1. Home
  2. Cruise Lines
  3. Celebrity Cruises
  4. Celebrity Cruises Cruise Reviews
Cruise Ratings
8,022
3,964
2,048
911
405
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
We chose this cruise after hearing that Celebrity was one of the best lines and the itinerary looked great. Any notion of that ended quite quickly on this cruise. I will preface that I do not consider myself a picky traveler at all - I ... Read More
We chose this cruise after hearing that Celebrity was one of the best lines and the itinerary looked great. Any notion of that ended quite quickly on this cruise. I will preface that I do not consider myself a picky traveler at all - I am overseas all the time for work and don’t require much. The issues started with one of our suitcases not arriving at the room and after a call to our cabin steward, being informed very rudely that I needed to fetch it from deck 1. Once I trekked down there, they handed me my bag (which was properly tagged) with no explanation. Only in the elevator did another guest explain that hers was held up due to having an electrical cord in it, so I am guessing my curling iron was the culprit but was never given any explanation or warning prior to packing that electric devices would be an issue. Then came the fun part... booked an excursion to Milan from Genoa which was downright horrid. The bus stopped at a rest area for 1/2 hour, shortening our time in the city significantly. The description included seeing Duomo and La Scala. 90 min into it, our long-winded and hard to understand guide (Daniela) had shown us a no parking sign and 2 “back alleys” and none of the sights. After viewing the back alley side of La Scala, we finally asked the Celebrity rep whether we could proceed to the church and she stated that we would only see it from the outside. If we had known in advance we could have easily got timed tickets ourselves online, but they would not disclose the agenda, preventing us from planning for ourselves to actually see the city. We broke off and crammed as much in on our own as we could in the limited time we were afforded, but disappointingly we barely scratched the surface of Milan thanks to all of the wasted time. I hoped this was an anomaly by at dinner we found our friends had a similar experience on their tour to Portofino - barely having time to see anything at all due to inept guides. We put on our game faces hoping for a better day in Rome, but alas, our bus stopped at the gate to the port for over 30 min (watching all the other buses from the Disney ship pass us by) to do some kind of personnel transfer. So underway an hour later for an already short day to try to take in a little of Rome. We will book on our own for the other ports and avoid anything related to Celebrity excursions. I will say that the food on the ship has been very good and there are some nice spaces. But the service at the bars and in the staterooms is nothing to write home about and definitely a few notches below Princess or Disney, our other cruise experiences. Disappointing for sure. Read Less
Sail Date: June 2018
Having been on 12 cruises I can definitively say that this ship did not live up to the hype of Celebrity Cruise Lines. I know it is going into dry dock soon for a major upgrade but man, the wear and tear is visible everywhere and the staff ... Read More
Having been on 12 cruises I can definitively say that this ship did not live up to the hype of Celebrity Cruise Lines. I know it is going into dry dock soon for a major upgrade but man, the wear and tear is visible everywhere and the staff are largely untrained and do not speak good English. There were a few very good people working on board who could hold a conversation but many you had to exhaustively repeat yourself to and then finally give up because they couldn't understand you. That aside, the itinerary itself was good except for excursions. These need work. Icy Straight Point Ocean Raft was basically a drive out into the ocean and back and paled in comparison to the day before where knowledgeable guides worked to ensure you got your monies worth from the trip. Likewise, the last day excursion of Kart Adventure, again, it was basically a drive out into the bush to bake in the abnormally sunny and humid day and then drive back. We had 100 times the fun on the same type of excursions we booked ourselves in Denali. Buffet had a ton of Indian vegetarian items but not much American, loads of "fish" signs that one could not decipher what they were eating (am I eating crappy Chinese Tilapia or a local fish?) Aside from that, we ate in the main dining room one day and decided that since it wasn't amazing that we would just eat at the buffet and not have to change our clothes to go sit with perfect strangers. (We like Norwegian much better as they don't force you to do this nonsense) We did have an unlimited premium beverage package and WIFI. The only problem was that you had all bars having only certain things and often they were out or didn't know where to find things so it was hard to enjoy this premium capability when you were reduced to one or two choices that you can get at home for cheap. In concierge class (which we paid extra for), the upside was special pillows to choose from but aside from that I don't see what we paid for...warm seafood based snacks delivered to our room and discovered well into the late hours of the night (as in when did they arrive? Are they safe to eat? What is it?) We just set it outside for fear that it was too old to safely eat. I would skip that if I were the cruise line. Gross. Cabins were cleaned nicely and promptly on a daily basis. Laundry service is $50 a bag...need I say more. Entertainment was from the 90's. I've seen better on other cruise ships, we tried two shows and walked out. No trivia games, other day time activities other than opportunities for the cruise line to upsell you on something or sell their goods from the shops. Again, other cruise lines like Norwegian do this way better....must have day time activities for adults that don't involve buying things. They did have a nice tea time in the buffet daily but it wasn't advertised which I thought was strange. Why not tell people about something you are doing? Instead it was listed very vaguely in the program guide for the day on the back page. I didn't even discover it until day 4. That's about all that is worth mentioning. Embark and Disembark was smooth. Back bar overlooking the ocean was the only one worth going to... Read Less
Sail Date: June 2018
We have been sailing Celebrity Cruise lines for 15 years. Our most recent trip was on Celebrity Solstice our of Seattle, Washington to Alaska on June 29th, 2018. Overall the we had a wonderful time at all the ports and had beautiful ... Read More
We have been sailing Celebrity Cruise lines for 15 years. Our most recent trip was on Celebrity Solstice our of Seattle, Washington to Alaska on June 29th, 2018. Overall the we had a wonderful time at all the ports and had beautiful weather, which is always a gamble in Alaska. Captain Tasos was is by far the best Captain of any ship/cruise line I have been on. He had an amazing sense of humor and we looked forward to his message at 10am every single day. As I mentioned we have sailed Celebrity a number of times over 15 years and had been our preferred cruise line when we went on adult only cruise (our honeymoon, 10 year anniversary, and most recent 15 year anniversary). We have always been impressed with the food and top notch service, which makes our most recent cruise such a royal disappointment. Through out the cruise we thought the service was fine...which is, well...fine...no one was rude or anything, but no one really seemed like they cared to go the extra mile. Again, that's fine, I don't need special treatment, it just was quite different then the other Celebrity Cruises we had been on in the Caribbean and Mediterranean. We were also put off by the constant upselling on board. We were asked repeatedly about premium drink package as well as a lot of the activities on the ship had additional fees associated with them. The issues above were more annoying, however we did have one major issue that happened and the lack of action/empathy of the staff was beyond upsetting and disappointing. On our last (full) day we were sailing to Victoria B.C. We were not scheduled to get to port until around 6pm, so we had a large portion of that day at sea. We paid extra for Aqua Class and had a nice balcony. We were outside reading and when I came inside I noticed the carpet around bathroom was soaking wet. My husband then took a look and saw it was wet by the door out of cabin as well. We opened the door and asked one of the room attendants for help. He said our actual attendant was on break. Turns out the cabin next to us somehow overflowed their shower and gallons and gallons of water drained into our cabin. The carpet was wet from the door and ran along the bathroom, closet, behind the couch, and the bed all the way to balcony door. My husband and the room attendant we asked for help moved the couch and bed and used towels to help soak up water. The attendant then left and returned with two others to help. They brought in a huge industrial fan which was pointed under the bed to dry carpet and said "Turn it the other way after a little while" (meaning towards bathroom/living area carpet and left. Luckily we had the balcony because the wet carpet and the fan had a bad odor. When it was time to leave for our excursion, we saw our actual room attendant who asked if we would put our luggage out before we left (luggage had to be outside room by 10, and all on board was 11:30pm-it was a very late port of call). I made a joke and said we are all packed, but not sure we can get suitcases out with the huge fan in the cabin. He looked at me with a strange expression and it was clear he didn't know what I was talking about. So I explained what happened and he said "Oh, I didn't know" I know he was on break at the time, and he definitely deserves a break, but I would have thought since one of his rooms had a shower that over flowed into a second of his rooms, some sort of message would have been left for him giving him a heads up when he returned from break. He then was in our room and just kind of shook his head and said "wow, I think I'm going to keep balcony door opened a little while to help air it out". We then went on our excursion. We got back around 10:40pm and the fan was still running, and our balcony door was wide opened. It was very chilly in our room, the carpet was still damp, and the room smelled musty and kind of like dirty sweaty socks. Our room attendant was now off duty for the night so we called guest relations and had to explain the whole story again because there was no note about it. They said they would send someone up to take a look and remove the fan. After 20 minutes when no one showed up we went down to deck 3 to guest relations and had to yet again, explain the entire saga. Their response was you could have just put the fan outside of your room. We told her that the carpet was still wet and the room smelled really bad. After pushing she said she could look to see if they had a different room for us to sleep in for the night. She said to go back to our cabin and she would call when the other room was ready (there was a guest who got off at Victoria and wasn't sailing back to Seattle). So we went up and sat in the smelly wet room for another 20 minutes or so waiting for a phone call. By this time it's close to 11:30pm (also it was our 15 year anniversary-which Celebrity asked when we booked if there was anything we were going to celebrate on the cruise so we told them it would be out 15th-but it was never acknowledged, not even a piece of paper in the room saying happy anniversary-not sure why they ask if they don't actually do anything for their guest are celebrating. Just don't ask if you son't actually care). Anyways, they then came up to the room and removed the fan, and we got a call saying room was ready for us and they would leave door opened since our sea pass cards would not work for the new room. Once we were in there, we realized there was no soap or towels so we had to go back to our room and get that stuff and bring it over to the new room. In the morning, about 6:20am, we were awoken by another room attendant who had no clue we were in there because his record showed the guest got off the ship in Victoria. He was very frustrated as he wanted to get room ready for next cruise. We apologized to him multiple times and went through the whole story again and he just kept saying, "No one was suppose to be in here...I already had the bed made up" We finally just said, please go talk to Guest relations and then got out of that room as fast as we could and went back to our cabin, which still had damp carpet and smelled awful. We never saw our actual attendant again, he also hadn't fully made up our room the night before either. At no point were we offered any sort of compensation (only got to sleep in another room because we kept saying how bad ours smelled). However what's more disappointing is not a single staff member we dealt with during the whole saga once actually said I'm sorry or had any sympathy. Technically the guy who came to get the fan after we went down to guest services did say "sorry about this" as we took the fan out. The utter lack of communication was baffling. It was completely absurd we had to explain what happened over and over. Why couldn't they put some sort of note in our "file" everything else on the ship runs with your sea pass or giving out your cabin number. We definitely gave everyone we spoke with our cabin number multiple times. They definitely gave the impression it's the last day and we are in full prep for the next wave of guests/over caring about current guest. I feel bad for the guest getting on board after us who stay in room 1639. Your carpets will be damp and your room will smell. Hopefully since it's the beginning of your cruise, the staff will be more incline to actually care and maybe you will get the compensation/decent treatment. Celebrity has lost our trust and no longer is our default cruise line. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
We read reviews of celebrity and their food and liked the itinerary. However, the ship is in poor repair with rust, cracks in finishes, carpet coming up in our cabin, dirty sofa, awful beds, and a musty smell in the bathroom, and seats ... Read More
We read reviews of celebrity and their food and liked the itinerary. However, the ship is in poor repair with rust, cracks in finishes, carpet coming up in our cabin, dirty sofa, awful beds, and a musty smell in the bathroom, and seats you fall into in the oceanview restaurant. So much is peeling and in poor condition that they even have folding chairs in the oceanview. Staff are pleasant but don't bother to try it o get a wine or beverage in the main dining room. You will grow old and then the server will accuse you of somehow cheating your beverage package if you order a wine and bottle of water. Price of water is ridiculous. Tours were ok but not great. Paid a fortune for the tattoo and were seated away from my spouse. No one seemed to care. One tour which promised 1.5 hours at leisure, leftlate, no reimbursement or even an appology. Food, other than qsine, was rather tasteless. Others are either complaining or have expressed disappointment if they are longer term celebrity customers. My last celebrity cruise. Read Less
Sail Date: June 2018
We chose the New England itinerary because there were a couple of places that seemed to be fun and interesting to visit. It included Halifax, Boston, Bar Harbor Maine, and Portland Maine. But the options Celebrity Summit offered for ... Read More
We chose the New England itinerary because there were a couple of places that seemed to be fun and interesting to visit. It included Halifax, Boston, Bar Harbor Maine, and Portland Maine. But the options Celebrity Summit offered for tours on this cruise were poor, limited and boring. We tried booking three tours that caught our attention "A Taste of Maine" (included food tasting, lobster roll, apple pie, visit to a farm, hayride), it got cancelled. Another one that seemed fun, Acadia park and Cadillac Mountain, it was immediately sold out. They sold a very limited number of tickets for this tour which was supposed one of the main attractions for this cruise. The third one we couldn't do because it was also cancelled was "the best of Halifax". The only options to replace those tours were just sight seeing tours. We did them, but they were not the kind of experience we wanted. The food and the entertainment were really good. That is was I gave this trip a three star rating. Disembarkation at Bayonne New Jersey Port was horrible. There were only two immigration officers to check documents for more than 2100 passengers. The line for this ordeal was close to two hours. We were supposed to disembark at 8:20am because we had to take a plane at noon from Newark Airport, but we were not able to get out of that mess until 10:00 am. I don't plane Celebrity for the incompetence of that port and the immigration authorities. However, it affects the overall experience of the cruise. Read Less
Sail Date: June 2018
I would't suggest this trip for young people. Most activities on the ship was boring ..only good part was buffet. By end of the trip i checked my bank account and noticed that they took 260$ US for tips ! it was shocking because I wasn't ... Read More
I would't suggest this trip for young people. Most activities on the ship was boring ..only good part was buffet. By end of the trip i checked my bank account and noticed that they took 260$ US for tips ! it was shocking because I wasn't aware of this charge and gave tips separately for service. Also AC in my cabin didn't work during 24 hr and they were fixing it whole day but they could't so we could't sleep whole night asked again tech guy to fix it and finally he manged to do it by 2 am ! What a high tips for such a poor service ?! They constantly trying to sell you something like jewelries, trips , restaurant dinners and so on .. I felt like I was money scammed that's all I can say. Definitely won't recommend this cruise to my family and friends. ! Read Less
Sail Date: June 2018
Very disappointed. Not up to Celebrity standard we expected. The ship was old and tired. Too many people on board for common rooms. Could not get seat during briefings. Had to wait in line for everything. Dining room crowded and poor ... Read More
Very disappointed. Not up to Celebrity standard we expected. The ship was old and tired. Too many people on board for common rooms. Could not get seat during briefings. Had to wait in line for everything. Dining room crowded and poor lay out. Food was awful and service just OK. Service in our suite was lacking. Half the days we didn't get out snacks as promised. Room was dirty and never vaccumed. Tv service in room was terrible ..only two/three channels of old movies or documentaries and no information on excursions. Staff was just doing minimum. Waste of time and money. Th excursions we disappointing. Didn't like lining up for reservations and the next day for tickets and second time. Then wait for you number to be called in lounge to go on excursions. I didn't go on vacations to stand in lines. Must be a better system. Not a relaxing trip at all. Hot tub was dirty and cold so could not use. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: June 2018
This was our first 7 day cruise aboard Celebrity. We found that half way into the cruise it was all about how to get off the ship. It made our vacation feel shorter. Embarking at Civitavecchia was not as smooth as I had experienced at ... Read More
This was our first 7 day cruise aboard Celebrity. We found that half way into the cruise it was all about how to get off the ship. It made our vacation feel shorter. Embarking at Civitavecchia was not as smooth as I had experienced at other ports. Felt disorganized and there really was no advantage given to Concierge Class guests. The rooms were typical cabins. Older furniture inside but newer chairs on the veranda. Our beds were not comfortable at all and we woke with back aches each morning. The carpet looked like it could have used s good cleaning. Our cabin steward was good but he was clearly overworked and had many cabins to tend to. We are at two specialty restaurants; Sushi on 5 and QSine. We didn’t expect the Sushi restaurant to charge a la carte but that wasn’t a big issue. The sushi was ok but not great by any means. Service was average. The dinner at QSine was the seafood menu. Big disappointment here. We were seated near the front of the restaurant and the noise coming from the kitchen was very loud. So loud in fact that the maitre d had to tell them twice to keep their voices down. There’s also a door to the right as you enter the restaurant that banged closed every 30 seconds and drove me nuts. The food was good. The service rushed. The food in the Oceanfront (buffet) was pretty much the same - every night. There also weren’t enough bar stewards. By the time we got our drinks we were done with dinner. We ate in the main dining room only twice. The service was slow but the food was good here. The others at the table started talking politics so we decided not to return. The Martini bar on 4 was awesome. Highly recommend this area. As for onboard activities, there really weren’t many options. Steer clear from the bingo (very expensive and only 4 games!!). The casino has a few newer slots but most were very old. Overall this was a disappointing 5th cruise for us. The ship is too old, there isn’t enough staff and the food was not good. We will try Azamara next. Read Less
Sail Date: June 2018
Wife and I wanted to try a new cruise line since we have had several cruises with NCL,Carnival and RC. We like this itinerary to Key West a port we have yet been too and met our timeframe for a June cruise. We also bought into the ... Read More
Wife and I wanted to try a new cruise line since we have had several cruises with NCL,Carnival and RC. We like this itinerary to Key West a port we have yet been too and met our timeframe for a June cruise. We also bought into the awards Celebrity has incurred with cruisecritic as a top line. Not to many kids on the ship mostly crowds of over 50. Pros- service number 1. Room Stewart each time we headed to room ge would key the door an open it for us. Main dining room crew work very hard, please us each night. Food was excellent in the buffet and main dining room each day. The ship had no smoking policy in casino, this was great. Practically all the ship is smoke free. Except one area on side of ship designated. Comedy show was very good. Cons- no bells and whistles on ship, no water park slides for kids, pool was kinda awkward being divided up as it was. Entertainment was liken unless you like song and dance. We did one specialty restaurant. The Tuscan Grill, food was good service was liken, sit at table a long time with no refills. No chocolate milk is served on ship. We did self assist since we had a 10AM flight. We got to the Essemble Lounge at 6AM, we were let off ship at 7AM, we were at our gate for departure at 8AM. I would not recommend this ship for families due to things for kids to do. In summary we had a great cruise. Read Less
Already Booked?

Get to know who you’ll be sailing with

Find a Cruise