• TRAVEL NOTICE: Learn more about COVID-19
  • Write a Review
  • Boards
  • Log In
  • Find a Cruise
  • Deals
  • Excursions
  • More

Holland America Line Cruises

23 Awards
Koningsdam

About Holland America Line Cruises

Caters to the 50+ set who enjoy fine dining, live music and a more subdued vibe -- no whiz-bang attractions here, though partnerships with Lincoln Center and Billboard raise the bar on entertainment; sails globally with ships ranging in size from 835 to 2,650 passengers.

  • Who goes on Holland America Line cruise ships?

  • Do I have to dress up on a Holland America Line cruise?

Find Holland America Line Cruises

Filters

Any
Any
Any
Any
Any
Any
Any
Any
Any
Any
Any
Any
Sep '21

Oct '21

Nov '21

Dec '21

Jan '22

Feb '22

Show all
Loading...

$0

$10,000

Loading...

Holland America Line Cruises

We found you 429 cruises

Loading...
Loading...
Oosterdam
Oosterdam

22 Night
South America & Antarctica HolidayDetails

1,022 Reviews
Leaving:Buenos Aires
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Dec 20, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals
Westerdam
Westerdam

14 Night
Japan & RussiaDetails

Leaving:Yokohama
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Oct 10, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals
Cruise Critic Favorite
Oosterdam
Oosterdam

14 Night
Spanish FarewellDetails

Leaving:Barcelona
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Nov 5, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals
Oosterdam
Oosterdam

31 Night
South America Inca & Panama Canal DiscoveryDetails

Leaving:Buenos Aires
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Mar 10, 2023
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals
Sponsored

Book Early and Save w/ Virgin Voyages

  • 10% off voyages booked 180 days before departure
  • UK, Caribbean and Mediterranean itineraries
  • 18+ only sailings - Adult-By-Design!
  • Over $600 in value always included - 20+ Eateries, Tips, WiFi & more

Virgin Voyages

7 Night
Classic California CoastDetails

Leaving:San Diego
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Oct 10, 2021
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

6 Night
Pacific Coastal CruiseDetails

Leaving:Vancouver
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Oct 2, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

7 Night
Western CaribbeanDetails

Cruise Line:Holland America Line
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

Sign Up for Price Drop Alerts

Be the first to know when tomorrow's prices drop so you can book with confidence.

By proceeding, you agree to Cruise Critic’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

7 Night
Alaskan Inside PassageDetails

Leaving:Vancouver
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

13 Night
European River ExplorerDetails

Leaving:Rotterdam
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Aug 28, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

7 Night
Mexican RivieraDetails

Leaving:San Diego
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

12 Night
150th Anniversary TransatlanticDetails

Leaving:Rotterdam
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Oct 15, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

12 Night
Adriatic DreamDetails

Leaving:Venice
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Sep 28, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals
Cruise Critic Favorite

17 Night
Panama Canal & Inca DiscoveryDetails

Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Nov 19, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

21 Night
Panama CanalDetails

Leaving:Seattle
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Oct 2, 2021
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

1 Night
Pacific Coastal CruiseDetails

Leaving:Seattle
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Oct 8, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

10 Night
Newfoundland & New England DiscoveryDetails

Leaving:Quebec City
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Sep 7, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

28 Night
Japan Taiwan The Philippines & China CollectorDetails

Leaving:Yokohama
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Feb 13, 2023
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

3 Night
Pacific Northwest CruiseDetails

Leaving:Vancouver
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Apr 26, 2023
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

71 Night
Grand Africa VoyageDetails

524 Reviews
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Oct 10, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

20 Night
Panama CanalDetails

Cruise Line:Holland America Line
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

11 Night
Southern Caribbean WayfarerDetails

Cruise Line:Holland America Line
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

9 Night
The Atlantic CoastDetails

Cruise Line:Holland America Line
May 12, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

14 Night
Eastern / Western CaribbeanDetails

Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Dec 19, 2021
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

13 Night
Australia & New ZealandDetails

Leaving:Sydney
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Jan 14, 2023
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

17 Night
Circle HawaiiDetails

Leaving:San Diego
Cruise Line:Holland America Line
Jan 16, 2022
No prices currently available for this sailing.
  • Itinerary
  • Ship
  • Reviews
  • View All Deals

Who goes on Holland America Line cruise ships?

Holland America Line cruisers usually run 50 or older and are evenly split between being retired and employed -- the longer the cruise, the older the demographic and the more retired passengers there are. HAL passengers prioritize travel, and most are experienced cruisers. They tend to be foodies and music-lovers (two things for which HAL prides itself), and most are from the U.S. and Canada, though about 20 percent of the passengers are international, with the U.K. and Australia at the top of the list.

During the summer and holiday periods, the average age onboard comes down as families, particularly multigenerational groups that include the grandparents and grandkids, take to the ships. This is particularly true of the line's Alaska and Canada/New England itineraries.

Do I have to dress up on a Holland America Line cruise?

Not during the day, but most Holland America Line evenings are designated as smart-casual, so swimsuits, flip-flops, shorts and tank tops are not permitted in any of the restaurants. The line does have more formal evenings (how many depends on how long a sailing you're on) called Gala Nights calling for gala attire. Men usually show up in suits and ties (or jackets and no ties, especially in the Caribbean); women usually opt for cocktail dresses or gowns, or dress slacks with fancy blouses.

Is everything free on Holland America Line cruises?

No. Your cruise fare includes meals in the main dining room, Lido buffet restaurant, the outdoor Terrace Grill and 24-hour room service (except for some for-charge items); the extensive youth program, Club HAL, is complimentary until 10 p.m. every day. Additionally, access to the fitness center, and most culinary lessons and enrichment lectures, movies, performances and live music are complimentary.

What will cost you extra is all drinks beyond water, tea, basic coffee and some juices; all specialty restaurants; most fitness classes; spa and salon services; shore excursions; gratuities; laundry and purchases from any of the onboard shops.

Passengers cruising in suites get a host of extra privileges and might find that some of the extra-fee options are provided complimentarily.

What are Holland America Line’s most popular activities?

Passengers onboard Holland America Line's ships love the line's dedication to traditional cruise activities, including afternoon tea and ballroom dancing, but they also flock to the line's newer options. In particular, the line's live music offerings, including BB King's Blues Club, Billboard Onboard, Rolling Stone Rock Room and Lincoln Center Stage, draw a crowd most nights, while the line's culinary demonstrations are usually standing room only. Culinary classes (including some specifically for kids), wine tastings and blendings (on select ships only), and complimentary computer classes fill quickly.

Just as popular for many Holland America Line passengers is relaxing in the line's top-deck Crow's Nest. You'll often find people up there reading a book, putting together a jigsaw puzzle or playing cards or board games.

Why go with Holland America Line?

  • Traditional cruising experience with modern touches
  • Impressive, immersive itinerary options, particularly in Alaska
  • Extensive dining options and enrichment programs

Best for: Laid-back but curious travelers who explore by day and relish culinary experiences and live music by night

Not for: Thrill-seekers who crave a variety of onboard attractions and endless nightlife

Featured News

1
Carnival Corp. Aims to Make Pre-Cruise COVID-19 Testing Easier With New Partnership
3
Three Holland America Line Ships To Resume Sailing in Spring 2022
Holland America Line Cruises Cruiser Reviews

A Great Week

We live in Seattle and have always wanted to go on an Alaska cruise, but for some reason we hadn't been there yet. The easy part is that we didn't have to fly anyplace! We found everything about our experience... Read More
User Avatar
JulieGerr

2-5 Cruises

Age 70s

Warning - Miserable stressful trip

We originally chose this trip because Seth Wayne was promoting HAL and we thought it would be relaxing and fun after a very stressful year from COVID. We did not have COVID but we had to comply with all the... Read More
User Avatar
trebor01

10+ Cruises

Age 70s

A nice cruise to Alaska

An Alaskan Cruise sounded like a nice get away, and a restart in the Cruise Industry. The ship had everything we could need onboard. We were welcomed when we arrived and our luggage was in our room promptly. The... Read More
User Avatar
Lanhest

10+ Cruises

Age 60s

Amazing Cruise Even with Covid Restrictions

I booked this cruise in June and thought things would be better by August. As we all knew Delta variant came around and I was unsure about going but so glad that we did. The crew could not be happier or more... Read More
User Avatar
eccsr

10+ Cruises

Age 60s

Related Cruises

Cruise Critic is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site. Our partners who list cruise pricing on Cruise Critic are required to provide prices for cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are based on specific cabin types and sailing dates, and may not be available for all cabin types/sailings. Taxes, fees and port expenses not included. Rates are in USD and valid for US and Canadian residents only. Fuel supplement may apply. When you book with one of our partners, please be sure to check their site for a full disclosure of all applicable fees as required by the U.S. Department of Transportation.

For any cruises listed, Cruise Critic does not guarantee any specific rates or prices. In addition, average cruise prices are updated nightly.

Furthermore, Cruise Critic makes no guarantees for availability of prices advertised on our site. Listed prices may have blackout dates, qualifications or restrictions.

Cruise Critic is not responsible for content on external web sites.

Lowest pricing is based on our 3rd party pricing supplier and valid as of September 22nd, 2021.

Want to cruise smarter?
Get expert advice, insider tips and more.
By proceeding, you agree to Cruise Critic’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.