Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Florence (Livorno) Cinque Terre Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Cinque Terre cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A scenic drive from Florence is Cinque Terre, or “Five Lands,” a collection of villages along the rugged portion of the Italian Riviera coast offering opportunities for shopping, beaching, hiking and more.
Member Image Kmptamale72
1 review
May 2016
One of my favorite excursions. Our tour guide Andre was awesome! We got to walk around the first town Portovenere right on the coast. There was a church up on the cliff and the views were incredible! Then we boarded a ferry boat and rode along the coast. The views from the water were so breathtaking! We ended up in Monterosso. We strolled through the quaint town, shopped and had a delicious lunch.
Read Kmptamale72's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image WGPearson
1 review
May 2016
As we were some distance from the Cinque terre we decided to use the ship's excursion system and was not disappointed. Well organised, saw a good section of the area.
Read WGPearson's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image AnneOttawa
1 review
Oct 2015
We booked this trip with the cruise line as it was further (about 1.5 hrs) and more difficult to get to on your own. No regrets. Andrea our tour guide was very knowledgable and had a great sense of humour, had us engaged even while on the bus to Portovenere which we visited briefly and then made our way by ferry to Montorosso which was the largest and furthest village. It was great by boat as you could see the other villages by boat and the trip was beautiful. Had a tour of Montorosso and they had some free time. Beautiful village and had my share of gelato (crema is my fav!). Picked up some fresh pesto to use while in Barcelona during our post cruise stay as well as some olive oil and pasta.
Read AnneOttawa's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Shawsy
1 review
Sep 2015
Despite the best efforts of a wonderful guide Libera who deserves full marks and probably a promotion, this tour could have been better. Cinque Terre is no longer an undiscovered gem, and cannot handle the volume of visitors on a daily basis.
Read Shawsy's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lee/Cy
1 review
Sep 2015
Had to make a last minute change to NCL cruise when guide couldn't arrive because the road had been closed. Loved the boat taxi to each of the villages. Stunning views. Guide was not helpful and didn't provide essential information about the struggles to find a place to eat. Again, too rushed but memorable.
Read Lee/Cy's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Prestige Rent
Member Image foxtraveler
7 reviews
Aug 2015
We docked at La Spezia, Italy – After reading reviews of Florence, Pisa and various ways of getting to Cinque Terre, we opted to hire a private boat to take us to Cinque Terre. Our captain, Diego (Fish & Chill) treated us to an amazing day in his beautiful 37’ boat, seeing the villages from the water and avoiding long lines at the train station. I highly recommend him! We had some rough water, but still had a blast. We visited Porto Venere, Vernazza and Monterroso – all lovely villages and enjoyed a swim in the Med! Diego’s mom had prepared a delicious lunch of salami and cheese, veggie kish, stuffed vegetables, focaccia with pesto and stracchino, wine & limoncello (homemade). YUM! This day was the highlight of our entire trip!
Read foxtraveler's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Fish and Chill
Member Image GlobalGibgirl
2 reviews
Aug 2015
worth doing…and good value. Saw some amazing villages and streets carved out of the rock faces…quite unique. Well worth visiting.
Read GlobalGibgirl's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Corinne2012
1 review
Aug 2015
Just great- well organized-knowledgeable guide-great venue-would highly recommend it if this interest you
Read Corinne2012's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruiserpm5
1 review
Jul 2015
Started off intending to go to Pisa, and met a few people who recommended Cinque Terre but unsure as we hadn't researched it. Arrived at station around 10.35 (after a fight for taxis in the taxi like as there is no such thing as a queue!). The line for manned counters was 1 hr long and the ticket machines in the foyer (4 machines in total) had a line of 45 mins each! Missed the train to Pisa so hat meant we wouldnt get there until 1.45pm on next one so decided to go to Cinque Terre - bought a ticket to Monterosso return, stopped at Riomaggioro, Monterosso (beach time and lunch by the sea) and a quick stopover at Vernanza (gorgeous but crowded at 4pm!) Total cost with lunch for 4 around 100 euros - and so much more enjoyable than a coach / taxi tour with 45 other people.
Read cruiserpm5's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Treitalia
Member Image Frank C.
1 review
Jul 2015
Beautiful scenery -- and some wonderful country side -- but the best part was our Tour Guide -- Luca -- a terrific guide -- so personable and knowledgeable. The towns we visited were great and beautiful. A wonderful tour.
Read Frank C.'s full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Georgia_Peaches
3 reviews
Jul 2015
We did this on our own. We caught the train to the 5 villages and spent some time on the walking trail. I do not recommend the walking trail unless you are in excellent physical condition as it was very challenging, especially in 100 degree heat.
Read Georgia_Peaches's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AmyNC
1 review
Jul 2015
This tour for 8 picks you up at the port, and you start in Portovenere, ( not on the ship's itinerary so quieter)... the guide walks us through some of the highlights. We then went to 3 of the Cinque terre towns, dropped off by the driver in Manarola at the top. We walked down to the beach, and took the ferry to Vernazza, and then the train to Monterroso. We had decided to spend most of our time here, and rather wish we had spent more time in Portovenere, as it was much less crowded and seemed a bit less touristy. A lot will depend on timing, as the trains and ferries have inconsistent schedules. Also, while we think the whole area is amazing if one has never been here, it has become much more touristy than when we were here in 2007. Food also more money and not as good. But the villages still amazing to see. Note: lots of hills and steps.
Read AmyNC's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italy Shore Drivers
Member Image PaulB
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Almost everyone on the ship goes to Pisa and or Florence but we did the Cinque Terre tour. It was great but a warning. It is rated as a level 2 tour but it was not. This was the most physically grueling tour of the trip. You take a 50 minute bus ride to the first town, and then walk down a steep hill to the small town. We waited 40 minutes to go down some very rock, narrow and dangerous steps to get to a boat. If you have trouble walking, standing, waiting don’t go on this tour. These steps etc… were bad. There were 2 tours from our ship and someone on the other Spirit tour had a heart attack and others had to drop out. So a short boat ride to another town and spent around 2 hours there, cue up and take another boat ride to another town where you have 30 minutes to walk to the train station there where we waited 27 minutes for a train which then went 4 stops to meet the busses but the busses weren’t where they were supposed to be. The whole trip was a mess, we lost tour guides because of the heart attack but I am glad I did it. Some great photos but I won’t be doing it again and if you have physical limitations, don’t do this tour at all.
Read PaulB's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sdt523
1 review
Jun 2015
This was an excellent tour. Lovely and relaxing!
Read Sdt523's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coulditbemagic
1 review
Jun 2015
Lovely trip to 3 of the villages along the coast line and worth a visit
Read coulditbemagic's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kccruiser111
1 review
Jun 2015
Great day on a Catamaran with snorkeling and swimming included on the way to Porto Venterre and stopped on the way back for a swim to a cave.
Read kccruiser111's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Don't recall
Member Image Jersey platypus
1 review
Jun 2015
Beautiful area, but so crowded and hot. Tempers flared slightly between some which spoilt it a bit.
Read Jersey platypus's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shayv01
3 reviews
May 2015
Amazing excursion because the villages are amazing. We took a shuttle bus to the 1st village, then trains to each of the other villages. The were beautiful and the tour allowed short breaks to pick up souvenirs or take pictures.
Read shayv01's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image skipcramer
3 reviews
May 2015
The guide makes the difference on these tours but it is a roll of the dice who or what you will get. We had a winner. Very well informed guide kept the information flowing throughout this tour. The weather was not ideal and we were unable to do the boat excursions between Cinque Terre towns but it was still worth it. My only complaint was the useless stop at a shopping mall on the return trip. At least we got a free wine-tasting.
Read skipcramer's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sherib71
1 review
Apr 2015
Awesome experience beautiful place excellent tour guide
Read Sherib71's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cfinley
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Loved, loved, loved Cinque Terre! It was really hard to not go to Florence since we've been there before and love it so much, but seeing Cinque Terre was worth the trade off!! Such an interesting area! Great tour!!

Read cfinley's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruiser1812
1 review
Aug 2014

Much too ambitious an excursion from this port. It was 1 1/2 hr each way, and then, three trains to catch in villages. We spent as long waiting for trains in first two villages as we did being there. We
waited under blistering sun for 30 mins in first village, and then after almost the same amount of time in 2nd village, we had to run to a different track. In last station, we managed to catch the 2:30 train at 3:30. Once we arrived in a village, the rest of the time seemed to be spent in making sure we got back to the train in time. I never relaxed, and certainly, never stopped "to smell the roses".
And, I never got or even saw that iconic Cinque Terre photo so common on travel websites.

Read cruiser1812's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image laqueviaja
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

We docked at La Spezia. We walked from the port to La Spezia Centrale Train Station. There is an information both at the port where you can get a map. It takes around 30 minutes to walk to the train station- despite the fact that at the port we were told it takes 15 minutes. The station is quite chaotic and small. If going to Cinque Terre, find the Cinque Terre information office. When we went, it was located by the platform where the trains depart. So, do not stand in the long queue, walk toward the trains and hopefully you will find it. Buy your Cinque Terre card, which allows you travel on the trains, and buses. Ensure that you validate your card at each station. Even if you have your card, but it's not validated, you may get fined. We only visited two of the towns due to time restrictions, but will return. We had a lovely lunch at Food and Sea in Corniglia. I would definitely recommend visiting and it is easy to do it on your own. Mind you, there is lots of uphill walking, so not for the faint of heart, in wheelchairs, or otherwise impaired.

Read laqueviaja's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sonvoltken6
8 reviews
May 2014

So we loved Cinque Terre - absolutely worth seeing. Our tour however was crowded and chaotic. The walking path was closed and the boats weren't running, so we had to take the train from village to village. Us and thousands of our closest friends (and pickpockets). We loved CT and would love to go back on our own schedule.

Read sonvoltken6's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bbkcruiser
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

An amazing place to visit.

Read bbkcruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.