Gibraltar Rock of Gibraltar Excursion Reviews

Gibraltar Rock of Gibraltar cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Traveling to the top of the Rock of Gibraltar is a must-do excursion. This can be easily accomplished via land tours or a quick cable car trip. At the top of the 1,400-foot-high rock is a splendid nature preserve, and along the way one can visit with the Barbary apes.
Member Image Camillus112
1 review
Nov 2016
The tour guide was competent; not much to see, not his fault. St. Michael's Cave is an underground entertainment center.
Read Camillus112's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Seasoned firefighter
3 reviews
Oct 2016
Our guide was "Big Joe" and he gave us an excellent view of what Gibraltar was like, it's history, culture and current developments. We saw all the major sites and experienced a wonderful 3.5 hour tour.
Read Seasoned firefighter's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Don't remember
Member Image Leelou270
1 review
Oct 2016
Had been a little aprehensive about meeting the monkeys, but they made the experience
Read Leelou270's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: Inside Out Rock Tours
Member Image peteukmcr
10 reviews
Oct 2016
Only a short 2 hours but enough to see Europa Point, St Michaels Caves and the Apes.
Read peteukmcr's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image wheelchairtraveler
6 reviews
Sep 2016
Great drive to the top.
Read wheelchairtraveler's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image CancunCaptain
1 review
Sep 2016
Nice panoramic tour that included tapas at the Rock Hotel!
Read CancunCaptain's full Sirena cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image CocoaGinger
1 review
Sep 2016
Accommodated wheel chair; wonderful tour; again learned so much about the history of Gibraltar.
Read CocoaGinger's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image 28SAC
2 reviews
Sep 2016
A fantastic 3 hour tour with a very knowledgeable guide, Worth every penny and made us want to visit again
Read 28SAC's full TUI Discovery cruise review
Provider: Rock tours with John Lopez
Member Image Cruisersjd
1 review
Sep 2016
Alfie our guide was very entertaining
Read Cruisersjd's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alf
Member Image Mrs Hall16
1 review
Sep 2016
50% refund given due to unorganised excursion.
Read Mrs Hall16's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jbpro
1 review
Aug 2016
Our 4 hour tour was jam packed with interesting stops. In a nutshell, we saw just about everything. Our driver/tour guide was extremely knowledgable and personable. The apes were cute. St. Michael's Caves were fascinating and beautiful. The Great Seige tunnels and the drive around The Rock were interesting, too. A great visit.
Read jbpro's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Gibraltar Taxi Association
Member Image debbiecurnow
1 review
Aug 2016
hilarious.monkeys were very entertaining. tour guide Karen was very friendly and imformative and enthusiastic.
Read debbiecurnow's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: calypso
Member Image ggo85
5 reviews
Jul 2016
Great, BUT . . . Did the walking tour f the upper rock. Guide was good and tour was enjoyable. The one caveat is that walking down from the top, we were on a narrow road with large taxis (minivans). At times, we were pressed to the side of the cliff, with the wheels of the taxis literally a few inches from our feet. Some people on the tour were actually hit by the car mirrors or by the branches of the trees when pressed into the side of the mountain. Someone is going to be seriously injured. Not sure this is entirely the cruise line's issue -- really more of a Gib issue. But something needs to be done.
Read ggo85's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Surreydeb
1 review
Jul 2016
Booked a taxi tour, which was excellent. Our driver was very informative and interesting.
Read Surreydeb's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lorna Doone
5 reviews
Jul 2016
We booked an excursion with other people on cruise critic. We used Rock Tours Gibraltar. Fabulous tour including the rock, the caves, castle, monkeys, beaches etc. Only complaint is that the guide did not return us to the port. He dropped us off in town telling us it was a 10 minute walk to the port. Walking fast it was almost 1/2 hour and this is not what was promised when we booked the trip. Being tired after touring all day he should have taken us at least to the security entrance at the port.
Read Lorna Doone's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image vcd
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Good tour but too short.
Read vcd's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image PrincessLady
1 review
Jun 2016
We had a wonderful excursion with this company Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and provided us with a very enjoyable tour. Our tour was supposed to be 2.5 hrs but was more like 3 hours.
Read PrincessLady's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: InsideOut Rock Tours
Member Image Mitchell F
1 review
Jun 2016
Up on the cable car long wait for the car but well worth it once at the top
Read Mitchell F's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image beep2000
1 review
May 2016
coach was waiting when we disimbarked the ship had a tour of the rock was told the history had a photo stop on top of the rock the went to see the monkeys and the caves we had a lovely time found it really interesting
Read beep2000's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Chiquitamar
4 reviews
May 2016
It was a minibus (maybe 8-10 people) and it took us all the way to the top. We saw the caves, the tunnels and the monkey. It was raining a lot but it was still OK. It was a Sunday and the town pretty much was cosed.
Read Chiquitamar's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tour booked at the cruise terminal
Member Image halbfl2
4 reviews
Apr 2016
Went to top of rock for view of Africa, St. Michaels Cave and then the monkeys.
Read halbfl2's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image April45
2 reviews
Apr 2016
interesting
Read April45's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ziggyw
1 review
Apr 2016
a wonderful tour.the rock, the apes, the cave, the towns. everythhing lots of free time.
Read ziggyw's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image VikingExplorer
13 reviews
Apr 2016
Great private guide/driver, saw everything to see on the Rock. Driver expert as his job and knew the history of the entire area. Great photo ops.
Read VikingExplorer's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hpnguyen
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Really appreciated with a lot of history
Read hpnguyen's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?