Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Dubrovnik City Tour Excursion Reviews

Dubrovnik City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The medieval Republic of Ragusa, now Dubrovnik, once rivaled Venice in maritime might. Its famous walls, medieval monasteries, and large cathedral are among the sights included on a tour of this fairytale city.
Member Image danielUK2016
1 review
Jul 2016
Again, no provision for the disabled or those with mobility issues. On the bus at 8:45AM and into Dub at 9am, but allowed just 4 hours to see this historic city. Last shuttle bus at 1:15pm. Cost £40 for a 90minute tour of 4 adjacent buildings and the rest of the time free. Just enough time to visit a couple of tourist shops and have a beer. Visits to two great cities were cut impossibly short so that we could spend 36hours cruising the Adriatic at a snail’s pace between Athens and Dubrovnik. A rather arrogant tour leader who left a disabled couple at the entrance to a museum meaning they lost the group. They were furious when we exited the museum and complained. She defended herself and blamed them initially.Later in the tour she clearly had a rethink and decided to make amends and took them on a private tour of the museum after the tour had ended,
Read danielUK2016's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image eileenand7@gmail.com
1 review
Jun 2016
Another fabulous place to visit, our guide was very interesting and the tour was just great.
Read eileenand7@gmail.com's full MSC Sinfonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Treacle30
1 review
Jun 2016
We went on the Game of Thrones tour. The guide was amazing. She was very informative and very professional when dealing with a very awkward and nasty American guest. Highly recommended.
Read Treacle30's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image chili4bean
1 review
Jun 2016
Our tour guide (looked just like Jeremy Renner) was exceptional! He was able to show us the most interesting parts of the city in just 3 hours. He also gave us detailed information on each location and when we asked for a local place for lunch he took us to the greatest place! No one spoke English, it was very retro, the soccer games were on, the crowd was lively and what a great day in Dubrovnik!
Read chili4bean's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tony
Member Image CJulieJones
1 review
Jun 2016
Having been to Dubrovnik before we decided that it would be good to do the City Tour to find out more of the history, this part of the Tour was great and the guide was very knowledgeable,
Read CJulieJones's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image veraneo
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Dubrovnik is a great port to visit.Caught rain twice there now so take an umbrella and watch out for slipping on the ancient streets.
Read veraneo's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Doria Ltd
Member Image GillMG
1 review
May 2016
Too historical - we wanted to explore ourselves
Read GillMG's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Janet Colgrave
1 review
May 2016
Too much information to take in on a hot day.
Read Janet Colgrave's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Handcock1
1 review
May 2016
Excellent and interesting
Read Handcock1's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Mighty Joe
2 reviews
May 2016
Part of the day's tour
Read Mighty Joe's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image johncb7
1 review
Oct 2015
Useful for first time visitor but In it easy to discover Dubrovnik by yourself.
Read johncb7's full Minerva cruise review
Provider: Swan Hellenic Cruises
Member Image rmescola@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2015
The city is lovely, but there were so many people it was hard to walk. If we return it will be in the off season. Our guide was nice and spoke loud enough for all of us to hear. Some of the shops only took the resident currency and not euro.
Read rmescola@gmail.com's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image brummiekev
1 review
Jul 2015
Loved it. Marvellous city, wonderful guide. Would love to go back.
Read brummiekev's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image intraweb
3 reviews
Jul 2015
very hot and over crowded just explore on your own it is very close to the port
Read intraweb's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tber
1 review
Jul 2015
Wondrful city! Could have spent more time in Old City but private tour with Doria Ltd. was fantastic. Up the mountain, city of Cavat, old Watermill and Old Town. Beautiful!
Read tber's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Doria LTD
Member Image cathswart@tiscali.co.za
1 review
Jul 2015
We signed up for a city tour outside the walls of the Old Town. While the views were wonderful, the driver was rushed to get us through the sights as quickly as possible before rushing us to the next so that he could get back and picked up another tour group. So it was a bit hair-raising but we got to see some interested sights so probably worth it!
Read cathswart@tiscali.co.za's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider:
Member Image David Shaw
1 review
Jun 2015
A beautiful country with very warm and wonderful people
Read David Shaw's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image tedsandersvb@gmail.com
1 review
Jun 2015
Tour guides were excellent.
Read tedsandersvb@gmail.com's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wannaberetired
3 reviews
Aug 2014

Guide was great - city is awesome!! Tour takes you to the 2 monasteries.

Read wannaberetired's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image amvmonty
1 review
Jul 2014

Dubrovnik is now very commercialised and getting expensive. Too many people visiting at one time, cruise ships are killing this place! Very expensive to walk the walls @ GBP 18 per person.

We took another trip to Korcula ( not on the list ) great place, relaxing super value for money and very friendly and polite people. Visit soon before the cruise ships spoil it.

Read amvmonty's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image jonasaa
3 reviews
Jun 2014

Dubrovnik Scenic Cruise and Old Town City Tour — Adult Only Departure

We got on a boat straight off the ship and had a little but pretty trip to the old city of Dubrovnik. After being guided around the central street for a little while, we got time to explore on our own. We walked around the entire city wall (worth it, but very long!), and would have tried to get up to the mountain if we could have. Too many tours, so the line was enormous. You get to see a lot in a few hours, and if we had found it we would have dined at the Lady Pi Pi (it's high up close to the city wall).

Read jonasaa's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Seaoates
1 review
Nov 2013

We took an excursion but would have been much better off taking the shuttle bus (which magically only came into existence after everyone had booked the tours!). We had different opinions about Dubrovnik. I thought it was charming and atmospheric with an fascinating history whereas others thought the town architecture looked like a prison. The guide had some very interesting facts about the war and the history but was impossible to acquire any substantial information because of the sheer volume of people. The Tour Guide did her best but there were lots of other tours and it was not possible to hear what she was saying and consequently couple by couple we peeled off! I still feel very guilty about our ‘escape’ through the side door of the cathedral! Missing lunch again we made for a café…..…a café that told us that they did not have any food! In remembrance of when I was last in Dubrovnik before the war we had a glass of šljivovica - its still very strong stuff!

Read Seaoates's full Costa Fascinosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image cltraveler
1 review
Jul 2013

On a previous trip to Dubrovnik, we toured the city on our own. This time we chose a walking tour and we were not disappointed. Maris was able to give us a lot a history of the city along with visiting many of the important sites. We also took the cable car to the top of the hill for a great view of the city. This excursion also allowed for some free time which was greatly appreciated. We were very lucky that the trip ended just as it started to rain.

Read cltraveler's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Morton Salt
7 reviews
Jun 2013

Started early with bus from the ship, which is docked far from the old city of Dubrovnic.
Went off by the old city, walked the walls of the castle and saw the old city in the morning, before the heat of the sun became hot.

Then we took a local boat, from the old towns small port, 20 minutes to the island of Lokrum, where be had a hike, a bath and suntanning. Nice island with ruins of small castle and monastry, lots of peacook birds, beaches and nude beach.

In the afternoon, we took the cable car to a mountain-top, with a fantastic view over Dubrovnik and the surroundings. Absolutly worth the time and money.

Read Morton Salt's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image usc76
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Great overview of city and area. Walking in the city area and within the old walls of the city were interesting and worthwhile.

Read usc76's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.