5 Montego Bay to Cuba Marella Cruises Marella Dream Cruise Reviews

We usually cruise with P & 0 or Royal Carribean. We chose this cruise because it called into Havana. The ship felt dated and needs some attention. The itinerary was changed round and port arrival times changed which meant prebooked ... Read More
We usually cruise with P & 0 or Royal Carribean. We chose this cruise because it called into Havana. The ship felt dated and needs some attention. The itinerary was changed round and port arrival times changed which meant prebooked excursions had to be changed. Freedom Dining was ok and food was ok but have to say the choice from the buffet was limited. Beware there is a charge for safety deposit in you cabin which is ridiculous another way to make money which is wrong of Thomson to do this. Cabin was directly underneath the show theatre and very very noisy, no peace or relaxation at all when in the cabin as practising for the shows all afternoon and then the actual show in the evening till 23:30. Swimming pool on deck 11 needs some attention as damaged. We took the All Inclusive option but not everything included, most cocktails were but if you had one that used Absolute in it instead of Smirnoff then you were charged. Don't know why it's brand specific. Don't think l'll choose Thomson again. Read Less
Sail Date February 2017
I have read positive experiences on Thomson Cruises. Now afterwards I can confirm they are correct. Thomson Dream is a great ship, fully renovated but with a beautiful interior and warm personality. The cabins were spacious and ... Read More
I have read positive experiences on Thomson Cruises. Now afterwards I can confirm they are correct. Thomson Dream is a great ship, fully renovated but with a beautiful interior and warm personality. The cabins were spacious and comfortable. The staff was in my opinion outstanding. They really love their work and you realize how important service is, in such a competitive Cruise industry. The entertainment on board is first class, fun and really good. The food was very tasty and there were plenty of choices. We did not use the a la carte restaurants because the food in the buffet restaurants was just great. Thomson offers high quality excursions where everything runs smooth. They are totally worth the money. Drinks prices are fair. The only thing we did not like, is the very early checkout when you arrive back from your trip. Also the pool is quite small and is not that inviting. On the other hand. there are so many beds to lay on and sun decks that you don't really need it. But it is good it is there in case you want to cool-off. The boarding and off boarding procedures in Montego Bay are somewhat uncoordinated and a bit confusing. But Thomson tries to help and puts plenty of staff on the ground in case you need to ask. There is so much to do on board. You will never get bored. If I could get another interesting cruise along my preferred dated on the Thomson Dream, I would not hesitate and book again. Me and my wife even miss the ship sometimes and we look on the Cruise Mapper app, where she is currently sailing. Thumbs up, well done and big thank you to the entire staff of the Thomson Dream. It was our first ever cruise and we will go again soon. Read Less
Sail Date February 2017
I decided to treat my husband to a Caribbean Criuse for his 60th birthday. It was his first cruise and unfortunately he has decided will be his last. I had looked at the ship on line on YouTube and what we experienced bore no resemblance ... Read More
I decided to treat my husband to a Caribbean Criuse for his 60th birthday. It was his first cruise and unfortunately he has decided will be his last. I had looked at the ship on line on YouTube and what we experienced bore no resemblance to what was shown on the video. We were booked into an outside, at extra cost, cabin 5143. Walking through the corridor to the cabin there was a definite foul odour. The view through the cabin window was marred by the rusted frame work. The cabin was cleaned regularly by the cabin staff, however, we had problems with the toilet which was constantly leaking from the back. Three days in there were problems when the toilet stopped flushing. This was reported and fixed. The smell of effluence remained in the corridor throughout the cruise. The air conditioning in our room which was directly above our bed and was very fierce. The engineer was called to adjust it on more than one occasion. At night we could not sleep from constant rattling and scratching noises which we thought was coming from outside the cabin and was in fact coming from the lighting above our heads my husband had to stuff a cushion between the ceiling and frame to get some rest. The ship appears tired and rundown throughout and should be taken out of commission. Lifts between floors do not work efficiently and appear creaking. The Lido deck was dirty and unkept. Tables were placed ad hoc with rubber mats that were obviously placed for the table to sit were out of place and left worn and dirty. There was nowhere to sit on decks the areas around the pool were over crowded with deck chairs everywhere. Tables on deck were left uncleared. My husband had to clear away trays and plates in order for us to sit down. On other deck where there were seats there was smoking as non smokers we could not sit there. We chose to eat in the Orion restaurant the staff were very cheery, however, we waited 15-20 minutes between courses at evening meals. Breakfast our toast would be brought to the table and go cold whilst we waited for the breakfast to arrive which was on more than one occasion the wrong order. On deck drinks staff avoided coming over to you and we had to go to the bar. Having ordered a fruit punch cream was added without my asking for it when I sent this back it was returned to me in the same plastic beaker with the cream still obviously in the drink. The drinks steward was not pleased when I took it back to be changed I had to give it to a different server. The itinerary was changed at the last minute, we missed going to Grand Cayman. This was extremely disappointing as we had never been there before and we were hoping to visit family. We were instead taken back to Jamaica where we had already spent 7 nights of our trip. We were taken to Ocho Rios, the ship docked in what was an industrial loading area, far away from the town and the other cruise ships. We were told free transport was offered to Dunn's River Falls. No other option was given. The Falls cost $20 US each. It was Boxing Day and was crowded with tourists and residents queuing to get in. We would not travel with Thomson Cruises again. Read Less
Sail Date December 2016
We choose this cruise mainly because of stops in Cuba and grand Cayman. I will catalogue below, but our biggest disappointment of the cruise was the fact that even though the itinerary stated we were going there! When we booked the ... Read More
We choose this cruise mainly because of stops in Cuba and grand Cayman. I will catalogue below, but our biggest disappointment of the cruise was the fact that even though the itinerary stated we were going there! When we booked the cruise the first stop was Cayman but this was changed. The day before we were due to go to Cayman the captain announced that we were unable to go yo Cayman as our anchorage had been cancelled as the bigger boats had priority! Poor reason not to go as this cruise hat been booked a year in advance. So my catalogue begins Arrived at Montgo bay our visit to Jamaica and only got to see the airport. The plane got in at 2.15 and we were kettled into a corridor at the airport in a queue until 4pm waiting for a coach transfer! The boat left for Cuba. Arrived at Cuba again queued in a corridor for 30 mins for a coach to go for a five minute drive to pick up a car tour. Julie the cruise tour manager was clueless! The lido pool deck was never clean. You never saw a drinks waiter you had to go up to the bar. Dishes lefty lying around and the tables never wiped. Most of the entertainment very ameature Positives Orion restaurant brilliant Broadway theatre fantastic Read Less
Sail Date December 2016
Thomson Dream a disaster from beginning to end. Two ports missed in as many weeks. Then the canteen staff began to take the mickey by singing a Caribbean song with the words changed to having missed ports again. Had noro virus on board ... Read More
Thomson Dream a disaster from beginning to end. Two ports missed in as many weeks. Then the canteen staff began to take the mickey by singing a Caribbean song with the words changed to having missed ports again. Had noro virus on board the previous week and had to be served in self service canteen. When I asked for a couple of bread rolls and beef for lunch I was offered a slice of beef about 1inch by three which left me flabbergasted? The Orion restaurant was no better, had to wait 30 minutes for 2 cold puddings and after 20 minutes waiting to be asked if we wanted tea or coffee decided to have it elsewhere. All this time the waiter was chatting to travellers who were disembarking the next day, looking for tips which he persisted with until he was offered money. However my worst complaint was the rock hard bed which had to be endured for 2 weeks I was in agony, no spare mattresses I was told, does beg the question as to what happens if someone has an accident? Read Less
Sail Date February 2015
Marella Dream Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 4.0 3.9
Dining 3.0 3.9
Entertainment 4.5 4.0
Public Rooms 4.5 4.0
Fitness Recreation 3.0 3.4
Family 3.5 3.4
Shore Excursion 4.0 3.6
Enrichment 2.0 3.4
Service 4.5 4.3
Value For Money 4.0 3.6
Rates N/A 3.9

Find a Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click