call were missed notably the Orkneys and Shetlands and certainly at least one shore excursion was truncated. I note in the Company's response to Jocklet they plan to offer a goodwill payment in recompense. As yet I have received nothing. To be fair the food offered was of a reasonably good standard and the lectures provided were very good. Not so the entertainment unless you enjoy lengthy quiz sessions or the Cruise Director imitating Elvis Presley et al. After about ten days my wife and I became ill displaying symptoms, I later discovered, commensurate with Legionaires Disease -ie- ataxia, mental confusion, shortness of breath, coughing sputum and extreme tiredness amongst others.Recourse to the ship's medical services proved futile. I was actually asked what I expected from someone in their eighties when I reported my wife's symptoms to the doctor.When I lost balance and was removed from the dining room in a wheelchair he took a cursory look at me and then disappeared never to return. He dismissed my suggestion of providing an antibiotic out of hand I later discovered I had been charged for this "service". Disembarking at Tilbury the ship's staff were at the exit with clipboards but failed to notice we were having difficulty on account of illness unlike the port staff who immediately provided assistance It was a relief to return home and receive appropriate medical attention from our doctor - ie- Clarithromycin 500mgs OD - but we will never travel again with this company.. Read Less
MDaniels, Customer Services @Voyages to Antiquity has responded
We are very sorry you were disappointed with your cabin and that you and your wife were unwell during the cruise. As you will know, you wrote to us when you returned home in September, and we addressed all the points you raised. Your comments do not reflect the positive feedback we received from other quarters and we are pleased to say that our large and loyal customer base continues to grow year on year. However, we acknowledge that the type of cruise we offer will not suit everyone and we can only apologise if the experience did not live up to your own expectations on this occasion.
19 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2017
Iceland was the main attraction of this cruise and then the Islands of Great Britain. We traveled in the Owners Suite which was adequate but not anything special. Our cabin steward was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for him. ... Read More
Iceland was the main attraction of this cruise and then the Islands of Great Britain. We traveled in the Owners Suite which was adequate but not anything special. Our cabin steward was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for him. We found the food to be exceptionally boring and monotonous in its lack of variety and presentation. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you. The entertainment was very basic and repetitive. The itinerary which was the major reason for booking this particular cruise would have been amazing if they had adhered to it !!!!!!!! The Captain chose not to dock at times but anchor offshore which meant traveling by the slow , uncomfortable and ancient tenders to port . The organization of getting onto the tenders was slow and onerous. The Excursion Desk was not open often enough and the Excursion Staff were amateurish in their efforts to explain changes to the itinerary . On shore excursions were too short and rushed. When changes to sailing were made the time in Port was excessive and not what we expected or paid for or what the literature proposed. Lectures were held on at sea days and then extra lectures were added when Ports were cancelled . These were apparently quite informative at times. The ship was like a floating nursing home and despite the literature indicating that all passengers needed to be fit and able and sign a statement to say they were I have never seen so many elderly and unfit travelers. The ship was clean and well maintained but obviously very old. Read Less
MDaniels, Customer Services @Voyages to Antiquity has responded
We are sorry that itinerary changes were necessary during this cruise. We certainly faced a number of very difficult challenges but from the feedback received to date we believe most passengers were very happy with the way these were handled by the Captain and our excellent on-board team. We reserve the right to make amendments if they are caused by circumstances over which we have no control but nevertheless we will shortly be contacting everyone affected to offer them a goodwill payment as a gesture of apology. We trust this will demonstrate the high value we place on the loyalty and support of our customers.
12 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2017
Air Canada did what Air Canada does. Poor food, and a 3 hour delay on the tar mac, scrunched in a corner with a cricket team. Hotels: Edinburgh was the best part of the trip - mostly because of 3 interesting, but rushed tours. London ... Read More
Air Canada did what Air Canada does. Poor food, and a 3 hour delay on the tar mac, scrunched in a corner with a cricket team. Hotels: Edinburgh was the best part of the trip - mostly because of 3 interesting, but rushed tours. London was fancy and better maintained, but the excursions were optional and overpriced. (We were across the street from the British Museum)! The ship is dated, but might appeal to older passengers. New tenders are a must, if Northern ports are to be included. There is no wrap around deck for walking/talking. Due to inadequate tenders and inclement weather, my $10,000 cruise resulted in 5 missed ports, a cabin with thin walls, exposed rusty pipes (and little else). The ports offered in exchange were often travelled by myself and many of the guests so, of little interest or adventure. Shore excursions were generally included, but not all - (as advertised.) Entertainment was mainly covered by a few excellent speakers, and Richard's awesome cabaret. It saved the trip. The overworked Crew were amazing. Many thanks. Are they ever allowed off the ship? Visas should be provided for them. Would I sail with Voyages To Antiquity again? Do pigs fly? Read Less
MDaniels, Customer Services @Voyages to Antiquity has responded
We very much regret to learn that you did not enjoy your cruise. We have worked hard over the years to create a relaxed on-board ambience which, together with our varied and exciting itineraries, has led to a huge “Odyssey Club” membership that continues to grow rapidly. Unfortunately, changes to a cruise programme may sometimes be required either before departure or en route; and we state in our booking conditions that the Captain reserves the right to make such amendments if he has no option but to do so. Under those circumstances we arrange alternative stops/excursions to make up for any omissions, and we believe – from passenger feedback – that these arrangements have been implemented very successfully to date. However, we appreciate that the cruise did not live up to your own personal expectations and we are very sorry that was so.
10 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2017
I was part of Bernard Magee's bridge group. Both this and the fact that we arrived back into the UK rather than having to make another flight with all the airport hasssle involved persuaded me to take this voyage. The observation ... Read More
I was part of Bernard Magee's bridge group. Both this and the fact that we arrived back into the UK rather than having to make another flight with all the airport hasssle involved persuaded me to take this voyage. The observation lounge was a wonderful venue for the bridge, but it would have been even better if the air conditioning could have been controlled at a chosen level, rather than only on or off. I thought most of the excursions were good and appreciated that their cost was inclusive. Just one point regarding the Oporto port tasting and the vineyard visit from Bordeaux. At neither of these venues was there anywhere to sit whilst the guides gave their talks. I was unable to stand and often the quiet talk system didn't work and I had to find somewhere to sit and therefore missed the information. Yesterday I went with our U3A on a vineyard tour (Brightwell vineyard near Wallingford) and the owner guided us around the vines, imparting relevant information on the growing, pruning, watering and picking etc. en route, but the main part of the very informative talk took place inside the tasting area, where everyone was seated. Each wine and its production was explained as the tasting progressed. At the Bordeaux vineyard we were not even walked around the vines and all the talk took place without any seating. If at all possible I would suggest this way of conducting such tours would be appreciated far more if seating was available and in particular, if done in the way the Brightwell tour was. My cabin was very comfortable and my steward excellent. I enjoyed the food, mainly lunching on the promenade deck and dining in the Marco Polo and breakfasting on the Lido deck. The staff were delightful. I cannot comment on the lectures or entertainment, as I didn't attend any due to the amount of time I spent playing bridge. However I heard good reports about some of the lectures. I am not sure why the coaches were always a good step away from the ship, but thought this might have been due to security requirements. I found the ship's shop useful, especially as the weather from Bordeaux onwards was colder than many had anticipated. I note you don't give an option for comment on the disembarkation! I thought this was chaotic and Tilbury a nightmare of a port for the taxi to navigate. Read Less
39 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2017
Having read numerous reviews regarding Voyages to Antiquity (VTA) and their ship, Aegean Odyssey, I was puzzled by the diverse reviews. Some appeared to love it, whilst others hated it. My conclusion, after a cruise in May and talking with ... Read More
Having read numerous reviews regarding Voyages to Antiquity (VTA) and their ship, Aegean Odyssey, I was puzzled by the diverse reviews. Some appeared to love it, whilst others hated it. My conclusion, after a cruise in May and talking with some fellow travellers, is that many have only been on this ship and learnt to love the quirks and forgive the shortcomings, as they have nothing with which to compare. Others have cruised before on other lines and thus have a base for comparison. We recently travelled on the Aegean Odyssey, from Seville to Rome, departing May 13. We booked Cabin 805, a Junior Suite with a balcony (category below the Owners suite). The cabin came at a price, but was the best cabin that we have ever had on any cruise ship with only a few minor complaints. We have previously cruised on Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, Azamara and Princess, on a range of ships sizes from 130kt to 30kt. At 12kt, this was the smallest (and oldest) ship on which we have sailed. There were quite a few positives with regard the Odyssey, which we really loved, but sadly far outweighed by the negatives, to the point that we would not consider cruising on this ship again (unless we had a guarantee that the negatives had all been addressed). I would like to note that apart from taking up specific issues with the Excursions Manager (which was a total waste of my time), I also completed the passenger survey form that was delivered to our cabin on the last night. I offered to expand on my negative comments, hoping to offer constructive criticism, before I posted anything on Cruise Critic. But after 6 weeks passing from cruise completion, and having heard nothing, I can only conclude the VTA either does not take the survey forms seriously, or doesn’t really bother to read them. Incidentally, this was the similar response that I received on board from the Tour Manager, when I tried to suggest some changes to the way in which some tours had been organised. Now for some details The Ship 3/5 Yes, the ship is old and a former car ferry, but is well maintained. I was particularly impressed how well it handled a few rough days, much better than I had anticipated for such a small ship. Not exactly a pretty ship, very small pool area, but easy to get around. Itinerary 3/5 We booked this cruise because of the interesting itinerary around Spain and Italy, included tours and some of the positive reviews. Most of the ports were interesting, perhaps too much emphasis on churches, but overall good. Cabin 4/5 Having booked a superior grade cabin, we loved it. Few issues apart from a ridiculously small TV, balcony door that leaked and air conditioning for which there was no individual adjustment in each cabin. But cabin was very spacious, well appointed, and probably the quietest cabin on any ship. The balcony was tiny and almost unusable. Public Rooms 4/5 A small ship which allows light from both sides into public rooms, and thus creates a lovely atmosphere. Could always find a seat in all lounges. The nicest room was the Observation Lounge on the top deck, but rarely ever used and such a waste. Overall, lounges were modern and no complaints. Food 3/5 Unfortunately, this is an area for improvement. Serving sizes were often quite small in the main restaurant (not necessarily bad), but after having fish and steak on a few occasions, I gave up on these dishes. The fish dishes were always overcooked. Steaks were always requested rare, hoping to at least get medium rare, but alas, they were always served medium/well, overcooked for my liking. Some of the dishes in the main restaurant were excellent, others okay, but generally not up to the standard of other cruise lines. The other buffet restaurant also receives mixed reviews. Some dishes excellent, others ordinary to bad. Lunch-times often saw a themed lunch, eg Indonesian, Indian etc and we tended to like this variety, and food was generally good and interesting. Service Again, mixed reviews depending on the staff involved and the restaurant. One annoying feature of the buffet restaurant is that the doors which open onto the really lovely outdoor terrace area, are not automatic, heavy and dangerous if you had to carry a tray full of food through them. This was recognised as a real safety issue and their solution is to have wait staff carry your tray for you to all points of the restaurant, both inside and out. This sounds a great idea, but is labour intensive which often detracts from the service – clearing tables, filling up water glasses, offering drinks etc. A far better solution would be to install automatic doors, as on almost all other ships and even with an old ship, it must surely not be too difficult. This would free up quite a few wait staff to greatly improve the patchy service. On one day early in the cruise, we sat in a section of the indoor restaurant where service was poor. To his credit, one of the wait staff with initiative, from another area, observed our plight and suggested we sit in his section, which we did for rest of the cruise. He was excellent, looked after us and provided great service and we rewarded him with an extra tip at the end of the cruise (even though tipping was an inclusion). On one of the few nights when we chose to eat in the buffet restaurant, the service was again poor. Drinks at dinner were included in the fare, and on sitting down, I asked for a quick beer to quench my thirst (as we had just returned from a tour) and requested a wine to follow. The wine came, but not the beer, so I went up to the bar and requested my beer. I was told that there was table service only, apologies given and the beer was delivered to my table. When I requested a second glass of wine, same problem, it never arrived. So again, back to the bar, same apology, same result. I have never had to do this once, let alone twice on any other cruise ship. We noted that a new Maitre d’ (Peter) joined the ship after about 4 days and some discipline was then observed and things improved quite a bit, with education and training of some of the wait staff. He did an excellent job and lead by example, and we cannot compliment him too highly and told him so. Entertainment Being a small cruise ship, we did not expect grand productions as we have experienced on larger cruise ships. But we were not prepared for the lack of variety in the entertainment. We don’t get bored easily and normally find enough to entertain ourselves on sea days, but thankfully on this cruise, we had few sea days (more on that later!). We thought that a fair comparison may have been to compare with the previously smallest ships on which we had sailed (Azamara Journey and Quest), both with roughly twice the number of passengers. But Azamara was light years ahead, with a 5 piece show band, and 4 singers/dancers, guest entertainers, many more activities during the day. The Odyssey had an extremely talented cruise director (Richard) and he was the sole entertainer each night in the main lounge, supported by a classical duo and trio, playing at other times in lounges. All a bit too repetitive. Without Richard (who carried out more of an entertainer’s role, rather than one of a cruise director) and his talent, this ship would be even more lacking in entertainment. But the standard just does not compare at all with the offerings from Azamara, with just double the number of passengers. The highlight during the sea days was the quiz, again hosted by Richard, but lasting just 15-20 minutes. Lectures VTA advertises as a strength, its on-board lecture program. This consisted of 2 lecturers, one on art and one on archaeology. The art lecturer was very dry and thus I only attended one of his sessions, whereas the archeology/history lecturer was excellent, passionate and always interesting and I really enjoyed all of his presentations. But I must say that neither was overworked during their 2 week on-board stints Activities As covered above, there was little to do on sea days, little more to add. Tours This is the most disappointing aspect of the cruise, touted as a strength for VTA, with its included tours, but which were often very poorly organised. The Tour Manager was seriously lacking in personal skills, personality and organisational skills and was backed up by some friendly but inexperienced support staff. My issues, as well as those experienced by many other passengers on this cruise, are too numerous to detail. The inability to often manage an orderly disembarkation for tours was very annoying. As Junior Suite passengers, we were supposed to have priority disembarkation for tours, but the tour manager could not adequately organise this. With other cruise ships, passengers are requested to sit in a specific lounge in groups, and such groups are called one by one to disembark. Not the case on the Odyssey, where passengers tended to mass outside of the lounges and not follow any firm instructions to allow any form of orderly disembarkation. Instead of calling small groups to fill buses one by one, they would call large groups at once, often filling 6 or more buses at the one time, hence unnecessarily delaying departures. When I complained to the Tour Manager, she became quite defensive and said that she cannot control the behaviour of passengers, or she would get complaints from them. It seemed that my complaint did not count. She also advised that she had been doing it this way for 10 years, which I pointed out did not necessarily make it correct. I advised her that her system could not and would not work on larger cruise ships, but alas, this all fell on deaf ears. We actually missed the port of Cartegena totally, due to some “internal ticketing issue” (as we were advised) with organisation of one of the optional tours in the previous port and were told that this tour was regarded as a highlight of the cruise, and that a “private, after hours” tour had been arranged. This meant a late departure and thus to make up for this delay, we had to miss the next port. In my passenger survey, as previously mentioned, I requested a more detailed explanation of why we had to miss a port, but no reply received to date. Conclusion The ship had been tied up in Greece for approx. 5 months from Nov 2016, until April 2017, and it is understood that many of the crew were new and perhaps inexperienced, so perhaps this contributed to the lack of organisation and detail. The ship was in good shape. Overall, the cruise and itinerary had great potential but sadly did not live up to expectations, and not even close to Azamara in value for money, service and food quality. We have now been advised that after one cruise, we have joined the “Odyssey Club”, which entitles us to a range of freebies on our next cruise, such as free internet etc, but it would take a lot more than a few throw-ins to ever entice us onto this ship again. Read Less
MDaniels, Customer Services @Voyages to Antiquity has responded
Hi Bazza99, We much appreciate your very detailed feedback, as we know that it is only by listening to customers that we can maintain and improve the quality of our cruises. We invite passengers to complete questionnaires at the end of each cruise, and overall this year, more than 90% have rated the food and service, in both the on-board restaurants, to be good or excellent. The entertainment and excursion programmes have also been very highly rated. However, we are by no means complacent, and we acknowledge that when you travelled there were some problems with our shore excursion team. We apologise if you were unhappy with the service provided, but can advise you that certain personnel changes have been made and these, together with the benefits that come from greater experience, appear to have ironed out any inadequacies that then existed. Thank you for posting this review. We note that you found much to enjoy during your cruise, so we hope that you will overcome your present reservations and book with us again at some point. We will then do our best to ensure that every aspect of your next cruise lives up wholly to your expectations.
Aegean Odyssey Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 4.0 3.7
Dining 4.0 4.0
Entertainment 2.0 3.2
Public Rooms 3.0 3.8
Fitness Recreation 2.0 3.1
Family 1.0 3.1
Shore Excursion 4.5 4.2
Enrichment 4.0 4.4
Service 5.0 4.4
Value For Money 4.0 3.9
Rates 4.0 4.3

Find a Cruise