Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Florence (Livorno) Lucca Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Lucca Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The medieval walled city of Lucca dates back to the time of Caesar. Major sights to see include the Romanesque-styled Duomo, the Museo Nazionale di Palazzo Mansi and the San Michele in Foro.
Member Image hsmcruise
12 reviews
Sep 2014

fair

Read hsmcruise's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image michin
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Lucca is a fantastic little town, overlooked by tourists. We chose the Thomson trip - £32 each - because a taxi from Livorno dock to the train station was 20 euros each way, then it's two trains to Lucca, changing at Pisa. Note: the shuttle bus (5 euros return to town) goes nowhere near the train station in Livorno.
40 mins each way on the coach (with informative commentary) and an enjoyable walking tour, followed by an hour free time. Just enough time to enjoy a coffee in the atmospheric former roman oval amphitheatre (amazing) then walk along the town walls that make Lucca unique.

Read michin's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Balcony12152
1 review
Sep 2013

What a beautiful, ancient city! We walked along the city walls and wandered up and down the little narrow streets after the official tour ended.

Read Balcony12152's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image prinsjh
2 reviews
Sep 2013

We had both been to Florence so decided to try an alternate tour. Lucca was just a delightful small city. Had a great tour guide and enjoyed the time off to just stroll the streets and have a fabulous lunch at Tosca near the Puccini staute.

Read prinsjh's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Annalise
8 reviews
Sep 2012

A short bus ride took us back into time to the medieval town of Lucca. Still surrounded by its original protective wall, Lucca is filled with narrow streets, old churches and it is the birthplace of Giacomo Puccini. We had already been to Florence several times, so we thought this would be a nice change and it was. The tone of the tour was slow, easy walking along level streets. At the end, we were allotted 45 mins. of free time.

Read Annalise's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image foodiegirl50
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012
Sweet little place.
Read foodiegirl50's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ivanna6948
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We had a wonderful time.
Read ivanna6948's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CyberTag
2 reviews
Jun 2012
After touring Pisa, we all headed back to the van and made our way to Lucca, which was about a 45 minute drive. Lucca is much like Venice in that it is very difficult to drive there. Most people walk, are on bike, or a scooter. We each rented a bike in Lucca for 3 euros per hr, very affordable. Riding the bikes was a highlight for us. The wall was not very crowded and it was a refreshing change from being around a ton of people and/or sitting in a bus or van. The entire ride around did not take very long and was about 2.5 miles. There are many paths to pull off and go into town, but we chose to make the ride around before heading into town. We ate lunch at a local restaurant in the town square which was delicious. After lunch we walked around Lucca, but unfortunately all of the shops were closed for "siesta." We did find a local wine shop and got to taste test some local wines as well as Lemoncello and olive oil! We asked her about a good Chianti, and she opened a bottle for us to try!
Read CyberTag's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image oldcajun
1 review
Apr 2012
A nice visit to an excellent winery then a free time in town. I thought the time allowed to really see Lucca was a little short.
Read oldcajun's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.