Florence (Livorno) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enough cannot be said about Florence, birthplace of the Italian Renaissance and home to many of the greatest artists of the era, from Michelangelo to Leonardo da Vinci. View the city through the eyes of a local as you explore its plethora of statues, cobblestone streets and world-famous landmarks.
Member Image Chars3011
1 review
Aug 2016
Nice
Read Chars3011's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gailee
1 review
Jul 2016
Fantastic guide made such a difference to Florence and Pizza tour- Laura from cruising excursions was great
Read Gailee's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image bostonshovel
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Picked up on time and had a full day seeing everything we needed.
Read bostonshovel's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Surreydeb
1 review
Jul 2016
Lovely visit. Guide was good and took us to a landmark we could easily find again before leaving us to explore this beautiful city on our own.
Read Surreydeb's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dws1968@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Great coach, air conditioned and on time. You are dropped off in Florence and told when to report back. Basic but good.
Read dws1968@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Annie62
1 review
Jul 2016
Great trip to Florence where we had five hours free time. Very knowledgeable guide who explained the best places to visit.
Read Annie62's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bdelahanty
1 review
Jul 2016
After the free Carnival shuttle to the parking lot, we were met with our guide- Chiara was excellent. Went to Pisa first with some 'own time'. Then to Florence - tour - own time for lunch - tour. They gave us water bottles and free gelatos too! Would highly recommend.
Read bdelahanty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image gk1972
1 review
Jul 2016
Long day but a beautiful experience
Read gk1972's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Shore excursions
Member Image reallyitchyfeet
1 review
Jun 2016
Train to Florence. OK
Read reallyitchyfeet's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image yyhay
1 review
Jun 2016
Took transportation, Florence is beautiful. Pisa leaning tower was okay.
Read yyhay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image EuropeanWanderer
1 review
Jun 2016
Nice way to see the sites. English audio guide included.
Read EuropeanWanderer's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Hop On
Member Image trvlgirlmq
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Unfortunately, we were in Florence on Monday when the main museums are closed. We made other plans but it turned out to also be Catholic holiday which closed Santa Croce and a Jewish holiday which closed the museum. We just wandered around, had lunch and gelato. The bus ride to and from was uneventful and overpriced.
Read trvlgirlmq's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image radar65
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Great Ride through Tuscany visit the Tower of Pisa. The excursion was wonderful, the guide was understandable, a bit funny, and the bus was clean and comfortable.
Read radar65's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image bobbie24
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Having been before we just used the cruise line as coach transport which was good. It is not easy to get there on your own. Florence is well worth the trip, there is so much to see
Read bobbie24's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cjo2232
1 review
May 2016
We had 3 hours free time to explore.
Read cjo2232's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Serendipity 007
1 review
May 2016
Visited vineyard first then Florence had a meal and walk about Visited Vinci on return instead of Pisa
Read Serendipity 007's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image ccfandango
1 review
Apr 2016
Good introduction to Florence by guide going in and returning on bus. Usual tourist stop at jewelry shop and souvenir shop and not particularly cheap. Gave a few hours free time to wander on your own and find nice spots to shop, eat, and sightsee. Spectacular cathedral, museum and old town and buildings, just great to sit in outdoor cafe with Italian coffee and watch Florence go by. Very touristy in parts and busy but prices at restaurants reasonable and food good. Generally flat and easy city to walk through but cobblestones in places.
Read ccfandango's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image My sea
1 review
Aug 2015
Impressive
Read My sea's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ali R
1 review
Aug 2015
Fantastic Guide (Laura) - very entertaining. Was a bit nervous about booking own tour - wished I had on all the other ports. Surprised at how many there were from our ship who did the same (approx. 2 coaches)
Read Ali R's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image lenny61
1 review
Jun 2015
excellent guide- Angelica. Lovely city
Read lenny61's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Topcatvalerie
1 review
Nov 2014

I booked this trip as it was cheaper than the same tour offered by NCL. We went from the ship on the shuttle to the outside of the port where we were picked up in mini buses and driven to Florence. We were taken to the Duomo and then given a time to be back there for the pick up. We had printed off a Walking tour from the internet and so we followed this route and viewed all the famous buildings. We did not have time to go inside the Duomo etc but we think that in a day, just seeing the main sights is adequate and the queues were long everywhere.

Read Topcatvalerie's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image daisy's mom
1 review
Jul 2014

Most tours to Florence from the ship are on your own and I think it is because esp. during the summer it is hot and crowded and organized tours don't seem to get to skip the lines. The rowboat ride was kind of goofy. It was spartan and was pushed along the Arno River with sticks, much like a gondola but the pilot did not narrate anything so it was kind of pointless but did make for some photo ops. If you want to get into any of the museums call to reserve a time or book online because the lines for people without reservations were unreal. We didn't even attempt it. The tour bus got there at about ten and we had to meet back at four so pick your hour accordingly. Thought we were in line to see the Duomo (which was free) but no that line was unreal. Turns out we were in line to buy a combo ticket(10 euros pp) to the Duomo museum (which wound up being closed til 2015, the Bapistry, and Duomo tower which weren't open that day( Sunday). The only thing we could use that ticket for was another tower that had 414 dark, hot narrow, winding steps with no handrail. We gave the unused portion of the tickets to a family that would be there the next day. There is one ship's tour that was partially guided but was about $20 more that you may want to consider. Florence is just crazy in on a hot summer weekend. Tip: Prices for the tours go up a few dollars the closer to the voyage date and can get sold out but if you book in advance thru the voyage personalized you can't use your shipboard credit to pay for them

Read daisy's mom's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image bharrelslp
3 reviews
Jun 2014

Our tour guide Danielle was wonderful and very accommodating for my mobility problems. I can walk but not for long, long ways without resting. We were dropped off several blocks from Santa Croce Church and that was our meeting place to return to the bus which again was quite a long ways away. He arranged for a taxi to take me to bus. While in Florence we went to all the places of interest including the Duomo and other piazzas etc. ate lunch at the same outdoor café we ate in 12 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed our day. We bought several leather items and clothing.

Read bharrelslp's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image marybethhuebner
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Went to the Medicis Chapel and loved it. Not crowded so you could get a sense of the majesty of it all. Additionally went to Santa Croce and loved the history there.

Read marybethhuebner's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image shapatack0
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

We took an excursion that dropped us off and picked us up from the City Center. Unfortunately for us the day that we were in Florence was the day that most of the museums were closed, but we still found it a fun city to walk around in and explore.

Read shapatack0's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?