Sail Date: March 2018
Just to start with some background...this is my 11th cruise with Carnival and I have also sailed with RCCL, Disney and HAL. We had FTTF so embarkation and debarkation were a breeze. After my next 7 day cruise, I will be platinum so I ... Read More
Just to start with some background...this is my 11th cruise with Carnival and I have also sailed with RCCL, Disney and HAL. We had FTTF so embarkation and debarkation were a breeze. After my next 7 day cruise, I will be platinum so I will never have to buy again. It is getting too expensive and now I have to buy for 2 cabins. My sons will still be minors so when I become platinum, it will include their cabin. They are only 10 days behind me so they will be platinum soon too. It was worth it as we tendered off the ship in Cabo way before any numbers were called. Getting on the ship is faster. Also, you don`t have to wait in the line at guest services. Debarkation is so comfortable as well as you usually meet in the theater or dining room and enjoy coffee and pastries and then get escorted of the ship. You get luggage tag number 2. I booked 2 cabins for my spouse and myself and one for my teenage sons. This was the first cruise in which they would have their own cabin and now we can never go back to one cabin. We were in an aft balcony 8461 and the boys in interior cabin 8455. We love the aft balconies. Cabin 8461 is large enough for 2 lounge chairs. What is so wonderful about the aft balconies is that you don`t experience the wind you get with a regular balcony. As the ship sails, regardless of the weather, you can sit an enjoy the balcony. It is so peaceful at the back of the ship. We were one below the lido and there was some deck chair scraping sounds but it was very minimal and we never heard it inside the cabin. Also, being at the back of the ship, you don`t hear alot of hallway noise as the only people really coming down to that end are the people that have cabins there. The inside cabin was as expected. We had some issues with our cabin (the door was difficult to open from inside and the drain in the shower was very slow to drain and made a bit of a mess). We notified our Steward and he IMMEDIATELY had someone come for both issues and they were resolved right away. We went to the guest services and they got us all additional keys for each other`s stateroom so the boys could enter ours and we could enter theirs. The food on wonderful! I have seen complaints about cold food in the MDR and we never experienced that at all. We had YTD and we never had to wait to be seated. We typically arrived between 5:30 and 6pm. We noticed a bit of a wait at 7pm when we were leaving. We enjoyed the food in the MDR. For breakfast we also went to the MDR every day. We love the regular breakfasts there and really enjoyed the seaday brunch. The wait for that wasn`t too long and worth the wait. We didn`t eat too many times on the Lido. We love the Tandoor and BBQ upstairs. I was a little disappointed in the burgers as our last ship had Guy Fieri and they are truly the best (we actually at at the Guy Fieri hamberger restaurant in Las Vegason our way to LA and the four of us cost $100 which really would have been free on a Carnival cruise). We also love the sandwiches on the deli. I am still missing my nightly 10pm grilled ham and cheese. The nightly shows were very good. We had Studio VIP, 88 Keys, 80s Pop to the Max and Epic rock. All were excellent! Ports were standard. I have done this itinerary many times so not overly exciting. We did make a purchase at Diamonds International in Puerto Vallarta right when we got downtown. We didn`t want to carry the bag around and so the shopping expert Fernando delivered it right to our cabin that evening. The ship itself was very clean. I loved that the roof closed over the mid ship pool so it was a lot nicer in the evening if you watched an outdoor movie. I have been very cold on other ships staying up late to watch a show so that was a bit of a treat. The ship was pink which you get used to but still very nice. There are things that I miss from the Dream and Breeze so I look forward to our next cruise on the Magic. I miss the 5th floor Ocean Plaza. My sons were in Club 02 and Circle C. As this was their 9th Carnival cruise, the programs did not disappoint my sons!!! They have graduated up from Camp Carnival 10 years ago to the teen programs. Chantelle and Frederick were amazing and my sons went to practically every activity. Really the only times I saw them were at dinner in the MDR as they did most everything else with their new found friends. My oldest son and spouse did the Behind the Fun tour. I had done it years ago on the Carnival Paradise so I didn`t go this time. They LOVED the tour! They said worth every penny. They have pictures on the bridge and with the captain. We booked it as soon as we got on the ship as it does sell out fast. Debarkation was different on this ship (except for FTTF). You don`t get a random number given to you. At 9am on the last sea day, you can choose your number from 6 - 25 to get off the ship. 6 - 12 go super fast so if you want to get off the ship early, go get your tickets early. For Christmas we bought our kids Cruise Cash ahead of time. It worked so well as it is automatically applied to their account and they knew they had a budget. cons (not many) - They need more than one barista at the coffee bar. I like an Irish Coffee in the morning (while cruising only...) and the lineup turned me off. I guess i saved $8 a day. - No Guy burgers Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2018
We do this cruise to Mexico every year for our Mexican "honeymoon" . We have done it on several different ships. The whole time on the Splendor I kept saying" I really like this ship!" "Too bad it is leaving ... Read More
We do this cruise to Mexico every year for our Mexican "honeymoon" . We have done it on several different ships. The whole time on the Splendor I kept saying" I really like this ship!" "Too bad it is leaving for Australia in 20191". We had a spa balcony and used the Thalassotherapy pool and steam rooms. I thought the gym was very well equipped. I used the bike for cardio and DH used the treadmill. I also used the free weights for my arms and machines for my legs. They had several extra classes but I didn't try any of them. I did have a lovely hot stone massage too. It was sooooo relaxing that DH couldn't do anything else for a whole day!! We loved the lay out of the ship with food stations on the Lido spread out so that not everyone was congregating in one spot. We loved the mix of activities with different trivia, all sorts of dance classes,lots of unusual atrium group activities and more! We really enjoyed all the comedy shows and although we didn't watch all the musical shows they were well attended and folks seemed to be really into them!! The staff did a great job and were patient and friendly! Everything was well organized too. I also loved my Cabo excursions where I rode a camel by the ocean but will write about that separately. We liked it soo much that today I booked the same cruise for April 2019?? Read Less
Sail Date: March 2018
We use to love Carnival and are Gold members. However after the tragedy of the last cruise, I'm not certain we will be cruising with them again. The boat was filthy and extremely run down. The fact that your shoes constantly make the ... Read More
We use to love Carnival and are Gold members. However after the tragedy of the last cruise, I'm not certain we will be cruising with them again. The boat was filthy and extremely run down. The fact that your shoes constantly make the sticky noise no matter where you were should have been an indicator. Also the fact that they absolutely no longer enforce any time of hand sanitizing for guests should have tipped us off. A week later we all got off the ship extremely sick, even tho we were adamant about washing our hands and using the santizer when available. The 1st floor smells of stale, sewage-ish water. The gym is the most disgusting thing on the boat. I should have looked at the equipment before using it. The amount of dirt and obvious dandruff or skin on the equipment was enough to turn my stomach and even tho they have a spot for sanitizing wipes, it was never filled once on our 7 day cruise. (avoid at all costs) The spa, the tiles were coming off the walls, and the paint on the roof was in bubbles or peeled off, with large areas missing. Don't bother reading the labels in the showers, the buttons were all labeled wrong. The staff doesn't look remotely happy. And by day 4 we stopped dining in our main dining room because you would ask for a drink and you would never get it. Even the bar staff didn't look remotely happy. Hard to navigate the ship with half the 3-4 floor closed off, difficult to get an elevator (don't wear heels!) Unhappy staff. This boat needs a serious overhaul. Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2018
We just returned from a week long trip on the Carnival Splendor with our 2 children and another family! This was the best family vacation we have had so far! The stateroom was a pleasant surprise, they somehow fit a bunk bed and a big bed ... Read More
We just returned from a week long trip on the Carnival Splendor with our 2 children and another family! This was the best family vacation we have had so far! The stateroom was a pleasant surprise, they somehow fit a bunk bed and a big bed into the room so we were all comfortable. There was still plenty of room to move around. There were so many dining options and all of which were delicious! My only suggestion would be for the Indian place be open for dinner as well! It was fantastic! A pizza place open 24 hours -the kids were in heaven! The formal dining was a wonderful experience with great service and pleasant staff! They even put on a little show for the guests that really got us cheering! Now for the daily activities! I couldn't believe how much stuff there was to do every day! I don't think there was a single minute where I was bored or wondered what I should do. The Cruise Director MarQ was just fabulous! He was one of the hardest working people - on a ship with over 3500 guests, he made the effort to sit with as many people as possible and get to know us. He even remembered my kids names! The entertainment was second to none! Those talented entertainers had us cheering and dancing and singing every night! We even learned a few new moves! And if you were one of the brave ones, you had a chance to show it off on stage at the Lip Sync Battle! My kids loved the giant waterside, golf, ping pong swimming pools and the endless ice cream! At night they closed the roof at the pool deck and served popcorn as we watched the latest movies on a giant screen! There is also a camp for kids so you get a break! I truly can't say enough about this trip! I would definitely go again! If you do go, please say Hi to JJ, MarQ and a wonderful stateroom steward Gusti for me! Read Less
4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2018
Overall we had a really good time on this cruise. This is our 4th cruise, but we haven't been on a cruise in about 10 years. I think I'm not really a cruiser anymore, so my comments may be a bit jaded. We went on the Mexican Riviera ... Read More
Overall we had a really good time on this cruise. This is our 4th cruise, but we haven't been on a cruise in about 10 years. I think I'm not really a cruiser anymore, so my comments may be a bit jaded. We went on the Mexican Riviera Cruise about 10 years ago on this same ship, Splendor. Back then, everything was new and fresh. Now, things are looking a bit old and rusty. Some places we enjoyed back when the ship first launched are not around anymore, Sushi bar, Robusto/cigar bar. The crew and waitstaff on the ship were mostly excellent. Really appreciated the people working the ship the most. Overall: Pros: -Really liked having a balcony room. We've had them before but liked it on this cruise a lot. -Dining room food was very good -We had a great meal in the Steakhouse. -Serenity Deck/Bar. It was nice getting away from the families. Even though we traveled with a 16 year old, I guess I'm getting too old for the crowds of families. Cons: -Some rust on the ship -Cabin carpet wasn't very clean -Windows weren't washed very well, so it was hard to see clearly outside. -Mattresses in the cabins were older, or needed replacement. They were kind of concave. Food: -Dining room food was generally very good to great. -Steakhouse was awesome. -I liked the Mongolian Wok food, but we only ate there one time when it was a port day, because the line was always long -Didn't really like the Tandoor, BBQ or the Buffet. - Deli, Burger place and pizza were all pretty good. I have mixed feelings about the food on the Splendor. The food in the Dining room was really good, but if you wanted something quick, I felt like the only decent choices were burgers or pizza. The buffet food was pretty bad. I've never really liked the buffet food on Carnival though, so not sure if it was worse than usual. Lunch time on the last sea day was awful. It was colder out and everyone was crowded around the lunch areas of the ship. Lines were long to get anything. I hate waiting in lines. Although it was nice to be able to get pizza or a burger at midnight. My son (16) ended up getting some kind of food related sickness on board. I suspect it was from eating something on the ship or catching it from someone else on the ship. It was bad timing as there were only 2 stops for this trip and we had planned a fun excursion (UTV) but had to cancel. He was quarantined to the room for 24 hours. Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2018
We went on this cruise with family members. Overall, we had a fantastic time! We had faster to the fun, which I would recommend to anyone, arrived at the port and by 11:30 was on the ship. We took all of our luggage in ourselves and went ... Read More
We went on this cruise with family members. Overall, we had a fantastic time! We had faster to the fun, which I would recommend to anyone, arrived at the port and by 11:30 was on the ship. We took all of our luggage in ourselves and went directly to our room where it was just getting the finishing touches on so was able to get right in (not everyones cabin was finished but they were just directed to leave there luggage outside the door and they placed it inside once finished cleaning) and we were at the bar by 11:40. Very smooth proccess. The dinning was good. We went to the steakhouse the first night and received a free bottle of wine and the food was delicious. We only went to the buffet a couple of times but the food was hot and good but typical for a buffett. My favorite, other than the steakhouse, was the sea day brunch. Very good and the service was fast. The burgers were also really good and my boyfriend loved the pizza place. The one negative was the room service. We tried it twice once for sandwhiches and once for breakfast. Neither was good. The entertainment, what we went to, was awesome, we went to the comedy club 3 or 4 times and funny all times. Services that we received on the ship was amazing. Everyone was helpful and happy to help. I really wish I remembered the name of our steward! He was amazing! Everytime we saw him he greeted us by name and he did an outstanding job. The one thing that I really didn't like was the ships layout. It was weird and confusing at times. Other than that it was a great cruise and would recommend it to anyone. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2018
We picked this cruise simply on price and an inherent need to get away from the snow for a week. The boarding process was quite smooth and quite liked the "scheduled" boarding time as our stateroom was available as soon as we got ... Read More
We picked this cruise simply on price and an inherent need to get away from the snow for a week. The boarding process was quite smooth and quite liked the "scheduled" boarding time as our stateroom was available as soon as we got onboard. Unfortunately the experience deteriorated quickly after. The ship is poorly laid out and difficult to navigate. the overbearing PINK was abnoxious and the staff overall avoided eye contact and if we did not say hello, or good morning, we would be hard pressed to even gain acknowledgement (beyond our room steward or servers in the dining room). The live music was poorly situated in the atrium and the volume was excessively loud at all hours. I felt sorry for anyone with a stateroom in the middle of the ship as you could not excape the volume. We have cruised with NCL for many years and thought this would be a nice opportunity to try a different company. While we did compare to our experience on NCL a lot, the glaring difference we found besides basic acknowledgement, was the sheer lack of hand sanitizers throughout the ship. On NCL they were at every entrance to resaurants and every elevator bank, while there were very few located on this ship. I can honestly say I MISSED hearing washy washy and have a staff member spray your hands before entering the dining room, Carnival could learn a lot from NCL. The ports were enjoyable and the tender process for Cabo was efficient, however we arrived an hour early from when tender tickets were to be issued and got tender #1 right away. I would hate to see where we would have been if we had gone to line up even 20 minutes later. When you state a time, I think you should stick to it even if we did luck out and get our tender tickets early. The staff looked to be run off their feet and always rushing from one activity to another. We attended a trivia session and the first words out of the hosts mouth was an apology because she would haev to cut trivia short to make it to her next gig. Not to mention the person who had the room booked for the next event was waiting right beside her to push her out the door at the appropriate time. I think you need to either have more staff or schedule events a bit better. We spent most of our free time on the ship in the Spa and the Serentiy area in the big loungers and the ClamShell loungers trying to relax away from the static and noise, only to find that the music from the spa (not really relazing spa music to start with) was blaring on deck and in the spa at a volume that made it difficult to "relax". To the ship designers, if you are building an area for people to relax and call it "serentiy" maybe dont put the mini golf on the deck above with screaming children. I cant count how many stray golf balls landed either on me or right beside me from a wayward "putt"! Food, what can one say about food on a cruise ship other than, stay away from the runny scrambled eggs. The dining experience onboard this ship left a lot to be desired. I like the ability to eat in the dining room or the option of the buffet, however the quality of the food was really sub par. the layout in the buffet made it difficult to enjoy a meal adn the seating was abhorent. you are not even allowed to pick out your own bacon for breakfast and are at the mercy of the crew to "dish it out" for you, which is difficult if the serving crew have multiple jobs to do on the serving line. this only stalled the lines from moving. If you are going to have an omlette station, do not have it in the middle of the buffet line as the time it takes to make an omlette only lengthened the time everyone else had to spend in line behind you waiting. Maybe set up a seperate ommlette station??? All in all our experience was so poor that we will definetly not go on another Carnival cruise and will stick with our tried and true NCL from here on out. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2018
I found this cruise to be enjoyable. I have been on the Splendor once before in the Caribbean couple of years ago. The Ship itself is ok - not 1 of my favorites in Carnival --- but this was only my 3rd Carnival trip - I usually do NCL ... Read More
I found this cruise to be enjoyable. I have been on the Splendor once before in the Caribbean couple of years ago. The Ship itself is ok - not 1 of my favorites in Carnival --- but this was only my 3rd Carnival trip - I usually do NCL (have did 9 of them). The Ship is a little older and the pink is alright. Mexico was fine and of course had a great time - how can you not have a great time on a cruise?? I find that the Splendor needs to work on the activity portion especially at sea days. The main shows in the Spectacular were great this time, Trivia is always fun but I found there wasn't a lot of interesting things to do in between times (in my opinion). The food was pretty good. The main dining rooms were yummy and service was pretty good -- a little slow, but not bad at all. I found the Buffett to be just ok this time - not spectacular. The Comedy shows are always fun -- that's 1 thing that I love about Carnival is the Punchline !! That's awesome! The Excursions we took: Cabo: Daylight Sailing Tour -- FANTASTIC!!!!! Matzalan: Colonial Village Tour: informative but a tad boring - not much to do there at all. Puerto Vallarta: Nice Port - but for sure need to know where and how to get to somewhere when you get off the Ship if you decide to walk around. Our Excursion was later in the day: RYTHM OF THE NIGHTS! FANNNNTASTIC SHOW and tour!!!!! Highly Highly recommend that!!! It was great. I love to cruise and have found I always have a great time! Read Less
Sail Date: March 2018
We booked this as the big family vacation before the kids go off to college. First cruise for myself and our girls, my husbands second cruise (first was on Princess). We embarked out of Long Beach...great experience, went fast and easy. ... Read More
We booked this as the big family vacation before the kids go off to college. First cruise for myself and our girls, my husbands second cruise (first was on Princess). We embarked out of Long Beach...great experience, went fast and easy. Got on the ship we were created with drinks and smiles, and were in our room by 1:30pm with most the luggage there. :) There's pros and cons to every thing...I'll start with the cons... -The décor really is ugly. There's just no other way to put it. Really needs to be upgraded. -Our TV didn't work the first three days on board. Kept loosing signal. We called so many times we lost count of how many. Finally my husband just asked the tech guy what he did so we could do it without having to wait hours or over night for it to be looked at. -Food!!! Oh boy...cold, tasteless, not a good texture, limited. Food was horrible. We did the late dining in the Gold Pearl, food was not good. I got sick one night from the lasagna (recommend not eating that) wait staff we had were excellent!!! They really made the dinner enjoyable. Buffet was horrible, cold, and limited on choices. Burrito bar was really good, really long wait though and its limited on how long its open same with the Mongolian wok. -Entertainment was good from what we saw. Tried to catch a comedy night but you had to be there nearly an hour early to get a seat. -Pool side bars...staff is not very friendly and tends to ignore you for 20 minutes or more. Found much better staff and service in the casino. -They say they have a cigar bar...no they don't. They no longer do because people were complaining about the smell or smoke I guess? However my husband was very disappointed when he bought his cigars and went to the cigar bar in which was no longer a cigar bar. -EVERYTHING IS A SALES PITCH!!! Hated that! I'm here on vacation and paid good money to be. We did not care for that. Oh here's a raffle ticket just be here at this time to enter in the drawing...sales pitch for an hour before they draw the ticket. -We did a couples spa as well, was very relaxing however our staff wasn't very friendly and again was another sales pitch at the end. That was horrible, here we just finished and feeling relaxed and in they come with another 20 minute sales pitch. I just wanted to finish and leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. That wasn't going to happen. Pros... - Our wait staff in the Gold Pearl (Wayan and his two amigo's were absolutely amazing and really made our dinner experience enjoyable. They always went out of their way to make sure we were take care of and happy. We thought the entertainment at the end of dinner service as cute and entertaining...Its...Shhowtime..LOL - Our room guy Robert was also extremely enjoyable and again made the experience. Always called us by name, always happy and friendly and willing to help any way he could, we loved out little animal towels:). Did a great job of cleaning the room every night while we were at dinner (that's the time we chose to have it done). -The ship was easy to maneuver for the most part. We enjoyed just walking around relaxing. - All the staff every time we saw any member on the ship they always smiled, greeted us and asked how our day was and how our excursion was or if we needed anything. PORTS: -We shopped in Cabo and did the Lovers beach. Beach was clean and gorgeous water. Had a lot of fun. No excursion on this one for us. -Mazatlan: Very dirty and kinda intimidating with all the boarded up buildings, bars, graffiti, gated up properties and rundown buildings. we did the zip lining...I recommend waiting until Puerto Vallarta to zip line. It was very desert, dried trees, but was still a fun experience. We did have a lot of fun and lunch was great. -Puerto Vallarta: Swam with the dolphins, recommend this one!!! Great experience!!! The board walk was nice to see all the art work. Nice clean place, drivers are crazy! LOL But a great place to shop and see. -Disembarking wasn't too bad, we carried off our own luggage, our deck got called at like 9:15 am and we were in our car and on the road by 10am. Overall we enjoyed our cruise. Our girls would liked to have had more things for 16-18 years old to do. But it was a learning experience and was overall good. It is however a party ship. So if you are looking for quiet and relaxation...you might want to find a different ship. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2018
Sorry for the delay, my wife stop me till I cooled down. My wife needs a wheel chair to get on and off ship, when we got to the port we were told she needed to get in the building and then they would find a wheel chair, we waited over a ... Read More
Sorry for the delay, my wife stop me till I cooled down. My wife needs a wheel chair to get on and off ship, when we got to the port we were told she needed to get in the building and then they would find a wheel chair, we waited over a hour in the VIP lounge, then when they came they only took her to the lobby of the ship and told us the third party staff could not go onto the ship, we were in a area with 30 other people trying to get to there cabins. We were traviling with 5 other couples and were seated at a table for 12 in the main dining room. The first night we did not get our food for over 2 hours, the staff turned the lights up to clear the table before we got or disserts. On the second night they served prime rib/lobster. I had the prime rib with baked potato, everyone was done with their diner before I was offered any topping for the potato so I told them where to put there diner. The head maiter'd gave me a guarantee this problem would be fixed the next night, We were happy that he did fix the problem. They put more staff and a head waiter that know how to serve a large, they should have had this all along. We had to call room service to get ice in or rooms and they would only bring a quart bag at a time ( why ) Getting off the ship was a joke, this time no wheel chair was available so we had to use a walker the hole way. Read Less
Carnival Splendor Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 3.0 4.4
Dining 3.0 3.8
Entertainment 4.0 3.6
Public Rooms 3.0 4.0
Fitness Recreation 5.0 3.9
Family 5.0 3.9
Shore Excursion 3.0 3.7
Enrichment 1.0 3.2
Service 3.0 4.2
Value For Money 4.0 4.0
Rates 3.0 4.2

Find a Carnival Splendor Cruise