Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Florence (Livorno) Cinque Terre Excursion Reviews

Florence (Livorno) Cinque Terre cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A scenic drive from Florence is Cinque Terre, or “Five Lands,” a collection of villages along the rugged portion of the Italian Riviera coast offering opportunities for shopping, beaching, hiking and more.
Member Image cruiserpm5
1 review
Jul 2015
Started off intending to go to Pisa, and met a few people who recommended Cinque Terre but unsure as we hadn't researched it. Arrived at station around 10.35 (after a fight for taxis in the taxi like as there is no such thing as a queue!). The line for manned counters was 1 hr long and the ticket machines in the foyer (4 machines in total) had a line of 45 mins each! Missed the train to Pisa so hat meant we wouldnt get there until 1.45pm on next one so decided to go to Cinque Terre - bought a ticket to Monterosso return, stopped at Riomaggioro, Monterosso (beach time and lunch by the sea) and a quick stopover at Vernanza (gorgeous but crowded at 4pm!) Total cost with lunch for 4 around 100 euros - and so much more enjoyable than a coach / taxi tour with 45 other people.
Read cruiserpm5's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Treitalia
Member Image Frank C.
1 review
Jul 2015
Beautiful scenery -- and some wonderful country side -- but the best part was our Tour Guide -- Luca -- a terrific guide -- so personable and knowledgeable. The towns we visited were great and beautiful. A wonderful tour.
Read Frank C.'s full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Georgia_Peaches
1 review
Jul 2015
We did this on our own. We caught the train to the 5 villages and spent some time on the walking trail. I do not recommend the walking trail unless you are in excellent physical condition as it was very challenging, especially in 100 degree heat.
Read Georgia_Peaches's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AmyNC
1 review
Jul 2015
This tour for 8 picks you up at the port, and you start in Portovenere, ( not on the ship's itinerary so quieter)... the guide walks us through some of the highlights. We then went to 3 of the Cinque terre towns, dropped off by the driver in Manarola at the top. We walked down to the beach, and took the ferry to Vernazza, and then the train to Monterroso. We had decided to spend most of our time here, and rather wish we had spent more time in Portovenere, as it was much less crowded and seemed a bit less touristy. A lot will depend on timing, as the trains and ferries have inconsistent schedules. Also, while we think the whole area is amazing if one has never been here, it has become much more touristy than when we were here in 2007. Food also more money and not as good. But the villages still amazing to see. Note: lots of hills and steps.
Read AmyNC's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Italy Shore Drivers
Member Image PaulB
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Almost everyone on the ship goes to Pisa and or Florence but we did the Cinque Terre tour. It was great but a warning. It is rated as a level 2 tour but it was not. This was the most physically grueling tour of the trip. You take a 50 minute bus ride to the first town, and then walk down a steep hill to the small town. We waited 40 minutes to go down some very rock, narrow and dangerous steps to get to a boat. If you have trouble walking, standing, waiting don’t go on this tour. These steps etc… were bad. There were 2 tours from our ship and someone on the other Spirit tour had a heart attack and others had to drop out. So a short boat ride to another town and spent around 2 hours there, cue up and take another boat ride to another town where you have 30 minutes to walk to the train station there where we waited 27 minutes for a train which then went 4 stops to meet the busses but the busses weren’t where they were supposed to be. The whole trip was a mess, we lost tour guides because of the heart attack but I am glad I did it. Some great photos but I won’t be doing it again and if you have physical limitations, don’t do this tour at all.
Read PaulB's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sdt523
1 review
Jun 2015
This was an excellent tour. Lovely and relaxing!
Read Sdt523's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coulditbemagic
1 review
Jun 2015
Lovely trip to 3 of the villages along the coast line and worth a visit
Read coulditbemagic's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kccruiser111
1 review
Jun 2015
Great day on a Catamaran with snorkeling and swimming included on the way to Porto Venterre and stopped on the way back for a swim to a cave.
Read kccruiser111's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Don't recall
Member Image Jersey platypus
1 review
Jun 2015
Beautiful area, but so crowded and hot. Tempers flared slightly between some which spoilt it a bit.
Read Jersey platypus's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shayv01
2 reviews
May 2015
Amazing excursion because the villages are amazing. We took a shuttle bus to the 1st village, then trains to each of the other villages. The were beautiful and the tour allowed short breaks to pick up souvenirs or take pictures.
Read shayv01's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image skipcramer
3 reviews
May 2015
The guide makes the difference on these tours but it is a roll of the dice who or what you will get. We had a winner. Very well informed guide kept the information flowing throughout this tour. The weather was not ideal and we were unable to do the boat excursions between Cinque Terre towns but it was still worth it. My only complaint was the useless stop at a shopping mall on the return trip. At least we got a free wine-tasting.
Read skipcramer's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sherib71
1 review
Apr 2015
Awesome experience beautiful place excellent tour guide
Read Sherib71's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cfinley
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Loved, loved, loved Cinque Terre! It was really hard to not go to Florence since we've been there before and love it so much, but seeing Cinque Terre was worth the trade off!! Such an interesting area! Great tour!!

Read cfinley's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruiser1812
1 review
Aug 2014

Much too ambitious an excursion from this port. It was 1 1/2 hr each way, and then, three trains to catch in villages. We spent as long waiting for trains in first two villages as we did being there. We
waited under blistering sun for 30 mins in first village, and then after almost the same amount of time in 2nd village, we had to run to a different track. In last station, we managed to catch the 2:30 train at 3:30. Once we arrived in a village, the rest of the time seemed to be spent in making sure we got back to the train in time. I never relaxed, and certainly, never stopped "to smell the roses".
And, I never got or even saw that iconic Cinque Terre photo so common on travel websites.

Read cruiser1812's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image laqueviaja
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

We docked at La Spezia. We walked from the port to La Spezia Centrale Train Station. There is an information both at the port where you can get a map. It takes around 30 minutes to walk to the train station- despite the fact that at the port we were told it takes 15 minutes. The station is quite chaotic and small. If going to Cinque Terre, find the Cinque Terre information office. When we went, it was located by the platform where the trains depart. So, do not stand in the long queue, walk toward the trains and hopefully you will find it. Buy your Cinque Terre card, which allows you travel on the trains, and buses. Ensure that you validate your card at each station. Even if you have your card, but it's not validated, you may get fined. We only visited two of the towns due to time restrictions, but will return. We had a lovely lunch at Food and Sea in Corniglia. I would definitely recommend visiting and it is easy to do it on your own. Mind you, there is lots of uphill walking, so not for the faint of heart, in wheelchairs, or otherwise impaired.

Read laqueviaja's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sonvoltken6
7 reviews
May 2014

So we loved Cinque Terre - absolutely worth seeing. Our tour however was crowded and chaotic. The walking path was closed and the boats weren't running, so we had to take the train from village to village. Us and thousands of our closest friends (and pickpockets). We loved CT and would love to go back on our own schedule.

Read sonvoltken6's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bbkcruiser
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

An amazing place to visit.

Read bbkcruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image krUzer62
1 review
Sep 2013

We've been on many excursions, but this one was by far the worst ever. It was overbooked and very poorly planned. We were supposed to take a lovely ferry ride to 4 of the 5 pretty towns overlooking the ocean. After a stammered excuse that the sea was "too rough", our guide put us on a terribly hot, overcrowded train with no ventilation. Except for one town at which we were given an hour and 15 minutes for lunch and shopping, we had only about 15 minutes in each of the other towns--not enough to do anything but walk a bit then turn around and head back to wait for another train. We had to stand for agonizingly long periods in the blazing sun or in dark, dank, cave-like tunnels to wait for the trains--sometimes as long as 30 minutes, time we could have used to explore the towns. We spent much longer waiting for trains than we spent actually walking through the towns. The train rides were miserable. Seriously, sardines have it better than we did, crammed into trains designed for far fewer people. At the last town all the tourists on the excursion grumbled so much that the ridiculously inept tour guide finally relented and told us the reason we hadn't taken the ferry was because there were simply too many people. Our ship alone had more than 200 people taking this excursion, and there were at least four or five other ships in port that sent similar numbers of people on the same excursion. There was no way the ferry or train system could handle so many people. At that point, we were allowed to take the ferry back to meet the bus to Livorno, and it was a lovely trip. But by this time we were all so frustrated and miserable we didn't enjoy it as much as we should have.

If I could give this excursion less than 1 star, I certainly would.

Read krUzer62's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image hixonac
5 reviews
Aug 2013

Beautiful views via train, boat. A long excursion. Visited 4 of the 5 towns.

Read hixonac's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image milolii
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Cingue Terra and Pisa:. We hired a private tour company, Papillion. Nicolette was our driver. We drove to the Portovenere where we had about 20 minutes to explore the town . Then she gave us the boat schedule for the different towns. We purchased ferry tickets for 16 Euros each. The Ferry was very crowded as there was a cruise ship in La Spezia which is very close to Portovenere . Romaggione, the lovers walk is stilled closed as of September 2013. Be quick to get off the boat as the captain does not linger We missed the first stop as by the time we walked forward the captain had tossed off to the next town. It all worked well, however ,since we spent more time in Vernazza. We climbed to the top of the Belforte Tower (1,50 Euro admission, worth the price and the climb for the incredible view). Being part time Hawaiian residents, we never leave for a warm inviting coast line without a bathing suit on or in our backpack, so we were prepared to surrender to the clear waters and jump right in.

Next we took the ferry to the last town, Monterosso. More swimming and lunch at Il Casello. What a beautiful setting and amazing view. We then travelled back thought the mountains to Pisa. We visited the square and climbed the tower. Our driver Nicollete brought both couples a package of be noting, a rather fat spaghetti with a hole in it at one end that we had fallen in love with at the previous ports.

Read milolii's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruisedog123
1 review
Jul 2013

Cinque Terre with Pisa on the way back.

Read Cruisedog123's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Bebbyanne
2 reviews
Jun 2013

This was a lovely day, the weather was perfect and we enjoyed the time spent in the little villages of Manarola, Vernazza and Monterrosa. This was the only cruise tour we took and it was the most expensive. We felt the day was well organised but would have preferred to spend more time in Vernazza our second stop and less in Monterrosa. The special treat we were promised turned out to be a glass of very over rated wine with average condiments at Monterrosa. However we enjoyed a lovely lunch which was not included in the tour.This area is beautiful and one of my favourite port stops.

Read Bebbyanne's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kathy Terry
1 review
May 2012
Even in the rain this area is beautiful. We had a great time. You go by train and boat, it's an adventure! Spare time for lunch and shopping. Our next port was Toulon France- Most shops were closed on Mondays...bummer and it was raining. Beautiful but not much to do.
Read Kathy Terry's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Californiasure
1 review
May 2012
Amazing experience. Lots of walking but again so worth it. Each part was just breathtakingly beautiful.
Read Californiasure's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.