Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Florence (Livorno) Leaning Tower of Pisa Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Leaning Tower of Pisa cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the infamous Leaning Tower of Pisa, the freestanding bell tower that refused to stay straight. Constructed in stages across 344 years, the Tower of Pisa began sinking into the ground almost immediately.
Member Image silvertreveller
1 review
Oct 2015
Good trip with a very good guide. Excellent value. Spoke to other groups who had included the Florence leg and felt it was too much. Florence crowded and long queues ment insufficient time to explore. Our trip was more relaxing and we visited an ice cream shop in San Gimmi that had won the "Best Ice Cream in the World"
Read silvertreveller's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Rome in a Limo
Member Image hawkshoe
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Get tickets ahead. Climb the tower. It is easy as long as you aren't prone to vertigo.
Read hawkshoe's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CaptBillNH
1 review
Sep 2015
Took bus tour-walked at least a mile from where the parked the bus to Leaning Tower. Had about 10 minutes to take pictures, then had to go back to catch the bus. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SHORE EXCURSION.
Read CaptBillNH's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Laura Marr
1 review
Sep 2015
Bus ride to Pisa, looked at the sights, some shopping at the market and then back on the ship by lunchtime. Free shuttle bus from the ship into Livorno, so did that in the afternoon
Read Laura Marr's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Shannon1865
1 review
Aug 2015
Our tour guide talked a lot so instead of getting 45 minutes at the tower we got 25 but it was a great site to see, the Florence and Pisa tour seems a much better deal and you even get over an hour at the tower so you can make time to walk to the top!
Read Shannon1865's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Micklen2
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Tour was excellent. Guide very knowledgeable and funny. Boat trip very good. Would have liked more time in Pisa
Read Micklen2's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image DENISDOWEN
1 review
Aug 2015
Great guide - brought it all alive. The trip included the town of Lucca which is delightful
Read DENISDOWEN's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Clive99
1 review
Aug 2015
The Tower is magnificent to see but not much else to do
Read Clive99's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cruisemissile
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Pisa and Lucca, Relaxing, enjoyable, saw what we needed to see. Had great lunch on the rolling hillside overlooking Lucca at a place called Osteria da mi pa. Exceptional experience. Again great price and great service.
Read cruisemissile's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Italy Shore Drivers www.Italyshoredrivers.com
Member Image drytoastfan
1 review
Jun 2015
The bus ride into Pisa was quite long, and the boat ride on the Arno river was very nice. Not exactly as depicted in the brochure, as we were supposed to enjoy "Italian gelato" on the river boat. We received packaged ice cream bars instead. Disappointed. There was not enough time at the Tower to do much more than take a few photos. Sad, because we arrived back at the ship with hours to spare. Would have preferred to have time to climb the tower, but that was impossible.
Read drytoastfan's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image judypalm
1 review
May 2015
Excellent tour guide - very informative. We went to the leaning tower of Pisa and had time to stop for a brief bite to eat on our own. We had wireless headsets that worked great and kept us informed.
Read judypalm's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MisterMet
1 review
May 2015
Book a time to Climb the Tower, either on your own or through a tour. It's well worth the climb and the views are fantastic.
Read MisterMet's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Debs57
1 review
May 2015
You can't go here and not see Pisa. Lovely to see.
Read Debs57's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image angry mrs m
1 review
May 2015
took the organised trip to Pisa by bus then transferred to the trolly car which took us into Pisa on the way back we had nice boat ride on the river Arno
Read angry mrs m's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image LibrarianLizy
1 review
Oct 2014

I did not climb the tower or go into the church, but would have liked to if I had the time. Lovely, even in the rain.

Read LibrarianLizy's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

It was fine, but I think 30 minutes in Pisa would have been plenty and then use the saved time in Florence!

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JPCRS
1 review
Jun 2014
The bus we traveled on parked on a side street and we walked to the leaning tower of pisa. Lots of people taking lots of pictures, just as we were. The tour was worth the cost.
Read JPCRS's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Geoteach84
1 review
Jun 2014

too rushed

Read Geoteach84's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image UberShopper
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Loved it! My daughter, husband and mother climbed the tower which was a great experience for them - amazing views.

Read UberShopper's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions in Italy
Member Image Nicky0802
1 review
Aug 2013

Lovely tour, taken by guide and then left to explore for an hour. Not enough time to go up the tower as you have to book this in advance, but plenty of time to take a look at the tower and other 2 buildings, take photos etc. There are lots of little market stalls selling bags, purses, souvenirs etc. along the way so the time goes very fast. Restaurants and cafes are also close by, so refreshments are availabl.

Read Nicky0802's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image steve in avon
1 review
May 2013

Great to go up the tower. Costs but worth it. Watch for pick pockets as we had two try it on way back to our bus.

Read steve in avon's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image little acorn
1 review
Nov 2012
Original trip cancelled by the Cruise ship(NOT by the local company though---we checked!), so we had to take a coach tour so that my husband could see the famous Leaning Tower! Good guide, but he talked for so long standing outside the Cathedral, there was not enough time to investigate inside the three major sites. However the weather was beautiful showing off the Baptistry, Cathedral and Leaning Bell Tower to perfection.
Read little acorn's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image retired2012
1 review
Oct 2012
Excellent viewing, explanation provided by our tour guide/driver.
Read retired2012's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: RomeInLimo
Member Image TrudeDC
1 review
Sep 2012
Tour guide and trip very good. Loved going up the leaning tower of Pisa. extraordinary how its still standing! Beautiful area.
Read TrudeDC's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Neet New Jersey
1 review
Sep 2012
Once you see the leaning tower there really isn't much else.
Read Neet New Jersey's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions.com

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.