Dublin City Tour Excursion Reviews

Dublin City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Get a feel for what Dublin has to offer with a tour of the city. You will enjoy every minute of your time here.
Member Image HectorAmor
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Dublin, Ireland – Last port of call for this Cruise! Again the meeting point was the Stardust Theater but this time knowing that it was our last, we decided to have fun with people’s behaviour. The tour taken was Dublin Highlights that lasted for 3 .5 hours. Dublin is a sensational city, full of impressive buildings covering many historical periods and the star of it all, being Saint Patrick’s Cathedral. Its interior is a masterpiece, really awesome and it seemed more of a museum than a cathedral. Also, not to be missed was Trinity College and its famous Library that houses the Book of Kells (entrance fee) another outstanding art piece. Luckily the weather that morning was sunny and warmish so we decided to stay on in town at the end of the tour. By the way, the Tour Guide Kate was superb. We had a fantastic lunch at Oscar’s Bar and Kitchen across from Merrion Square where you can see the famous statue of Oscar Wilde relaxing on a rock and looking towards his house where he leaved for many years. We completed our tour with a visit to the magnificent National Gallery of Ireland (free) just nearby on Clare St. Shuttle to the ship was 5 euros each. Great Tour, great day and the perfect way to finish this memorable Cruise on the NCL Star.
Read HectorAmor's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image donner70
1 review
Sep 2016
We were on a short tour and actually were sorry that we didn't see more. We went to a church and then were dropped off in the shopping area which consisted of maybe two blocks. Not impressed! We looked for a place to do emails and ended up at Costa coffee shop and had to pay by credit card again as we did not have Eruos, only Pound notes. We could not get on line as you have to sign up to become a member of Costa and need to do this on line - Duh! We had only one hour at this stop and it was back to the ship.
Read donner70's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image eesmie
1 review
Sep 2016
Late arrival in port meant excursion became rushed & poor value for money.
Read eesmie's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image tandori
1 review
Aug 2016
Very good informative guide
Read tandori's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image ashleyg13
2 reviews
Jun 2016
spoilt by the road works and not worth the money
Read ashleyg13's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image capergal56
1 review
May 2016
We took advantage of the Hop On, Hop Off buses and after seeing all the highlights of the city, did a walking tour on our own which I would highly recommend. Lots of lovely pubs, beautiful parks and cathedrals, but expect to do LOTS of walking.
Read capergal56's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SeeLDee
1 review
May 2016
Enjoyed visiting sites we heard about.
Read SeeLDee's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image judyof
1 review
May 2016
Big City lots of people. Not my favorite place
Read judyof's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Kenneth Ucho
1 review
Sep 2015
Very good especially visiting the pub
Read Kenneth Ucho's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DMandel46
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Wonderful-comfortable interesting guide.
Read DMandel46's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TEXEAGLE
5 reviews
Aug 2015
We used the Hop On Hop Off "Green bus" line. They were good. Hit all the spots we wanted and ran with reasonable frequency. We purchased advanced admission tickets for the Guinness Storehouse tour. Do that or you may stand inline for a long time to get in. Enjoyed that tour.
Read TEXEAGLE's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kwebster58
6 reviews
Jul 2015
In Dublin, we did the Highlights trip. This was probably my least favorite tour.
Read kwebster58's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BarkerFinch
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Loved the tour but guide was rather bossy.
Read BarkerFinch's full Black Watch cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image Vancscribbler
5 reviews
Apr 2015
Disappointing. Not sure if the problem was the tour itself ... but if there are many "highlights" there, we didn't see them: just (yet another) Cathedral and a stop at Trinity University but stopped nowhere else ... maybe there's just not much worth seeing in Dublin?
Read Vancscribbler's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image nascarwoman
1 review
Apr 2015
Great place to walk around
Read nascarwoman's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image maggiealdred
2 reviews
Apr 2015
This tour was a delight, mostly due to our lovely guide, a lady with a beautiful Irish accent who even sang some of the old Irish songs to us on the way back. We had a good bus tour around the city and stopped at the cathedral and Trinity College. We saw enough to make us want to return to Dublin for a longer holiday. We had the option to return to the ship under our own steam but as the weather was not very good, we took the tour bus back.
Read maggiealdred's full Astor cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image Munchkinstutu
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2014

After a drive around downtown Dublin where Lee, we then headed out into the Irish Countryside with stops in Enniskerry, the Glencree Centre (a retreat for peace building between people from Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland), lunch at Lynham’s of Laraugh (established 1776) and a visit to the ruins of Glendalough Abbey. Seeing places that date back before our country was even born or at the time of the American Revolution makes us realize what a young country we are in the worldwide scheme of things. Beautiful countryside, lots of history, and a great lunch!

Read Munchkinstutu's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dugdug
1 review
Aug 2013

Vastly overpriced at 50 a head. Interesting but others are advised to arrange trip ahead with tourist agency or take the shuttle bus and have a good look around yourself.

Read Dugdug's full Discovery cruise review
Provider:
Member Image ComputerTravelGuy
4 reviews
Sep 2012
Some highlights but not the favorite part of the tour - the tour of the countryside and trip to Glendalough was the best.
Read ComputerTravelGuy's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Tour Dublin
Member Image Naomi2
3 reviews
Aug 2012
The bus was covered with windows so it was hard to take pictures through it. This was the frustrating part of the Hop on Hop off buses. Also the dialogue is not always well syncronized with what you are seeing.
Read Naomi2's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image geno63
1 review
Jun 2012
Too much standing and really too few stops. A glorified history lecture. It would have been better to take the HOHO bus. Not as easy a walking city as advertised
Read geno63's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Tommy Grahm
Member Image missyfay
1 review
May 2012
Hop On Hop Off Bus
Read missyfay's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?