4 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: March 2019
Chose this cruise for the price. Embarkation was smooth as silk once we got to the ship. The only slow part was having to park at the midport parking garage and then having to shuttle back to the ship. Lunch at Park Café. Did not want to ... Read More
Chose this cruise for the price. Embarkation was smooth as silk once we got to the ship. The only slow part was having to park at the midport parking garage and then having to shuttle back to the ship. Lunch at Park Café. Did not want to put up with the crowd at the Windjammer. After lunch our room was ready and our sea pass cards were at our door. Went to Bolleros for a drink while waiting for our luggage. Racquel and Glenn were the greatest bartenders. Went to check on our luggage and one of the two suitcases had arrived. The other did not. Finally got a letter that they confiscated our power strip and had to pick up the bag on deck 1. When I got there I told them the power strip was not a surge protected type and we had used it on numerous cruises. To no avail they said I could reclaim it after departure on the last day. Dinner at the main dining room every day. Food was the typical food served by Royal on their Voyager class ships. Service was excellent at table 147 with Jayesh (you can call me Jay) as the Waiter and Charmaine as his assistant. Even though we had my time dining, we requested that table and time for the remainder of the cruise and it was granted. We definitely tipped them extra at the end of the cruise. Many activities during the day. The shows were good. Finis Henderson was the best. He is a singer / impressionist who does Elvis, Lionel Richie, Stevie Wonder, Nat King Cole, and many others including Sammy Davis his real Godfather. Casino was good to my wife but not to me. Oh well. Went to the Diamond lounge on the first day for happy hour. The hors d'oeuvres were not that good . The chicken wings seemed like they were steamed and then had some thin bbq sauce on them. The skin chewed like rubber and bubble gum. Small children were touching everything on the buffet but were not eating them. Their guardians were to busy drinking and bragging about their Crown and Anchor status to do anything about them. Next night returned to the DL and again kids running around unsupervised. But the thing that made us not return to this lounge was the fact every one was saving seats for people that "were coming later", so there was no place to sit and they wouldn't open up the outside seating. We had cabin 8637. Sherwin the room steward was great. First morning no hot water in the sink or shower. Called maintenance and they promptly showed up. The man said it's fixed after doing something outside in the hallway wall. It was hotter but not the temp I usually encounter in a stateroom. Next morning no hot water and the sink is stopped up again. By Wednesday we had hot water till Thursday morning. This went on the rest of the cruise and was probably our biggest bummer of the cruise. We bought liquor in Cozumel and as normal you turn it in when you get back on board. The man collecting it said it would be returned to the stateroom on the last night of the cruise. No problem. The last night of the cruise no liquor. Down to Guest Services. They said you can pick up your liquor on embarkation day at 0630 deck 5 in the Sapphire dining room. Why?. Because it is spring break and there is a lot of under age children on board and we don't want them to have access to the alcohol. But if you buy it in their liquor store on the last day you get to take it with you right then and there. What?. Did self assist when getting off the ship. They said it would be around 0645 when they would let us off. Around 0715 is when we started off. The shuttles were waiting and back to the parking garage. All in all a fun time, but we will not cruise the Adventure again. Too many little small things going on. Not enough to spoil a good time, but enough to turn us away from this ship. The Mariner in October. Read Less
Sail Date: January 2019
My husband and I went on this cruise for our honeymoon and we loved it so much we want to book another trip! We felt very pampered on this trip. The staff on this ship was amazing! The activity organizers were so much fun and there was so ... Read More
My husband and I went on this cruise for our honeymoon and we loved it so much we want to book another trip! We felt very pampered on this trip. The staff on this ship was amazing! The activity organizers were so much fun and there was so much to do on the ship that we were never bored. We played a lot of trivia each day and went to all the game shows. There was always someone there if you needed something on the ship and all the staff was very friendly. You did not even need to get off your but if you wanted a drink. There was always waiters walking around taking orders and bringing drinks. The ship was kept very clean. Our cabin was cleaned twice a day when we were at breakfast and dinner. There was always staff making sure that people washed their hands before entering the buffet. You never saw garbage around because they were always cleaning up and you often saw them scrubbing hand rails, menus, etc. Our room had lots of storage for all of our stuff. We had a balcony room that was very secluded from other balconies. The bed was so comfortable! We slept so good every single night. Our room was right next to the elevators which was great and the rooms were so quiet that you could not hear others in the rooms around you. The food was great. There was a large variety. Every meal in the dining room and specialty restaurants were three course meals. We thought they were very filling. We never went hungry on the ship because there was always something to eat. One of our favorite things was the breakfast food in the windjammer. The ports we went to seemed really safe and getting on and off the ship was simple and quick. We did one shore excursion through the ship and it was great! We would highly recommend the drink package if you are planning to drink. Beers on the ship cost $7 and almost all other drinks cost $12. The deluxe drink package includes as much bottled water you want and as much soda as you want. They have the CocaCola soda machines on the ship that have a variety of different options to choose from. They give you a souvenir cup to use on the machines. Without the drink package the only thing you can get for free on the ship is glasses of water, juice, tea, and coffee from the buffet. Almost all the drinks are $12 or less so they are covered under the drink package. This is for the specialty restaurants too. The only things not covered are Starbucks and some of the more expensive wines. Since we were on our honeymoon the crew gave us a card and left chocolate covered strawberries in our room. We both got $50 gift cards to the Spa as well. We loved that there was an adult only pool area as we were on our honeymoon and did not want to be bothered by children. We would definitely go on this cruise ship again. We chose to take our luggage off the ship on the last day ourselves and we were glad we did because that meant we could get off the ship first. The only thing that was hard for us was finding our airport transfer that we set up before the trip. There was not very good signage for this. There were people standing around that we could ask. Read Less
Sail Date: January 2019
This ship was a little older than some of the other ships but it was overall a nice looking ship. The embarkation went really smoothly and disembarkation went as well as could have been expected for a suite customer. This is an older ... Read More
This ship was a little older than some of the other ships but it was overall a nice looking ship. The embarkation went really smoothly and disembarkation went as well as could have been expected for a suite customer. This is an older ship so if you want all the bells and whistles you may not get them on this ship. I loved the shows they provided on the ship they had a little bit something for everyone. My stateroom attendant as well as the dining room staff in the Saphire dining hall were excellent. I ate breakfast in Giovanis restaurant and that was excellent also. I did not really care for the food in the Windjammer. I enjoy the ports and shore excursions most notably Toppers Rhum in St. Maarten. That place was awesome. Depending on where the ship traveled too would be my decision if I traveled on this ship again. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: January 2019
We did a b2b on Adventure to escape the cold and to spend time with friends. Our cabin steward was Sherwin and he was the absolute best we’ve ever experienced! Kind, always smiling and incredibly efficient. Superb does not come close to ... Read More
We did a b2b on Adventure to escape the cold and to spend time with friends. Our cabin steward was Sherwin and he was the absolute best we’ve ever experienced! Kind, always smiling and incredibly efficient. Superb does not come close to describing Sherwin. I have deadly allergies to seafood, mushrooms and tarragon. I emailed the ship prior to the cruises with the information and requested a table for two to avoid accidentally being served someone else’s food along with trying to avoid inconveniencing other cruisers with needing to preorder my food each night. Royal has become more and more slack on some ships the last couple of years. The head waiter is supposed to manage allergies. On some ships I had to have the head waiter handle my food at lunch time as well. Not by my request, it was policy on certain ships. Our first week I asked the waiter to please find our head waiter and explained why. After speaking with the head waiter she tried to pass me back to the waiter telling me she would be fine. I insisted on the headwaiter doing my orders. I have been on ships where serious mistakes have been made with my food by waiters who did not take the allergies seriously. Fortunately I survived! The head waiter was pretty good until the night prior to the 2nd formal night when she told me lobster would be served. She suggested we dine in the cabin. I said no I would like to be in the dining room and if it was too much for me we would leave. I asked her to just make sure our dinners came out quickly like she had done the other nights and hopefully I would be fine. We barely saw her formal night. The waiter came by and I asked if she could make sure we had more vegetables with dinner. It was almost an hour after our appetizers that we received our entree and no vegetables, no head waiter. We did not return to the dining room that week. Our second leg we had the same table, new waiter. Again I requested a visit from the head waiter due to deadly allergies. The head waiter took my order and served us. All seemed to be going well till the waiter came by, obviously unamused by my request to see the head waiter. He started laughing about me having so many allergies. HE LAUGHED at me! I was upset, my husband was LIVID! We spoke with the head waiter and naturally he apologized. He called over the dining room manager. Naturally he apologized as well. Really??? We have been on about 35 cruises and had never experienced anything so uncalled for and rude. We reported it to guest services. The Assistant Maître D and Restaurant Operations Manager took us to another dining room and apologized profusely. In our estimation this could be solved with a chat with the waiter, requesting that HE apologize and provide him with some much needed training. Their solution was to call me the next day at 5:30 pm to say we were being moved to a private table in the dining room on deck 3. We would be escorted to our table, the head waiter would take my order and they would introduce me to the chef. I know they were trying to solve the problem but what they did punished us. We lost our excellent table, had to wade through a huge crowd to get into the dining room and the so called private table was the one we typically sat at for breakfast by a window. Nice during the daylight but very dark at night. This dining room was loud and not at all pleasant like deck 5 where we had been. The head waiter was very nice and so was the chef. The dining room was the issue. We did not return to the dining room. We ate in port, the WJ or one night in Johnny Rockets. This episode with dining room issues due to my allergies was not an isolated incident. This was the straw that broke the camel’s back! Disembarkation was horrible on our turnaround day as well. It was handled badly at the port, complete chaos with many many annoyed people trying to get off the ship to get home ALL at the same time! We got off as quickly as we could the day we went home because we needed to get on an earlier flight due to weather at our home airport. We grabbed our luggage where they weren’t finished lining up bags much to the shagrin of staff at the port. A porter was understanding and helped. We travel a lot. We have cruised less and less with Royal the past few years since in our estimation Royal Caribbean service and food has deteriorated dramatically and there is no consistency between most ships. We travel for fun and enjoyment. I don’t need to be fighting for my ability to eat safely. We are D+. Friends suggested that we try Celebrity. Their food handlers are certified in something called DineAware. We’re booked on a b2b in the new year. Hopefully they are as good on-board as their Vacation Planners were on the phone. Read Less
3 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: December 2018
We are pretty loyal to Royal Caribbean and have been on 16 RCL cruises. First time on Adventure. It is a nice ship, well maintained. Our cabin (9654) was clean and had more storage than we needed. I like that the mini bar is empty and ... Read More
We are pretty loyal to Royal Caribbean and have been on 16 RCL cruises. First time on Adventure. It is a nice ship, well maintained. Our cabin (9654) was clean and had more storage than we needed. I like that the mini bar is empty and you order what you want put in there. Our balcony was a nice size and the chairs reclined. Cabin steward was nice, but reserved. I made a couple of requests (extra pillows and towels) and he was very accommodating at keeping the extra towels in the room. We purchased a 3 night Specialty Dining package in advance and won't do that again. We were told to book our 3 dinners as soon as we got on the ship or we might not get into the restaurants at a decent time, so we did. Turns out that EVERY reservation we made conflicted with a show we wanted to see, which we didn't find about out until the night before from our Cruise Compass. When we tried to change the reservation, there were no decent times left (only 6PM or 9PM). for alternative nights. The MDR, and our waiter/assistant waiter were so fantastic, that we wished we'd just dined there every night. Now for the "not so much"...the entertainment. If I see one more comedian joking about his colonoscopy I'm gonna scream. The featured singer obviously didn't feel like performing that night and the "variety shows" were shrill, disconnected and NOT about the title of the show. The Ice Show was good. We ALWAY enjoy the adult show "The Quest" and the cruise director made it a lot of fun. We have seen the 70's disco show a dozen times so skipped that. Some trivia games were fun, but some of the cruise director staff seemed tired and cranky at a few of them. The casino was way too smoky for us but I did run in long enough to lose $20 INSTANTLY on a Wheel of Fortune machine. LOL We still had fun and managed to relax, which is what we needed. We told our cabin steward when we met him that we are late sleepers and if we slept so late that he couldn't get to our room, that was fine with us. It happened often and everything worked out fine. I would definitely go back on Adventure of the Seas, for the cleanliness, itinerary, and food, but NOT for the entertainment. Read Less
Sail Date: November 2018
This was our first RC cruise. The ship was beautiful and the service was excellent. We ate in the Windjammer and the food was so much better than Carnival. My husband and I both gained weight. So many deserts, it was hard to choose one so ... Read More
This was our first RC cruise. The ship was beautiful and the service was excellent. We ate in the Windjammer and the food was so much better than Carnival. My husband and I both gained weight. So many deserts, it was hard to choose one so we didnt just have one. If you take this cruise sit in section 12. The wait staff were all so sweet and helpful, I hated to say goodbye to them. We stayed in an inside promonade cabin. It was uncomfortable. Small and no place confortable to sit. It also was loud at times. Our cabin mate was wonderful and did everything he could do to try and soften up our bed but nothing worked. Our ports 1- Labadee is really beautiful, lots of fun in the water. And again the lunch they served was wonderful. 2- PR I love this place. Have been there a couple times. Just wear really comfortable broken in shoes. Don't get blisters like I did. See the fort and the cemetery and eat a mofongo and see if you can find the snow cone man (we couldn't find him this time) lots of walking and lovely shops. 3- St Maartin - we stayed at the boardwalk, shopped some We should have taken a tour. 4- St Kitts - we did the 4x4 and beach. It was ok, saw a lot of the island. The tour people were informative and very nice. We had already seen Brimstone on a prior cruise. If its your first time to the island Brimstone is the way to go. I was not able to get a lounger near the pool. It was always so crowded. My husband is a smoker so he sat at the smoking area on deck 11 all the time. No I will not be booking another cruise for a long time. I was more comfortable on the Carnival Ship. It was cheaper, the food wasn't as good so I didn't eat much and didn't gain weight. Having the smoking area near the pool causes a problem for a couple where one smokes and the other doesn't. if felt like I was always by myself. Read Less
Sail Date: November 2018
We chose this cruise for ship and Itinerary Our first on RCCL and Adventure was perfect not too big or small we never felt crowded in any venue plenty to do onboard. Port everglades embarking and debarking was excellent easiest ever so ... Read More
We chose this cruise for ship and Itinerary Our first on RCCL and Adventure was perfect not too big or small we never felt crowded in any venue plenty to do onboard. Port everglades embarking and debarking was excellent easiest ever so far. The food was great just not enough choices for dinner in MDR . windjammer was always crowded only ate there 3 times had breakfast in MDR good food and service lunches were mainly pizza or snacks from the Cafe. The ports were amazing never enough time to do everything we will probably take another cruise to get to all of them again. Labadee : Beautiful beach day and the roller coaster was short but worth it San Juan : Excellent history we visited 2 of the 3 forts did some shopping St.Martin : Took an Island tour(private not ship) still quite a bit of hurricane damage can be seen but beautiful place. Shopped in the port area St.Kitts : Took an island tour again lots of pictures taken just not enough time. Shopped in the port area. I would definitely cruise this itinerary again on Adventure or one of the larger ships Read Less
5 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: November 2018
This was our 3rd cruise. We are working professionals, in our 40's, and have done two Princess cruises prior (2013, 2016). This was our shortest of the three (6 days). Our first impression at embarkation was ... this ship is ... Read More
This was our 3rd cruise. We are working professionals, in our 40's, and have done two Princess cruises prior (2013, 2016). This was our shortest of the three (6 days). Our first impression at embarkation was ... this ship is moderately dated, dirty in the nooks and crannies, and poorly maintained. When we first entered our cabin, the first thing we noticed was the dirty, stained couch. Stains on the carpet, just not clean or kept up. The dining was pretty mediocre, as far as food quality. The food all tasted good, but was never very fresh tasting or looking. The presentation was pretty bland, too. The dinner service at the dining hall was very slow, even when we were among the first people for dinner. The wait staff at dinner seemed rushed and disinterested, pretty minimal conversation or discussion about the food, other than the bare minimum "Our specials tonight are ..." Entertainment was pretty good, not a lot of variety, but the dancers and singers were good. The ice dancers were probably my favorite (and I generally don't enjoy skating shows). The comedians were both entertaining. Three items that were probably deal-breakers for our next cruise: 1) $8.95 charge PER room service order - SAY WHAT?! Had our kids travelled with us, that would've cost us at least $150 extra! 2) Most of the in-room movies were unknowns, B or C movies, AND all were Pay-Per-View, at around $13 each! Again, WHAAAT??!! On Princess, the movies were included, many still in theaters, or at least newer; and 3) The poolside towel policy: check out towels and check them in, or be assessed a $25 CHARGE for each towel "lost"!? Are you kidding me? We are at sea, and those are $2 towels. Where do you think the towels are going? And who is going to take them? Just another way RCI tries to nickel-and-dime customers. The Flow-Rider was always very busy with long lines, the waterslides were fun and at the right time could be a short wait. Lots of kids on this one, but very crowded overall. It is very unlikely that I ever cruise RC again ... never say never, but I doubt it. Just unimpressed with this particular ship and staff. Sorry, RCI, I really wanted to like it. But compared to Princess (Regal), this one lost in spades. Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2018
My name is Andrew. My wife (Kristen) and I just finished our honeymoon aboard your Adventure of the Seas ship out of Ft. Lauderdale from October 27th thru November 4th. This special trip that we planned nearly a year in advance left me ... Read More
My name is Andrew. My wife (Kristen) and I just finished our honeymoon aboard your Adventure of the Seas ship out of Ft. Lauderdale from October 27th thru November 4th. This special trip that we planned nearly a year in advance left me sorely disappointed and frustrated for several reasons. After the abysmal experience I would like to share it. Issues began prior to boarding the Royal Caribbean Adventures of the Seas ship when my wife and I attempted to book excursions through Royal Caribbean's website. The website simply did not work and would not process our requested excursions. This was a problem as we would prefer to avoid additional fees. Booking online in advance privileged us to a discount which we wanted to take advantage of. We attempted to use the website countless times. We tried different web browsers and even our smart phones. The site would not work. As this issue did not resolve after all our efforts over a couple of hours, we called Royal Caribbean customer service for assistance. Their customer service representative logged in with our account and had the same issue. The customer service representative stated there was nothing they could do. They were apathetic and when we inquired if the pricing would be honored on the ship, as the issue was on Royal Caribbean's end, we were told, ‘No’. This obviously led to us having no choice but to pay more than we should have for excursion(s). We made it to Ft. Lauderdale and were anxious to get on the ship as soon as possible. We did. After we initially boarded the ship, my wife and I meandered for a brief stint. Shortly after, I found myself in the Windjammer Buffet to get some lunch as my wife waited outside on the deck, as Kristen has a severe gluten allergy and wasn't hungry yet. While in the buffet line I was pleased to see signage that encouraged guests with allergies to approach the staff for assistance when getting food. These signs were everywhere. I was pleased had confidence that Kristen would have substantial options, especially as even when we booked the trip her Itinerary even allowed a notation for ‘Gluten Allergy’. As I was in a slow moving line, I politely asked a member Royal Caribbean Windjammer staff where or what was offered for people who had a gluten allergy. The staff member, an Oriental female, smiled and with a look of confusion walked away from me. She never came back. I returned to my wife and gave her a quick rundown of the encounter and we both agreed we would try to get assistance when she was hungry. Being reasonable people we figured that there would be some workers on the ship who would simply not understand us. I had only asked the Windjammer employee because we have learned to be very proactive, careful, and thorough to ensure meals from sources outside of ourselves are safe for Kristen. Eventually Kristen was hungry and went to the Windjammer buffet as I stayed on the deck. When she returned she looked concerned and had a plate with lettuce- just lettuce. I was perplexed and asked if she was helped. Kristen then explained how the employees in the buffet either could not understand her or walked away from her. She sought help from several Windjammer employees and some were deemed to be ‘supervisors’. As no employee helped her at all she searched for anything that was 1, clearly gluten free and 2, did not suffer from cross contamination. So she returned to me with the one thing she felt was safe. Lettuce, just lettuce. I was not happy. This cruise was our honeymoon and not even a few hours in, it already had begun to show hints of what eventually became a miserable and problematic nightmare. I realized that I needed to speak to the head chef and get us answers to avoid further issue. I told Kristen I was sorry for how things were going and I'd go back in to the Windjammer and get things straightened out… I went back in to the Royal Caribbean Windjammer buffet and started an ‘excursion’ sarcasm very much intended. I spoke to any employee I could. This venture occurred for approximately 20 minutes and included Windjammer: wait staff, food suppliers, drink suppliers, and alleged supervisors. Eventually after being led in literal and figurative circles by the Windjammer staff, I was linked to a floor supervisor of sorts who allegedly would get me the chef. I was relieved, finally someone who can help! The male supervisor assured me that he would personally make sure my wife would get food and said he would get the chef immediately. I was elated. At that point the supervisor stationed me by a meat cutting station just outside of the kitchen entry on the far end of the Windjammer buffet. The supervisor left me and entered the kitchen and I patiently waited for him and/or the chef to come out to help me and my wife. Meanwhile as I patiently waited, I watched as other guests helped themselves to their 1st, 2nd, and even 3rd serving of heaping piles of food. Consider, while I am watching other guests eat endless amounts of whatever they want, my wife can’t even get a basic protein or side item. Hours in to our honeymoon we were spending more time apart than together and wasting precious time while she became hungrier. Kristen waited for me to pull through with good news. This did not happen. The supervisor who went in to the kitchen never came back, nor did a chef come out. I stood and waited for 5 minutes, 10 minutes… eventually I asked a female food supplier to check on the supervisor and chef for me. I explained how I had been desperately waiting for them. She said she would go get them. I believed her. She went in to the kitchen and never came back, no chef… 15 minutes, 20 minutes (meanwhile I’m getting dirty glares from guests in the buffet line as they don't understand why this guy with no plate-me, is standing in the area of the flow, even though I was careful not to block anything). So then I asked the young male Windjammer meat cutter who had been near me the entire time, if he could check on the chef for me that I had been patiently waiting. He recognized this as I stood near him for 20 minutes. He did leave his station and go in to the kitchen. Eventually he came back to report that the chef would be on his way, he stated the chef was allegedly wrapping up a phone call. I was baffled that the chef was so apathetic towards me and my wife but appreciated the efforts of the meat cutter and waited for the chef to come out. Also, I realized what I had been dealing with was on the verge or absolute ridiculousness and extraordinarily poor customer service so I took my smart phone and recorded the back end of this experience. I wanted documentation and proof of the unacceptable ordeal. After several more minutes of recording and begging for any sort of help, I gave up and went back to my wife. I missed her and knew she would worry about me. No one was coming, no one would truly help us. I learned that, nothing else. Easily over an hour of our cruise gone, me-upset and concerned, frustrated. Her-hungry and confused as to what was going on. I filled Kristen in on where I was and what happened and we decided to head to guest services with urgency for help. The ship was leaving the port and I did not want us to be on it if my wife could not get simple sustenance. At guest services we waited in a long line to eventually be connected to a staff member who took us from one floor to another, looking for the proper people so that Kristen could eat. I was so confused, was this the first allergy Royal Caribbean ever encountered? It sure seemed like it. Princess Cruise lines labels the food for allergy purposes. They handle it with knowledge and efficiency and don’t miss a beat. This was our first try at Royal Caribbean and I began to tell the employees that if my wife could not eat a proper diet we would just forgo the cruise. We would have no choice. At one point hours into our pursuit for assistance an employee back at the Windjammer pointed at an alleged gluten free bread. I told the staff I would not stay on the ship if my wife's diet was to only be comprised of possibly gluten free bread and lettuce. The staff I was with kept saying they were wanting to help us but we still had no solution. About 3 hours in to the nightmare we finally managed to get to two chefs in front of us. I was sorely upset for my wife and the way we were treated. I was appalled by the manner in which the Royal Caribbean employees handled the situation. I explained the trouble we ran in to, the chase I was on, the employees disappearing, and showed video footage of I dealt with. I asked these chefs why they did not come out to help me. They had no answers. There is no answer for what they did or more accurately didn’t do. They did not deny anything which I appreciated. Eventually one of the chefs apologized. I was glad to finally hear the smallest shred of human decency but as I explained, the 3 hours we lost was precious and my wife was still very hungry. She finally was given a couple options from the chef and we moved on praying and hoping getting her food would not be an ordeal as even when we booked our trip, we were able to note that she had gluten allergy. We didn't think it would be a surprise or major issue. We try to be optimistic people. We thought things would be better and were proactive to ensure there were no more major problems. Per the chefs instructions we ordered Kristen a gluten free breakfast a day in advance, for approximately 10:00. We called in the morning to report that we would be on our way and were told to ask for 'Kenny’. Again, we followed the instructions we were given and I called to be extra thorough. When we got to the Windjammer we asked for Kenny as instructed. No Kenny came, eventually a random chef came to us but had no idea what we were talking about. He was not aware of the advance order that was placed. He said he could make Kristen’s breakfast but if would take at least 10 minutes. We would have preferred it to be done so we could enjoy our ship activities and move on to our island stop but we allowed them a chance to get it done. Over 20 minutes later I went up to check on my wife's breakfast, the staff looked at me confused and said it was ready. So I returned to our table where we waited briefly, they then brought her pancakes and no syrup. So she waited nearly ten more minutes for syrup, not sure why that was so difficult, but it was. So my wife who had pre-ordered her food a day in advance and checked in on it in the morning was seated watching everyone else eat for nearly 40 minutes just to finally eat cold pancakes and eggs. The scrambled eggs had two hairs in them and as much as we would have addressed it, we were on the verge of missing planned activities. The kitchen was not receptive, our efforts were a lost cause. Also as a side note on day one we inquired with the chef and were given some clarification on gluten free options at Windjammer as far as what is available in the buffet. That information was helpful but meaningless due to the excessive cross contamination from the guests who sloppily make their plates, the buffet was NOT a viable option. After this dining experience at the Windjammer and upon further investigation for the remainder of the trip my wife and I utilized the small Cafe on the other end of the ship as we learned they offered small but gluten free pizza. The Café personnel were not initially knowledgeable about gluten and cross contamination but with great effort my wife and I were able to muddle through it with them. The pizzas took 10 minutes to make whereas all other food was immediately available, this excludes the wait in line. It was a struggle to pick up the gluten free pizza once it was done due to the way the lines at the café were set up, it usually sat at the kitchen window for a while but we made it work. Kristen ate the mini pizzas every day for lunch as the Windjammer proved to be insufficient no matter how hard we worked with them. Pizza, every day. We weren't going to even try and eat at the Windjammer anymore but we did go there for drinks three times and even that was too much for them to handle. On day one I was told I could not have orange juice unless I went to the bar where I waited and was ignored for nearly 10 minutes just to finally leave and get orange juice from a secondary drink station, no different than the first I went to. Then a couple days later, when I wanted to get water, a member of staff mildly scolded me and refused my entry to the Windjammer. She said my shirt was wet. It wasn’t. It was dry, my body was dry. My shorts were nearly completely dried from being in water maybe an hour or more before. I suppose they appeared used or tattered from going down water slides earlier that day? With no decency or reason the Windjammer employee outright berated me that my shorts were wet and declared I would not be allowed in the Windjammer for a cup of water. No Water. The third experience occurred several days into the cruise. I went to a drink station and was told they only had one flavor of drink, so I politely accepted the singular option I was given. The staff member than opened the machine to discover not only was the drink she offered completely empty but it was lemonade and not the flavor she had stated. She then pointed me in the direction of another station across the room. The second drink station I went to had an employee who had no cups and I had to stand and wait for any sort of beverage. Also, on a last Windjammer note, on the second to last day since we happened to bump in to the head chef of the Windjammer. Kristen was sick of pizza. We thought it was a stroke of luck and we asked if he could make my wife chicken for lunch. She was tired of pizza! He was polite and it was made and there was hair in it. Pizza, again… Moving on, my wife and I researched the evening dining dress codes. We ensured we had appropriate attire for every evening. At the dinners, none of the dress code guidelines were enforced. People wore shorts, wife beaters, see through shirts, and tank tops. This occurred on casual and formal nights. Had we been given accurate information, we would have packed far more casual wear in lieu of several suits, dresses, and shoes. However per guidelines of Royal Caribbean, we easily incurred additional luggage costs that could have been avoided. We did so because we follow rules. However, they were not applied or followed by anyone else. I would have saved a small fortunate in luggage costs had Royal Caribbean accurately stated what was allowed at the dinners. Also, insult to injury please recall when I was scorned for the shorts I had on and that led to my refusal of admittance in to the non-luxury, messy buffet. So I was not admitted there, yet others were dressed comparably and worse but were somehow allowed to attend what was considered the fine dining? Moving on, in regards to the excursion we wanted to book online, as we approached the excursions desk to book it, a guest of the ship and his two kids stopped right at the entrance. The man may have been drunk but I said excuse me to him twice as he and his kids were blocking the corridor we needed. He responded by yelling and cursing at me directly in front of the Guest Services Desk and several employees. They all ignored his belligerent attitude and profane manners. This particular guest became well known around the ship for his abusive attitude. He cursed out and older man at the sky bar and got in to it with another guest at the Windjammer. I can't hold Royal Caribbean accountable for this man's actions but Royal Caribbean is responsible to ensure guests have a safe and enjoyable trip. Had they addressed this man on day one when we encountered him at Guest Services on day 1 he could have been put on notice and maybe would have acted more civil during the trip. If he refused, at the time he could easily have been removed from the ship. Also, we learned there is security and jail on the ship which easily would have housed him and would have been justified enforcement for any of his belligerence and altercations. When we finally got around the vile man and his kids the woman at the excursions desk was not knowledgeable and could not explain anything about the excursions we we're interested in. She eventually shared with us that it was her first week. Also, we did not get the 15% discount that we should have been able to had Royal Caribbean’s online booking process worked. More money lost. My wife and I scheduled a couple’s massage and it was supposed to be 75 minutes long. We arrived early and due to a seminar held to sell acupuncture treatments we did not get in until 10 minutes after the time we were scheduled. We verified with the masseurs that our scheduled massage was the special deal offered by the manager ‘Z’, and they left and returned saying it was. After the massage we noticed it was only a 50 minute treatment. There are no clocks around and when we asked what the spa would do to make it right the only thing they offered was for us to come by on an island day (lost time on an island) and we would be given 25 minute back rubs. We spent a fortune at the spa and they could not even give us extended times or throw a complimentary ________ treatment at me or my wife. We lost more time and to be frank we didn’t even want the quick back massages that ended up wasting more of our time. More cost to us financially and of our precious time. During a Ping Pong tournament there was a no show and I asked Royal Caribbean staff member ‘Jack’ if another individual could play. I did not know the person who wanted to play but they were present. I was very polite and explained that since someone who signed up wasn’t there, the guest who was turned away and was still present could take the open spot. Jack scolded me and glared at me with distain. He said, ‘no!’ I wish I was making this up. He then scorned me and stated that the playoff spots were final. My wife was a witness to his mannerisms towards me. Inexcusable. I was weighed to use one of the two slides on the ship. The scale showed 219 lbs. which I did not believe was right. I weigh around 210 lbs. I was refused use of the, ‘yellow’ slide and had to wear a wristband that reflected I was to be refused use of the slide. The slide has a weight limit of 220 lbs. which I was still under. Upon returning from the cruise, the following Monday at my Doctor’s office I weighed in at 208 lbs. I guess I lost nearly 12 lbs on a cruise where everyone else gains weight because of all of the endless dining options, makes sense? Regardless, I was needlessly refused use of a slide while I was under the weight restriction (with a faulty scale). Less and less activities. Some honorable mentions of other problems. I saw towels on the outside of rooms, so I followed suit. The person who cleans rooms, who was very nice, and stated his supervisor wanted me to be put on notice not to do that. It was innocent and I profusely apologized. I told him I would happily talk to his supervisor because someone who to be so concerned over towels could possibly help us with all these other issues. They never spoke with me though. The safe provided in the room was very old and we later learned it is known to malfunction. The last night we wasted over an hour and a half waiting for someone to get the safe to work since our passports were in it. Then we were told the wait was to be expected. Throughout the Cruise, multiple elevators were ‘out of service’ the reoccurred every day. On one of our particular Dinners, my wife waited nearly 45 minutes after I received my food for hers. All of the issues were reoccurring and led to several missed activities. Our honeymoon was a mess, a disaster, it lacked the assurances of fun, relaxation, and essential things like food for my wife. This honeymoon was terrible and there was no need for it. I even contacted Travel about the issues and heard back this weekend. The response from Royal Caribbean was that they offer skim milk on their ship and my wife and I it should have been able to find gluten-free options... Despicable!!!!! If you have celiacs please be leery! Read Less
2 Helpful Votes
Sail Date: October 2018
Cruised with my wife and another couple choosing this cruise because of the 8 nights and ports of call. We are all Diamond members and have cruised exclusively on RCCL. Flew into Ft. Lauderdale the day before and enjoyed our stay at ... Read More
Cruised with my wife and another couple choosing this cruise because of the 8 nights and ports of call. We are all Diamond members and have cruised exclusively on RCCL. Flew into Ft. Lauderdale the day before and enjoyed our stay at the Embassy Suites. Took a Taxi to the cruise port arriving at 10:45 am and was on the ship by 11:30 am eating lunch. Embarkation was smooth and all the RCCL workers were friendly and helpful. One change is that you do not get your sea pass card until you get to your room at 1 pm. One complaint is the muster drill. I know it is mandatory but our station was directly facing the sun and we were packed in like sardines for 20 minutes in 85 degree heat sweating profusely. Some people could not take it and walked inside to get some air, made me half sick to my stomach. We had a inside cabin on the 7th floor with a window facing the promenade and our room attendant Joel was excellent, keeping our room clean, stocked with ice and answering any questions we had. We ate in the MDR 6 nights and found the food very good. Some nights better than others but overall the selection was diverse. We ate in Chops and had a excellent meal and in Giovannis Table and found the food and service just OK. The Windjammer was very good for Breakfast and Lunch, especially enjoyed the fresh fruit everyday. Enjoyed the Ice Show and comedians and the RCCL singers and dancers were above average compared to some shows I have seen on other ships. One complaint is the Cruise Director was as plastic as you could get. Compared to some of the excellent Cruise Directors we have sailed with in the past he was below average. The Love and Marriage Game could have been better but he was just going through the motions. All 4 felt this way about him whenever he emceed an event. We have a motto that sometimes things are not going to be perfect so we go with the flow and don't let the small things bother you and ruin your vacation. The RCCL employees try hard to please everyone and keep the ship clean as possible in the time they have. I am an early riser and found employees cleaning at 6 am with a smile on there face and a Good Morning when I went for coffee. The pool area on Cruise Days were packed but we were able to find a place in the shade and if we wanted sun we sat on the edge of the pool enjoying the music and atmosphere. Because of the time of the year there were very few children on board. Labadee is a fun day, just a beautiful place to relax. Did not do excursions because we had been to the ports of call San Juan, St. Kitts and St Martin several times but still enjoy shopping at St. Martin and St. Kitts. The Diamond Club is a nice perk but with over 630 members on board RCCL needs to find an alternative to how people were served. The concierge was rude and not helpful and did not make RCCL any friends when asked about the situation. Especially when the serving area is packed in a room that seats an estimated 40 to 50 people. We are planning on cruising again on RCCL with an Hawaii Cruise on the Ovation of the Seas in the fall of 2019. Read Less
Adventure of the Seas Ratings
Category Editor Member
Cabins 4.0 0.0
Dining 4.0 0.0
Entertainment 5.0 0.0
Public Rooms 5.0 0.0
Fitness Recreation 5.0 0.0
Family 5.0 0.0
Shore Excursion 4.0 0.0
Enrichment 1.0 0.0
Service 4.0 0.0
Value For Money 4.0 0.0
Rates 4.0 0.0

Find an Adventure of the Seas Cruise

Email me when prices drop