Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Gibraltar Rock of Gibraltar Excursion Reviews

Gibraltar Rock of Gibraltar cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Traveling to the top of the Rock of Gibraltar is a must-do excursion. This can be easily accomplished via land tours or a quick cable car trip. At the top of the 1,400-foot-high rock is a splendid nature preserve, and along the way one can visit with the Barbary apes.
Member Image lynvirgin
1 review
Mar 2014

We took too long to leave, ages at the border and the trip did not include a trip up to the top and to see the caves and apes etc. Ridiculous ! Another tour to book and more money dished out ! With only 4 hrs allowed we only had 45 mins left to shop and explore the town and have lunch. rather disappointing altogether

Read lynvirgin's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Newfoundseeker
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Best guide ever! British lady who gave great insight into past history of the rock and what life is like today living there. Apes are cute and mischievous and residents are rightly protective of them. The tunnel tour was informative and inspiring. We spent an extra day here due to high winds and we wish Princess would have arranged buses for us the next morning to tour the town.

Trapani: Is not listed as a choice but was universally praised by passengers. We toured the old walled city at the top of the mountain overlooking this beautiful city and were transported to another time and place. Great shopping and pastries await as does a peaceful way of life. I did have a scam played on me when getting a coffee but I got up the courage to go back on my own, and when confronted, the shop person finally admitted to his deed and made it right even apologizing.

Read Newfoundseeker's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Tony UK
8 reviews
Sep 2013

An introduction to the rock. Lots to see and experience. We were lucky and the day was clear and views great. Watch for the apes - some are cute but they do scratch and bite and they can take cameras phones jewellery etc.

Read Tony UK's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image weinst
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

We had a great time. The sight from the top of the hill was just wonderful. The airport with a road running through the middle of the airstrip was something you do not see anywhere else in the world.

Read weinst's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Taxi
Member Image Nicky0802
1 review
Aug 2013

If you leave the port and walk towards the main square/street where the shops are, but keep walking through you come to the cable car (you can get a shuttle from the port too), it took us about 15 minutes and you can see the cable car up the rock so know which way to head.We were going to take the cable car up the rock, but when we got there the queue was very long. We were offered a tour by a man who had a mini bus, they take you to each of the areas up the rock you want to see monkeys, st michaels cave & world war II tunnells etc, they park up, let you walk around for 20 minutes and then take you onto the next place. It is the same cost of the cable car but much less walking and the tour guide was very knowledgable. Tourists seem to think they are there to rip you off, but they are not, we personally felt this was the best way to view the rock and it's sites, they do not take any money from you until the end to prove they are not con artists and do wait for you at each stop.

Read Nicky0802's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Local Tour Mini Bus
Member Image Sue666
1 review
Aug 2013

Not for passengers who are nervous of heights, monkeys or other peoples driving! It was an experience, but one I will not be repeating with small children.

Read Sue666's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruiserunner
1 review
Jul 2013

Really the best way of experiencing the rock. Get a tour taxi from the city center. It gives you the opportunity to see all the sights without the specific walking around on the narrow roads that would happen if you took the cable car. It was a nice experience to see the monkeys and they were not at all aggresive despite all the warnings thereof. One actually jumped on to the shoulder to my daughter.

Read Cruiserunner's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rock Tours
Member Image Milton72
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Fabulous

Read Milton72's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: independent guide
Member Image Voyage2013
1 review
Apr 2013
Interesting to see but not to stay for a holiday.
Read Voyage2013's full Balmoral cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image bobzahlmann@gmail.com
2 reviews
Apr 2013

We were not impressed with Gibraltar. Rock has significant history and was interesting to see. Tour took us to a hotel for Tapas lunch the tapas had been sitting on the table for a long time prior to our being seated.

Read bobzahlmann@gmail.com's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TrudeDC
1 review
Sep 2012
Guide excellent. Went up the cable car to rock. Enjoyed the caves and tunnels too.
Read TrudeDC's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image rubysue
10 reviews
Sep 2012
Gibraltar was substituted for Casablanca during our cruise. We booked a ship excursion that gave us an overview of Gibraltar, including Europa Point, St. Michael's cave, the Barbary Macaques, and an overview of the city. Our tour guide made this tour better than most Oceania tours we have booked because of his sense of humor.
Read rubysue's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Scottish Cruiser
1 review
Aug 2012
We spent our honeymoon in Gibraltar and it was good to re-acquaint ourselves with it. The children enjoyed the monkeys! We took a ship tour here and it was good value.
Read Scottish Cruiser's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nelly55
1 review
Jun 2012
Saw all the main sites and the apes and the coach driver doubled as an excellent guide.
Read nelly55's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Stephen Tompkins
1 review
May 2012
Glad we've been, wouldn't worry about going again
Read Stephen Tompkins's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image SoCalTraveler
6 reviews
Apr 2012
Do not miss this. Take a private tour or use a cab as they can get higher. The apes will jump on you and your car. You can see Africa. Did I mention the apes?
Read SoCalTraveler's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Gibraltar Tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.