2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2019
For the middle-aged and older crowd, this cruise was amazing! We arrived in Papeete a day early to insure we made the ship on time in case of any flight/weather issues. We stayed at the Intercontinental on Tahiti, which was very nice and ... Read More
For the middle-aged and older crowd, this cruise was amazing! We arrived in Papeete a day early to insure we made the ship on time in case of any flight/weather issues. We stayed at the Intercontinental on Tahiti, which was very nice and they also had a fabulous Polynesian show the night we were there. Embarkation and disembarkation went very smoothly, no problems. The thing I liked about Marina is that is is a smaller ship, so less people. No crowded, stuffed elevators, no long waits in line for food, and best of all, no kids! I think there were 2 kids on the ship, but it's not geared toward kids, so there's nothing for them to do really. The food was amazing, absolutely the best meals I've ever had on a cruise ship. It was eating a gourmet meal every time you sat down to eat, even upstairs in the café! The specialty restaurants were just as wonderfully delicious and very gourmet. All of the drinks anywhere on the ship were fantastic! There was actually liquor in them! On all our other cruises, we end up just not drinking because the drinks have so much juice, you can't tell it's a drink.These were top-notch! We had Mai-Tai's, Cosmos, Piña Coladas, and they were all excellent. On every other regular cruise line, I gave up and stuck to Rum & Coke, because the fancy drinks were just terrible. Service on this ship was impeccable. We never had to ask for anything, ever. Staterooms were always ready, clean, chocolates on the bed, mats on the floor by our bedside, slippers, robes, ice bucket filled. The entire staff was friendly and welcoming and very diverse. We were offered an upgrade at a reduced price from a balcony room to a penthouse suite a week before the cruise....we accepted and were so glad we did! Lots of room and plenty of shoe and drawer space! Walk-in closet, gorgeous bathroom with a tub/shower AND a shower. Always stocked. Always clean. There was a fantastic selection of excursions to meet anyone's tastes, from easy to adventurous. Tendering in and out of ports was excellent, fast, and always went smoothly. Never a problem. Although we did bring our own 24-hour hand sanitizer, there was plenty of stations all over and outside the ship, so no excuses for germs! The ship was spotless and someone was always cleaning it, even the outside! Entertainment was just okay.....geared more toward the older crowd. I would have liked to have seen a comedy show, but the shows we did see were great. We missed quite a few, because by the time they started (9:30pm), we were so exhausted from the day, we were in our stateroom reading and falling asleep! One thing that impressed me is that the cruise line had special get-togethers for the singles and even a gay-lesbian get-together. We did do happy hour every evening around 5:30-6 before dinner and one evening 2 of the 3 bars (our favorites) were closed for a promotional group, which we were not happy about. I look forward to going on another Oceania cruise and now I'm spoiled! I don't want to go back to the regular cruise lines! Read Less
Sail Date: January 2019
We travelled on 30 January for a 10 day Polynesian cruise on the ms marina and what should have been the trip I dreamed off turned completely bad due to incompetent staff. I like to warn future travelers to have a good medical insurance, ... Read More
We travelled on 30 January for a 10 day Polynesian cruise on the ms marina and what should have been the trip I dreamed off turned completely bad due to incompetent staff. I like to warn future travelers to have a good medical insurance, lucky we had one. But honestly I felt shy to present these bills to the insurance. We were totally ripped off by the medical center. I understand that everybody likes to make money but there are limits. I was treated for a dry cough and difficulty to bread (saturation of 92) for 6 days by intravenous with wrong antibiotics. They even checked blood twice and made chest x rays. The doctor was unable to give the correct diagnosis after a bill of 13000 US!!! The nurses are doing a great job but about the doctor I have my doubts about his capacity to do the job. He advised on disembarkation to visit another doctor, I should have appreciated if he should have offered that earlier, we could have disembarked in Moorea or Bora Bora and fly back to Papeete. On top the reception pre authorized without any reason twice 13000 US , so I had to wait 10 days before my credit card was again working normally. After leaving the boat I flew to Auckland where after doing a blood test and x ray they diagnosis pneumonia. Is as a doctor you cannot find that then you have a problem. This incompetence finally spoiled the trip that was my ultimate destination trip. And pretending that the cruise is for foodies is to much honour, the French and Italian restaurant are very good, the Asian is a catastrophe (I live in Asia and know what is what)the tom kha gai I ordered was like water and the curry was disgusting. The buffet at terrace café becomes boring after a while. I hope that future travelers will be aware of the practices on the oceania cruises, I confronted them with these issues on my return but found a useless customer service who seems not to be able to read and understand a mail. This was my first cruise and the last on Oceania. Read Less
Sail Date: January 2019
Honestly, our best cruise yet. We had a concierge level cabin and it was worth the splurge . The food was awesome in every restaurant and the main dining room. The ship was awesome as in being the right size and not too big. The service ... Read More
Honestly, our best cruise yet. We had a concierge level cabin and it was worth the splurge . The food was awesome in every restaurant and the main dining room. The ship was awesome as in being the right size and not too big. The service was awesome. The only thing that was a bit off was the fitness center. Not well appointed but, we just spent our time walking and swimming in the Tahitian waters instead. Loved the coffee bar. Loved the homemade ice cream. Loved the daily fresh fruit smoothies and juice bar. Loved the daily lobster tail off the fan tail at night in the warm breeze. Loved the spa and Canyon Ranch hot tubs on the front. Red Ginger was our favorite restaurant and we loved the experience. We would save up to do Oceania again in a heartbeat. It is one line we would try to repeat again as it was expensive but, worth every cent. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2019
Yes, Oceania has the best cuisine at sea, unless you are health conscientious. Overweight and obese passengers were in pig heaven on Marina. We personally found the food way too salty, too heavy with too much butter and too much sweet ... Read More
Yes, Oceania has the best cuisine at sea, unless you are health conscientious. Overweight and obese passengers were in pig heaven on Marina. We personally found the food way too salty, too heavy with too much butter and too much sweet stuff. For the first time on a cruise we had trouble finding something that appealed to us. We personally love fruits, nuts, vegetables, good bred, fresh fish; Mediterranean, Indian, Thai, Chinese and Japanese cuisine. Fruits on the Marina were mostly limited to melons and a little pineapple. Bananas were green or otherwise inedible, as we were told the Marina tried to avoid catering locally and practically all provisions on board were deep frozen. Only rarely was a fresh local fish on the menu. Bread for breakfast consisted mainly of fatty, sweet pastry, I got nauseous just looking at it. Fresh omelettes were fried in butter, the burnt butter was sticking in black spots to the dish, ugh. Frying eggs in butter is unacceptable to us. Fresh oatmeal was a heavy creamy substance that didn't resemble oatmeal. We have never eaten as poor on a cruise as on this one, maybe we had been too spoiled on Silversea or our Regent cruises, but these other cruise line don't boast the best cuisine at sea. But we must admit, the great majority of the passengers on the Marina craved the food, they loved it. They got their moneys worth of salt, sugar and fat and were thus able to accumulate more additional pounds. The clientele on the Marina was different from the other cruises we were used to and preferred. The ship was too big for our liking; we love the smaller ships, where we get to know and recognise most of the passengers and crew after just a few days. The ship itself was excellent, beautifully maintained and a pleasure to sail on. We did love our Penthouse Suite, this is the way to travel. We had no need of the butler, we just loved the spaciousness of the suite high up on deck 11. The staff was excellent and well managed. We did find the sommeliers were under too much pressure to sell the more expensive wines. Oceania is not very "inclusivy"; our suite had 3 free laundry bags offered for our cruise, 3 days for the return of the laundry was too long for us. We preferred the self service laundry which my wife could finish in one day. For the self service laundry Oceania charged 2 $ for washing and another 2 $ for drying, wow, that was another first for us. We did find the shore excursions too expensive and had made our own arrangements. Would we choose Oceania again? No. But we can recommend Oceania without reservations to people who love big chunk of meats, hamburgers, hot dogs, thick french fries and lots of sweets; on Oceania you can get your moneys worth. Read Less
Sail Date: January 2019
I had taken Insignia last fall to the cottages and coves, and fell in love with Oceania. I was a die hard Windstar cruiser. This was my fourth trip to the French Polynesia and decided to take Oceania. We upgraded to the PH. 11009 and ... Read More
I had taken Insignia last fall to the cottages and coves, and fell in love with Oceania. I was a die hard Windstar cruiser. This was my fourth trip to the French Polynesia and decided to take Oceania. We upgraded to the PH. 11009 and we’re very pleased with our room and the services. The customer service from Oceania is by far the best in the industry. Thank you for another great cruise. You have yet again, exceeded my expectations. I’m not big on the entertainment though. While I believe Oceania does draw an older clientele, the music and shows I found were somewhat dated. The comedian was very good. Your customer service representative Rachael Ruebel who handled some of my daughters and my requests went above and beyond the call of duty, and she should be acknowledged for her talents and truly being one of your greatest assets in customer service. She, I would say was one of the main reason I am a committed cruiser on Oceania. In this day and age, when customer service seems to be lacking, your employees from the top, all the way to the not so top are exceptional. You treat your employees good, they bring your customers back. Great cruise. Thank you for making my daughter and my cruise amazing. See you on the next one. Just wish you had single cruises for us widow travelers. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: January 2019
We just returned from our first Oceania cruise. (This is our 5th cruise). We did the South Pacific starting and ending in Papeete Tahiti for a 10 day cruise. We absolutely loved Oceania. We would sail Oceania again in a heart beat and ... Read More
We just returned from our first Oceania cruise. (This is our 5th cruise). We did the South Pacific starting and ending in Papeete Tahiti for a 10 day cruise. We absolutely loved Oceania. We would sail Oceania again in a heart beat and most of the fellow travelers we talked to felt the same. The staff are plentiful, kind, caring and sensitive. They serve the food in buffets to keep you safe. They change the linens on lounge chairs to keep everything safe and comfortable. I have never had such consistently wonderful service on a cruise. I felt spoiled each and every momment. I had to go to the medical clinic and received excellent service (ok the bill was pretty high-like USA healthcare prices!) The rooms, the amenities, the food and the service were all spectacular! The bed and bedding were just dreamy. We did not sample the entertainment. We find our entertainment by watching the natural beauty so cannot report on the ships entertainment. We booked last minute within a month of sailing date. We booked a concierge suite with a balcony and had no regrets. We could have taken better advantage of the very wonderful (and free to us) concierge. The concierge can help you with anything! The fridge in our room and the concierge lounge is stocked with free beverages. No charges for coffee (including specialty coffees), water bottles, soft drinks, room service 24 X7 was wonderful and quick. The food was FANTASTIC! All specialty dining is included in the cruise fare. You need recommendations and we got reservations into all 4 ahead of time (that may be the limit-1 reservation in all 4). For general dining we loved the Grand Dining Room. In the Terrace Cafe you can get grilled lobster, fish, steaks every evening with an outdoor table. One night we ate lobster while watching the sunset in Bora Bora. I had serval surf and turf sandwiches in the patio grill near the pool. Ice cream, malts, shakes, and smoothies are free and delicious. So much fresh fruit and veggies! It was easy to eat healthy. I am gluten free/Celiac and never had a better experience with help with food. I could eat at every venue and stayed completely safe. That is a real accomplishment for a 10 day cruise. The wine and drinks by the glass were fantastic and cost 10 dollars or less. My husband does not drink so I just paid as I went and used my onboard ship credit for alcohol. All of the oceania excursions were closed when we booked late-so we arranged our own excursions. Some ahead of time, many at the peer! We paid Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: January 2019
The food and service on this cruise were fabulous. I could really not have asked for more or better. I was sad that we missed stopping in Huahine because of a heavy rain but that could not be avoided and I absolutely would recommend this ... Read More
The food and service on this cruise were fabulous. I could really not have asked for more or better. I was sad that we missed stopping in Huahine because of a heavy rain but that could not be avoided and I absolutely would recommend this trip to anyone! We expected bad weather and really had hardly any rain. The locals were wonderful, did a beautiful job welcoming the ship and the guests to each port. The food in Red Ginger might be the best food I have ever eaten in my life. I had the Lobster Pad Thai and my husband had the Chilean Sea Bass, both were delicious. We stayed at Chalet Tahiti one night on either end of trip and host, Jean Denis was amazing as well. If you stay in one of the other hotels you are better off booking it yourself rather than through the cruise line. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: January 2019
The food really is wonderful. The cabin was really nice too, comfortable bed and linens. The staff was very friendly especially our steward.But if you wanted a drink at the pool you best hustle on over to the bar because they aren't ... Read More
The food really is wonderful. The cabin was really nice too, comfortable bed and linens. The staff was very friendly especially our steward.But if you wanted a drink at the pool you best hustle on over to the bar because they aren't going to ask if you need anything. Odd because all the restaurant people were on it! Entertainment was marginal to poor. The pool side band played about an hour and quit at noon. What's up with that. The comedian was great - talking about marriage. One of the lectures was the "history of cruise ships" -- which was not interesting to us. Other topics would have been more interesting. The cooking classes were always full - and also had a cost. There were wonderful restaurants which had no cost. You had to make a reservation for the restaurants on the day you wanted If it was not full or others did not show or canceled you could then go to the restaurant. Our really bad experience was with the destination services desk. The counter Manager raised her voice at a girl, Natalie, who was trying her best to explain her complaint in English. Her issue, which ironically was ours too, was failure to get a $199 credit for an excursion that was canceled due to bad weather. She, like us, thought we should get full credit for it - as it was one of the 3 included excursions in our fare. We were to get 3 "free" excursions. When we got 2 "free" excursions - we felt a credit was appropriate. We weren't the only ones that felt this way. When Natalie asked what she was supposed to do with her excursion tickets - the manager replied "keep them for a souvenir". Natalie, her husband and my wife and I talked to the General Manager. He explained that the "free" excursions were an advertising gimmick to get customers to sign up for the cruise. The "free" excursions essentially had no value - but, as a courtesy Oceania would credit our account $100. My stance was that if the excursions had no value then why did they put a $199 charge for them. We ended up getting $100 credit for a $199 excursion. But if I can convince you to cruise with other lines I'm happy. We paid nearly $10,000 for the cruise and they chose to cheat us out of $198 on one excursion and $240 on another. Amazing!!! I wouldn't say this cruise was "fun". It did offer excursions that were incredible with talented locals who entertained with glee. Post cruise we had to be off the ship by 9:00 am. Flights out of Tahiti are at 11:00 pm. One of the good things Oceanic gave us a choice to have our luggage transported to the airport - which meant we did not have to lug it around all day. The luggage was delivered at 6:30 at the airport. That was really nice. One of the hotels, Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort,Oceania offered an excursion that picked up passengers to hotels until transport to the airport in the evening. This resort was the same place we stayed before the cruise. Please read my wife's review of Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort. We gave it a 2 star rating, the breakfast ($30 each) was fine - dinner food was terrible and expensive. The resort had uncomfortable living room furnishings Anyway, the post cruise excursion lets passengers hang out in a ballroom with the rest of the gang, eat bad food and relax. We noticed that the hotel had a sign that a day rate was $125 but we found out from other travelers that the resort charged up to $400 for a day room. The pool at the Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort was nice when they weren't having spinner classes - twice a day. Try Royal Caribbean, Viking, Holland America or anything else Read Less
Sail Date: January 2019
Easter Island-RAPA NUI was wonderful. The stop at Pitcairn Island to visit the descendants of the BOUNTY mutineers was terrific. Tahiti, Bora Bora, Raiatea are classic south seas destinations. Tours of ports of call were extremely costly ... Read More
Easter Island-RAPA NUI was wonderful. The stop at Pitcairn Island to visit the descendants of the BOUNTY mutineers was terrific. Tahiti, Bora Bora, Raiatea are classic south seas destinations. Tours of ports of call were extremely costly but all were excellent. Seeing the giant MOI on Rapa Nui is a once in the lifetime experience. It was a surprise that Easter Island is absolutely beautiful. Greenery abounds since vegetation has been planted from all around the world since the late 1800's. Marina pax were extremely fortunate that we could tender to the island on the two days of our visit. Oceania Marina did not live up to its glossy reputation on this cruise. Food especially in the vaunted speciality restaurants was not totally enjoyable. The main dining room had the best most consistent food on the ship. Food on Celebrity,NCL,HAL, Princess is s good or better. While we went on Marina for the itinerary-not its reportedly wonderful food, we were surprised that many people shared our less than positive food experiences. It seemed that people's feelings about the food improved after multiple glasses of adult beverages at mealtime. And it was nice to have six or seven restaurants to choose from- no set mealtimes Read Less
Sail Date: December 2018
There are now so many awful cruise reviews that despite not usually writing a review I am forced to do so to redress the balance Having read the reviews of Marina over time I believe that some people only go on a cruise so that they can ... Read More
There are now so many awful cruise reviews that despite not usually writing a review I am forced to do so to redress the balance Having read the reviews of Marina over time I believe that some people only go on a cruise so that they can complain about it afterwards whereas my only complaint for the trip as a whole is that it would have been much better had a number of ignorant, rude and objectionable passengers stayed at home. This is how I found the cruise. Ship We found the ship to be in excellent condition, well ran and well maintained. All of the staff we encountered went out of their way to be helpful and ensure that we were having a good time. We were in a Concierge Cabin on deck 9 Mid Ship and did not suffer from Vibration, excessive noise or too much rock and roll although at the front of the ship it was noticeably more so. Concierge lounge was good for early morning coffee and cake. There were a small number of children on board however this was not a cruise suitable for them. Cabins. Clean, comfortable and spaceous with sufficient storage and size of bathroom to satisfy most people. Despite the huge range of termperatures on this cruise it was neither too hot or too cold was always keep very tidy by the room attendant and suffered from no external noise problems. The bed was particularly comfortable and the choice of amenities of a good standard. Ideally, it could have had coffee making facilities but my only real complaint was the fact that during rough weather the closet rattled so much I had to wedge it closed. Restaurants We eat at all of the restaurants and found the food to be of a very good quality throughout. Service was equally good and there was a real desire by the staff to please the passengers on board. Alcoholic drinks were sometimes a little slow arriving however this was more to do with how this is organised with the Sommeliers being responsible for wine and therefore being fewer in number than the general waiting staff I had booked one visit to each of the speciality restaurants beforehand and was able to obtain additional bookings on board, 2 more at each, without problem. Our favourite was Red Ginger because of the exemplary levels of service as well as excellent food. Of note also is the Waves Grill which served excellent Sandwiches at lunchtime. Bars Most days we frequented the pool bar and in the evening Martinis. The service in the pool bar was great and staff again excellent. Martinis had an amazing Pianist called Andre Mieux who was by far the best entertainer on board the ship and the cocktails particularly the Big O, very good. We purchased the Prestige Select drinks package for the cruise and found that it was for us value for money particularly when a 25% surchange was applied to all drinks whilst in Brazilian waters on top of the 18% gratuity normally added to each drink Entertainment Proved to be a bit of a mixed bag with some which we liked other no so good Most people found that the shows are not the same on a small ship as in the West End or Vagas so will always generate comment. Personally I would have liked to have seen a little more local culture rather than acts such as An Evening with Allen. Enrichment Lectures I fell asleep at the only one I attended Shore Excursions Generally handled well by the staff on board with the booked tours getting off the ship first. Generally, they are expensive and most people we met preferred to take the chance and book their own. We did a mix of both however careful research is needed for a private tour and this takes time. Getting on and off. Mostly hassle free on embarkation less so on disembarkation due to the onward travel arrangements and large number of people. Overall this was an excellent cruise which was good value for money and I will definitely book another in future. Read Less
Marina Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 4.5 0.0
Dining 4.5 0.0
Entertainment 3.0 0.0
Public Rooms 5.0 0.0
Fitness Recreation 4.0 0.0
Family 1.0 0.0
Shore Excursion 4.0 0.0
Enrichment 5.0 0.0
Service 4.0 0.0
Value For Money 4.0 0.0
Rates 4.0 0.0

Find a Marina Cruise

Email me when prices drop