Florence (Livorno) Cinque Terre Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Cinque Terre cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A scenic drive from Florence is Cinque Terre, or “Five Lands,” a collection of villages along the rugged portion of the Italian Riviera coast offering opportunities for shopping, beaching, hiking and more.
Member Image peachymom
1 review
Aug 2016
Loved our tour guide, Cece. Bumpy ferry ride and then jammed on a train to get back to the bus, but it was a great adventure.
Read peachymom's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SharonL01
1 review
Jul 2016
Had a fabulous day visiting Cinque Terre. RC provides a 5 minute shuttle to terminal. Picked up a Taxi who took us to train station (15 minutes/15 Euro). Bought train tickets via the ATM (can select English) to Monterosso. 20 minute train ride and then met Diego (Fish and Chill) at the dock. Spent 4 hours with him on his beautiful boat. He gave us a tour of Cinque Terre; anchored for a bit so we could swim in the Sea; brought my son and husband to a spot where they could cliff jump (cell phone in pocket was major casualty here; served a lovely Mediterranean lunch; and brought us back to Monterosso. Purchased return tickets on train around 3:45 pm, which was crowded, but since it was first stop, still had room. We ended walking back to ship from train station. Easy 20 minute walk which is down hill and well signed. Brought us through a fun shopping area, but we were wiped out, so headed straight back to ship. Such a great day. Highly recommend Diego and Fish and Chill.
Read SharonL01's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Fish and Chill
Member Image Tyme4atrip
1 review
Jul 2016
lots or plane, trains and automobiles (actually a LONG bus ride, followed by a LONG boat ride to the villages, followed by a train ride back to the bus). That said, our guide was terrific and we totally enjoyed the day!
Read Tyme4atrip's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cayman46
1 review
Jul 2016
Amazing day on a small boat from Monterosso
Read Cayman46's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Fish & Chill
Member Image French Gal
1 review
Jul 2016
Beautiful but very physically demanding for 70+ years old, going up and down slippery rocky stairs and steps.
Read French Gal's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image johnj54321
1 review
Jul 2016
Ship docked too far away from Florence. So the only real option was Cinque Terre which was a lovely city but we would have preferred to go to Florence.
Read johnj54321's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image YumPo
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Our guide was interesting and informative. Portevenere and Cinque Terre were great and the views were stunning. The boat ride was too crowded but it was nice to stop in Monterosso and have lunch. The short walk and rain ride were interesting.
Read YumPo's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pmmlsf
1 review
Jul 2016
We purchased train tickets and stopped in Vernazza, Corniglia and Manarola. These are beautful towns worth seeing!
Read Pmmlsf's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Self Tour
Member Image PaulDonohue
1 review
Jul 2016
Very busy towns but very picturesque
Read PaulDonohue's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Hermann Cruiser
1 review
Jun 2016
Great excursion with beutifull scenery and small villages. Our tourguide was especially great!
Read Hermann Cruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mswoody50
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Was unable to boat cruise because of high winds.
Read mswoody50's full Sirena cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Beachwalker5
1 review
Jun 2016
Our Coast of Cinque Terre & Portovenere excursion was outstanding and our tour guide was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed Portovenere, the boat ride to view Cinque Terre and our time in Monterosso al Mare. Definitely recommend this excursion.
Read Beachwalker5's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DisLauraT
1 review
Jun 2016
Beautiful place! Too expensive.
Read DisLauraT's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bazzaazzab
2 reviews
May 2016
We did the Coast of Cinque Terre and Portovenere, the boat ride was fabulous with many great photo opportunities and Portovenere worth the visit, in fact we could have spent a few days in this area as it is really unique in history, quaint a clean town with many, many photo opportunities. Walk brisk so you can get to the top of the hill to see the church, walk around the walled cliffs going onto the built walkways but be careful as it is slippy and then walk the upper part of town before returning to the waterfront but then walk the length of the waterfront so that you do not miss anything, we really enjoyed this small town.
Read bazzaazzab's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BigLil
4 reviews
May 2016
We didn't see very much on this trip as, due to bad weather, the boat trip was cancelled and we travelled by train instead. It rained all the time and we were pretty miserable. This would have been a good trip in better weather.
Read BigLil's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kmptamale72
1 review
May 2016
One of my favorite excursions. Our tour guide Andre was awesome! We got to walk around the first town Portovenere right on the coast. There was a church up on the cliff and the views were incredible! Then we boarded a ferry boat and rode along the coast. The views from the water were so breathtaking! We ended up in Monterosso. We strolled through the quaint town, shopped and had a delicious lunch.
Read Kmptamale72's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 1jackpot1
1 review
May 2016
nice
Read 1jackpot1's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image WGPearson
1 review
May 2016
As we were some distance from the Cinque terre we decided to use the ship's excursion system and was not disappointed. Well organised, saw a good section of the area.
Read WGPearson's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Mighty Joe
2 reviews
May 2016
Did Florence before. Wanted to see something else. Very beautiful. Rough weather prevented us form taking the boat ride to see the most scenic of the villages.
Read Mighty Joe's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bobilonia
1 review
Apr 2016
Prior to leaving Miami, we booked a private van for 4 with Private Tour in Italy . Jacopo was our driver. He was very personable, very accommodating and exceptionally informative, He allowed us to modify our itinerary at will. At the end, he informed us that we had enough time to take in Pisa's tower before returning to the ship. Excellent company! Outstanding driver!
Read Bobilonia's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Private Tour in Italy
Member Image Dexysgirl
1 review
Mar 2016
Very long trip and nice to see but you couldn't compare it to The Amalfi Coast.
Read Dexysgirl's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AnneOttawa
1 review
Oct 2015
We booked this trip with the cruise line as it was further (about 1.5 hrs) and more difficult to get to on your own. No regrets. Andrea our tour guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour, had us engaged even while on the bus to Portovenere which we visited briefly and then made our way by ferry to Montorosso which was the largest and furthest village. It was great by boat as you could see the other villages by boat and the trip was beautiful. Had a tour of Montorosso and they had some free time. Beautiful village and had my share of gelato (crema is my fav!). Picked up some fresh pesto to use while in Barcelona during our post cruise stay as well as some olive oil and pasta.
Read AnneOttawa's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image travrend
2 reviews
Oct 2015
This trip could have been amazing, the 5 towns are beautiful even on a dull day. The plan was to drive from the port to Corniglia ? I think this is how little information Leonardo gave us. Then catch the train to each of the towns but with the option of walking one of the sections. We were not told any plan on the day, no explanation of the train system at a substantial extra cost 32 euros for a couple. The walking boots that we had especially brought from home were left in the vehicle unused due to poor communication on arrival. The trains were crowded so the 9 of couldn't possibly board together & if we hadn't asked we wouldn't have known where to disembark. No warning was given of the young girls that apparently routinely work this route robbing purses mobles etc which we actually witnessed. At the destinations there was absolutely no explanation of which direction to go for the best views, where to eat etc. Leonardo spoke to only the lady who had booked the tour & had no interest in the rest of us whatsoever. Cinque terre is beautiful, very steep, very crowded. However if you book with ToursByLocals do not use Leonardo, he got a lot of money for doing nothing much more than driving us there, with commentary about the farmland etc to be fair, and hopping in the train while texting & messaging and ignoring us.
Read travrend's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: ToursByLocals
Member Image Shawsy
1 review
Sep 2015
Despite the best efforts of a wonderful guide Libera who deserves full marks and probably a promotion, this tour could have been better. Cinque Terre is no longer an undiscovered gem, and cannot handle the volume of visitors on a daily basis.
Read Shawsy's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lee/Cy
1 review
Sep 2015
Had to make a last minute change to NCL cruise when guide couldn't arrive because the road had been closed. Loved the boat taxi to each of the villages. Stunning views. Guide was not helpful and didn't provide essential information about the struggles to find a place to eat. Again, too rushed but memorable.
Read Lee/Cy's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Prestige Rent

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?