Gibraltar World War II Tunnels Excursion Reviews

Gibraltar World War II Tunnels cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Don't miss out on the World War II tunnels inside the Rock that offer a glimpse into the life of soldiers during the second great war.
Member Image 28SAC
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Hard to believe what actually went on all those years ago
Read 28SAC's full TUI Discovery cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image cat rescuer
1 review
Sep 2016
a half day excursion that provided sufficient time for private exploration of a very interesting port
Read cat rescuer's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image PL56
1 review
Sep 2016
Interesting but very hot down there.
Read PL56's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image bevjc
1 review
Aug 2016
Fully booked at Port, so advised to walk into town and wait by pizza hut (company's official starting point) for curent tour to return. Very informative driver who told us a lot about the history of gibralter and current day to day living. Excellent value as included entrance tickets.
Read bevjc's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: rock tour by taxi
Member Image Chars3011
1 review
Aug 2016
Are tour guide was very rushed
Read Chars3011's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image happyonaship
3 reviews
Jul 2016
By time I booked the excursion, my first choice was filled and so this was a good second choice. We not only toured the WWII tunnels, which were interesting in themselves, but also got to see a great deal of this very interesting island. Princess seems to be offering fewer, but better, excursions and so I would advise cruisers to reserve their excursions early. You can always cancel up to the night before.
Read happyonaship's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Diamond_girl_xx
1 review
Jun 2016
Very good
Read Diamond_girl_xx's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Booked in the main town
Member Image April45
2 reviews
Apr 2016
very interesting
Read April45's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AJCA
1 review
Sep 2015
Great excursion with a knowledgeable guide, not long enough in port.
Read AJCA's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image lolly123
2 reviews
Aug 2015
The local lad who drove us around was entertaining and very knowledgeable. Tunnels a let down, mostly pictures to look at and staff member hard to understand.
Read lolly123's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hooked on cruising1949
1 review
Apr 2015
Part of the Gibraltar tour we caught at the pier. Small group in a van with 8 passengers with a driver/guide whose English was good (not a surprise in Gibraltar).
Read hooked on cruising1949's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image weinst
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Inside the tunnel we were able to walk quite a way and found this very interesting and there was information placed around the tunnels explaining the history.

Read weinst's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Taxi
Member Image Nicky0802
1 review
Aug 2013

If you leave the port and walk towards the main square/street where the shops are, but keep walking through you come to the cable car (you can get a shuttle from the port too), it took us about 15 minutes and you can see the cable car up the rock so know which way to head.We were going to take the cable car up the rock, but when we got there the queue was very long. We were offered a tour by a man who had a mini bus, they take you to each of the areas up the rock you want to see monkeys, st michaels cave & world war II tunnells etc, they park up, let you walk around for 20 minutes and then take you onto the next place. It is the same cost of the cable car but much less walking and the tour guide was very knowledgable. Tourists seem to think they are there to rip you off, but they are not, we personally felt this was the best way to view the rock and it's sites, they do not take any money from you until the end to prove they are not con artists and do wait for you at each stop.

Read Nicky0802's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Local Tour Mini Bus
Member Image Milton72
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013


Read Milton72's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Independent guide
Member Image SoCalTraveler
8 reviews
Apr 2012
Interesting to see defenses.
Read SoCalTraveler's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Gibraltrar Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?