Genoa City Tour Excursion Reviews

Genoa City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Become acquainted with Genoa as you soak up sites, history and its culture on a city tour.
Member Image supercernia
1 review
Nov 2016
excellent excursion in the city center, beautiful and little known
Read supercernia's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image rich 112
3 reviews
Sep 2016
Good tour, we were lucky with the weather. I think the river cruise would have been a totally different experience on a dull day
Read rich 112's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image palmheights
1 review
Sep 2016
Fantastic experience. A few of the excursions we used the hop on-hop off buses which is a great way to see the sites.
Read palmheights's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Bluewater21
1 review
Sep 2016
Hop-on/hop off bus tour of city
Read Bluewater21's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Georgie girl 51
1 review
Aug 2016
Great tour
Read Georgie girl 51's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image happyonaship
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Again, in Genoa we chose to see Genoa for a half a day rather than taking the whole day to travel elsewhere. It was very interesting and, again, gave us some time on the ship to relax.
Read happyonaship's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image London On Sea
4 reviews
Jul 2016
The wander around the old town was fine (Via Garibaldi etc) but after that, we were left to our own devices. It was OK but not much more and we could have taken the shuttle bus in and done this by ourselves.
Read London On Sea's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lisabrette
1 review
Jul 2016
We took a two hour train to Milan and had a private walking tour and then jumped back on the train. Not enough time but was fab!!
Read Lisabrette's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image PrincessLady
1 review
Jun 2016
This was an awesome day. Lorenza was a great guide, she loved her city and was willing to share it with us.
Read PrincessLady's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Lorenza Scorti
Member Image a.verapuerto@hotmail.com
1 review
Feb 2016
Shore excursion genoa is great
Read a.verapuerto@hotmail.com's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: http://www.shoreexcursionsforcruisers.com/en/
Member Image carolinacruiser72
3 reviews
Oct 2015
This tour was not that good. The streets in Genoa were very loud and we really needed headsets to hear our guide. Unless you stayed right on top of her you just weren't able to get the information about all the buildings. The tour description says you get a taste of traditional bruschetta and focaccia bread. This consisted of a couple of tables set up with baskets of bread and a table with a lady pouring wine. People were milling all over and we were given about 15 minutes to use the facilities, have a drink, and grab a bite to try. Not really that impressed. They could at least make this a sit down stop and you could be served. We also weren't given any free time in the shopping area and were then given about 45 minutes in the waiting area of the port. There are no shops here. I ended up not getting any souvenirs here because it was all junk. Skip this tour.
Read carolinacruiser72's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image My sea
1 review
Aug 2015
Very informative
Read My sea's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sue Pattinson
1 review
Aug 2015
Reasonable price on an open top bus. Gorgeous place and well worth a visit
Read Sue Pattinson's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Puffin68
1 review
Jun 2015
The Hop-on Hop-off is a quick way to get around the city but it is so much better to walk through the city and explore the narrow turns. If you get the chance (like we did), try out the exhibition called Dialogue in the Dark. It allows you to experience the challenges blind people face everyday. Well worth the visit. The Dialogue in the Dark is located next to the maritime museum and a short walk from the cruise terminal.
Read Puffin68's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: Hop-On Hop Off
Member Image wherestheship
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Beautiful historic city, lots to do but we were only on port a short time and it was also Sunday, so must shops shut but we did window shopping. The bus tour was good and stopped at some very interesting spots. would like to return to Genoa.
Read wherestheship's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: Big Bus Company
Member Image Autumn72
11 reviews
May 2014

Nothing is open on Sunday in Genoa. Take that into account and take a beach day or a boat trip. It was tough even seeing the churches because it was Sunday. Overall you can walk it - skip the tour.

Read Autumn72's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image arboreal
1 review
Dec 2013

Nice, brief tour of the city followed by an extended on-your-own visit of the aquarium. Prompt shuttle back to ship. The aquarium is really extensive. A brief city tour is really all that's needed here, in my opinion.

Read arboreal's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image p jackson
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

It was quite a long coach trip from the port of Savana into Genoa, and much of the route was through tunnels. The railway appeared to offer a more scenic alternative, and I suggest it would be quicker and cheaper. Genoa was a most interesting city with outstanding architecture.

Read p jackson's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image BARRISTER70
1 review
Aug 2013

It was okay. Our original tour was to include the aquarium, but for unknown reasons the cruise line canceled that. We still wanted to see something and this was wheat we came up with. There was not a whole lot to see, and the guide mentioned that the aquarium was special.

Read BARRISTER70's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sue666
1 review
Aug 2013

We took an open top bus tour around the city from just outside the port. I was unhappy that we were told the buses ran every ten minutes when we paid but we had to wait half an hour, however the tour was very nice and covered a lot of the city which would be impossible to walk.

Read Sue666's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Travel R
2 reviews
Jun 2013

The city itself seemed a little quaint, although a little seedy as well. There were not many must-see areas in the city, and it could have been done very easily DIY. We also did not care much for the tour guide.

Read Travel R's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image momcat
2 reviews
Dec 2012
We walked from the ship across the street to the Villa del Principe, home of Andrea Doria, where we toured the beautifully maintained/restored rooms and admired the lovely artwork and ceilings. We took the subway to the Cathedral in order to go inside before it closed at noon. The tour continued on, but we decided we had walked enough and we took the subway back to the ship.
Read momcat's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image euroman1995
1 review
Jul 2012
Tour was OK, but nothing spectacular. The day we went it was raining & hard to take good pictures through the plastic covered windows of the tour bus. The Aquarium is a nice feature(though I would say it is a nice addition if you have small children). It is rated as Europe's largest, small in comparison to the ones I have visited in Chicago & New England's East coast aquariums. Then again it is Europe, so things are smaller. I have done the Portofino walking tour in the past & would recommend it to adults w/o kids. Though the aquarium is worth it if traveling with younger children & those wanting a relaxing self-paced day. For younger adults I would recomend also touring the city by foot, many things to see, shops & historical buildings within walking distance of the Aquarium. Buses leave regularly from the parking lot outside of the Aquarium back to the ship-no charge. The tour was less expensive than others on the trip and was a nice way to end our cruise. The trademark colorful buildings along the water's edge tiering up the hills make for beautiful and picturesque views.
Read euroman1995's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Lakalyr
1 review
Jul 2012
Long que for bus, none to correct the que. Waited almost one hour for City tour by bus. City tour was interesting with stops for photo. We left the bus to wisit aquarium, but there were too many people waiting for access, so we walke to see the old ship.
Read Lakalyr's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Rio Brewster
1 review
Apr 2012
The Monaco tour was really nice and more interesting than I thought it would be. Long bus rides though. And not enough free time. Unfortunately we couldn't go in the casino because it was reserved for VIPs at some big tennis tourney. But we did get a bird's eye view of the tourney itself from the bus.
Read Rio Brewster's full Costa Pacifica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?