Gibraltar Rock of Gibraltar Excursion Reviews

Gibraltar Rock of Gibraltar cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Traveling to the top of the Rock of Gibraltar is a must-do excursion. This can be easily accomplished via land tours or a quick cable car trip. At the top of the 1,400-foot-high rock is a splendid nature preserve, and along the way one can visit with the Barbary apes.
Member Image debbiecurnow
1 review
Aug 2016
hilarious.monkeys were very entertaining. tour guide Karen was very friendly and imformative and enthusiastic.
Read debbiecurnow's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: calypso
Member Image ggo85
5 reviews
Jul 2016
Great, BUT . . . Did the walking tour f the upper rock. Guide was good and tour was enjoyable. The one caveat is that walking down from the top, we were on a narrow road with large taxis (minivans). At times, we were pressed to the side of the cliff, with the wheels of the taxis literally a few inches from our feet. Some people on the tour were actually hit by the car mirrors or by the branches of the trees when pressed into the side of the mountain. Someone is going to be seriously injured. Not sure this is entirely the cruise line's issue -- really more of a Gib issue. But something needs to be done.
Read ggo85's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Surreydeb
1 review
Jul 2016
Booked a taxi tour, which was excellent. Our driver was very informative and interesting.
Read Surreydeb's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lorna Doone
5 reviews
Jul 2016
We booked an excursion with other people on cruise critic. We used Rock Tours Gibraltar. Fabulous tour including the rock, the caves, castle, monkeys, beaches etc. Only complaint is that the guide did not return us to the port. He dropped us off in town telling us it was a 10 minute walk to the port. Walking fast it was almost 1/2 hour and this is not what was promised when we booked the trip. Being tired after touring all day he should have taken us at least to the security entrance at the port.
Read Lorna Doone's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image vcd
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Good tour but too short.
Read vcd's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image PrincessLady
1 review
Jun 2016
We had a wonderful excursion with this company Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and provided us with a very enjoyable tour. Our tour was supposed to be 2.5 hrs but was more like 3 hours.
Read PrincessLady's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: InsideOut Rock Tours
Member Image Mitchell F
1 review
Jun 2016
Up on the cable car long wait for the car but well worth it once at the top
Read Mitchell F's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chiquitamar
4 reviews
May 2016
It was a minibus (maybe 8-10 people) and it took us all the way to the top. We saw the caves, the tunnels and the monkey. It was raining a lot but it was still OK. It was a Sunday and the town pretty much was cosed.
Read Chiquitamar's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tour booked at the cruise terminal
Member Image halbfl2
4 reviews
Apr 2016
Went to top of rock for view of Africa, St. Michaels Cave and then the monkeys.
Read halbfl2's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image April45
2 reviews
Apr 2016
interesting
Read April45's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ziggyw
1 review
Apr 2016
a wonderful tour.the rock, the apes, the cave, the towns. everythhing lots of free time.
Read ziggyw's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image VikingExplorer
12 reviews
Apr 2016
Great private guide/driver, saw everything to see on the Rock. Driver expert as his job and knew the history of the entire area. Great photo ops.
Read VikingExplorer's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hpnguyen
1 review
Oct 2015
Really appreciated with a lot of history
Read hpnguyen's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rmbuk30
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Wonderful tour in a small bus, you see all of the main sights and get to see the monkeys! Unmissable. Others who did it by taxi paid less but we found this tour to be excellent value for money
Read rmbuk30's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Lisaholbrook7@hotmail.com
1 review
Aug 2015
Great views
Read Lisaholbrook7@hotmail.com's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Daley23
1 review
Aug 2015
Plenty of taxis and tour operators outside port cost us £22 each with included entrance to the caves and rocks. Only 6 of us on our tour, great value for money
Read Daley23's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LennyOLeary
1 review
Aug 2015
An informative and interesting excursion, with great views from the top of the rock. Love the monkeys!
Read LennyOLeary's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ryanc78
1 review
Jul 2015
Great way to see the "Rock". Strongly recommend this over the tram ride.
Read ryanc78's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cab
Member Image Kewell23
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Great guide, funny
Read Kewell23's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kewell23
2 reviews
Jul 2015
very good guide
Read Kewell23's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image seahappy08
1 review
May 2015
Caught the local bus outside the port and went up the Cable Car to see the Apes. Then walked back into town. Very easy to do on your own.
Read seahappy08's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Local bus by ourselves
Member Image skipcramer
3 reviews
May 2015
Outstanding guide and very thorough tour. More walking than we expected but good for us. We had the requisite number of Barbary Ape sightings (they're really tailless monkeys) and were astounded by the huge natural caverns within the Rock.
Read skipcramer's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gottabekidding
1 review
May 2015
Saw the monkeys. Had excellent views and took great pictures from the gift shop area. The area was much larger than we thought. We could see Africa in the distance.
Read gottabekidding's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Suedowrick
1 review
Apr 2015
Very interesting with a nice, knowledgable guide. It was lovely to see the wild apes and see the caves. Lovely views from the top of the rock (although we preferred not to use the cable car!)
Read Suedowrick's full Astoria cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image domingo.troche
1 review
Apr 2015
Good but need make carefully with negotiate with the taxi, place is beautifull, the Monkey area funny, rock history excellent. Spensive area because used Libra de esterlina, so just buy the necessary.
Read domingo.troche's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: taxi

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?