Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Dubrovnik City Tour Excursion Reviews

Dubrovnik City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The medieval Republic of Ragusa, now Dubrovnik, once rivaled Venice in maritime might. Its famous walls, medieval monasteries, and large cathedral are among the sights included on a tour of this fairytale city.
Member Image johncb7
1 review
Oct 2015
Useful for first time visitor but In it easy to discover Dubrovnik by yourself.
Read johncb7's full Minerva cruise review
Provider: Swan Hellenic Cruises
Member Image rmescola@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2015
The city is lovely, but there were so many people it was hard to walk. If we return it will be in the off season. Our guide was nice and spoke loud enough for all of us to hear. Some of the shops only took the resident currency and not euro.
Read rmescola@gmail.com's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image brummiekev
1 review
Jul 2015
Loved it. Marvellous city, wonderful guide. Would love to go back.
Read brummiekev's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image intraweb
2 reviews
Jul 2015
very hot and over crowded just explore on your own it is very close to the port
Read intraweb's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tber
1 review
Jul 2015
Wondrful city! Could have spent more time in Old City but private tour with Doria Ltd. was fantastic. Up the mountain, city of Cavat, old Watermill and Old Town. Beautiful!
Read tber's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Doria LTD
Member Image cathswart@tiscali.co.za
1 review
Jul 2015
We signed up for a city tour outside the walls of the Old Town. While the views were wonderful, the driver was rushed to get us through the sights as quickly as possible before rushing us to the next so that he could get back and picked up another tour group. So it was a bit hair-raising but we got to see some interested sights so probably worth it!
Read cathswart@tiscali.co.za's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image David Shaw
1 review
Jun 2015
A beautiful country with very warm and wonderful people
Read David Shaw's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image tedsandersvb@gmail.com
1 review
Jun 2015
Tour guides were excellent.
Read tedsandersvb@gmail.com's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wannaberetired
3 reviews
Aug 2014

Guide was great - city is awesome!! Tour takes you to the 2 monasteries.

Read wannaberetired's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image amvmonty
1 review
Jul 2014

Dubrovnik is now very commercialised and getting expensive. Too many people visiting at one time, cruise ships are killing this place! Very expensive to walk the walls @ GBP 18 per person.

We took another trip to Korcula ( not on the list ) great place, relaxing super value for money and very friendly and polite people. Visit soon before the cruise ships spoil it.

Read amvmonty's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image jonasaa
3 reviews
Jun 2014

Dubrovnik Scenic Cruise and Old Town City Tour — Adult Only Departure

We got on a boat straight off the ship and had a little but pretty trip to the old city of Dubrovnik. After being guided around the central street for a little while, we got time to explore on our own. We walked around the entire city wall (worth it, but very long!), and would have tried to get up to the mountain if we could have. Too many tours, so the line was enormous. You get to see a lot in a few hours, and if we had found it we would have dined at the Lady Pi Pi (it's high up close to the city wall).

Read jonasaa's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Seaoates
1 review
Nov 2013

We took an excursion but would have been much better off taking the shuttle bus (which magically only came into existence after everyone had booked the tours!). We had different opinions about Dubrovnik. I thought it was charming and atmospheric with an fascinating history whereas others thought the town architecture looked like a prison. The guide had some very interesting facts about the war and the history but was impossible to acquire any substantial information because of the sheer volume of people. The Tour Guide did her best but there were lots of other tours and it was not possible to hear what she was saying and consequently couple by couple we peeled off! I still feel very guilty about our ‘escape’ through the side door of the cathedral! Missing lunch again we made for a café…..…a café that told us that they did not have any food! In remembrance of when I was last in Dubrovnik before the war we had a glass of šljivovica - its still very strong stuff!

Read Seaoates's full Costa Fascinosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image cltraveler
1 review
Jul 2013

On a previous trip to Dubrovnik, we toured the city on our own. This time we chose a walking tour and we were not disappointed. Maris was able to give us a lot a history of the city along with visiting many of the important sites. We also took the cable car to the top of the hill for a great view of the city. This excursion also allowed for some free time which was greatly appreciated. We were very lucky that the trip ended just as it started to rain.

Read cltraveler's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Morton Salt
7 reviews
Jun 2013

Started early with bus from the ship, which is docked far from the old city of Dubrovnic.
Went off by the old city, walked the walls of the castle and saw the old city in the morning, before the heat of the sun became hot.

Then we took a local boat, from the old towns small port, 20 minutes to the island of Lokrum, where be had a hike, a bath and suntanning. Nice island with ruins of small castle and monastry, lots of peacook birds, beaches and nude beach.

In the afternoon, we took the cable car to a mountain-top, with a fantastic view over Dubrovnik and the surroundings. Absolutly worth the time and money.

Read Morton Salt's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image usc76
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Great overview of city and area. Walking in the city area and within the old walls of the city were interesting and worthwhile.

Read usc76's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image EIslander
1 review
Mar 2013
Go on the City Walls and see the city. It is so beautiful!
Read EIslander's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image GtrJim
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Dubrovnik was our favorite port to visit. The walking tour included a cable car ride to the top of the mountain for great views. The city was most attractive with its ancient walls and broad promenade or walkway. Excellent tour guide.
Read GtrJim's full Seabourn Quest cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image travelnnana
4 reviews
Oct 2012
We actually had two mini-buses. We first drove up to the hills and viewed the walled city from high up - we spotted red things in the water below. They wer kayaks.
Read travelnnana's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image luczai
3 reviews
Oct 2012
We booked a private tour in Dubrovnik. It is a beautiful coastal city but the political climate is a little dicey. The cable car that goes to the top of the mountain overlooking the city was fun and we got wonderful pictures walking the wall. There's a museum honoring those killed during the Balkan conflict that is very moving.
Read luczai's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image cb1968
16 reviews
Sep 2012
Highlights of Dubrovnik Riviera Tour takes you to a restaurant for a glass of wine and a cheese and meat sandwich. It is a bit of a waste of time.
Read cb1968's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image FitchburgWIFamily
1 review
Sep 2012
Croatian Riviera and Dubrovnik. All of the stops were well thought out, and our guide was excellent. The Riviera town was really left for us to explore at our own pace, which allowed us a chance to get some great photos and buy a few very reasonably priced souvenirs. The stop for a light lunch was at a rural mill, served by people in regional costumes. The tables were outdoors and the setting was lovely. The historic city tour was a walking tour. The pavement, worn down by 100s of years of foot traffic, is very slippery and I saw more than one person slip and fall down. Shopping opportunities were plentiful during the free time after the tour, and the prices were very affordable.
Read FitchburgWIFamily's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tanimmo
1 review
Aug 2012
My sister, her son and his family bought a tour from cruise line. Lots of walking but they enjoyed the tour, especially the wine and olive tasting.
Read tanimmo's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image deecafecruiser
1 review
Aug 2012
Our tour guide was adequate. Again, due to the amount of people within the city that were on tours it was overcrowded, and not pleasurable.
Read deecafecruiser's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Robin Pardella
1 review
Aug 2012
Best of Dubrovnik, had a fabulous guide there were 12 people on this tour, we rode to see the sights for an hour, then went to the walled city for three hours!!!
Read Robin Pardella's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: ViaTours
Member Image L16GSY
1 review
Aug 2012
The tour guides did not make themselves easily identifiable so had to make a couple of local phone calls before locating her. We visited a local mill and were shown how they use water power to grind grain and pulp wool, given a local drink and a couple of open sandwiches. We were then taken to a local port where it was recommended we walk around the promontory. We decided not to do the walk and sat and ate an ice cream instead. The most important part of the tour should have been the walled city of Dubrovnik, and we were then told it wasn't on the itinerary. We asked to be dropped off anyway and to be honest it was the best part of the day, the city is excellent and well worth a visit.
Read L16GSY's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.