Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Corfu Achilleion Palace Excursion Reviews

Corfu Achilleion Palace cruise excursion
Overall Rating
When you visit Achilleion Palace, you will learn of the intriguing story of Austrian Empress Elizabeth. Located just south of Corfu Town, this neo-classical mansion with beautiful gardens was built in the late 1890's and continues to be a standout today.
Member Image walker_michelle
1 review
Jul 2014

Since I wasn’t up to two days in a row of wandering about, I booked a tour. We did the Achilleion Place, Perama and Old Town. The whole town was crazy crowded. My daughters loved the palace and while on the tour it was packed, we had time before we had to board the bus to go back through the rooms and gardens and look closer. As we did the island tour, the streets were crowded so the bus lumbered on. We passed Mouse Island but the bus couldn’t or wouldn’t stop for us to take photos. The bus had to stop and wait for a plane to take off (the runways are very close to the road). By the time we got to Corfu Town, we didn’t have much time left to explore so we walked about and in/out of shops. Another family toured the fort that was there (it costs a few euros).

Read walker_michelle's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lamiral
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

a sure way to avoid difficulties to find the palace and overall crowds.

Read lamiral's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tmt3698
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

I had chosen a different shore excursion but my friend wanted this one, the palace was ok. There were so many tours there our tour guide seemed to get flustered with all the people there and I thought she wasn't the best tour guide to be honest. We didn't stop for the photo op of Mouse Island they just slowed down. The dowtown part was nice, we left the tour a little early and did our own shopping then took the shuttle bus back.

Read tmt3698's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mimi A
9 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2012
Well worth the visit for the Hapsburg influence of Princess Elizabeth of Austria's vacation home.
Read Mimi A's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Perthpanda
1 review
Oct 2012
The attractions were a disappointment. The palace was a huge let down - poor standard and packed with over 20 bus groups. Ran out of time in Corfu town so no time to explore
Read Perthpanda's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cumry
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Interesting small palace. Parts of Corfu were quite beautiful, other parts less so.
Read Cumry's full Seabourn Spirit cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image travelnnana
4 reviews
Oct 2012
I have been to Elisabeth's Shonbrun palace in Vienna. That is a magnificent palace. I was extremely disappointed with Achilleion. It is a tourist trap. It was sold by Elisabeth's heirs when she died. It has been used for various things during the past century. It is a tourist trap - with nothing original in it.
Read travelnnana's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jabbathehutte
1 review
Sep 2012
highlight of the tour was a 2 hour lunch at a local farm with local food and drink. Also local dancers, briiliant day.
Read jabbathehutte's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Boston Traveler 24
1 review
Sep 2012
Excellent guide touring a beautiful palace and gardens.
Read Boston Traveler 24's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Grendelftw
1 review
Aug 2012
Tour was fine. Achilleion Palace and the guide were both interesting. Lots of shopping if that's your thing.
Read Grendelftw's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image deecafecruiser
1 review
Aug 2012
As mentioned above the Achilleion Palace tour was a great experience if one enjoys looking at antiquities, and learning history. The city tour was not extensive. However, we did enjoy the free time that we had shopping in the city. The shops were varied, and the shop keepers were friendly.
Read deecafecruiser's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image CommendableCruising
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Fair tour, the guide was only learning English and was repeating from a cue card. Would not repeat
Read CommendableCruising's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Robert Upshall
1 review
Jun 2012
Wonderful view from the Achilleon Palace and it's interesting but less so, to me, than the ancient sites we saw elsewhere on the cruise and paled in comparison to the places we had just visited in Venice before departing on the cruise.
Read Robert Upshall's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BunnyboyFLOH
2 reviews
May 2012
Tour of the Achilleon Palace was excellent. The Island is small and panoramic, we thoroughly enjoyed the excursion.
Read BunnyboyFLOH's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.