Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Florence (Livorno) Leaning Tower of Pisa Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Leaning Tower of Pisa cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the infamous Leaning Tower of Pisa, the freestanding bell tower that refused to stay straight. Constructed in stages across 344 years, the Tower of Pisa began sinking into the ground almost immediately.
Member Image LibrarianLizy
1 review
Oct 2014

I did not climb the tower or go into the church, but would have liked to if I had the time. Lovely, even in the rain.

Read LibrarianLizy's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

It was fine, but I think 30 minutes in Pisa would have been plenty and then use the saved time in Florence!

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Geoteach84
1 review
Jun 2014

too rushed

Read Geoteach84's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image UberShopper
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Loved it! My daughter, husband and mother climbed the tower which was a great experience for them - amazing views.

Read UberShopper's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions in Italy
Member Image Nicky0802
1 review
Aug 2013

Lovely tour, taken by guide and then left to explore for an hour. Not enough time to go up the tower as you have to book this in advance, but plenty of time to take a look at the tower and other 2 buildings, take photos etc. There are lots of little market stalls selling bags, purses, souvenirs etc. along the way so the time goes very fast. Restaurants and cafes are also close by, so refreshments are availabl.

Read Nicky0802's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image steve in avon
1 review
May 2013

Great to go up the tower. Costs but worth it. Watch for pick pockets as we had two try it on way back to our bus.

Read steve in avon's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image little acorn
1 review
Nov 2012
Original trip cancelled by the Cruise ship(NOT by the local company though---we checked!), so we had to take a coach tour so that my husband could see the famous Leaning Tower! Good guide, but he talked for so long standing outside the Cathedral, there was not enough time to investigate inside the three major sites. However the weather was beautiful showing off the Baptistry, Cathedral and Leaning Bell Tower to perfection.
Read little acorn's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image retired2012
1 review
Oct 2012
Excellent viewing, explanation provided by our tour guide/driver.
Read retired2012's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimo
Member Image TrudeDC
1 review
Sep 2012
Tour guide and trip very good. Loved going up the leaning tower of Pisa. extraordinary how its still standing! Beautiful area.
Read TrudeDC's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Neet New Jersey
1 review
Sep 2012
Once you see the leaning tower there really isn't much else.
Read Neet New Jersey's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions.com
Member Image Princessa22
1 review
Sep 2012
Definitely worth seeing. Time on our own. Loved it and would of like to spend more time there.
Read Princessa22's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tanimmo
1 review
Aug 2012
Very hot that day. Booked thru cruise line at the last minute. We were glad to ride the bus to Pisa, then transferred to a little trolley that took us around then dropped us very near the Leaning Tower. Stayed there for about 2 hrs. More than enough time for shopping and a gelato plus pictures. Trolley took us back to bus, 30 min ride back to ship.
Read tanimmo's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cuulong
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2012
Read cuulong's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image maddersmcmonkey14
1 review
Aug 2012
30 - 45 minute coach journey followed by fairly long walk if you visit Pisa, but worth it. The square where the Leaning Tower of Pisa is located is beautiful and full of history! our tour guide was fantastic and really knows her stuff. There is a massive queue to go up the tower because they only let people in in small numbers but I strongly suggest popping into the Baptistery on the half hour, because every half hour a an comes and sings a few notes to show you the amazing eight echoes. It sounds like a beautiful choir harmony! Looking around the town of Pisa itself isn't as interesting and you could visit Florence as well as or instead of Pisa.
Read maddersmcmonkey14's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ocean Diva
1 review
Jul 2012
Did a ships tour to Pisa for the leaning tower climb and loved it. An easy day and a fun climb of the tower. It is 294 steps but small so not too bad. We don't use the ships elevators so get exercise by using the stairs to all decks so we were ready for this climb. Pisa is beautiful and has amazing sites. We visited Florence before so did not go there.
Read Ocean Diva's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image limerick101
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Did 4 hr tour because of kids called Easy Pisa, did not get to go into Leaning Tower or time for Baptistery but we had time to walk around then went on tourist train which was all part of tour. It was explained in the tour brochure there would be limited time around the Tower but we knew that with two kids we were happy out with just seeing it.Price was reasonable as with previous cruise line tours.
Read limerick101's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Wallis7219
4 reviews
Jun 2012
40 mins is probably enough in Pisa if you dont want to climb the tower
Read Wallis7219's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Pleasent Tours
Member Image ohionana26
2 reviews
Jun 2012
We had a wonderful guide who made this trip very enjoyable. My three grands climbed to the top of the tower while I watched and took pictures from below. I hope that when they are old like me, they will see a picture of the tower and remember this experience.
Read ohionana26's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image blackpool
1 review
Jun 2012
A wonderful half day to see the historic Leaning Tower of Pisa
Read blackpool's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CyberTag
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Pisa is about a 45 minute drive from the port of LaSpezia. We walked around Pisa for around 40 minutes, taking the usual photos holding up the tower and trying to push it down. If you're planning on stopping in Pisa, you can pre-purchase a ticket to go up to the top of the leaning tower. We heard it is very steep and hot inside (no a/c), so we chose not to climb the tower. After walking around the tower, we met back up with our driver who then walked us around the City of Pisa explaining many of the buildings, churches and sites. She showed us where the locals shop, and we stopped at a local 'gelato' place which was one of the best gelatos we had during this trip. It was actually one of the cheapest too! This was all within walking distance from the tower!
Read CyberTag's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rome in Limo
Member Image glpondo
1 review
Jun 2012
We only got half hour to see all of Field of Dreams! Too rushed but beautiful!
Read glpondo's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Stan Clarke
1 review
Jun 2012
This was done along with Florence
Read Stan Clarke's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image abroadsailing
1 review
May 2012
Amazing architecture-- a must see.
Read abroadsailing's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EATPRAYTRAVEL
1 review
May 2012
Gorgeous architecture, have to see it in person to get the feel of its incredible beauty.
Read EATPRAYTRAVEL's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Miamitraveler007
1 review
May 2012
Did Pisa and Tuscany, nice vineyard lunch, and nice time at the tower.
Read Miamitraveler007's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Still Dreaming
2 reviews
May 2012
Quick stop on our way to Florence.
Read Still Dreaming's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: RIL
Member Image minntraveler
1 review
May 2012
It leans a lot more than I thought it would. We took a bus to Pisa and walked around the Field of Miracles.
Read minntraveler's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Devilaw
3 reviews
May 2012
Our first stop on the shore excursion. Tooks some great pictures. Something one must see in their lifetime.
Read Devilaw's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions in Italy
Member Image Sagacious Traveler
1 review
May 2012
Didn't go in. Wasn't necessary. Just seeing this iconic site in person was very special.
Read Sagacious Traveler's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image paul stabb
1 review
Apr 2012
Having previously visited Florence we decided to see Pisa. Not a lot to see there but nevertheless a fascinating experience
Read paul stabb's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image VEGAS-CRUISER
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2011
Lots of vendors - on our own a lot which was good
Read VEGAS-CRUISER's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.