Corfu Achilleion Palace Excursion Reviews

Corfu Achilleion Palace cruise excursion
Overall Rating
When you visit Achilleion Palace, you will learn of the intriguing story of Austrian Empress Elizabeth. Located just south of Corfu Town, this neo-classical mansion with beautiful gardens was built in the late 1890's and continues to be a standout today.
Member Image racer47
1 review
Oct 2016
The palace is interesting and worth seeing .
Read racer47's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image ActiveTravelerBoston
1 review
Oct 2016
Guide that talked non stop, travelled through poorest part of Corfu to get to the palace, palace run down and filthy, grounds in horrible shape. Very disappointing
Read ActiveTravelerBoston's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image antarctic penguin
1 review
Sep 2016
The excursion was interesting with a good guide but it was too rushed. We paid 8 Euros for the Achilleion Palace but only had 30 minutes to see it and the gardens so did not see all of the palace and none of the gardens.
Read antarctic penguin's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Corfu Excursions Tours
Member Image Huntingdon1701
1 review
Sep 2016
The Palace is interesting, but much smaller than I was expecting and didn't take very long to see. However, it still beat staying on the ship, and the guide's narrative about the island was interesting and contained much of which I hadn't been aware.
Read Huntingdon1701's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image McLeans
1 review
Sep 2016
What wonderful history, gardens and palace. Our guide was so knowlageable and took her time to pass on her passion for the island and all it's history. would go back again.
Read McLeans's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image neonbubble
1 review
Sep 2016
An otherwise interesting trip to a reasonably interesting place (with decent history) somewhat overshadowed by the large delay getting out thanks to dozens of coaches crowding a road barely wide enough for one.
Read neonbubble's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Happicruzrr
1 review
Aug 2016
Shore excursions group. Wonderful tour of palace and monastery. Great tour company.
Read Happicruzrr's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MiamiCruiser1214
1 review
Aug 2016
A very interesting city. Recommend visiting the Achilleion Palace followed by a walk through the city. St. Spyridon Church provides a unique peak into the Orthodox religion.
Read MiamiCruiser1214's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Starwrangler
1 review
Jul 2016
Very good tour, lots of information and we got to do far more than we would have if we were on our own.
Read Starwrangler's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CobraJet
1 review
Oct 2015
Awesome scenery. The palace was interesting but, here, the driving was worth the time spent on it. The island is beautiful, second only to Santorini. The visit to the local farm was excellent.
Read CobraJet's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image bifocalpear
1 review
Sep 2015
Lovely views from the hills. Interesting grounds.
Read bifocalpear's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image eileenover
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Very interesting. Lots of good photo opportunities! Sadly, we had to return to the ship after the Palace and so we missed the walking tour. Great guide! Really impressed by her!
Read eileenover's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image blondee5478
1 review
Jul 2015
Very good. Debbie was very informative!
Read blondee5478's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Fun loving family
1 review
Jun 2015
We booked the Best of Corfu tour with the cruise ship. Beautiful history and our guide Debbie was informative and very accommodating to my handicapped mother with a walker.
Read Fun loving family's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Barbara Minard
1 review
May 2015
Enjoyed this very much. A great tour leader. She explained the history very well. Then we had a Greek meal, including liquor and dancing, which was a real highlight
Read Barbara Minard's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tineloveshoward
1 review
May 2015
A comfortable drive and tour of the palace. It was beautiful We wish we had more time in the town of Corfu itself. That was a tease. I wanted to explore but the time was limited.
Read tineloveshoward's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image walker_michelle
2 reviews
Jul 2014

Since I wasn’t up to two days in a row of wandering about, I booked a tour. We did the Achilleion Place, Perama and Old Town. The whole town was crazy crowded. My daughters loved the palace and while on the tour it was packed, we had time before we had to board the bus to go back through the rooms and gardens and look closer. As we did the island tour, the streets were crowded so the bus lumbered on. We passed Mouse Island but the bus couldn’t or wouldn’t stop for us to take photos. The bus had to stop and wait for a plane to take off (the runways are very close to the road). By the time we got to Corfu Town, we didn’t have much time left to explore so we walked about and in/out of shops. Another family toured the fort that was there (it costs a few euros).

Read walker_michelle's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider:
Member Image bertenstella
3 reviews
Oct 2013
Good Guide, who gave us much information. Beautifull landscapes, palace and monastery and some time afterward in the city.
Read bertenstella's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider:
Member Image lamiral
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

a sure way to avoid difficulties to find the palace and overall crowds.

Read lamiral's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tmt3698
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

I had chosen a different shore excursion but my friend wanted this one, the palace was ok. There were so many tours there our tour guide seemed to get flustered with all the people there and I thought she wasn't the best tour guide to be honest. We didn't stop for the photo op of Mouse Island they just slowed down. The dowtown part was nice, we left the tour a little early and did our own shopping then took the shuttle bus back.

Read tmt3698's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Mimi A
12 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2012
Well worth the visit for the Hapsburg influence of Princess Elizabeth of Austria's vacation home.
Read Mimi A's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Perthpanda
1 review
Oct 2012
The attractions were a disappointment. The palace was a huge let down - poor standard and packed with over 20 bus groups. Ran out of time in Corfu town so no time to explore
Read Perthpanda's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider:
Member Image Cumry
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Interesting small palace. Parts of Corfu were quite beautiful, other parts less so.
Read Cumry's full Seabourn Spirit cruise review
Provider:
Member Image travelnnana
4 reviews
Oct 2012
I have been to Elisabeth's Shonbrun palace in Vienna. That is a magnificent palace. I was extremely disappointed with Achilleion. It is a tourist trap. It was sold by Elisabeth's heirs when she died. It has been used for various things during the past century. It is a tourist trap - with nothing original in it.
Read travelnnana's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jabbathehutte
1 review
Sep 2012
highlight of the tour was a 2 hour lunch at a local farm with local food and drink. Also local dancers, briiliant day.
Read jabbathehutte's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?