9 Carnival Spirit Cruise Reviews for Singles Cruises to South Pacific

So this cruise was a 5-night Tasmanian domestic cruise. We set sail Friday 22nd March. Check-in was smooth and this was the last time we checked-in where Carnival took our photo for their system. Our Sail and Sign cards were available ... Read More
So this cruise was a 5-night Tasmanian domestic cruise. We set sail Friday 22nd March. Check-in was smooth and this was the last time we checked-in where Carnival took our photo for their system. Our Sail and Sign cards were available reasonably quickly outside our room. We got into our rooms and checked the Funtimes which didn't indicate Port Arthur as a stop. It listed a changed itinerary and an extra sea day. hmm, this was strange. Anyway, we thought they'd make an announcement after everyone boarded. There was no announcement so afterwards, I went to guest services and confirmed the itinerary had indeed changed due to poor weather. I told the guy we never got anything official. He printed out an advisory which we were supposed to have received in our room but didn't. I wasn't upset but just wanted something official in case I'd claim on my insurance for a missed port day. Anyway, due to the missed port day at Port Arthur we stopped at Hobart that day and Carnival put on free buses for those that wanted to travel to Port Arthur. that was an excellent response from Carnival and I'm happy our captain made the decision not hit rough weather for the sake of a day at Port Arthur. The change in itinerary doesn't factor into this review as Carnival are not responsible for the weather but how they deal with it which they did well. I'd never been to Hobart but we did a private tour. Hobart is a great little town. On this cruise, we didn't really watch any of the shows except a few comedy shows. One comedian conceded this was his first cruise and so wasn't all that great. We got to do Nouveau again for not only dinner but also long lunch at sea. Again. great value for dinner but long lunch at sea was so worth it. $35 for long lunch at sea was excellent. We also go the seafood plater thinking it was just an upgrade ($20) but it was actually in addition to the menu which had seafood as well. There was so much food, I don't think I had dinner! The seafood was fresh, delicious and plentiful. I don't eat much lobster, but this was incredible. We also got the matching wines ($20). The staff at Nouveau were excellent and courteous. This was also our first cruise where escargot was no longer offered at Nouveau. This was also the first time we had Your Time Dining in Empire but wouldn't choose it again. Often, we'd need to wait in line just to get a buzzer and then wait again for the pager to go off. We also like to idea of having the same table staff each cruise. I had an issue with a barwaiter who was a little rude but most of the other staff were excellent. I'd also find bar staff would pour the more expensive Chivas Scotch rather than Dewars and not ask my preference. They're just trying to pump up their commissions. Since our last cruise on Spirit (January 2018), we noticed somethings have been refurbished such as new upholstery in La Playa Grille, a coffee shop at Serenity and the Warehouse as an addition. Soul Play has taken over the area where the art auctions were. Our room was clean and as expected. Everything worked as expected without any surprises. Overall, it was a good cruise and we'd done a few things we never got a chance to attend such as the Nouveau cooking demonstration and Behind the Fun. I was sort of glad to have gotten off as I needed a break from all the fun, drink and food! Read Less
Sail Date March 2019
I chose this cruise because it was sailing out of Sydney and I have always wanted to do that. It was also going to New Caledonia where I haven't been before. It was my first cruise experience and I was a little nervous about doing it ... Read More
I chose this cruise because it was sailing out of Sydney and I have always wanted to do that. It was also going to New Caledonia where I haven't been before. It was my first cruise experience and I was a little nervous about doing it on my own. It was the most social holiday I have had on my own. I must have spoken with 50 people at various times during the cruise. The overall experience was fantastic. I did upgrade to a Grand Suite so my room was very nice and comfortable. I also chose the pick up at Sydney airport as I was flying in and out from New Zealand. Because I was the only person doing that they put me in a taxi instead of the coach. Great service. No problems with embarkation and disembarkation. It was probably not a good idea to be flying in and out on the same day as the cruise but lucky for me all went smoothly. I even got time to take the ferry over to Manly for a few hours before boarding the ship (they stored my suitcase). The food was pretty good. I chose to do the Chefs Table and that was a great food experience. I felt the alcohol side of this was a let down. No Cocktail just a glass of bubbles and the wine served during the meal was house wine standard. It was interesting to see the kitchen but i think it would have been better to then go to a separate dining area. It was difficult for me to hear what the Chef was saying due to the background noise. My time ashore was fantastic. Loved Mare and Isle of Pines for snorkelling and swimming. Read Less
Sail Date November 2018
The embarkation process was efficient but the security checking staff need to improve their manners and consideration of elderly passengers, and try to emulate their counterparts at airport security checks. Dining in Empire rooms ... Read More
The embarkation process was efficient but the security checking staff need to improve their manners and consideration of elderly passengers, and try to emulate their counterparts at airport security checks. Dining in Empire rooms unsatisfactory, queues to get in, noisy loudspeaker announcements and meat and fish dishes sometimes tortured. Exactly the same dishes available in better condition in La Playa grill. Price of wine unreasonably high cf my previous cruises, $14.25 per glass. The La Playa grill was well run with pleasant and efficient staff I was told there was no longer alibrary on board, a deprivation The cabin was good and steward efficient and pleasant The electronics for allocating places on tenders to go ashore at Ile des Pins broke down leading to delays, confusion, and yet more queuing. Someone at breakfast first day out warned me to “expect the atmosphere of visiting your local RSL club in Sydney “ - a very perceptive remark. Sorry to be so negative but the senior management of Carnival needs to improve Read Less
Sail Date July 2018
I choose this cruise Because of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff .Far supérieur than of have met on all cruises l have been. Stewards are amazing at remembering everyone’s names. Due to cancelled flight, didn’t get a ... Read More
I choose this cruise Because of the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff .Far supérieur than of have met on all cruises l have been. Stewards are amazing at remembering everyone’s names. Due to cancelled flight, didn’t get a chance to explore Sydney . Embarking was easy, we opted for the take bags off ship 7am get ready in area to dis embark.. Easy was directed up lift to awaiting taxis.We had issues with the balcony door not closing properly ./fridge very noisy / and paint fumes . All of these issues were taken seriously and address promptly , ,! We opted for dinner at the Nouveau restaurant first night and were again given first class treatment . The meat melts in your mouth and is heavenly. Disappointed by the fake offer of free wine first night,, apparently per table Not per person.false advertising l believed.!. So my partner sat at another table . We still could talk and got our free wine as well which was not the best but 2 glasses in it was drinkable.. The punchline comedy club was great with great A plus comedians and R rated. Shows Also :The Marriage show was a scream .so funny and r rated l think and plenty of activities and entertainment for children to play games .Guess who l am and build a tower taking middle and blocks out .The Empire Room was used for dinning every evening and we loved the happy family vibes that the staff gave out . The matridi and singers at show time / dinner time was great entertainment .We did some ship booked excursions but it was easy to book off ship at some places. Ship at Noumena has a bus that takes and return s people to the ship . Drops off along the waters edge and a walk to shops and large information centre to view assortment of other tours . Traveling with another cabin buddy who was very pleasant and considerate ,we had a fun time all up . I plan to go back but not happy they are moving to Brisbane. Last thing was the entertainment same old shows but new actors Unsure if that is common for a yr or a certain time span. For frequent travellers it’s a bit boring but the new actors singers put their version of the show into a different light . Read Less
Sail Date June 2018
As a solo cruiser and my first cruise, I really enjoyed this cruise overall. It was easy to meet other people and to do activities with them. Every dinner, for evening activities and for island shore excursions, I had dining companions, ... Read More
As a solo cruiser and my first cruise, I really enjoyed this cruise overall. It was easy to meet other people and to do activities with them. Every dinner, for evening activities and for island shore excursions, I had dining companions, conversation and company for activities. Lots to do each day......not a problem for a solo cruiser. The food was varied and plentiful. Great service given in the MDR and at the buffet. Loved the production shows in the theatre each evening. The comedy shows were a bit hit and miss. Mare Island stunning water and sand.......but lots and lots of blue bottle jellyfish so could not swim (early December). Isle of Pines had a relaxed feel with beautiful, easy to swim in shallow lagoon. Water was cold on an overcast and drizzling rainy day, but still beautiful and only 23 degrees temp. A good mix of relaxation and activities for an enjoyable holiday! Read Less
Sail Date December 2017
We went on Carnival Spirit from Sydney to Moreton Island in early May. The Cruise is simply amazing, Best value for Money. Its a perfect leisure trip for the entire family. The ship has got everything that you can think of. Food, events, ... Read More
We went on Carnival Spirit from Sydney to Moreton Island in early May. The Cruise is simply amazing, Best value for Money. Its a perfect leisure trip for the entire family. The ship has got everything that you can think of. Food, events, shows, sports, party, cinema, pool - name the thing and you will find it in the list. Shows were awesome, very entertaining. The Cruise Director Lee Mason is a very entertaining guy and quite hilarious. We ensured not to miss any of his shows. Kid loved the 24 hour Pizza and Ice cream counter. Ensure to embark on the cruise with huge appetite as there are huge options for dining every day. Burger Joint, BBQ, Salads, Dessert and much more. We captured our beautifully spent time on this 3 day cruise and made the video. You can check out the video here on youtube we uploaded : https://youtu.be/-0x7OETNMKE Read Less
Sail Date May 2017
The cruise was a 21st Birthday present I purchased for my Boyfriend a few months ago. I personally have traveled on this Ship two time's previous too this holiday. Personally I love the ship. I love the layout and I have never ... Read More
The cruise was a 21st Birthday present I purchased for my Boyfriend a few months ago. I personally have traveled on this Ship two time's previous too this holiday. Personally I love the ship. I love the layout and I have never had a bad thing to say about the staff. But sadly on this cruise I found the staff a little less enthusiastic compared to other holidays I had been on. The last cruise was in 2015, Since then they have changed their staff around and a few refurbishments have been done. SHORE EXCURSION: Highly recommend NOT doing the Dolphin Feeding! My boyfriend and I did not do this tour but friends of ours did and they said it was the biggest disappointment. If you have the money to do the Dolphin Feeding.. Save it and do the 12 Min Helicopter ride over the island! It is Incredible!! and in the afternoon continue with shore excursions and take on the Guided Snorkeling Tour of the Shipwrecks! The staff were amazing! Just be sure you are a strong swimmer. If you are like me and scared of swimming in the ocean they can give you a noodle to float around on. But don't bother hiring the "sea scooter" its just extra money to hold a big fan in-front of your face for the same amount of time the normal swimming snorkeling tour takes. The walk from the Wharf to the shipwrecks is about 2 km so it took us about 30 mins each way. The swim from the beach to the Shipwrecks is very deceiving. If you are letting your kids swim from the beach to the ships, please keep an eye on them as the swell is very bad even if you cant see it and a lot of people will have their boats and jet skis in the water also. There is a lot of places to hire snorkeling gear on the island but defiantly worth taking you own, as a lot of people have probably put their mouths on the snorkels. There is a few spots to eat on the island but your looking at about $40-$50 for two meals and drinks. As well as a little gift shop. Read Less
Sail Date September 2016
My husband and I were first time cruisers so didn't know what to expect. We booked the cruise because we thought it was good value. We were on the Carnival Spirit that left Sydney to the South Pacific for 12 nights. We had a ... Read More
My husband and I were first time cruisers so didn't know what to expect. We booked the cruise because we thought it was good value. We were on the Carnival Spirit that left Sydney to the South Pacific for 12 nights. We had a balcony on level 4. Everything ran very smoothly with regard to embarkation and disembarkation. The ship had lots to do for all ages. There were plenty of bars, swimming pools, a gym, lots of entertainment and activities and the service was excellent. We did do a couple of the port excursions, one we thought was very over priced but the other one we thought was very good value for money. The drinks on board the ship were about the same as you would pay in any bar or restaurant. Photographers were wanting to take photos of you every night and we obliged. We were disappointed though in the cost of purchasing the photos. $30 each! We bought 10 of them but had they been priced better I would probably have bought all of them!! The food was good. In the evenings we went to the dining room to eat our meal and on a couple of occasions had breakfast there too but if you were up early for a shore excursion the dining room didn't open early enough so went to the buffet for breakfast and we usually had our lunch in the buffet area too. There was so much choice! You could also get 24 hour Pizza and Ice Cream. There was an area that was over 18 only but felt this could have been a bigger area. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our cruise experience and would definitely sail with Carnival again. Read Less
Sail Date July 2016
I travelled on Carnival Spirit as part of the Inaugural SinglesCruise.com.au group cruise to the South Pacific. I had a wonderful time. The ship is really nice. Although it hasn't got the latest and the greatest, what is there is ... Read More
I travelled on Carnival Spirit as part of the Inaugural SinglesCruise.com.au group cruise to the South Pacific. I had a wonderful time. The ship is really nice. Although it hasn't got the latest and the greatest, what is there is really good. Highlights for me were the shows, the quizzes, and the dining. The waiters in the dining room were really friendly, and did a couple of special dances on a couple of the nights. The shows - wow - so good. In Lifou, I did the Luecila Beach tour, and loved it. Mare was rather a disappointment as there is not much at the port and only once place to go - the beach on the other side of the island. We were in Noumea on a Sunday, and that wasn't great as a lot was shut. We went out to one of the islands in the bay and that was a massive disappointment. Such a sense of not being welcome. I also fell victim to a thief in the arts and crafts area above the Noumea Port Terminal. I would recommend this ship to families, singles, couples - in fact anyone really! Read Less
Sail Date November 2015
Carnival Spirit Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 3.5 4.4
Dining 4.5 4.0
Entertainment 4.5 3.6
Public Rooms 3.5 4.2
Fitness Recreation 4.0 4.0
Family 5.0 4.0
Shore Excursion 3.0 3.7
Enrichment 3.0 3.5
Service 5.0 4.3
Value For Money 4.5 4.1
Rates 4.0 4.2

Find a Carnival Spirit Cruise

Easily compare prices from multiple sites with one click