1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: March 2019
I would like to highlight the positives first for this trip on Marina, from Lima to NYC. I am gluten-free. I told Roger, the Specialty Diet Coordinator that I pick cruises based on food and desserts. He introduced me to Pastry Chef ... Read More
I would like to highlight the positives first for this trip on Marina, from Lima to NYC. I am gluten-free. I told Roger, the Specialty Diet Coordinator that I pick cruises based on food and desserts. He introduced me to Pastry Chef Bruno, who then made sure I got a different dessert every day, to my liking. Everyone one of them was an art of work. Felt very pampered. The Terrace Cafe chef Viktor was also super nice and patient. He walked me through the food, and made me special dishes when asked. Yes, I am looking for Marina future cruises, see if I can enjoy the service of those 3 again. On a whole. (1) They seem to have centralized the operation so one gets same stuff in the Cafe and the Main Dining Room. A lot of people now prefer the Cafe (more choices, less time). (2) They changed some of the Specialty Restaurants’ menu. Red Ginger used to be the draw to sail on Marina. Now Favorite dishes are gone. The same with Jacques. No more incentive. (3) Wave Grill is still a major draw! Ate their food a lot. Very nice and accommodating staff. Deeno, who cleaned our room, was super too. Did everything we asked for, even chasing down our missing survey last minute. Now, he knew how to use persuasion and gentle touch. We stayed in a Concierge Veranda. No butler service, only gave us access to the Lounge. Concierge service was only available 8am-12, 4-8 pm, when we were mostly out or having dinner. How about longer hours? “The Concierge got to sleep some time!” was the answer. For a company bragging about service, that is down right bad. Add another person is my answer. As usual, the lectures were great! Loved those on Panama Canal. Oceania was known for their land tours, nice sites, classy, buses only 60-70% full, etc. But on this cruise, not sure if it was because the towns were just developing their tourism, or because of security concerns, some of the tours were down right terrible or lame. Cancelling Norfolk due to weather was really disappointing too. The Destination Staff, instead of being apologetic and accommodating, were pretty defensive in their attitudes. The sanitation lock down did not help either. Some of the staff members were down right hostile as though we brought them the disaster. Highly recommend that the management teach their staff how to gain the passengers’ cooperation with persuasion rather than enforcement. That is, if the Management knows how themselves. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: March 2019
Chosen for Easter Island port, but it was not meant to be. Surf conditions prevented us from going ashore. Whole ship disappointed. Anyone considering a similar cruise, recommend picking one with an overnight to double your chances of ... Read More
Chosen for Easter Island port, but it was not meant to be. Surf conditions prevented us from going ashore. Whole ship disappointed. Anyone considering a similar cruise, recommend picking one with an overnight to double your chances of getting on the island. Evening entertainment was not very good. With a few exceptions, evenings were pretty boring. Very few ballroom dancing opportunities, but when the band did play, they did a very good job. Take advantage of the pre-dinner happy hour, BoGo. The only downside is both drinks must be the same. The string quartet was excellent, the production cast, not so good. Enrichment lecturers were outstanding. Not sure I would choose Oceania for an itinerary with so many sea days again (we had 10). They did not have the staff nor a varied selection of activities to keep everyone occupied, but public areas were great if all you want to do is chill. New policies: complimentary use of self-service laundries and one free wifi connection per stateroom -- OLife choice not needed to get this amenity anymore. 2 great pluses! Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2019
Yes, Oceania has the best cuisine at sea, unless you are health conscientious. Overweight and obese passengers were in pig heaven on Marina. We personally found the food way too salty, too heavy with too much butter and too much sweet ... Read More
Yes, Oceania has the best cuisine at sea, unless you are health conscientious. Overweight and obese passengers were in pig heaven on Marina. We personally found the food way too salty, too heavy with too much butter and too much sweet stuff. For the first time on a cruise we had trouble finding something that appealed to us. We personally love fruits, nuts, vegetables, good bred, fresh fish; Mediterranean, Indian, Thai, Chinese and Japanese cuisine. Fruits on the Marina were mostly limited to melons and a little pineapple. Bananas were green or otherwise inedible, as we were told the Marina tried to avoid catering locally and practically all provisions on board were deep frozen. Only rarely was a fresh local fish on the menu. Bread for breakfast consisted mainly of fatty, sweet pastry, I got nauseous just looking at it. Fresh omelettes were fried in butter, the burnt butter was sticking in black spots to the dish, ugh. Frying eggs in butter is unacceptable to us. Fresh oatmeal was a heavy creamy substance that didn't resemble oatmeal. We have never eaten as poor on a cruise as on this one, maybe we had been too spoiled on Silversea or our Regent cruises, but these other cruise line don't boast the best cuisine at sea. But we must admit, the great majority of the passengers on the Marina craved the food, they loved it. They got their moneys worth of salt, sugar and fat and were thus able to accumulate more additional pounds. The clientele on the Marina was different from the other cruises we were used to and preferred. The ship was too big for our liking; we love the smaller ships, where we get to know and recognise most of the passengers and crew after just a few days. The ship itself was excellent, beautifully maintained and a pleasure to sail on. We did love our Penthouse Suite, this is the way to travel. We had no need of the butler, we just loved the spaciousness of the suite high up on deck 11. The staff was excellent and well managed. We did find the sommeliers were under too much pressure to sell the more expensive wines. Oceania is not very "inclusivy"; our suite had 3 free laundry bags offered for our cruise, 3 days for the return of the laundry was too long for us. We preferred the self service laundry which my wife could finish in one day. For the self service laundry Oceania charged 2 $ for washing and another 2 $ for drying, wow, that was another first for us. We did find the shore excursions too expensive and had made our own arrangements. Would we choose Oceania again? No. But we can recommend Oceania without reservations to people who love big chunk of meats, hamburgers, hot dogs, thick french fries and lots of sweets; on Oceania you can get your moneys worth. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: January 2019
The food really is wonderful. The cabin was really nice too, comfortable bed and linens. The staff was very friendly especially our steward.But if you wanted a drink at the pool you best hustle on over to the bar because they aren't ... Read More
The food really is wonderful. The cabin was really nice too, comfortable bed and linens. The staff was very friendly especially our steward.But if you wanted a drink at the pool you best hustle on over to the bar because they aren't going to ask if you need anything. Odd because all the restaurant people were on it! Entertainment was marginal to poor. The pool side band played about an hour and quit at noon. What's up with that. The comedian was great - talking about marriage. One of the lectures was the "history of cruise ships" -- which was not interesting to us. Other topics would have been more interesting. The cooking classes were always full - and also had a cost. There were wonderful restaurants which had no cost. You had to make a reservation for the restaurants on the day you wanted If it was not full or others did not show or canceled you could then go to the restaurant. Our really bad experience was with the destination services desk. The counter Manager raised her voice at a girl, Natalie, who was trying her best to explain her complaint in English. Her issue, which ironically was ours too, was failure to get a $199 credit for an excursion that was canceled due to bad weather. She, like us, thought we should get full credit for it - as it was one of the 3 included excursions in our fare. We were to get 3 "free" excursions. When we got 2 "free" excursions - we felt a credit was appropriate. We weren't the only ones that felt this way. When Natalie asked what she was supposed to do with her excursion tickets - the manager replied "keep them for a souvenir". Natalie, her husband and my wife and I talked to the General Manager. He explained that the "free" excursions were an advertising gimmick to get customers to sign up for the cruise. The "free" excursions essentially had no value - but, as a courtesy Oceania would credit our account $100. My stance was that if the excursions had no value then why did they put a $199 charge for them. We ended up getting $100 credit for a $199 excursion. But if I can convince you to cruise with other lines I'm happy. We paid nearly $10,000 for the cruise and they chose to cheat us out of $198 on one excursion and $240 on another. Amazing!!! I wouldn't say this cruise was "fun". It did offer excursions that were incredible with talented locals who entertained with glee. Post cruise we had to be off the ship by 9:00 am. Flights out of Tahiti are at 11:00 pm. One of the good things Oceanic gave us a choice to have our luggage transported to the airport - which meant we did not have to lug it around all day. The luggage was delivered at 6:30 at the airport. That was really nice. One of the hotels, Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort,Oceania offered an excursion that picked up passengers to hotels until transport to the airport in the evening. This resort was the same place we stayed before the cruise. Please read my wife's review of Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort. We gave it a 2 star rating, the breakfast ($30 each) was fine - dinner food was terrible and expensive. The resort had uncomfortable living room furnishings Anyway, the post cruise excursion lets passengers hang out in a ballroom with the rest of the gang, eat bad food and relax. We noticed that the hotel had a sign that a day rate was $125 but we found out from other travelers that the resort charged up to $400 for a day room. The pool at the Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort was nice when they weren't having spinner classes - twice a day. Try Royal Caribbean, Viking, Holland America or anything else Read Less
Sail Date: January 2019
Easter Island-RAPA NUI was wonderful. The stop at Pitcairn Island to visit the descendants of the BOUNTY mutineers was terrific. Tahiti, Bora Bora, Raiatea are classic south seas destinations. Tours of ports of call were extremely costly ... Read More
Easter Island-RAPA NUI was wonderful. The stop at Pitcairn Island to visit the descendants of the BOUNTY mutineers was terrific. Tahiti, Bora Bora, Raiatea are classic south seas destinations. Tours of ports of call were extremely costly but all were excellent. Seeing the giant MOI on Rapa Nui is a once in the lifetime experience. It was a surprise that Easter Island is absolutely beautiful. Greenery abounds since vegetation has been planted from all around the world since the late 1800's. Marina pax were extremely fortunate that we could tender to the island on the two days of our visit. Oceania Marina did not live up to its glossy reputation on this cruise. Food especially in the vaunted speciality restaurants was not totally enjoyable. The main dining room had the best most consistent food on the ship. Food on Celebrity,NCL,HAL, Princess is s good or better. While we went on Marina for the itinerary-not its reportedly wonderful food, we were surprised that many people shared our less than positive food experiences. It seemed that people's feelings about the food improved after multiple glasses of adult beverages at mealtime. And it was nice to have six or seven restaurants to choose from- no set mealtimes Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2018
I really tried to enjoy Marina she comes with a great reputation however overall I was disappointed. 1. The decor is very dated I know she was refurbished only a couple of years ago, but why make her look so dull, old fashioned and ... Read More
I really tried to enjoy Marina she comes with a great reputation however overall I was disappointed. 1. The decor is very dated I know she was refurbished only a couple of years ago, but why make her look so dull, old fashioned and over-done? 2.The enrichment and shore information was non existent. No lectures, no on screen information just an overview in the daily news letter. Every day the local TA would be available on the ship - that's it. 3.We were hoping to dance while on the cruise but we found the band in the horizons lounge to have a repetitive repertoire with a thin sound. They also looked most of the time pretty disinterested. 4.The shuttle buses were a disaster in most ports. Long queues, long waits, lots of frustrated guests, us included. Lots of statements that the shuttle buses are provided by the local authorities and Oceania takes no responsibility. It seems to me that if Oceania advertise that their ship is visiting a locatation then they should make it their business to ensure their guests are able to get there. 5. In in room information services whilst providing next to no information about the ports spend a lot of time advertising (paid) services at the spa, the shops. 6. We went to a couple of the stage productions and they were really good. The dancing music and singing were terrific. Other nights we would walk in to see what was playing and walk out again disappointed. 7 The food was overall of a high standard in the buffet restaurant. The wines offered on the most part were very good also. 8. The coffee in Barista's is terrible.I wouldn't care so much but they make such a big deal about having proper baristas on board 9. Of the specialty restaurants we had one fabulous dinner at Red Ginger, and the second time it was average. The Polo Grill was nothing special, we had a great Italian meal In Toscano however Jacques was a real disappointment. Was that dry chicken breast with thickened mushroom sauce meant to be coq au vin? I question the (french) waiter and he agreed with me and then said: "what can I say, the chef is Canadian!" 10. The staff everywhere on this ship are terrific, friendly, nothing too much trouble 11. Internet was painfully slow (2KB a sec) and only allowed one device at a time per cabin Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
I travel the world, but am new to luxury cruise market. We chose Marina based on itinerary, the size and the food. We didn't want too big, but not too small. It fit the bill. This was a rare cruise that stays in St. Petersburg for ... Read More
I travel the world, but am new to luxury cruise market. We chose Marina based on itinerary, the size and the food. We didn't want too big, but not too small. It fit the bill. This was a rare cruise that stays in St. Petersburg for 3 days. We were fairly satisfied with the cruise, but there were elements that prevent me from calling it 5 star. Therefore, I doubt that I will cruise Oceania again if there are better choices around. Pros: - 2 weeks before embarkation, Oceania offered $500 per person upgrade to Suites, and we took it. Cabin was spacious, and well decorated. Walk-in closet was to die for. Bathroom was huge, with the bathtub, but shower was relatively cramped. - Overall, the staff were amazing. Especially room steward and dining room staff. - We ate at all specialty restaurants. Toscana was best, Jacque was decent, Polo Grill was so so. A lot of people like Red Ginger, but I have very high standard for Asian food. - Afternoon tea. Lovely tradition. We participated almost everyday. Cons: - I didn't like the fact that they charge $600 extra per person for liquor package, calling themselves as luxury cruise. Beverage service was horrible. Whenever you are seated in a restaurant, you need to be taken drink order first. We always had to flag down so-called sommeliers (later we learned that they become sommeliers after 1 week of training), well after dinner order was taken. When we finally flag down sommeliers, they usually start recommending bottles of wines; as soon as they hear that we have liquor package, their service gets rushed. This was probably the most unpleasant experience in this cruise. - One thing I cannot understand was, compared to all the staff who work so hard to satisfy customers, the officers, managers, and captains are so disinterested in customer service. We only saw captain having dinner with his own family. I called dining manager and general manager one day to complain about something; nothing substantial got done. - Entertainment was truly sub par. - Shore excursions were extremely expensive. I went with my own arrangement with TJ Travel and SPB Tours, and I was very satisfied. Oceania charges premium price and the experience was not quite premium. They really don't care about post cruise survey either. I don't think their quality will improve. They certainly will not retain us as repeat customers. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
This is my second cruise on Oceania and true to form all of the amenities they mention and all of the service they brag about is truly only available on their concierge suites or higher. If you are in a regular room you will not get the ... Read More
This is my second cruise on Oceania and true to form all of the amenities they mention and all of the service they brag about is truly only available on their concierge suites or higher. If you are in a regular room you will not get the best service or opportunities on the boat. A couple of examples. They rave about their great "specialty" restaurants. Priority is given to the upper suite classes and by the time you get on the ship or can book a reservation on line for the most part all of the reservations are taken and the best you can get is an 8:30 PM reservation just before they close. Another example you are warned repeatedly that if you are off the boat on a private tour not booked by the boat and you return to the ship late the ship will leave you. Except if you are in a penthouse suite. Our boat left late after they announced one of the penthouse guests to please contact them if they were on the boat and then an hour later a limo showed up with a family that ran and got on the ship. So if you are in the Penthouse even the rules don't apply to you. I just feel that Oceania has an attitude that they only care if you book the higher suites and spend more money. We tried to book excursions only to be told they were sold out and they put us on a waiting list but they would not tell you how the waiting list worked so how would you know if you even had a chance for an excursion. They say they have the best food of all cruises but I did not find this the case. The food is OK but unless you again are willing to spend a fortune on their "gourmet" dinners I have had similar and at times better food on other cruises. I just feel they over charge you for basic service with no real advantage to enhanced services and they don't mind letting you know because you didn't book the penthouse. Read Less
9 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2018
We booked a concierge level stateroom with the O-Life package including 5 tours. Air arrangements made by Oceania got us into Montreal late in the day. The cruise was supposed to start in Montreal but due to high river levels making ... Read More
We booked a concierge level stateroom with the O-Life package including 5 tours. Air arrangements made by Oceania got us into Montreal late in the day. The cruise was supposed to start in Montreal but due to high river levels making passage under bridges difficult, we had to be transported to second port of call in Trois Rivieres to embark. Oceania's arrangements for transfers to the ship were abysmal. We had to wait, standing around for two hours before a bus arrived to take us to the ship and no refreshments, even water, were provided in the waiting location or on the bus. The staff handling the transfer at the airport were poorly informed regarding where buses were and what arrangements would be made for dining when we arrived at the ship after the dining venues were scheduled to close. Fortunately, buffet was kept open late to handle the many late arrivals. Our stateroom bathroom was not cleaned well when we arrived -- unclean glasses and residue on shelves in stateroom. Stateroom staff was quick to remedy problems, and were generally responsive throughout the cruise after that. The stateroom was what we expected and in good condition. Bed and linens were quite comfortable. Room was quiet. Food was, in general, quite good. Comparable or better than Crystal. We found the food and service at specialty restaurants Jacques and Red Ginger to be excellent and better than specialty restaurants on Crystal, but food and service at both Polo Grill and Toscana were major disappointments. Food at Terrace buffet and Waves grill was quite good and service and quality of coffee offerings at Baristas was great. Lectures were distinctly inferior in quality and number to Crystal offerings on the cruises we have taken with that line. Exercise classes also were more limited and the exercise instructors were a clear step below Crystal exercise classes and instructors. Most tours were excellent, although the overview tour of Dublin was uninformative and generally disappointing. Read Less
Sail Date: May 2018
The itinerary of this Trans Atlantic (Montreal - Southampton, starting May 8) was great. The Marina and Riviera are our favorite ships. Unfortunately the embarkation was in another port than planned. The dis-organization was complete ... Read More
The itinerary of this Trans Atlantic (Montreal - Southampton, starting May 8) was great. The Marina and Riviera are our favorite ships. Unfortunately the embarkation was in another port than planned. The dis-organization was complete there. No Oceania-crew visible. Long waiting and nobody taking care at our luggage. I decided to do that job myself and at the end I personally put my luggage in the bus. The food was ok but has been better in the past. Alas too often bread is dried out, cutting the sllzes too far in advance. About 50% of the fruit at breakfast was unripe. The 'fresh' orange juice was probably never fresh. Why not admit?! At dinner not much variation on the menu and the ingredients seem to be cheaper than in the past. Some waiters are not as friendly as we were used to in the past. The Barista was excellent as always, as were the smoothies. The entertainment was as usual: not very good. Too loud screaming 'soprano's' are even more annoying when we are trying to talk during happy hour. However, we are not really cruising for the entertainment. There was a very good lecturer fro GB. The officers, even including the CD are hardly visible. I saw an other review with the following complaint about that: "Whilst we don't normally participate in trivia and other activities, we are normally on nodding terms at the very least with the Cruise Director. This is the first time that I have NEVER seen a Cruise Director around the ship..... Activities, particularly on sea days, were uninspired". I can only say that being invisible was the best this CD could do: Who would like to meet this unfriendly and rude man when enjoying your holiday? Not me. Wer still like Oceania, but we hope the down grading will stop. Read Less
Marina Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 4.5 0.0
Dining 4.5 0.0
Entertainment 3.0 0.0
Public Rooms 5.0 0.0
Fitness Recreation 4.0 0.0
Family 1.0 0.0
Shore Excursion 4.0 0.0
Enrichment 5.0 0.0
Service 4.0 0.0
Value For Money 4.0 0.0
Rates 4.0 0.0

Find a Marina Cruise

Email me when prices drop