Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Florence (Livorno) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enough cannot be said about Florence, birthplace of the Italian Renaissance and home to many of the greatest artists of the era, from Michelangelo to Leonardo da Vinci. View the city through the eyes of a local as you explore its plethora of statues, cobblestone streets and world-famous landmarks.
Member Image My sea
1 review
Aug 2015
Impressive
Read My sea's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ali R
1 review
Aug 2015
Fantastic Guide (Laura) - very entertaining. Was a bit nervous about booking own tour - wished I had on all the other ports. Surprised at how many there were from our ship who did the same (approx. 2 coaches)
Read Ali R's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image lenny61
1 review
Jun 2015
excellent guide- Angelica. Lovely city
Read lenny61's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Topcatvalerie
1 review
Nov 2014

I booked this trip as it was cheaper than the same tour offered by NCL. We went from the ship on the shuttle to the outside of the port where we were picked up in mini buses and driven to Florence. We were taken to the Duomo and then given a time to be back there for the pick up. We had printed off a Walking tour from the internet and so we followed this route and viewed all the famous buildings. We did not have time to go inside the Duomo etc but we think that in a day, just seeing the main sights is adequate and the queues were long everywhere.

Read Topcatvalerie's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image daisy's mom
1 review
Jul 2014

Most tours to Florence from the ship are on your own and I think it is because esp. during the summer it is hot and crowded and organized tours don't seem to get to skip the lines. The rowboat ride was kind of goofy. It was spartan and was pushed along the Arno River with sticks, much like a gondola but the pilot did not narrate anything so it was kind of pointless but did make for some photo ops. If you want to get into any of the museums call to reserve a time or book online because the lines for people without reservations were unreal. We didn't even attempt it. The tour bus got there at about ten and we had to meet back at four so pick your hour accordingly. Thought we were in line to see the Duomo (which was free) but no that line was unreal. Turns out we were in line to buy a combo ticket(10 euros pp) to the Duomo museum (which wound up being closed til 2015, the Bapistry, and Duomo tower which weren't open that day( Sunday). The only thing we could use that ticket for was another tower that had 414 dark, hot narrow, winding steps with no handrail. We gave the unused portion of the tickets to a family that would be there the next day. There is one ship's tour that was partially guided but was about $20 more that you may want to consider. Florence is just crazy in on a hot summer weekend. Tip: Prices for the tours go up a few dollars the closer to the voyage date and can get sold out but if you book in advance thru the voyage personalized you can't use your shipboard credit to pay for them

Read daisy's mom's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image bharrelslp
3 reviews
Jun 2014

Our tour guide Danielle was wonderful and very accommodating for my mobility problems. I can walk but not for long, long ways without resting. We were dropped off several blocks from Santa Croce Church and that was our meeting place to return to the bus which again was quite a long ways away. He arranged for a taxi to take me to bus. While in Florence we went to all the places of interest including the Duomo and other piazzas etc. ate lunch at the same outdoor café we ate in 12 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed our day. We bought several leather items and clothing.

Read bharrelslp's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image marybethhuebner
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Went to the Medicis Chapel and loved it. Not crowded so you could get a sense of the majesty of it all. Additionally went to Santa Croce and loved the history there.

Read marybethhuebner's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image shapatack0
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

We took an excursion that dropped us off and picked us up from the City Center. Unfortunately for us the day that we were in Florence was the day that most of the museums were closed, but we still found it a fun city to walk around in and explore.

Read shapatack0's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruzgryphon
1 review
Sep 2013

Good tour - all day see the major sights of Florence.

Read cruzgryphon's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dwstutt
1 review
Sep 2013

Very expensive. 420 euros for the taxi/day split it 7 ways. Pisa is nice. Great shopping in Florence, if you're into that. Florence is a beautiful city.

Read dwstutt's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lambo89
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013
Read lambo89's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JohnD67
1 review
Jul 2013

great guide. Going back

Read JohnD67's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sunshinefl221
2 reviews
Jul 2013

We used Roberto Brunetti's Limousinrome for this (and the next two ports). The level of informality in making the reservations with Roberto surprised me. No deposit, just his promise that they will be waiting for us on the dock. They were there, each of the days, with my name spelled differently each time. I also wanted a more formal itinerary but pretty much only got lists of "possible sites." The four 20 year olds with us, took the train to Florence. They made arrangement s through a site called Accidental Tourist. They went to a farmhouse and made and ate ravioli. So since we had the vehicle booked, I found a family of three to join us. We did take them off their normal itinerary. Alberto was our guide. The vehicle was ok, but the next two days were nicer and Alberto provided water where the other drivers did not. We make the obligatory stop in Pisa, although we all said we could skip it. We then went to Florence and saw a nice overview of the city. Then we had reserved tickets at the Academic Museum. (I would have been just as happy seeing the replica of the David which is in an outdoor park.) We met relatives of our new friends for lunch. That was fun - we then walked to Basilica of San Lorenzo and Alberto picked us up and we went to the Synagogue. I had requested this stop in advance but I'm not sure Alberto knew this. He was the best of the three guides from this company and he communicated well, etc.

Dom;t miss the museum on the upper floor of the synagogue

Read sunshinefl221's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Limousinrome
Member Image joanieg1
3 reviews
Jun 2013

Lots of time to shop and eat a wonderful lunch in Florence. Friendly guide and a perfect day. Spent a lot of $!

Read joanieg1's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image wannaberetired
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Too rushed - not enough time in each town. However, highly recommend seeing these towns - they are absolutely beautiful! Livorno Port is very industrial - not pretty at all.
Read wannaberetired's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image optiman32
3 reviews
Sep 2012
We booked private transport to Pisa and then onto Florence through Roman Odyssey. They were professional and exceeded all my expectations, would use them again
Read optiman32's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Roman Odyssey
Member Image tnacruisers
1 review
Sep 2012
Our next 3 tours in Italy were organized by SaraMac, who is a powerhouse organizer and got 54 passengers on 3 days of tours with Joe Banana Limo Services in Florence/Pisa, Rome and Pompeii/Almafi Coast/Sorrento. Our first day in Pisa/Florence was great thanks to SaraMac taking us to a 2nd generation 32 year old Italian restaurant called Il Profeta (meaning it's perfect, which it was!) that literally had a rose sauce that brought a tear to my wife's eye! No joke! This was the highlight of my wife's trip and we will always have SaraMac to thank for this unforgettable meal! Unfortunately the tour guide on this first day was the weakest of our trip, and there were quite a few awkward silent moments rather than helpful tour guide info.
Read tnacruisers's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Joe Banana Limo
Member Image Katie Starlight
1 review
Sep 2012
We booked an independently through Shoreexcursionsinitaly.net and were very happy with them. We wanted to pamper our mom and thought we would see more with a private van tour. They were great. We saw the beautiful Cathedral and the Ponte Vecchio and shopped at the Leather Market. We did a lot of shopping at the leather market.
Read Katie Starlight's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mini Urga
1 review
Aug 2012

Rudy used his Associate Guido who took us to Pisa & Florence in his air-con mini van. we booked him from 8-5pm. He showed us lots of interesting places and again never had to queue to see the sights likethe leather museum in the old church in Florence etc. We had plenty of time for anice lunch in a recommended restaurant, shopping and plenty of photos. Again pre-booked privately and well worth it with having to kids as we didnt have to do too much walking.

Read Mini Urga's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rudy @ Rome Car Tours
Member Image GURL RCR
1 review
Aug 2012

1 hr bus ride up the coast to towns of Lerici and Portovenere, where the poets Byron and Shelley lived. Shelley actually died in a shipwreck off the coast. The tour guide was great, the towns picturesque, we got a ferry ride across the bay from one to the other, the weather cooperated, we had the perfect amount of time in each place and were given a very tasty lunch in Lerici. Awesome !

Read GURL RCR's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image CruisingSoCalSusan
1 review
Aug 2012
Florence and Tuscany (San Gimignano). Magical. I want to retire there!
Read CruisingSoCalSusan's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Rome In Limo
Member Image Scottish Cruiser
1 review
Aug 2012
We took a ship's tour to Florence and the giuide was good, but had a speaker system which was crackly and inadequate, especially with so many other tourists and tour groups around us. We did see teh essentials and had time to wander on our own
Read Scottish Cruiser's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fabnfortysomething
9 reviews
Jul 2012
fantastic tour of Pisa and Florence with Teresa
Read fabnfortysomething's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: rome-car -tours
Member Image Wallis7219
reviews
Jun 2012
Florence is a stunning city. Glad we had been before as we thought the tour guide was not too great
Read Wallis7219's full cruise review
Provider: Pleasent tours
Member Image rwandmw
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Excellent private tour of Pisa and Florence!
Read rwandmw's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: RomeCabs

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.