Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Genoa City Tour Excursion Reviews

Genoa City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Become acquainted with Genoa as you soak up sites, history and its culture on a city tour.
Member Image Autumn72
6 reviews
May 2014

Nothing is open on Sunday in Genoa. Take that into account and take a beach day or a boat trip. It was tough even seeing the churches because it was Sunday. Overall you can walk it - skip the tour.

Read Autumn72's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image arboreal
1 review
Dec 2013

Nice, brief tour of the city followed by an extended on-your-own visit of the aquarium. Prompt shuttle back to ship. The aquarium is really extensive. A brief city tour is really all that's needed here, in my opinion.

Read arboreal's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image p jackson
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

It was quite a long coach trip from the port of Savana into Genoa, and much of the route was through tunnels. The railway appeared to offer a more scenic alternative, and I suggest it would be quicker and cheaper. Genoa was a most interesting city with outstanding architecture.

Read p jackson's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image BARRISTER70
1 review
Aug 2013

It was okay. Our original tour was to include the aquarium, but for unknown reasons the cruise line canceled that. We still wanted to see something and this was wheat we came up with. There was not a whole lot to see, and the guide mentioned that the aquarium was special.

Read BARRISTER70's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sue666
1 review
Aug 2013

We took an open top bus tour around the city from just outside the port. I was unhappy that we were told the buses ran every ten minutes when we paid but we had to wait half an hour, however the tour was very nice and covered a lot of the city which would be impossible to walk.

Read Sue666's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Travel R
1 review
Jun 2013

The city itself seemed a little quaint, although a little seedy as well. There were not many must-see areas in the city, and it could have been done very easily DIY. We also did not care much for the tour guide.

Read Travel R's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image momcat
2 reviews
Dec 2012
We walked from the ship across the street to the Villa del Principe, home of Andrea Doria, where we toured the beautifully maintained/restored rooms and admired the lovely artwork and ceilings. We took the subway to the Cathedral in order to go inside before it closed at noon. The tour continued on, but we decided we had walked enough and we took the subway back to the ship.
Read momcat's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image euroman1995
1 review
Jul 2012
Tour was OK, but nothing spectacular. The day we went it was raining & hard to take good pictures through the plastic covered windows of the tour bus. The Aquarium is a nice feature(though I would say it is a nice addition if you have small children). It is rated as Europe's largest, small in comparison to the ones I have visited in Chicago & New England's East coast aquariums. Then again it is Europe, so things are smaller. I have done the Portofino walking tour in the past & would recommend it to adults w/o kids. Though the aquarium is worth it if traveling with younger children & those wanting a relaxing self-paced day. For younger adults I would recomend also touring the city by foot, many things to see, shops & historical buildings within walking distance of the Aquarium. Buses leave regularly from the parking lot outside of the Aquarium back to the ship-no charge. The tour was less expensive than others on the trip and was a nice way to end our cruise. The trademark colorful buildings along the water's edge tiering up the hills make for beautiful and picturesque views.
Read euroman1995's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Lakalyr
1 review
Jul 2012
Long que for bus, none to correct the que. Waited almost one hour for City tour by bus. City tour was interesting with stops for photo. We left the bus to wisit aquarium, but there were too many people waiting for access, so we walke to see the old ship.
Read Lakalyr's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Rio Brewster
1 review
Apr 2012
The Monaco tour was really nice and more interesting than I thought it would be. Long bus rides though. And not enough free time. Unfortunately we couldn't go in the casino because it was reserved for VIPs at some big tennis tourney. But we did get a bird's eye view of the tourney itself from the bus.
Read Rio Brewster's full Costa Pacifica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.