Florence (Livorno) Leaning Tower of Pisa Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Leaning Tower of Pisa cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the infamous Leaning Tower of Pisa, the freestanding bell tower that refused to stay straight. Constructed in stages across 344 years, the Tower of Pisa began sinking into the ground almost immediately.
Member Image PlatinumLatitudes+
1 review
Nov 2016
Booked Tuscanybus, very good. Get the Porto2000 bus on disembarkation for €5 pp rtn to centre, then just where you exit Porto 2000 bus wait for Tuscanybus. Very well organised company. Lovley plesent sunny day had in Pisa, amazing pictures from the top of the tower. Wonderful day had here.
Read PlatinumLatitudes+'s full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: TuscanyBUS
Member Image gloriaJY
1 review
Oct 2016
This was a good tour as we had a lovely bus ride to pisa and there were lots to see in between.
Read gloriaJY's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Beautifulnorth
1 review
Oct 2016
I liked Pisa, but Carnival's excursion was awful and we never booked any more. $200 for a bus ride with 80 people, a monotone guide who spoke through walk-talkie earpieces which were inaudible, standing around talking on the sidewalk instead of going in to see the sights. My daughter and I ditched the group and explored on our own which was way more fun.
Read Beautifulnorth's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image blueferguson
1 review
Sep 2016
interesting just to see the leaning tower
Read blueferguson's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Within temptation
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Terrible value for money and one in which RCCL should be ashamed. After over an hour coach journey, and 15 minute walk we had hust 45 minutesto walk to the tower, drink, use toilet and get back to our pick up point. Do this yourself or you will feel a big let down.
Read Within temptation's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WorldWatcher
1 review
Sep 2016
Very pleased to have seen the Tower with my own eyes, and interesting to see that unlike the TV pictures, its (a) actually pretty much surrounded by other buildings, (b) shorter and fatter in real life! Not so interesting to discover that unless you're there first thing you will spend more time fighting through the crowds all doing that silly holding the tower up with one finger pose.
Read WorldWatcher's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image arry20
1 review
Sep 2016
Guide did not give any information, on pisa, it was rushed , and some of the group found it difficult to keep up.
Read arry20's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image princessd2016
1 review
Sep 2016
This our tour absolutely great, variety with a coach ride, boat tour along the river, small train ride into Pisa Tower and Cathedral area and then free time to view Baptistry, Cathedral and Tower on our own. Then back with an absolutely excellent guide.
Read princessd2016's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mlwqx
1 review
Aug 2016
We booked the Pisa City Sights - LV73 through the cruiseline. We found it interesting and entertaining. An hour drive on a motor coach, then a river cruise and trolley car to the city of Pisa.
Read mlwqx's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pete19808
1 review
Aug 2016
We were fearful of the 290 or so steps but they were surprisingly easier than expected. They were not too high or steep, and each step had a large landing. We are both age 70+ and made it work (with some breaks on the way up.) There were other buildings in the same location with great historical importance and they were spectactular. There is a 15 minute walk to and from the bus.
Read pete19808's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SKScruisin
1 review
Aug 2016
Pisa by trolley great for children, trolley ride rough but European streets are not smooth in historical areas...
Read SKScruisin's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jessicamoss1209@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
We got to go to Pisa, The baptistry and the cathedral. We had 30 mins of free time after the tour to explore Miracle Square.
Read jessicamoss1209@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 2pretty
2 reviews
Aug 2016
A perfect short excursion to see and hear about the leaning tower and very good guide who took very good care of us and pointed out many things along the drive. Surprised about the US military base. Rest stop was good. The 'singer' in the Basilica gave me goose bumps- the chamber echo was amazing.
Read 2pretty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image NoraV
1 review
Aug 2016
Great!
Read NoraV's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Joe Banana
Member Image Julz84
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Great tour guide, taken to destination by coach, transferred to boat and sailed into Pisa then onto road train to the leaning tower area. Thoroughly enjoyed it great experience.
Read Julz84's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image richmal123
1 review
Aug 2016
Coach to Pisa, then small train tour and visit to tower and church included, our guide David was great - liked the 'echo demonstration' in the baptistry.
Read richmal123's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Maz636
1 review
Aug 2016
Was ok-packed with people. 30 minutes is more than enough.
Read Maz636's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Happicruzrr
1 review
Aug 2016
Italy shore drivers... a perfect day in Pisa, Lucca and Tuscany wine tasting. Fantastic company
Read Happicruzrr's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Angie.zamma
1 review
Aug 2016
Very set up for tourist to take pictures of of the tower not much to see
Read Angie.zamma's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image BAKAT
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Essentially, the tour was the most convenient way to get to the center of Pisa (but for that, it was rather expensive). Instead, we could have taken a shuttle to the Livorno train station and continue on the Italian railway from there, but it would probably have taken more time. The tour as such in Pisa was "unspectacular" due to a somewhat not-so-motivated guide who had to struggle with an intercom system that was not working.
Read BAKAT's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mktravel
1 review
Jul 2016
Last min coach booked to drop us off and pick us up nothing else
Read mktravel's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sonrisa@C4
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Took the tour to Pisa using coach, trolley train and boat. It was good to take in the views while on the train which dropped off just outside the square with plenty of time to take in the sights before having a leisurely boat ride back to the coach.
Read sonrisa@C4's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image da-masterplan
1 review
Jul 2016
Leisurely trip with pleasant guide
Read da-masterplan's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image luluguiness72
2 reviews
Jul 2016
We had to pay to get from the boat to Livorno, had no choice. It was then a trek to Pisa and had a nightmare getting back.
Read luluguiness72's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gailey11
1 review
Jul 2016
Pisa is great! We went inside Pisa, right to the top, all 294 steps, my sons thought it was a brilliant day!! Great to say you have done it!
Read Gailey11's full TUI Discovery cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?