Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Gibraltar St. Michael's Cave Excursion Reviews

Gibraltar St. Michael's Cave cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy the sweet sounds of St. Michaels Cave¬óliterally. The unique geophysical properties of the cave descending 250 feet below the entrance provide ideal acoustics for all to hear throughout the cave.
Member Image amvmonty
1 review
Jul 2014

Our 6th visit to Gibraltar but not enough free time on the excursion or indeed the docking. Cruise ship appears to be afraid that people will do too much shopping and hurt the ships revenue. Super interesting colony and I will visit again but not with a cruise ship.

Read amvmonty's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image weinst
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

St Michael's Cave was very interesting and has lots of history attached to it.

Read weinst's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Taxi
Member Image Nicky0802
1 review
Aug 2013

If you leave the port and walk towards the main square/street where the shops are, but keep walking through you come to the cable car (you can get a shuttle from the port too), it took us about 15 minutes and you can see the cable car up the rock so know which way to head.We were going to take the cable car up the rock, but when we got there the queue was very long. We were offered a tour by a man who had a mini bus, they take you to each of the areas up the rock you want to see monkeys, st michaels cave & world war II tunnells etc, they park up, let you walk around for 20 minutes and then take you onto the next place. It is the same cost of the cable car but much less walking and the tour guide was very knowledgable. Tourists seem to think they are there to rip you off, but they are not, we personally felt this was the best way to view the rock and it's sites, they do not take any money from you until the end to prove they are not con artists and do wait for you at each stop.

Read Nicky0802's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Local Tour Mini Bus
Member Image Cruiserunner
1 review
Jul 2013

Beautiful limestone caves where you can spend a lot of time. And the monkeys are all around.

Read Cruiserunner's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rock Tours
Member Image Milton72
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Fabulous and great value

Read Milton72's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Private Guide
Member Image pilates
2 reviews
Mar 2013
The tour from the ship is only the coach to and from Gibraltar. The guide on board was very knowledgeable. Once there we had about 4 hours free time.
Read pilates's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2nd time cruisers
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Gibraltar a beautiful place, steeped in history, but let me warn you about the Barbary apes, as cute as they look they are notorious for pinching anything that moves especially food, drinks, handbags and cameras. We witnessed an ape pinch a slush puppy drink from the hands of a small girl she was left with just the straw whilst the ape proceeded to enjoy the slush puppy. It's also a lovely place to shop with a Marks & Spencer's,BHS and many more British shops.
Read 2nd time cruisers's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SoCalTraveler
6 reviews
Apr 2012
Natural cave in the Rock. Easy to walk.
Read SoCalTraveler's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Gibraltar tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.