Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Florence (Livorno) Cinque Terre Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Cinque Terre cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A scenic drive from Florence is Cinque Terre, or “Five Lands,” a collection of villages along the rugged portion of the Italian Riviera coast offering opportunities for shopping, beaching, hiking and more.
Member Image Hermann Cruiser
1 review
Jun 2016
Great excursion with beutifull scenery and small villages. Our tourguide was especially great!
Read Hermann Cruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DisLauraT
1 review
Jun 2016
Beautiful place! Too expensive.
Read DisLauraT's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bazzaazzab
2 reviews
May 2016
We did the Coast of Cinque Terre and Portovenere, the boat ride was fabulous with many great photo opportunities and Portovenere worth the visit, in fact we could have spent a few days in this area as it is really unique in history, quaint a clean town with many, many photo opportunities. Walk brisk so you can get to the top of the hill to see the church, walk around the walled cliffs going onto the built walkways but be careful as it is slippy and then walk the upper part of town before returning to the waterfront but then walk the length of the waterfront so that you do not miss anything, we really enjoyed this small town.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BigLil
4 reviews
May 2016
We didn't see very much on this trip as, due to bad weather, the boat trip was cancelled and we travelled by train instead. It rained all the time and we were pretty miserable. This would have been a good trip in better weather.
Read BigLil's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kmptamale72
1 review
May 2016
One of my favorite excursions. Our tour guide Andre was awesome! We got to walk around the first town Portovenere right on the coast. There was a church up on the cliff and the views were incredible! Then we boarded a ferry boat and rode along the coast. The views from the water were so breathtaking! We ended up in Monterosso. We strolled through the quaint town, shopped and had a delicious lunch.
Read Kmptamale72's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 1jackpot1
1 review
May 2016
nice
Read 1jackpot1's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image WGPearson
1 review
May 2016
As we were some distance from the Cinque terre we decided to use the ship's excursion system and was not disappointed. Well organised, saw a good section of the area.
Read WGPearson's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Mighty Joe
2 reviews
May 2016
Did Florence before. Wanted to see something else. Very beautiful. Rough weather prevented us form taking the boat ride to see the most scenic of the villages.
Read Mighty Joe's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bobilonia
1 review
Apr 2016
Prior to leaving Miami, we booked a private van for 4 with Private Tour in Italy . Jacopo was our driver. He was very personable, very accommodating and exceptionally informative, He allowed us to modify our itinerary at will. At the end, he informed us that we had enough time to take in Pisa's tower before returning to the ship. Excellent company! Outstanding driver!
Read Bobilonia's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Private Tour in Italy
Member Image Dexysgirl
1 review
Mar 2016
Very long trip and nice to see but you couldn't compare it to The Amalfi Coast.
Read Dexysgirl's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AnneOttawa
1 review
Oct 2015
We booked this trip with the cruise line as it was further (about 1.5 hrs) and more difficult to get to on your own. No regrets. Andrea our tour guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour, had us engaged even while on the bus to Portovenere which we visited briefly and then made our way by ferry to Montorosso which was the largest and furthest village. It was great by boat as you could see the other villages by boat and the trip was beautiful. Had a tour of Montorosso and they had some free time. Beautiful village and had my share of gelato (crema is my fav!). Picked up some fresh pesto to use while in Barcelona during our post cruise stay as well as some olive oil and pasta.
Read AnneOttawa's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image travrend
2 reviews
Oct 2015
This trip could have been amazing, the 5 towns are beautiful even on a dull day. The plan was to drive from the port to Corniglia ? I think this is how little information Leonardo gave us. Then catch the train to each of the towns but with the option of walking one of the sections. We were not told any plan on the day, no explanation of the train system at a substantial extra cost 32 euros for a couple. The walking boots that we had especially brought from home were left in the vehicle unused due to poor communication on arrival. The trains were crowded so the 9 of couldn't possibly board together & if we hadn't asked we wouldn't have known where to disembark. No warning was given of the young girls that apparently routinely work this route robbing purses mobles etc which we actually witnessed. At the destinations there was absolutely no explanation of which direction to go for the best views, where to eat etc. Leonardo spoke to only the lady who had booked the tour & had no interest in the rest of us whatsoever. Cinque terre is beautiful, very steep, very crowded. However if you book with ToursByLocals do not use Leonardo, he got a lot of money for doing nothing much more than driving us there, with commentary about the farmland etc to be fair, and hopping in the train while texting & messaging and ignoring us.
Read travrend's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: ToursByLocals
Member Image Shawsy
1 review
Sep 2015
Despite the best efforts of a wonderful guide Libera who deserves full marks and probably a promotion, this tour could have been better. Cinque Terre is no longer an undiscovered gem, and cannot handle the volume of visitors on a daily basis.
Read Shawsy's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lee/Cy
1 review
Sep 2015
Had to make a last minute change to NCL cruise when guide couldn't arrive because the road had been closed. Loved the boat taxi to each of the villages. Stunning views. Guide was not helpful and didn't provide essential information about the struggles to find a place to eat. Again, too rushed but memorable.
Read Lee/Cy's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Prestige Rent
Member Image foxtraveler
7 reviews
Aug 2015
We docked at La Spezia, Italy – After reading reviews of Florence, Pisa and various ways of getting to Cinque Terre, we opted to hire a private boat to take us to Cinque Terre. Our captain, Diego (Fish & Chill) treated us to an amazing day in his beautiful 37’ boat, seeing the villages from the water and avoiding long lines at the train station. I highly recommend him! We had some rough water, but still had a blast. We visited Porto Venere, Vernazza and Monterroso – all lovely villages and enjoyed a swim in the Med! Diego’s mom had prepared a delicious lunch of salami and cheese, veggie kish, stuffed vegetables, focaccia with pesto and stracchino, wine & limoncello (homemade). YUM! This day was the highlight of our entire trip!
Read foxtraveler's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Fish and Chill
Member Image GlobalGibgirl
2 reviews
Aug 2015
worth doing…and good value. Saw some amazing villages and streets carved out of the rock faces…quite unique. Well worth visiting.
Read GlobalGibgirl's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Corinne2012
1 review
Aug 2015
Just great- well organized-knowledgeable guide-great venue-would highly recommend it if this interest you
Read Corinne2012's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruiserpm5
1 review
Jul 2015
Started off intending to go to Pisa, and met a few people who recommended Cinque Terre but unsure as we hadn't researched it. Arrived at station around 10.35 (after a fight for taxis in the taxi like as there is no such thing as a queue!). The line for manned counters was 1 hr long and the ticket machines in the foyer (4 machines in total) had a line of 45 mins each! Missed the train to Pisa so hat meant we wouldnt get there until 1.45pm on next one so decided to go to Cinque Terre - bought a ticket to Monterosso return, stopped at Riomaggioro, Monterosso (beach time and lunch by the sea) and a quick stopover at Vernanza (gorgeous but crowded at 4pm!) Total cost with lunch for 4 around 100 euros - and so much more enjoyable than a coach / taxi tour with 45 other people.
Read cruiserpm5's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Treitalia
Member Image Frank C.
1 review
Jul 2015
Beautiful scenery -- and some wonderful country side -- but the best part was our Tour Guide -- Luca -- a terrific guide -- so personable and knowledgeable. The towns we visited were great and beautiful. A wonderful tour.
Read Frank C.'s full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Georgia_Peaches
3 reviews
Jul 2015
We did this on our own. We caught the train to the 5 villages and spent some time on the walking trail. I do not recommend the walking trail unless you are in excellent physical condition as it was very challenging, especially in 100 degree heat.
Read Georgia_Peaches's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AmyNC
1 review
Jul 2015
This tour for 8 picks you up at the port, and you start in Portovenere, ( not on the ship's itinerary so quieter)... the guide walks us through some of the highlights. We then went to 3 of the Cinque terre towns, dropped off by the driver in Manarola at the top. We walked down to the beach, and took the ferry to Vernazza, and then the train to Monterroso. We had decided to spend most of our time here, and rather wish we had spent more time in Portovenere, as it was much less crowded and seemed a bit less touristy. A lot will depend on timing, as the trains and ferries have inconsistent schedules. Also, while we think the whole area is amazing if one has never been here, it has become much more touristy than when we were here in 2007. Food also more money and not as good. But the villages still amazing to see. Note: lots of hills and steps.
Read AmyNC's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italy Shore Drivers
Member Image PaulB
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Almost everyone on the ship goes to Pisa and or Florence but we did the Cinque Terre tour. It was great but a warning. It is rated as a level 2 tour but it was not. This was the most physically grueling tour of the trip. You take a 50 minute bus ride to the first town, and then walk down a steep hill to the small town. We waited 40 minutes to go down some very rock, narrow and dangerous steps to get to a boat. If you have trouble walking, standing, waiting don’t go on this tour. These steps etc… were bad. There were 2 tours from our ship and someone on the other Spirit tour had a heart attack and others had to drop out. So a short boat ride to another town and spent around 2 hours there, cue up and take another boat ride to another town where you have 30 minutes to walk to the train station there where we waited 27 minutes for a train which then went 4 stops to meet the busses but the busses weren’t where they were supposed to be. The whole trip was a mess, we lost tour guides because of the heart attack but I am glad I did it. Some great photos but I won’t be doing it again and if you have physical limitations, don’t do this tour at all.
Read PaulB's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sdt523
1 review
Jun 2015
This was an excellent tour. Lovely and relaxing!
Read Sdt523's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coulditbemagic
1 review
Jun 2015
Lovely trip to 3 of the villages along the coast line and worth a visit
Read coulditbemagic's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kccruiser111
1 review
Jun 2015
Great day on a Catamaran with snorkeling and swimming included on the way to Porto Venterre and stopped on the way back for a swim to a cave.
Read kccruiser111's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Don't recall

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.