Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Cruise News
Home > Cruise News Archive > Latest on Ash: London, Amsterdam Airports Reopen
Date Published: May 17, 2010
Latest Cruise News Headlines
Latest on Ash: London, Amsterdam Airports Reopen
(10 a.m. EDT) -- London's two major airports, as well as the majority of other airports in the United Kingdom, are reopened for now, following a weekend of travel disruption caused by Iceland's volcanic ash cloud.

If you're flying from or through any airports in the U.K. or nearby European countries to reach your next cruise, here's what you need to know:

According to the latest update from NATS, the U.K.'s air traffic authority, the no-fly zone that had been affecting Heathrow and Gatwick has been lifted until Monday at 7 p.m. BST (2 p.m. EDT). There are no restrictions at airports in Northern Ireland, England or Wales during this period.

Dublin's international airport reopened today at noon BST (7 a.m EDT).

Amsterdam's Schiphol Airport, one of Europe's biggest hubs, has also reopened.

EUROCONTROL, the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation, notes that the areas of ash concentration are mainly at low levels. During the course of the day, the current cloud is expected to disperse somewhat.

We'll keep you updated on airport closures and re-openings.

--by Dan Askin, Associate Editor

Related Articles
Ash Returns: Updates on Cruise Impact

Fan Cruise Critic on Facebook!
Follow Cruise Critic on Twitter!
Cruise News Headlines

About UsAdvertisingEditorial DisclaimerPress
PrivacySite MapStoreSubscribe
X

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.

We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.