Florence (Livorno) Lucca Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Lucca Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The medieval walled city of Lucca dates back to the time of Caesar. Major sights to see include the Romanesque-styled Duomo, the Museo Nazionale di Palazzo Mansi and the San Michele in Foro.
Member Image Walshy1000
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Wonderful! Rent bikes and ride the top of the wall. Shop for leather goods here - great prices.
Read Walshy1000's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Maz636
1 review
Aug 2016
Tour guide was excellent. Pisa was fine-not much other than the tower and is VERY crowded and full of pick-pockets. Saw one hiding behind a car changing her clothes. Lucca was fantastic. Nice people, beautiful village, very interesting. Would go again.
Read Maz636's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kiwitwo
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Excellent tour with pleasant knowledgeable guide. Half the time was a guided walking tour of this lovely city, and the second half was time on our own. Perfect.
Read kiwitwo's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Happicruzrr
1 review
Aug 2016
Italy shore drivers... a perfect day in Pisa, Lucca and Tuscany wine tasting. Fantastic company
Read Happicruzrr's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Italy Shore Drivers
Member Image vibradental
1 review
Jul 2016
caught train. cycled round city walls. Walked around. Great lunch. Not enough time
Read vibradental's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CDW1970
1 review
Jul 2016
Loved it, Alexandria was fantastic the bike element perfect - will be back!
Read CDW1970's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image arkansas travelers
1 review
Jul 2016
guide was local resident & very knowledgeable
Read arkansas travelers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image happyonaship
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Lucca is a beautiful little town, birthplace of Boccherini and Puccini. We enjoyed both the exercise and the sites of this walking tour. It was nice, as well, to visit something a little less popular and crowded than Florence or Pisa.
Read happyonaship's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vinotinto
2 reviews
Jun 2016
We did Pisa (Leaning Tower), a Tuscan villa (beautiful gardens) and free time in the beautiful town of Lucca with Unforgettable Tuscany. It was a fabulous day!
Read vinotinto's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image yes_myson
1 review
Jun 2016
Lots of churches to see and a great marketplace. Otherwise not as impressive as some of our other tours.
Read yes_myson's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Taylor made to cruise
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Quaint interesting town
Read Taylor made to cruise's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Toucanman
1 review
Aug 2015
nothing except some churches and closed storen
Read Toucanman's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image josandri
1 review
Jun 2015
great tour and guid
Read josandri's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Karima
1 review
Jun 2015
Got lost. Bus didn't wait. People aboard said guide didn't even look down the street to see if I were coming. I came 5 minutes too late. I had to take a cab which cost 145 Euros. Not a great experience.
Read Karima's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Saligo
5 reviews
May 2015
The tour was actually a combined tour of Lucca and Pisa from La Spezia, but the Cruise Critic website doesn't include that option and the "other" option doesn't give the expected result. Lucca is a lovely old city with lots of interesting buildings. We were dropped for free time inside an old amphitheatre which has been converted into shops, bars and restaurants, an excellent place to while away an hour. Pisa is worth visiting for the Field of Dreams with its three spectacular buildings including the Leaning Tower. It is a long walk from the coach park to the Leaning Tower. We were given (and took up) the option of continuing our walking tour to the university district of Pisa, which was also of historical and architectural interest.
Read Saligo's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CoggyT
1 review
Mar 2015
Having previously greatly enjoyed visits to Florence and Pisa, we visited Lucca this time. Again this was most enjoyable, although the tour was much too short.
Read CoggyT's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image hsmcruise
14 reviews
Member Image michin
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Lucca is a fantastic little town, overlooked by tourists. We chose the Thomson trip - £32 each - because a taxi from Livorno dock to the train station was 20 euros each way, then it's two trains to Lucca, changing at Pisa. Note: the shuttle bus (5 euros return to town) goes nowhere near the train station in Livorno.
40 mins each way on the coach (with informative commentary) and an enjoyable walking tour, followed by an hour free time. Just enough time to enjoy a coffee in the atmospheric former roman oval amphitheatre (amazing) then walk along the town walls that make Lucca unique.

Read michin's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Balcony12152
1 review
Sep 2013

What a beautiful, ancient city! We walked along the city walls and wandered up and down the little narrow streets after the official tour ended.

Read Balcony12152's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image prinsjh
2 reviews
Sep 2013

We had both been to Florence so decided to try an alternate tour. Lucca was just a delightful small city. Had a great tour guide and enjoyed the time off to just stroll the streets and have a fabulous lunch at Tosca near the Puccini staute.

Read prinsjh's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Annalise
9 reviews
Sep 2012

A short bus ride took us back into time to the medieval town of Lucca. Still surrounded by its original protective wall, Lucca is filled with narrow streets, old churches and it is the birthplace of Giacomo Puccini. We had already been to Florence several times, so we thought this would be a nice change and it was. The tone of the tour was slow, easy walking along level streets. At the end, we were allotted 45 mins. of free time.

Read Annalise's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image foodiegirl50
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012
Sweet little place.
Read foodiegirl50's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ivanna6948
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We had a wonderful time.
Read ivanna6948's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CyberTag
2 reviews
Jun 2012
After touring Pisa, we all headed back to the van and made our way to Lucca, which was about a 45 minute drive. Lucca is much like Venice in that it is very difficult to drive there. Most people walk, are on bike, or a scooter. We each rented a bike in Lucca for 3 euros per hr, very affordable. Riding the bikes was a highlight for us. The wall was not very crowded and it was a refreshing change from being around a ton of people and/or sitting in a bus or van. The entire ride around did not take very long and was about 2.5 miles. There are many paths to pull off and go into town, but we chose to make the ride around before heading into town. We ate lunch at a local restaurant in the town square which was delicious. After lunch we walked around Lucca, but unfortunately all of the shops were closed for "siesta." We did find a local wine shop and got to taste test some local wines as well as Lemoncello and olive oil! We asked her about a good Chianti, and she opened a bottle for us to try!
Read CyberTag's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image oldcajun
1 review
Apr 2012
A nice visit to an excellent winery then a free time in town. I thought the time allowed to really see Lucca was a little short.
Read oldcajun's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?