Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Berlin City Tour Excursion Reviews

Berlin City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
From its many world-class museums to the darker history of World War II and the Berlin Wall, Berlin has a lot to offer the enterprising visitor.
Member Image CruiseTrvlr808
1 review
May 2016
East Berlin is still depressing with their gray, drab buildings and lack of color. West Berlin is a typical large european city. Not a whole lot to see and the wall was not what we expected as its very mundane and small.
Read CruiseTrvlr808's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Shihtzu mom
1 review
Aug 2015
Excellent+++. Our guide was a PhD in German History and an instructor at the U of Rostock during the school year. His narrative throughout our day in Berlin was substantive, wildly informative and sprinkled with anecdotes, and he used notebooks of visual aids to show how various locales looked during the war. We were saturated with information at the end of the 3-hour bus trip back to Warnemunde. We're still processing it.
Read Shihtzu mom's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image tdeviney
1 review
Aug 2015
Our driver was very knowledgeable. would highly recommend highering a private guide. $95 Euros/hr.
Read tdeviney's full Viking Astrild cruise review
Provider: Booked through Hotel Concerige
Member Image andyanddonna
1 review
Aug 2015
Interesting. Kind of long.
Read andyanddonna's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Panorama_Sue
1 review
Aug 2015
I wasn't sure this would be worth the long ride (3 hours each way from the port of Warnemunde) but it was! Boris Coronado was a fabulous guide: organized, energetic and knowledgeable. We saw a lot in our six-hour tour and I would highly recommend this tour to others. We got back to the ship in plenty of time.
Read Panorama_Sue's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Grihaws
1 review
Jul 2015
6 hours all round trip with a good guide but little time to do your own exploring.
Read Grihaws's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Andy_Andy
1 review
Jul 2015
We took the 3 hour bus to Berlin, spent about 5/6 hours there...and returned with over an hour to spare before the ship left. Only 20 in our group so nice to spread out on the bus. Cost was $110 and we saw all the hightlights. It's interesting to see all the bullets on the buildings still. Guide was very much an expert in everything German. You always wish for more time in a port like this...but yet it was still worth it.
Read Andy_Andy's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPB Tour
Member Image schiffreise
1 review
Jul 2015
The people on the tour were not prepared that there would be so little actual time in Berlin. With 3 hours to get there and 3 hours back, some tours barely had enough time for lunch in Berlin, let alone sightseeing. You cannot see a world-class major city in such a short period of time. People were not told that toilets in Germany cost money, so they were upset about that. Our guide on the long bus trip did not tell us much about Germany in general and was not very enthusiastic about his country. The guide in Berlin was knowledgeable, but everything was disjointed. Luckily my husband and I had been to Berlin before, but I felt sorry for people for whom this was their first introduction to Germany. Perhaps the tours should be limited to smaller towns closer to the port.
Read schiffreise's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Cruise for Enjoyment
1 review
Jul 2015
the city tour covers most of the high points in the city . The only problem is the travel time from the ship and back 6 hours each way . too long but i did enjoy seeing Berlin once I got there
Read Cruise for Enjoyment's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image bjquinn
2 reviews
Jul 2015
We took this tour with SPB. This requires 3 hours of driving each way to Berlin. It was very interesting and our guide was excellent.
Read bjquinn's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image maggipie
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Boris was our outstanding guide from BCT, enabled us to see/learn a lot in a short amount of time.
Read maggipie's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Berlin City Tours
Member Image Whoffmann
1 review
Jun 2015
Was in Berlin during an important soccer/football championship which made for a fun atmosphere!
Read Whoffmann's full Viking Beyla cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Buffalo Boaters
2 reviews
Jun 2015
We saw all the city sites and had a nice lunch. We spent most of our day on a bus.
Read Buffalo Boaters's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB tours
Member Image CruiseA4
1 review
May 2015
We were very hurried, lots of time sitting in traffic in Berlin and six hours of travel to get to Berlin and back. Two weak guides. Would not do this excursion again.
Read CruiseA4's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Video Dude
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

NOTE: WE DID NOT GO TO BERLIN! THis web site does not list our German port, Warnemunde! We docked at Warnemunde and then took an excursion bus to the cituy of Lubeck, the "Baltic Jewel". This was a beautiful old city with lots of narrow streets, open air markets, quaint shops and giant cathedrals. Our only disappointment was that with the four hour round trip bus ride, we did not have much time to tour the city. It was definitely worth seeing.

Read Video Dude's full Costa Fortuna cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image Melbourneboy
1 review
Aug 2014

It's a very long return trip for one day. Hadn't been to Berlin so decided to go. Was worth it but wouldn't do it unless you are keen to see Berlin

Read Melbourneboy's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image lagottogal
1 review
Jul 2014

A very long drive for a rather rushed tour. Schwerin Castle was interesting but it was a long way to drive just for lunch and a castle visit.

Read lagottogal's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image TrnrMom
5 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

We booked an all day tour as part of a St. Petersburg tour package through Vika of SPB tours. Our driver was waiting on time, and we were whisked to the Olympic Stadium in Berlin where we were met by Heather, our guide for the day. We were in good hands - although a lengthy tour, there wasn't a boring moment. Our needs were anticipated, and we were given history, background and current events while standing where history was made. We saw all the highlights of Berlin, and also gained some insight into every day life and costs in the city. It was one of the best tours we have taken and highly recommend it, if you are up for a twelve hour day.

Read TrnrMom's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB Tour
Member Image Callie Dean
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Very informative and covered all of the city highlights.

Read Callie Dean's full Viking Fontane cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Smathtravel
1 review
Jun 2013

Jeremy arranged a private driver to pick the 5 of us at the pier. We met Jeremy in Berlin and he gave us a 7 hour tour which was wonderful! The trip from the pier toBerlin only took less than 2 1/2 hours! www.theberlinexpert.com

Read Smathtravel's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Jeremy Minsberg
Member Image Amsterdam 352
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012
Berlin was a long way from the ship but was worth it! The tour Guide was perfect and we had the afternoon free in Berlin, would really recommend the tour.
Read Amsterdam 352's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image At sea days
11 reviews
Aug 2012
Very well done geared to our needs, a very good guide from Oregon! Even took in the mile long beef tasting...just happened to be on that Saturday! What a blast
Read At sea days's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Demelzabunny
1 review
Aug 2012
This tour is very long, of course, because one has to ride from Warnemunde, the port on the Baltic where the ship docks, all the way to Berlin. The ride was over 3 hours each way, but it was pretty comfortable and pleasant, and we were provided w/snacks both ways. This is a good overview of the city and one sees the main sights, but we didn't see the Reichstag as promised; that was a little disappointing. In addition, one doesn't get much time at each stop to see stuff; it's more like, get off the bus (excuse me, I mean "coach"), take a picture or 2 and hop back on or we'll leave you there! We did have some time at the end of the tour to shop (my passion), but we were pretty hungry at that point - it was like 4 in the afternoon - so we wasted time eating (couldn't find my favorite German dish, sauerbraten; German tourism, are you listening?), and then had very little time for shopping. What we saw of Berlin just didn't meet my expectations. It was interesting to a point. Most disappointing was our tour guide, Berndt, who thought he was funny (he wasn't); he was kind of smarmy. Of special mention was our tour escort, the young man, Tomas, who accompanied us from Warnemunde and hung w/us all day, then returned w/us. He was very nice and concerned w/our comfort.
Read Demelzabunny's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AgouraTraveler
4 reviews
Jul 2012
This equaled the best tour on the cruise. The 3 hour train ride to then from Berlin was fine. Somehow we got a private compartment, were able to catchup on some rest, and were kept busy with visits from the train attendant bringing information, maps, bottled water, muffins, large soft pretzels, wine and soft drinks, a lunch with a mystery sandwich, good-sized packages of cake, peanuts, a box of tic-tacs, etc. Our tour guide, Burkhardt, had an excellent sense of humor and told us stories of growing up with the Berlin Wall and it's aftermath. We visited some city sites as the Eastside Gallery (interesting murals painted on the wall), Checkpoint Charlie (recreated but the guide pointed out the actual sites of the American and East German checkpoints and the path of the wall seen by a double-row of bricks in the street and sidewalk), Brandenburg Gate (spectacular), and the Reichstag parliament building. Lunch was at an upscale German restaurant with prime rib. Highlights were the 4-piece organ recital at Berlin Cathedral and seeing the huge Greek and Babylonian structures at the Pergamon Museum (check out the website for amazing photos).
Read AgouraTraveler's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MostlyLegal
5 reviews
Jul 2012
This tour was very long and VERY expensive, but worth it!
Read MostlyLegal's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider:

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.