Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Cruise News
Home > Cruise News Archive > QE2 Bids Goodbye to America; Adieu to European Ports Next
Date Published: October 16, 2008
More current news for Cunard Line:
Propulsion Problems Force Cunard to Move Up Queen Victoria Cruise Ship Dry Dock

Cunard Line Profile and Reviews
Latest Cruise News Headlines
QE2 Bids Goodbye to America; Adieu to European Ports Next
Queen Elizabeth 2 will bid a final farewell in New York today before setting off on what will be the ship's last trans-Atlantic cruise.

Now if you don't live close to New York or you aren't lucky enough to be onboard for one of the iconic ship's final voyages, don't despair -- there's still time to catch a glimpse of the "Grande Dame" before it departs on November 11 for Dubai, where it will become a floating hotel.

Cunard Line fans may be happy to know that the ship has three more sailings left -- both the voyage to Dubai and its October 22 "Fall Getaway" sailing are sold out, but there is still an opportunity to sail on the 15-night Mediterranean Odyssey journey departing on October 27. Fares are hefty of course, starting at £2,662 for an inside cabin.

QE2 has already said Bon Voyage to two European ports last month -- the U.K.'s Liverpool and Greenoak, with crowds turning out for the occasion. Care to catch a final glimpse of the ship in action? Here's a rundown of QE2's remaining schedule:

Wednesday, October 22: QE2 arrives back in Southampton at 7 a.m. concluding its final trans-Atlantic sailing. That evening, it will depart on its sold-out "Fall Getaway" cruise.

Friday, October 24: Spends the day in Bilbao from 7 a.m. until 6 p.m.

Saturday, October 25: Spends the day in La Rochelle, Frnace from 7 a.m. until 5 p.m.

Sunday, October 26: Arrives in St. Peter Port, Guernsey from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m.

Monday, October 27: QE2 arrives back in Southampton at 7 a.m. before departing on its "Mediterranean Odyssey" journey at 5 p.m.

Wednesday, October 29: Arrives in Lisbon, Portugal from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.

Friday, October 31: Arrives in Cagliari, Sardinia from noon to 6 p.m.

Saturday, November 1: Arrives in Naples from 7 a.m. until 6 p.m.

Sunday, November 2: Arrives in Messina from 7 a.m. until 5 p.m.

Monday, November 3: Arrives in Dubrovnik from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m.

Tuesday, November 4: Arrives in Zakinthos from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m.

Wednesday, November 5: Arrives in Athens from 6 a.m. until 5:45 p.m.

Saturday, November 8: Arrives in Gibraltar from 8 a.m. until 2 p.m.

Sunday, November 9: Arrives in Vigo from noon until 8 p.m.

Tuesday, November 11: Arrives in Southampton at 7 a.m. before setting off on its final sailing to Dubai at 5 p.m.

Thursday, November 13: Arrives in Lisbon from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.

Friday, November 14: Arrives in Gibraltar from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m.

Sunday November 16: Arrives in Rome from 7 a.m. until 10 p.m.

Monday, November 17: Arrives in Naples from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Tuesday, November 18: Arrives in Valletta, Malta from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m.

Thursday, November 20: Arrives in Alexandria, Egypt from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.

QE2 then sails the Arabian Sea before arriving in Dubai on November 27 where it will become a floating hotel following extensive refurbishments.

--by Kelly Ranson, U.K. Editor
Cruise News Headlines
More Cunard Line News
Cunard Line Reviews

About UsAdvertisingEditorial DisclaimerPress
PrivacySite MapStoreSubscribe
X

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.

We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.