Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Gibraltar City Tour Excursion Reviews

Gibraltar City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Spend the day sightseeing on a city tour while you gaze at the Atlas Mountains. A visit to the town centre reveals some of Gibraltar's unique architecture, which reflects a blend of many different surrounding countries.
Member Image Vivsworld
1 review
Jul 2015
Great Siege Tunnels were closed, rest of trip very good. Went shopping afterwards.
Read Vivsworld's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Melindadeigan@gmail.com
1 review
May 2015
The cruise line put us on the wrong tour. Thus one you drive around a bus and they take you to the cave. The Dave us impressive and you will see a few monkeys. I would never booked this tour. Go on the cable cars those who went to the top loved it! Oh-get off the boat and do the tour on your own, you will have a better experience and save you 1/2 the price. It's a very small area.
Read Melindadeigan@gmail.com's full Star Legend cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Theclangers
1 review
May 2015
Not much at this port other than cheap drink and cigs.
Read Theclangers's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shayv01
2 reviews
May 2015
Panoramic Gibraltor & Tapas - the tour was too short, the tapas was not good and the plates were prepared ahead of time & left uncovered. So, the flies were on most of the tapas.
Read shayv01's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image domingo.troche
1 review
Apr 2015
Good but need make carefully with negotiate with the taxi, place is beautifull, the Monkey area funny, rock history excellent. Spensive area because used Libra de esterlina, so just buy the necessary.
Read domingo.troche's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: walking
Member Image hooked on cruising1949
1 review
Apr 2015
Part of the Gibraltar tour we caught at the pier. Small group in a van with 8 passengers with a driver/guide whose English was good (not a surprise in Gibraltar).
Read hooked on cruising1949's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Blue Aspect
1 review
Aug 2013
Read Blue Aspect's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image lexmiller
13 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2013
We had one day to see as much of Gibraltar as possible during our stop on our Celebrity Cruises day in port. Months in advance, I booked a private day tour for my family with Gib Tours, and I am so happy that we did! Elisa was our guide - born and raised in Gibraltar, a true life long local, and wow, did we reap the benefits of her intimate knowledge of the area. She picked us up at the port - her friendliness, her humor, her inner joy, were immediately apparent and we knew that we were in for a great day. I don't think there is much that we didn't see! The roads on "The Rock" are narrow, winding, blind - on some of the more treacherous roads, Elisa would play the theme from "Mission Impossible" on the van stereo to heighten the effect! She provided us with a running commentary the whole day, filled with lots of information and humor. Our adult daughter is mobility impaired and Elisa made sure that she always got us as close to the entrances of the attractions as possible. She physically helped load/unload, the walker and the wheelchair, bungee-cording them into place in the back of the van - she was incredibly helpful and empathic. Elisa is plugged into the local scene - on the narrow roads, when you have to pull over to let another car pass - well, she knew everyone, all of the other taxi drivers, tour guides, sharing friendly exchanges with everyone - we really felt like we were a part of the local scene. She even knows the names of the most social of the apes on the island. She knows the primatologists that look after the apes and she has a way that she interacts with the apes, professionally, as though she is actually a bonafide trainer - she knows the proper and safe way to engage them - I can't tell you how many photos we have of them, one of which stayed on our daughter's arm for a good 5 minutes! One of the apes hopped into the van and sat on Elisa's lap for a time, looking down her shirt for seeds - it was fantastic! We had a very individualized tour of the WW2 tunnels, only 5 people in the tour - such a moving experience! Hans was our guide within the tunnels - very very knowledgeable guide! There are more tunnels in "The Rock" than roads on the island itself. You must see the tunnels when you visit! Elisa took us to St. Michael's Cave - breathtaking; the 100 ton gun; the highest point on "The Rock"; Europa Point - the southern most point of continental Europe; O'Hara's Battery; the Great Siege Tunnels. We also drove across the airstrip, very interesting spot though we wished that an airplane had been crossing the road at the time! She took us, pretty much, everywhere! She gave us a full tour, backroads, not always the main streets, different neighborhoods, beaches, telling us stories of her childhood, etc. She gave us a full history of the peninsula, going back to Pangea, discussing the breaking apart of "The Rock", the Atlantic spilling into what is now the Mediterranean Sea. Gibraltar is an amazingly unique place, geographically, historically, politically, strategically - and in our opinion, the best way to experience it is with Gib Tours.
Read lexmiller's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image goofysguy
1 review
Apr 2013

Good tour in a van. Better than ship tour which used buses which were to large to travel the roads around caves and mountain top. Those poor people had to walk and paid twice as much to do it.

Read goofysguy's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pilates
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Once we arrived we knew that time was of the essence and the majority of us took the guide's advice and took a local tour around the town, up to St. Michael's cave to see the apes and the tour/driver was excellent. The cost was Euro 20pp and this included entrance into the cave which itself is Euro13pp so it was good value. Once we were finished it gave us time to walk through the town itself - do some shopping before going back to the coach.
Read pilates's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Carol Curtis
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012
Clean and comfortable coach - experienced tour guides
Read Carol Curtis's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image stella767
1 review
May 2012
paid 22 euros, way cheaper than any excursion, walk out of the ship in the beautiful town and found these vans offering the tour. Reliable and safe, great tour, 1 hour and a half and included all the main sites Good value ! Gibraltar is gorgeous, the view breath taking, lots of fun with the monkeys and very interesting trip to the cave and the tunnel built in the 19 hundreds .
Read stella767's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image redtogo
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2012
Wonderful tour.
Read redtogo's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.