Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Barcelona Montserrat Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Barcelona Montserrat Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take the pilgrimage from Barcelona to Montserrat, one of the most important spiritual and cultural centers in the region. "The Serrated Mountain" -- over 4,000 ft. high -- is a working monastery and is home to Benedictine monks.
Member Image fudgbug
9 reviews
Dec 2015
This shore excursion was well organized with a bus ride to the train station for a ride up 4,000 feet from Monistrol to the Abbey where you can have some great views of the countryside if the weather isn't foggy. On occassion you might even hear the boys choir.
Read fudgbug's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Sandydoyles
1 review
Dec 2015
A beautiful place to see
Read Sandydoyles's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image leslie1@pppoe.ca
1 review
Oct 2015
Had to disembark bus and walk for an hour up the mountain or we would not have been able to see any of it. By the time we walked up the mountain we had such a short time that we could not have lunch or go into the museum or do the aerial ride as we had looked forward to. It was a big waste of money and very disappointing.
Read leslie1@pppoe.ca's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image likestravel
1 review
Oct 2015
Lots of walking . was cold, wet and had dense fog.
Read likestravel's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kleckjd@comcast.net
1 review
Oct 2015
We actually took the full day "Barcelona & Montserrat" bus tour. Unfortunately, the Barcelona portion of the tour was weak at best (driving around the La Sagrada Familia from 3 blocks away) and it was foggy up at Montserrat (no fault of the cruise line or bus tour).
Read kleckjd@comcast.net's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image spikedshoe
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Spoilt by weather
Read spikedshoe's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image disudds
4 reviews
Sep 2015
A well-informed history buff narrated our tour out of Barcelona and up to Montserrat. There, we were given more information and about an hour and a half of free time during which we hiked Mt. St. Joan for a beautiful view all the way back to Barcelona. We were then treated to a delicious three course lunch with generous pours of wine at a beautiful vineyard, with a tour afterwards. Finally, we had a wine tasting experience with a very good leader who taught us, even as long-time wine appreciators, some new ways to look at wine tasting. The trip back to Barcelona was left for us to relax. It was a wonderful day.
Read disudds's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Castlexperience
Member Image hbrooke1124
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Excellent guide, smaller group of 15. Charter bus to the site shared with two other groups. Tour of grounds and Basilica with the guide. 1 hour free time can be spent at the museum, hiking or taking the funicular to top of mountain. We hiked and it was beautiful. The museum has some interesting things as well. I would go back to hear the choir (they don't sing on Saturdays) as well as to explore more. Guide was adaptable as it was so busy it was hard for tour buses to get in parking lot so at their expense they let us take the train down which was really nice. Lunch at Soller de Mas was really nice to sit a long table and get to know the various guest on the tour. Tour of the winery which is in a 1000 year old castle was interesting and the wine was actually pretty good. Long day but great trip.
Read hbrooke1124's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Castle Experience
Member Image Cbraff
2 reviews
Sep 2015
well done, beautiful, lots of information, good free time
Read Cbraff's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ewadsten
1 review
Sep 2015
Montserrat was the highlight of the Barcelona visit. Highly recommended.
Read ewadsten's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image readytogo155
1 review
Jul 2015
Montserrat was very interesting. We did the walk down to the cave - but I would not recommend that in the summer (extremely hot and steep coming back).
Read readytogo155's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Barcelona Day Tours
Member Image Bigtrace
1 review
Jul 2015
Amazing scenery, the Basilica is beautiful and the monastery is very interesting. The funicular going up the mountain is quite a sight. I wish we had more time there.
Read Bigtrace's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cindyatsea
1 review
Jun 2015
Definitely worth the visit - amazing place!
Read Cindyatsea's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kccruiser111
1 review
Jun 2015
Excellent tour and a must see in Barcelona..
Read kccruiser111's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Julia Tours
Member Image Karima
1 review
Jun 2015
A beautiful spot, lovely view, magnificent monastery.
Read Karima's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image lady travel
1 review
May 2015
Now this is unique! the landscape is almost from another planet and there is spirituality in the air...you go in and you feel different, listen to the history and you don't want to leave...
Read lady travel's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kh1628
1 review
May 2015
Very pleasant, helpful tour guide who was concerned about well being and constantly ask if we were okay. Scenery was great. Lovely mountain. Walk was invigorating. Had a lovely day.
Read kh1628's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Victor
Member Image China6
1 review
May 2015
Quite a climb up to the Montserrat monastery and cathedral, but it is worth a visit because the setting is so serene and peaceful, at least early in the day before most of the tourists arrive! We stayed to hear the boys' choir sing at 1 p.m. Just ten minutes and two songs, but it was enjoyable. The artwork and chandeliers in the just were very striking.
Read China6's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: spanish-trails.com
Member Image jumpjump
2 reviews
May 2015
We did a Montserrat tour with this company. It was pick up from cruise ship port, tour & drop off at hotel. They picked up at a timely fashion & the tour was great. Guide gave some history info & accompanied us to the sites. Pointed out best place for photos & what to look for, etc. Before dropping us off at the hotel, he also had recommendations on places to eat & info on what we can do on our own. Great tour!
Read jumpjump's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Barcelona Day Tours
Member Image xriva
7 reviews
Apr 2015
This was a waste of time and money. If you want to see Monserrat, find another tour. This tour gives you a tour of Barcelona (through morning traffic), then heads to the mountain. In our case, we arrived at the Church just after 10am, and told we needed to be back on the bus at 10:50am. So, this was less than an hour's time to see the Church - and then, Mass was starting at 10:30am and if you weren't there for Mass, you were expected to leave. So, the "four hours" at Monserrat were less than an hour. Very, very disappointing.
Read xriva's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Amber parks
1 review
Apr 2015
Excellent place to visit, incredible place this is a must. The only downside was we did not spend enough time there, this should be a full day and not half day tour as the journey to/from takes an hour.
Read Amber parks's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Sherib71
1 review
Apr 2015
Fantastic lunch was good, beautiful place, only negative tour guide talked that long we missed out on getting to go into the church to hear the choir as too many people
Read Sherib71's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jacsdan
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

This portion of our private tour was excellent.

Read jacsdan's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image zedman
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Disney Montserrat with transfer to Barcelona hotel. Great. Bus from debarkation to rail stop. Railroad up to Montserrat. Excellent tour guide. Then time to explore. Went to art museum on own. (OK, not great. I am spoiled by Florence, Paris, Lima, etc. If I were not, the art museum would have been fine.) Church awesome. Hike to cross enjoyable. Tour included drink in cafeteria. Nice selection. Local market outside - be sure to try the local cheeses and honey. Excellent. Then to our hotel. Montserrat is worth the extra time and money.

Read zedman's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image russg140
16 reviews
Apr 2014

Took the train from Placa del Espana train station. Very easy. Lots of walking/hiking. The site itself is amazing!

Read russg140's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.