1. Home
  2. Cruise Lines
  3. Celebrity Cruises
  4. Celebrity Cruises Cruise Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
I chose this cruise because the medical centre has dialysis machines and my wife has kidney failure. However at the last minute she was unable to travel. Celebrity Cruises insisted that I pay the fare for a single person travelling in the ... Read More
I chose this cruise because the medical centre has dialysis machines and my wife has kidney failure. However at the last minute she was unable to travel. Celebrity Cruises insisted that I pay the fare for a single person travelling in the cabin although the dialysis company did refund some of the cost of dialysis and a small portion of the additional cost that dialysis patients and their partners are forced to pay by Celebrity. The cost is very high as Celebrity charges a premium for dialysis patients and their accompanying partners in adding to the cost of dialysis. In the traumatic circumstances I had hoped that Celebrity would only charge the cost for the cabin but they insisted on the cost for a single person travelling in this cabin class. This is a huge ship with some thousands of people on board. I had a premium cabin which I thought entitled me to priority but it certainly didn't work out like that. The designated restaurant was poor with second rate food. I normally ate in the restaurant of other classes which had a much better selection of dishes and better service. There was nothing particularly attractive or special about the so-called "special" class for which I paid and many of the advertised benefits did not materialise. Most of the passengers seemed intent on sitting at the numerous bars or in the casino or shopping in the many, many overpriced shops onboard. If that is your idea of a holiday then this will suit you. The elevators are constantly packed and it takes forever to get between decks on the ship. There are children everywhere, the pool facilities are overwhelmed with children, and the other facilities are taken up by groups traveling together. I found this cruise a most unpleasant experience, extremely highly priced for what you receive and I certainly would not recommend it to anyone who was interested in the sights of Alaska. The priority seemed to be ship board partying rather than Alaska as a destination. Others on board who made comments to me similarly decided they would not cruise again. I would not choose such a cruise again nor have I found Celebrity Cruises at all responsive to my needs, concerns, or particular situation. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2018
We spent a lot of money on this cruise. We were not treated very well by the staff. They were rude and condesending. They gave away our dinner reservations that were made months in advance. They didn't have enough food in the buffet. ... Read More
We spent a lot of money on this cruise. We were not treated very well by the staff. They were rude and condesending. They gave away our dinner reservations that were made months in advance. They didn't have enough food in the buffet. Lines for food and drinks on the decks were very long. It's like the didn't plan on the ship being sold out. Marterdi was rude. Waiters were rude. Shows were fun but staff was rude. If I had a choice I would not give them an 18% per day, per person tip. We did have a nice room with deck however while we were in port they decided to scrape the paint from the deck. When we returned from shore there were paint chips all over the deck, the chairs, everywhere. When I complained, their response was we will have in cleaned in Seattle. That's where the cruise ended. I used a travel agent. I complained to them. The ships corporate response. They offered a $50 on board credit for my next trip. Lol. Really. Bad customer service. The ports were fun. The food was good. Other than that I won't waste my money with them. Read Less
12 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: July 2018
My extended family decided on Celebrity Alaska Cruise. This was my first time on Celebrity. Dealing with website precruise was dreadful. Embarkation was very smooth, so expectation rose, but welcome lunch in MDR for concierge class ... Read More
My extended family decided on Celebrity Alaska Cruise. This was my first time on Celebrity. Dealing with website precruise was dreadful. Embarkation was very smooth, so expectation rose, but welcome lunch in MDR for concierge class was a joke. You only had a few lunch options, all of which were terrible. Skip it and go to the Ocean View Cafe. Ship was nice looking. Some nice bars. Specialty restaurants are pretty. Lack of laundry facilities is annoying. Cabin was fine. Decent size and nice balcony. Not much drawer space. Very limited television options. Food was generally adequate in main dining room. The Ocean View Cafe was fine if you stuck to salads, carved meats and sandwiches. Specialty restaurants nowhere near worth the money. Entertainment was mediocre. Interesting activities were minimal. Only 1 lecturer for the entire cruise, who was not particularly interesting. Service and overall ship experience is the reason I would not go on Celebrity again. The MDR staff, cabin steward and a few bartenders were friendly and competent. Most of the staff, however, was neither welcoming nor helpful. Casino staff was not in the least bit friendly. Servers were nonexistent at the pools or in the public areas near the dining room. You generally had to go to a bar to get a drink. The drink policy was absurd. You pay $70 for the premium drink package, but still have to pay for a bottle of water or soda in the room. To get a bottle of water at the gym, you had to go to the spa desk, have your card swiped, give your room number and sign for it. You can't get two bottles of water at a time. It was obvious that there was some kind of crackdown on the staff for giving away too much free water. Constant selling was highly irritating. Every day, they dried to sell us a crab shack lunch at a specialty restaurant. They sold it by saying the $35 you paid them was less than paying off the ship. But if the steak I got at Tuscan Grill for a surcharge is any indication of the quality of the crab, there is no question that you should pay for the higher cost crab off the ship. God help you if you did not prepay for the drink package, as you would get hounded until you relented. Shore excursions were expensive and minimalist. Other cruise excursion I have been on give some interesting information and history during the dead times of the excursions. None of that on these excursions. I would never consider Celebrity again. They seem much more concerned with maximizing revenue from my stay on the ship than providing a welcoming and relaxing experience. Read Less
10 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2018
We have been sailing Celebrity Cruise lines for 15 years. Our most recent trip was on Celebrity Solstice our of Seattle, Washington to Alaska on June 29th, 2018. Overall the we had a wonderful time at all the ports and had beautiful ... Read More
We have been sailing Celebrity Cruise lines for 15 years. Our most recent trip was on Celebrity Solstice our of Seattle, Washington to Alaska on June 29th, 2018. Overall the we had a wonderful time at all the ports and had beautiful weather, which is always a gamble in Alaska. Captain Tasos was is by far the best Captain of any ship/cruise line I have been on. He had an amazing sense of humor and we looked forward to his message at 10am every single day. As I mentioned we have sailed Celebrity a number of times over 15 years and had been our preferred cruise line when we went on adult only cruise (our honeymoon, 10 year anniversary, and most recent 15 year anniversary). We have always been impressed with the food and top notch service, which makes our most recent cruise such a royal disappointment. Through out the cruise we thought the service was fine...which is, well...fine...no one was rude or anything, but no one really seemed like they cared to go the extra mile. Again, that's fine, I don't need special treatment, it just was quite different then the other Celebrity Cruises we had been on in the Caribbean and Mediterranean. We were also put off by the constant upselling on board. We were asked repeatedly about premium drink package as well as a lot of the activities on the ship had additional fees associated with them. The issues above were more annoying, however we did have one major issue that happened and the lack of action/empathy of the staff was beyond upsetting and disappointing. On our last (full) day we were sailing to Victoria B.C. We were not scheduled to get to port until around 6pm, so we had a large portion of that day at sea. We paid extra for Aqua Class and had a nice balcony. We were outside reading and when I came inside I noticed the carpet around bathroom was soaking wet. My husband then took a look and saw it was wet by the door out of cabin as well. We opened the door and asked one of the room attendants for help. He said our actual attendant was on break. Turns out the cabin next to us somehow overflowed their shower and gallons and gallons of water drained into our cabin. The carpet was wet from the door and ran along the bathroom, closet, behind the couch, and the bed all the way to balcony door. My husband and the room attendant we asked for help moved the couch and bed and used towels to help soak up water. The attendant then left and returned with two others to help. They brought in a huge industrial fan which was pointed under the bed to dry carpet and said "Turn it the other way after a little while" (meaning towards bathroom/living area carpet and left. Luckily we had the balcony because the wet carpet and the fan had a bad odor. When it was time to leave for our excursion, we saw our actual room attendant who asked if we would put our luggage out before we left (luggage had to be outside room by 10, and all on board was 11:30pm-it was a very late port of call). I made a joke and said we are all packed, but not sure we can get suitcases out with the huge fan in the cabin. He looked at me with a strange expression and it was clear he didn't know what I was talking about. So I explained what happened and he said "Oh, I didn't know" I know he was on break at the time, and he definitely deserves a break, but I would have thought since one of his rooms had a shower that over flowed into a second of his rooms, some sort of message would have been left for him giving him a heads up when he returned from break. He then was in our room and just kind of shook his head and said "wow, I think I'm going to keep balcony door opened a little while to help air it out". We then went on our excursion. We got back around 10:40pm and the fan was still running, and our balcony door was wide opened. It was very chilly in our room, the carpet was still damp, and the room smelled musty and kind of like dirty sweaty socks. Our room attendant was now off duty for the night so we called guest relations and had to explain the whole story again because there was no note about it. They said they would send someone up to take a look and remove the fan. After 20 minutes when no one showed up we went down to deck 3 to guest relations and had to yet again, explain the entire saga. Their response was you could have just put the fan outside of your room. We told her that the carpet was still wet and the room smelled really bad. After pushing she said she could look to see if they had a different room for us to sleep in for the night. She said to go back to our cabin and she would call when the other room was ready (there was a guest who got off at Victoria and wasn't sailing back to Seattle). So we went up and sat in the smelly wet room for another 20 minutes or so waiting for a phone call. By this time it's close to 11:30pm (also it was our 15 year anniversary-which Celebrity asked when we booked if there was anything we were going to celebrate on the cruise so we told them it would be out 15th-but it was never acknowledged, not even a piece of paper in the room saying happy anniversary-not sure why they ask if they don't actually do anything for their guest are celebrating. Just don't ask if you son't actually care). Anyways, they then came up to the room and removed the fan, and we got a call saying room was ready for us and they would leave door opened since our sea pass cards would not work for the new room. Once we were in there, we realized there was no soap or towels so we had to go back to our room and get that stuff and bring it over to the new room. In the morning, about 6:20am, we were awoken by another room attendant who had no clue we were in there because his record showed the guest got off the ship in Victoria. He was very frustrated as he wanted to get room ready for next cruise. We apologized to him multiple times and went through the whole story again and he just kept saying, "No one was suppose to be in here...I already had the bed made up" We finally just said, please go talk to Guest relations and then got out of that room as fast as we could and went back to our cabin, which still had damp carpet and smelled awful. We never saw our actual attendant again, he also hadn't fully made up our room the night before either. At no point were we offered any sort of compensation (only got to sleep in another room because we kept saying how bad ours smelled). However what's more disappointing is not a single staff member we dealt with during the whole saga once actually said I'm sorry or had any sympathy. Technically the guy who came to get the fan after we went down to guest services did say "sorry about this" as we took the fan out. The utter lack of communication was baffling. It was completely absurd we had to explain what happened over and over. Why couldn't they put some sort of note in our "file" everything else on the ship runs with your sea pass or giving out your cabin number. We definitely gave everyone we spoke with our cabin number multiple times. They definitely gave the impression it's the last day and we are in full prep for the next wave of guests/over caring about current guest. I feel bad for the guest getting on board after us who stay in room 1639. Your carpets will be damp and your room will smell. Hopefully since it's the beginning of your cruise, the staff will be more incline to actually care and maybe you will get the compensation/decent treatment. Celebrity has lost our trust and no longer is our default cruise line. Read Less
9 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: September 2017
This was our 2nd cruise to Alaska. We chose Celebrity this time because we never sailed this line before and the perks seemed good as well as a great price for Aqua Class. Also we were going to Skagway where we never went. What a true ... Read More
This was our 2nd cruise to Alaska. We chose Celebrity this time because we never sailed this line before and the perks seemed good as well as a great price for Aqua Class. Also we were going to Skagway where we never went. What a true disappointment in cruise line. Check in was smooth however we got a brand new girl who was so slow we waited a good 20 minutes to be checked in and couldn't keep up with our friends. Aqua Class room 1660. Overall room was a typical balcony room with the difference of the massaging shower (we loved), fresh brewed tea (which had no taste and left until we left), access to the Blu restaurant (in which I felt very uncomfortable with some snooty people staring at us) and access to the persion gardens (in which the stone beds were always occupied and no one monitored the time so we never got on one)! 1st thing gone bad...classic beverage package! Upon booking the cruise we took this perk after checking it had all our favorite liquors included, well long story short I ordered a drink to have the bartender tell me it wasn't included...wth? They changed the classic package 5 months ago. Did you bother telling everyone who booked their trip 1.5 years ago? 80.00 to upgrade! Hot glass show...what was that? Never happened. Never saw it on the events, no one did. 1 ping pong table...always taken outdoor movie theater playing Smurfs (about 10 infant kids on ship) Private Journeys what a mess up! Paid an arm and leg for a Hummer excursion in Skagway just to waste our time on a guided tour (which was not what I booked) with am tour guide who was sick to his stomach and drove us 1.5 hours each way down a highway! Complained to excursion desk and sent us on the train in Skagway that went pare ell to the same highway! Jee how fun! shows were boring to us. Comedian they had was same guy we saw on another ship, would have left but we were in front row so we didn't want to be targeted. Screw up with on board credit, they blamed travel agent, but then agent said Celebrity didn't do it. Overall I was bored. Game shows were held in the middle of a hallway and clientele was older so they were more low key. To many live bands, Art auctions were the most fun for us! Read Less
6 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: August 2017
Went on this cruise to celebrate my sisters and I birthdays. As far as having family together it was fine. But the amenities and everything else on board were just barely standard. Several things about this cruise were off 1) To start ... Read More
Went on this cruise to celebrate my sisters and I birthdays. As far as having family together it was fine. But the amenities and everything else on board were just barely standard. Several things about this cruise were off 1) To start with i purchased an upgraded room and the room was just what i had on other cruise lines for a lot less money. We did have a nice veranda though. We were suppose to have a bottle of wine waiting for us when we first got on board and it never showed up. Our cabin steward was good enough but kept forgetting small things such as putting our breakfast menu in the room for the next day. 2) The elevators in the ship were way too small way too slow to try and move the amount of people that they had to move. 3) The on-board entertainment was horrific. They had a couple of musicals in the theater that were at best a poor attempt by a bunch of amateurs to entertain people. The quality was something you would see at an amusement part. People were getting up and walking out in the middle of the performances due to how bad it was. The movies instead of being shown in the movie theater was shown on the deck in the cold, wind, and rain. They did have a wildlife naturalist do several talks that were great. But that was only thing for entertainment that was any good. 4) The food quality was ranging from excellent to inedible. Eating in the specialty restaurants was a joy. The main dining room was absolutely horrible. The couple of times we tried it, the food came out cold and bland. The buffet was better than the main dining room (hot food and more selection). 5) If you want to go on a cruise to shop this would have been cruise to be on, but if you cane on a cruise to have activities and things to do, this was certainly not the cruise to be on. 6) The casino was fairly large, but the attitudes of the people working in it left something to be desired. When questioned about the table limits their attitude was "so what...just deal with it or don't play". There was no empathy to customer at all. 7) The shore excursions (we went on 2) were not what the brochure explained them to be and totally priced a lot more than what we got out of them. I would suggest people read VERY CAREFULLY the explanations and question the cruise line as to what EXACTLY is offered on the excursion. We ended up getting a refund on one of our excursions because it was not what was promised. 8) The way they handled drinks (both alcoholic and soft drinks/water) was absolutely the worst i have ever experienced. I bought the upgraded alcohol package (in which I was suppose to receive top shelf alcohol) and every drink was made with well alcohol. When questioning a bartender, I got the attitude of that is what we serve (so why did i waste the money on the upgrade?). Every time you wanted a soft drink or water they had to take your ship card and run to the bar. so sometimes it took as much as 10 min. 9) The service during the entire cruise was hit or miss. Some of their staff were great, others were just acting like they were totally put out to have to wait on you and were there just drawing a paycheck. 10) I don't know who's idea it was to put a very loud and lousy cover band in the main atrium playing as loud as they could. Not only was the music bad but being in the atrium amplified and broadcast it to the entire ship. It was so loud and obnoxious that you would have to go to your room or out on deck to get away from it. 11) Embarkation and disembarkation was very smooth and totally painless. 12) Watch out for their salesman trying to constantly sell you a drink package or something else. Very off putting. I will never cruise this line again. After doing a little research, I could have gotten a much longer cruise, with more amenities, and a better stateroom for the same amount of money I wasted on this trip. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: August 2017
I specifically picked this cruise based on the published route to travel north between Vancouver island and the Canadian mainland of British Columbia. We wanted see the beautiful Canadian coastline. So what does this captain do but go ... Read More
I specifically picked this cruise based on the published route to travel north between Vancouver island and the Canadian mainland of British Columbia. We wanted see the beautiful Canadian coastline. So what does this captain do but go right out the strait of Juan de Fuca and miles out into the Pacific Ocean before turning north to Alaska. We missed the entire Canadian coastline and the potential to see whales. I asked several staff why the course change and no one could me a satisfactory answer. The food in the buffet was very bland. We had the early seating for dinner and the service was good, but quality of the food was only on par with a Denny's restaurant. It seemed that all the ships staff had a very poor command of english and limited vocabulary. It was tough to communicate with them. If I had to do this again I would not choose Celebrity. Read Less
17 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2017
We planned this cruise 11 months in advance. We wanted to experience an Alaskan cruise. A suite was booked by an agent on the 12th floor in the middle of the ship. We were so excited because we trusted that the agent booked the ... Read More
We planned this cruise 11 months in advance. We wanted to experience an Alaskan cruise. A suite was booked by an agent on the 12th floor in the middle of the ship. We were so excited because we trusted that the agent booked the "perfect" location for our special trip. Our bad for not reviewing the deck plan prior to the cruise. As soon as we entered our room the noise level was unbearable. 24 hours a day we heard nothing but carts rolling over our room and thousands of foot steps. Sometimes the room actually vibrated due to the noise. Not great when you're from CA! It was so bad that after the first two nights of no sleep (with ear plugs and pillows over our heads) we finally said something to the suite butler and guest relations. They tried to minimize the noise by blocking the area over our room from 10p to 6a. It did not help. We couldn't even take naps. The ship itself is wonderful with great public areas, nice restaurants and an awesome coffee bar - needless to say we spent a lot of our time at the coffee bar trying to stay awake! Dining for suite guests is in a private restaurant with top notch food. Suite guests have the option of ordering from the main menu as well. The service on the ship was outstanding. Really everything about the ship and the cruise itself was wonderful. Had it not been for the cabin situation, this would have been a great experience. The entertainment was adequate. The ensemble shows were nice. The dancers are great. Singing was okay - they did have one amazing female singer in the main showroom. We really enjoyed listening to the music in other parts of the ship as well. It is unfortunate that we had such a terrible experience with regard to the suite. This was a suite that cost us over $7,200! One would wonder why they placed suites under the noisiest part of the ship. We realized that the cruise staff could not reconstruct the ship for our comfort, but there should be some type of warning to people before they spend thousands of dollars to rest and relax! We learned a very expensive and valuable lesson for future cruising. Read Less
21 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: June 2017
OK if someone was to tell you they are going to visit your home town and want you to tell them 5 things to see or do... think about it..........ok now are all 5 things the name of jewelry stores in your town? If not why? On the Solstice ... Read More
OK if someone was to tell you they are going to visit your home town and want you to tell them 5 things to see or do... think about it..........ok now are all 5 things the name of jewelry stores in your town? If not why? On the Solstice their daily guide, map of the town has nothing but jewelry stores they are pimping for, their is noting of historical facts or locations, local sites, just jewelry stores. It has been a while since my last cruise prior to this one, but on my previous cruises once on the ship all you paid for was gambling and alcohol, everything else was no charge. Now I bought a soda card to get sodas at no cost, but a limit of 1 at a time. I requested to have 2 or 3 so I could keep them in my room should I get thirsty during the night, and the reaction I got when I asked for them was shocking. You would have thought I asked for the Crown Jewels, like a diet pepsi was crack cocaine. It seemed like half the onboard activities were centered around selling something, like the art shows selling paintings, occurred several times, art auction, glass blowing show to sell their items. In my previous cruises we had activities for entertainment, I did skeet shooting from the aft of the ship no charge, pool side games no charge, it seemed there was always something to do without being charged to your room card. For such a awesome ship, great rooms, great staff, the potential is there, just stop turning it into a money grabbing barge, if you have too raise the cost then you know from the beginning what it is really going to cost you. Read Less
1 Helpful Vote
Sail Date: May 2017
Let me start my review by saying I have a special needs grandson and I love animals. There was a dog on board that the owners classified as a service dog. They let everyone pet even the restaurant staff while serving the other guest. The ... Read More
Let me start my review by saying I have a special needs grandson and I love animals. There was a dog on board that the owners classified as a service dog. They let everyone pet even the restaurant staff while serving the other guest. The problem came when the staff didn't wash their hands after. We notice on two different days this occurring with even the restaurant manager doing this the first time with other staff members.We spoke to the hotel manager about it and was assured that it would not happen again. The next day a waiter once again petted the dog and grabbed food and delivered it to people. Third time in we had that waiter and I came down with stomach cramps Needless to say we stopped eating in Bleu. Which was a blessing in disguise because we found a wonderful waiter named Russel. Our room steward was wonderful named Bambang. The captain was the best docking captain we ever had. He was the funniest captain ever. If he retires he can do stand up. There was also a Beatles tribute band that was fabulous. At sea days was pretty bad though with entertainment or something to do and that is with over 20 cruises, Read Less
Already Booked?

Get to know who you’ll be sailing with

Find a Cruise

Email me when prices drop