12 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2017
I chose this cruise mainly because the timing suited me - I couldn't go until the last day of April or early May - last day of April was RCL and the ship was way too big, so it was Prinsendam or Cunard or Pulmantur - Cunard was too short, ... Read More
I chose this cruise mainly because the timing suited me - I couldn't go until the last day of April or early May - last day of April was RCL and the ship was way too big, so it was Prinsendam or Cunard or Pulmantur - Cunard was too short, only seven days - Pulmantur was too restricted, not open dining, earliest dinner time of 7.30pm - didn't suit me, and tiny cabins. Prinsendam was a bit above my price for a balcony but I had sailed with Holland before and really enjoyed it. Once I was on board I forgot all about the price (it was paid months before) and just enjoyed it all from day one on. I enjoyed the fellow passengers, the service, the food and the ship itself - I loved the Atlantic Ocean, the sea days, and would happily go again. The sailing was remarkably smooth given that weather conditions were at times near gale force. I loved the fact that it always felt as though I was on board a ship, not in a big plastic lined floating hotel. The ship was full, but there were never lines for anything, not for embarking and disembarking, not for the buffet or for the lifts or seating for dinner etc. The lectures were good, interesting and informative, not infomercials dumbed down. The shows were good too. Really I had no complaints. I did see things like corrosion on my balcony, and a few other spots - ships have that, and I did see some furnishings that appeared to be soon due for replacement along with a lot that were quite obviously brand new - didn't spoil it for me. If this little old lady was planning another trip, and that grand old lady was heading that way I would be emailing my agent quick smart. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: May 2017
We chose this trip because of days at sea. We enjoyed the restfulness of the trip and the activities on board. Food and service were excellent. Crew bent over backwards to please. Embarkation and debarkation went very smoothly. ... Read More
We chose this trip because of days at sea. We enjoyed the restfulness of the trip and the activities on board. Food and service were excellent. Crew bent over backwards to please. Embarkation and debarkation went very smoothly. Entertainment was excellent. Bermuda was nice but expensive. Took a city bus to St Georges, the old part of the island. Did a self guided walking tour. Ok, but nothing too exciting. Didn't go to the beaches. Saw enough to know we don't need to go back. Weather was good except when we were diverted from Horta due to a low pressure area causing unsafe conditions. We ended up in Brest, France as a replacement, which was an ok port. We didn't take an excursion, but walked around the town. Cherborg was very nice. We didn't take an excursion, but the weekly market was large and interesting. Tried a legume galette and bought a small bottle of Calvados. Took a city tour on a little tourist train/tram which left from the Information Center. It was 6 Euros and ok. Visited the Maritime Museum (6 Euros) and it was well worth it and interesting. Zeebrugge was the next port. We took an excursion to Ypres and Flanders fields to learn more about what happened there in WWI. The tour was well done and very interesting. Ypres is worth visiting. Amsterdam was our debark port, but we took a tour to the Tulip festival in Keukenhof with a transfer to the airport. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2017
I had a great time on the 2016 World Cruise and expected a similar experience on this Grand Voyage. I enjoyed most of the ports but food quality and dining room service were not up to the usual HAL standards. On at least 7 occasions I had ... Read More
I had a great time on the 2016 World Cruise and expected a similar experience on this Grand Voyage. I enjoyed most of the ports but food quality and dining room service were not up to the usual HAL standards. On at least 7 occasions I had problems with steaks I ordered. Either they were not cooked as ordered or the quality of the steak was poor. The ships excursions were only average and some were overpriced. I enjoyed the ships onboard entertainers and their shows were great. Two of the add on acts: UkeBox and 2 others were very good as were the folk music type groups that were brought on board but the rest of add on acts were poor. The excursion desk employees were not the friendliest I have met. Chantal the future cruise person was fabulous. Some of the guest lecturers were not that interested and covered subjects unrelated to the cruise destinations. The ship itself really shows its age. I was very disappointed in the lunch food in the Lido. Very little variety and it seemed that I saw the same things everyday. Breakfasts were generally very good. Room attendants were excellent but overworked. Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2017
The Prinsendam is a small cruise ship that can dock in ports that the larger ships can't. The itinerary was great. The 56 day cruise is a must if you really want to see the Mediterranean. 850 people when full. The crew on the Holland ... Read More
The Prinsendam is a small cruise ship that can dock in ports that the larger ships can't. The itinerary was great. The 56 day cruise is a must if you really want to see the Mediterranean. 850 people when full. The crew on the Holland America ships are the best I have encountered. They always have a smile and are willing to make your trip comfortable. The food was great and they tried to make each port special with costumes and food to match the country. The dining room waiters all dress in the costumes of the country they are representing for that night. The cabins were roomy and will kept. You have a roomy walk in closet for all your clothes. We had a veranda which was very nice. You received lost of on board comps and gifts because it was a grand voyage. The excursions were really good and you had some one on stage tell you about each one of them and the level of exertion needed to enjoy them. Read Less
18 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2017
I have sailed on Prinsendam about 200 days overall and love this ship. She has a charming intimacy and her loyal crew make the experience wonderful. Because she is over thirty years old, she is prone to plumbing leaks and uneven heating ... Read More
I have sailed on Prinsendam about 200 days overall and love this ship. She has a charming intimacy and her loyal crew make the experience wonderful. Because she is over thirty years old, she is prone to plumbing leaks and uneven heating and air conditioning. Despite that, her charm and intimacy and small scale attracts loyal followers like me who vastly prefer smaller ships that look like ships and not an amusement park or land resort. The outside cabins (which I prefer because of price point) are very comfortable and have great storage space, with walk in closets. I also like the tub shower combination which is offered in most cabins. The food and service aboard Prinsendam is very good. The fitness facility is a bit small but has an adequate number of elliptical machines with individual TVs with head phone jacks. There is one outdoor salt water pool (not heated) aft and one small outdoor heated fresh water pool mid ship. Although the theater is relatively small, Holland America entertainment Department invests money to bring a fresh flow of different talented entertainers aboard. I much prefer talented performers who connect with the audience instead of seeing some large, glitzy production show with canned music, dancers who lip sync and singers who lack the vocal and stage training and that really connect with their audience. I have recently sailed on the new Viking Ocean ships (900 pax) and they may cause some Prinsendam loyalists to consider a change. Viking ships have free WiFi, and everything is new and works. As long as HAL maintains and makes updates on Prinsendam, I will still sail on her. Read Less
Sail Date: December 2016
We are 4 star HAL cruisers which means we are on HAL more than others. We were offered a great fantastic package by HAL for this cruise. A Neptune suite is the ultimate, and the room was beautiful, however it was next to the Observation ... Read More
We are 4 star HAL cruisers which means we are on HAL more than others. We were offered a great fantastic package by HAL for this cruise. A Neptune suite is the ultimate, and the room was beautiful, however it was next to the Observation deck way forward. Being a small ship, we were bounced around pretty bad, never like this on any other ship, and the seas were not that rough. Everyone on this Prinsendam cruise were average age of 70, it seems. They were nasty old people and I know, I'm 72. Out of 8 shore excursions, 5 were cancelled due to lack of participation, not enough for passengers cared to get off the ship, other than to walk around shops. No one was on the lounges dancing except New Years Eve party. The casino was fairly empty most the time, just a boring, rough trip. We love HAL but never again on that little ship! Read Less
44 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2016
In 25+ cruises we have taken this was by far the most disappointing. Having heard there any many passengers who sail on board multiple times and love it I was VERY surprised at the number of problems we encountered. We booked an ... Read More
In 25+ cruises we have taken this was by far the most disappointing. Having heard there any many passengers who sail on board multiple times and love it I was VERY surprised at the number of problems we encountered. We booked an Oceanview cabin 261 on deck 7. Once in our cabin I noticed that it felt very warm, but assumed since the curtains were open and it was sunny that it was OK. Later that evening we noticed the cabin wasn't getting any cooler. Our friend also onboard on deck 5 had a similar complaint. We contacted the pursers desk about this problem as well as to complain the water in the sink and bathtub was brown. The AC issue was investigated and determined the temperature at the vent was 19c however the temperature reading on the bed was 26c. We were given a fan for the evening and told they were working on a solution. A plumber eventually resolved the brown water problem. On the 2nd day of the cruise we had seas with swells of 7 ft which caused a great deal of motion on the ship. We also noticed that in the cabin you could hear every wave which hit the bow, neighbour commented about it as well. In fact one guest actually slept in the library because the sound of the waving hitting the hull every 60 seconds was keeping her from sleeping. After 4 days and multiple daily visits by various engineers to try to fix the AC problem, we finally had enough and went to the desk to request a meeting with the hotel manager because we were not going to stay onboard in that cabin and wanted to leave the ship at the next port. We were told it would take some time for a meeting and someone would contact us. 4 hours later we were given a new cabin 453 on deck 5. This cabin had AC and didn't have the noise issues. We heard from fellow guests that issues with the AC impacted a lot of cabins, as well as most guests on decks 5, 6 & 7 found the noise of the waves to be a real pain. Our friend travelling in cabin 465 in an Oceanview had sheet of plexiglass in the window to seal it from water coming it. This was clearly because you could see the rust around the window bolts as well when they washed the outside windows water leaked in!! For 2 days between 9 and 5pm there were ongoing maintenance work being done to the hull or structure which resulted in continuous metal banging on the lower decks of the starboard side of the ship. This sound made it impossible to be inside the cabins, our neighbours complained to the front desk. The elevators broke several times during the cruise and were not reliable. The cabin staff were wonderful and worked hard. Front desk staff knew my name and recognized us by first name. The food was OK, but not consistent and it was clear that money savings was the driver behind the cuts in quality. Dinners have been reduced to 3 courses and wine prices have been increased. Entertainment staff onboard tired their poor best but failed to keep up with everyone. Clearly they were accustom to working with a very old clientele, because most nights there was nothing to do after 10pm. Bars were empty and everyone went back to their cabins. New Year's Eve was also quite boring and it was up to the guests to make the party. The prinsendam doesn't meet the needs to modern cruisers and isn't up to HAL standards. I could never recommend the Prinsendam to anyone because it is well past the sell by date and should have left the HAl's fleet a long time ago. I felt very sorry for the staff who are trying to manage expectations but the ship lets them down because it is really failing apart. Read Less
16 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: November 2016
We had always wanted to go to South America and the Amazon. Also most of the Caribbean ports we had never visited. We went to Fort Lauderdale two days early to rest up before our cruise. Stayed at the Extended Stay Cruise Port. Nice ... Read More
We had always wanted to go to South America and the Amazon. Also most of the Caribbean ports we had never visited. We went to Fort Lauderdale two days early to rest up before our cruise. Stayed at the Extended Stay Cruise Port. Nice hotel, super clean, not expensive. On Nov. 19 we left for the port about 11 a.m. They quickly took our bags and we went to priority embarkation line since we are 4 star mariners. We were wisked upstairs and waited to be called. I can't believe how people want to cut in line to get on the ship! The food will still be there. We were shown our cabin and we began our adventure. Cabin - Our cabin was on Level 5 cabin 431. Great location, near elevators and one level up from disembarkation in all the ports. Cabin was super clean, had a king size bed. Our bathroom had a shower and no tub which was fine with us. Also had a walk in closet with lots of storage space. Suitcases went under the bed. Cabin staff kept it clean and smelling good! Dining - The Mariner lunch was a chance to meet some of our fellow passengers. Nice conversation although I must say I enjoyed a table for two on most nights we were in the main dining room as some people chose to have 3 appetizers and our dinner was not served until they were done. Then our dinner was cold. We were pleased to see our dining room manager was Vincent, who was on our Australia Cruise in 2012. What a great person. The staff in both the Lido and Dining room were excellent. Always remembered our name. Only negative: the Lido Buffet food was always luke warm. Other than that they had a great salad bar! And their gravies were from scratch. And we all loved the ice cream lady Geraldine!! Room service was outstanding. The poached eggs were hot and cooked perfectly! Entertainment and Activities - Outstanding group of entertainers. The ship band with Adam at the helm was spot on and seemed to really enjoy their job. The singers and dancers were professional and talented. The guest entertainers were really good. Too many to mention but we enjoyed the shows. We did participate in the activities on board. Mario, our coordinator, was a joy to see every sea day. We played Wii bowling, golf, and so many games. Mario should be commended for putting up with so many old geezers. Service - Above and beyond. From the front desk to the casino staff, we could not have been happier and felt more welcome. David in the Casino always had a kind word. I do not remember the name of the Manager but I know he was from Ireland. He was another welcoming face to see as I played my favorite slot machine. The ports were outstanding. St Lucia, Nevis and Tobago were amazing. The Amazon was a bucket list trip. Many of the ports you can find a taxi to take you around at a better price than the ship but that is a personal decision. No pressure on the excursions or other things for sale on the ship. Many of the passengers were repeat cruisers on this ship. A great experience and Holland America is in a class all by itself. Read Less
8 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: November 2016
We (my wife & I) choose the Holland America cruise up the Amazon as it was a Bucket List Item and the Prinsendam is a small (800 passenger) ship. The Prinsendam is an older ship showing her age with rusted through holes in the ... Read More
We (my wife & I) choose the Holland America cruise up the Amazon as it was a Bucket List Item and the Prinsendam is a small (800 passenger) ship. The Prinsendam is an older ship showing her age with rusted through holes in the superstructure, dings in the woodwork in the cabins. The public rooms are kept spotless. The first cabin was a Vista suite (206) which was one of the new suites added in the rear of the ship. It was small and cramped if you invited two guests to the suite they would have to sit on the bed. It was a downscale motel type of room. We were moved to cabin 105 which was much better although it was above the entertainment venue, the shows stopped by 11pm so the loud music did not affect our sleep. Dining: We ate in the main dining room with assigned seating as we did not want to risk gaining extra pounds. The Lido buffet was much better with a wider and better selection of food. The menu items description bore little resemblance to what was served. The food was at best average. The Asian chefs were great at preparing asian items but when preparing western food did not have any idea how it should taste as they just followed the recipes. The dining staff tried their best but suffers from lack of training. The Maitre d' should be sent for training on the Cunard Line. Embarkation: We were late arriving at the port, dragging our luggage through the terminal to the ship hoping after a long overnight flight for some assistance when we got onboard. To our dismay none was offered (a number of staff were just standing around) and we had to find our cabin with our luggage without help. Entertainment: Canned acts going from ship to ship some better than others. Would have liked more lectures by interesting people. When the average age of the guests is +60 they should have tried to tailor the entertainment, enrichment activities, and dining. Read Less
Prinsendam Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 4.0 4.2
Dining 4.0 4.0
Entertainment 3.0 3.6
Public Rooms 4.0 4.3
Fitness Recreation 5.0 3.6
Family 2.0 3.6
Shore Excursion 3.0 3.7
Enrichment 5.0 3.7
Service 5.0 4.5
Value For Money 4.0 3.9
Rates 3.0 3.7

Find a Prinsendam Cruise