Gibraltar Rock of Gibraltar Excursion Reviews

Gibraltar Rock of Gibraltar cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Traveling to the top of the Rock of Gibraltar is a must-do excursion. This can be easily accomplished via land tours or a quick cable car trip. At the top of the 1,400-foot-high rock is a splendid nature preserve, and along the way one can visit with the Barbary apes.
Member Image PrincessLady
1 review
Jun 2016
We had a wonderful excursion with this company Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and provided us with a very enjoyable tour. Our tour was supposed to be 2.5 hrs but was more like 3 hours.
Read PrincessLady's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: InsideOut Rock Tours
Member Image Mitchell F
1 review
Jun 2016
Up on the cable car long wait for the car but well worth it once at the top
Read Mitchell F's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chiquitamar
4 reviews
May 2016
It was a minibus (maybe 8-10 people) and it took us all the way to the top. We saw the caves, the tunnels and the monkey. It was raining a lot but it was still OK. It was a Sunday and the town pretty much was cosed.
Read Chiquitamar's full Ovation of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tour booked at the cruise terminal
Member Image halbfl2
4 reviews
Apr 2016
Went to top of rock for view of Africa, St. Michaels Cave and then the monkeys.
Read halbfl2's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image April45
2 reviews
Apr 2016
interesting
Read April45's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ziggyw
1 review
Apr 2016
a wonderful tour.the rock, the apes, the cave, the towns. everythhing lots of free time.
Read ziggyw's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image VikingExplorer
12 reviews
Apr 2016
Great private guide/driver, saw everything to see on the Rock. Driver expert as his job and knew the history of the entire area. Great photo ops.
Read VikingExplorer's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hpnguyen
1 review
Oct 2015
Really appreciated with a lot of history
Read hpnguyen's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rmbuk30
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Wonderful tour in a small bus, you see all of the main sights and get to see the monkeys! Unmissable. Others who did it by taxi paid less but we found this tour to be excellent value for money
Read rmbuk30's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Lisaholbrook7@hotmail.com
1 review
Aug 2015
Great views
Read Lisaholbrook7@hotmail.com's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Daley23
1 review
Aug 2015
Plenty of taxis and tour operators outside port cost us £22 each with included entrance to the caves and rocks. Only 6 of us on our tour, great value for money
Read Daley23's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LennyOLeary
1 review
Aug 2015
An informative and interesting excursion, with great views from the top of the rock. Love the monkeys!
Read LennyOLeary's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ryanc78
1 review
Jul 2015
Great way to see the "Rock". Strongly recommend this over the tram ride.
Read ryanc78's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cab
Member Image Kewell23
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Great guide, funny
Read Kewell23's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kewell23
2 reviews
Jul 2015
very good guide
Read Kewell23's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image seahappy08
1 review
May 2015
Caught the local bus outside the port and went up the Cable Car to see the Apes. Then walked back into town. Very easy to do on your own.
Read seahappy08's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Local bus by ourselves
Member Image skipcramer
3 reviews
May 2015
Outstanding guide and very thorough tour. More walking than we expected but good for us. We had the requisite number of Barbary Ape sightings (they're really tailless monkeys) and were astounded by the huge natural caverns within the Rock.
Read skipcramer's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gottabekidding
1 review
May 2015
Saw the monkeys. Had excellent views and took great pictures from the gift shop area. The area was much larger than we thought. We could see Africa in the distance.
Read gottabekidding's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Suedowrick
1 review
Apr 2015
Very interesting with a nice, knowledgable guide. It was lovely to see the wild apes and see the caves. Lovely views from the top of the rock (although we preferred not to use the cable car!)
Read Suedowrick's full Astoria cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image domingo.troche
1 review
Apr 2015
Good but need make carefully with negotiate with the taxi, place is beautifull, the Monkey area funny, rock history excellent. Spensive area because used Libra de esterlina, so just buy the necessary.
Read domingo.troche's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: taxi
Member Image hooked on cruising1949
1 review
Apr 2015
I don't remember the tour company name, we just picked one at the end of the pier. Was half the price for a comparable tour on ship. We had a van with 8 tourists and we saw a lot of interesting things. The Barbary Apes were probably the highlight. Shopping was a little limited because we arrived early afternoon and it was Saturday so about half the stores were closed. Still found some very well priced whiskey.
Read hooked on cruising1949's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image datman1234
1 review
Apr 2015
If you want to see the rock, you should book a private tour, otherwise you have to spend some time to walk through the downtown then stay a long line for the tram to go up to the rock.
Read datman1234's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image weylady
1 review
Oct 2014
Met at the port and taken by minibus to the cable car for a trip up to the top of the rock then on to the siege tunnels. We had the lady guide who has appeared in the tv show Gibraltar Britain in the sun I think its called.
Read weylady's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image lynvirgin
1 review
Mar 2014

We took too long to leave, ages at the border and the trip did not include a trip up to the top and to see the caves and apes etc. Ridiculous ! Another tour to book and more money dished out ! With only 4 hrs allowed we only had 45 mins left to shop and explore the town and have lunch. rather disappointing altogether

Read lynvirgin's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Newfoundseeker
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Best guide ever! British lady who gave great insight into past history of the rock and what life is like today living there. Apes are cute and mischievous and residents are rightly protective of them. The tunnel tour was informative and inspiring. We spent an extra day here due to high winds and we wish Princess would have arranged buses for us the next morning to tour the town.

Trapani: Is not listed as a choice but was universally praised by passengers. We toured the old walled city at the top of the mountain overlooking this beautiful city and were transported to another time and place. Great shopping and pastries await as does a peaceful way of life. I did have a scam played on me when getting a coffee but I got up the courage to go back on my own, and when confronted, the shop person finally admitted to his deed and made it right even apologizing.

Read Newfoundseeker's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.