Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Berlin City Tour Excursion Reviews

Berlin City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
From its many world-class museums to the darker history of World War II and the Berlin Wall, Berlin has a lot to offer the enterprising visitor.
Member Image Video Dude
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

NOTE: WE DID NOT GO TO BERLIN! THis web site does not list our German port, Warnemunde! We docked at Warnemunde and then took an excursion bus to the cituy of Lubeck, the "Baltic Jewel". This was a beautiful old city with lots of narrow streets, open air markets, quaint shops and giant cathedrals. Our only disappointment was that with the four hour round trip bus ride, we did not have much time to tour the city. It was definitely worth seeing.

Read Video Dude's full Costa Fortuna cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Melbourneboy
1 review
Aug 2014

It's a very long return trip for one day. Hadn't been to Berlin so decided to go. Was worth it but wouldn't do it unless you are keen to see Berlin

Read Melbourneboy's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image lagottogal
1 review
Jul 2014

A very long drive for a rather rushed tour. Schwerin Castle was interesting but it was a long way to drive just for lunch and a castle visit.

Read lagottogal's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image TrnrMom
5 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

We booked an all day tour as part of a St. Petersburg tour package through Vika of SPB tours. Our driver was waiting on time, and we were whisked to the Olympic Stadium in Berlin where we were met by Heather, our guide for the day. We were in good hands - although a lengthy tour, there wasn't a boring moment. Our needs were anticipated, and we were given history, background and current events while standing where history was made. We saw all the highlights of Berlin, and also gained some insight into every day life and costs in the city. It was one of the best tours we have taken and highly recommend it, if you are up for a twelve hour day.

Read TrnrMom's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB Tour
Member Image Callie Dean
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Very informative and covered all of the city highlights.

Read Callie Dean's full Viking Fontane cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Smathtravel
1 review
Jun 2013

Jeremy arranged a private driver to pick the 5 of us at the pier. We met Jeremy in Berlin and he gave us a 7 hour tour which was wonderful! The trip from the pier toBerlin only took less than 2 1/2 hours! www.theberlinexpert.com

Read Smathtravel's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Jeremy Minsberg
Member Image Amsterdam 352
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012
Berlin was a long way from the ship but was worth it! The tour Guide was perfect and we had the afternoon free in Berlin, would really recommend the tour.
Read Amsterdam 352's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image At sea days
10 reviews
Aug 2012
Very well done geared to our needs, a very good guide from Oregon! Even took in the mile long beef tasting...just happened to be on that Saturday! What a blast
Read At sea days's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Demelzabunny
1 review
Aug 2012
This tour is very long, of course, because one has to ride from Warnemunde, the port on the Baltic where the ship docks, all the way to Berlin. The ride was over 3 hours each way, but it was pretty comfortable and pleasant, and we were provided w/snacks both ways. This is a good overview of the city and one sees the main sights, but we didn't see the Reichstag as promised; that was a little disappointing. In addition, one doesn't get much time at each stop to see stuff; it's more like, get off the bus (excuse me, I mean "coach"), take a picture or 2 and hop back on or we'll leave you there! We did have some time at the end of the tour to shop (my passion), but we were pretty hungry at that point - it was like 4 in the afternoon - so we wasted time eating (couldn't find my favorite German dish, sauerbraten; German tourism, are you listening?), and then had very little time for shopping. What we saw of Berlin just didn't meet my expectations. It was interesting to a point. Most disappointing was our tour guide, Berndt, who thought he was funny (he wasn't); he was kind of smarmy. Of special mention was our tour escort, the young man, Tomas, who accompanied us from Warnemunde and hung w/us all day, then returned w/us. He was very nice and concerned w/our comfort.
Read Demelzabunny's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AgouraTraveler
3 reviews
Jul 2012
This equaled the best tour on the cruise. The 3 hour train ride to then from Berlin was fine. Somehow we got a private compartment, were able to catchup on some rest, and were kept busy with visits from the train attendant bringing information, maps, bottled water, muffins, large soft pretzels, wine and soft drinks, a lunch with a mystery sandwich, good-sized packages of cake, peanuts, a box of tic-tacs, etc. Our tour guide, Burkhardt, had an excellent sense of humor and told us stories of growing up with the Berlin Wall and it's aftermath. We visited some city sites as the Eastside Gallery (interesting murals painted on the wall), Checkpoint Charlie (recreated but the guide pointed out the actual sites of the American and East German checkpoints and the path of the wall seen by a double-row of bricks in the street and sidewalk), Brandenburg Gate (spectacular), and the Reichstag parliament building. Lunch was at an upscale German restaurant with prime rib. Highlights were the 4-piece organ recital at Berlin Cathedral and seeing the huge Greek and Babylonian structures at the Pergamon Museum (check out the website for amazing photos).
Read AgouraTraveler's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MostlyLegal
2 reviews
Jul 2012
This tour was very long and VERY expensive, but worth it!
Read MostlyLegal's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image supersecdd
1 review
Jun 2012
The city tour was very good and we were able to get off the bus and take pictures when we requested to do so, which we appreciated.
Read supersecdd's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Terry
6 reviews
Jun 2012
Not really worth the 5 hours it took to get there and back. Unless you really want to see something specific I would give this a miss.
Read Terry's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: SPb
Member Image geekguy1
8 reviews
Jun 2012
In the brief time available after traveling to and from the port in Warnemunde, we managed to get an amazing amount of sightseeing done. Like most major cities -- think New York, London, Paris, Rome -- doing Berlin in 6 hours or so is insane, but at least we got a good overview.
Read geekguy1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image Bonica Rose
1 review
May 2012
Our guide for the city tour was knowledgeable but was somewhat cynical and made it difficult to understand what we were seeing. For example, he would tell us to get our cameras ready but then would not tell us until we were past that point what it was we were seeing. The most valuable part of this trip was what we learned from the personal experiences before and after the Berlin wall came down related to us by the woman who had essentially the role of a stewardess on the long bus ride between the port of Warnemunde and Berlin. They fed us excessively on this 13 hour excursion. The ship had opened the restaurant early enough to have breakfast on board, there was a stop for a hearty German meal in the early afternoon, and the ship was still serving supper when we returned. The lunch bags they served on the bus to and from Berlin were not necessary (contained sandwiches, smoked sausage, fruit, peanuts, chocolate bars, cheesecake, water, and fruit juice). This would have been useful on the St. Petersburg excursion, where we were underfed!
Read Bonica Rose's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jimlaneart
4 reviews
Apr 2012
Warnemunde/Berlin, Germany--My wife did the Molli train excursion. I took a much longer train (and trip) to Berlin and Potsdam. I saw the wall, Checkpoint Charlie, the Brandenburg Gate, and much, much more of Berlin and Potsdam than I really wished, while being shorted on the interiors of the Cecilienhof and San Souci palaces. Video of my excursion can be seen on YouTube at: http://youtu.be/hvFLt4bJx7g
Read jimlaneart's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.