Barcelona Montserrat Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Barcelona Montserrat Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take the pilgrimage from Barcelona to Montserrat, one of the most important spiritual and cultural centers in the region. "The Serrated Mountain" -- over 4,000 ft. high -- is a working monastery and is home to Benedictine monks.
Member Image Ruby wedding
2 reviews
May 2017
Very interesting. Again, would have likes more time. Most of us wanted to go on the funicular railway but we were told there wasn't time.
Read Ruby wedding's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image miasvoice
1 review
Apr 2017
Excursion included transfer to the airport (both terminals). Expensive.
Read miasvoice's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cadodge
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Beautiful Monastery and setting. Included a tour of Gaudi highlights in Barcelona as well as free time downtown for lunch.
Read Cadodge's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Pacific Rim
1 review
Apr 2017
amount of time to enjoy church was too short
Read Pacific Rim's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gmcduck
1 review
Apr 2017
One of highlights of cruise- coach ride enjoyable, tour guide very good, sights and overall experience wonderful. Could have stayed longer.
Read gmcduck's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image rlh.kak@verizon.net
reviews
Mar 2017
Most unique site. Definitely visit the museum while there.
Read rlh.kak@verizon.net's full cruise review
Provider:
Member Image leapbabe
1 review
Mar 2017
EXCEPTIONALLY windy at the site that day. Lovely drive through the countryside and our tour guide was very knowledgeable...and shared with us!
Read leapbabe's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image xgwoman
1 review
Feb 2017
Half day tour ended up being a private tour with no one else signed up. Guide was pleasant and knowledgeable and accommodated us when we asked to vary the itinerary. The funicular rides are amazing as are the spectacular views of and from the quirky mountains.
Read xgwoman's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image zuume19
1 review
Feb 2017
Montserrat Monastery is a MUST see. Black Madonna.
Read zuume19's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image magicfloral
1 review
Dec 2016
Truly enjoyed the trip to Monserrat and also had a walking tour of Barcelona and saw La Sagrada Familia.
Read magicfloral's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Floater58
1 review
Oct 2016
Very nice tour and we had a great tour guide so it was a fun day. Be warned that there is a long ride out to Montserrat up several windy roads. It leads to an amazing view that is very worthwhile, just don't eat a large breakfast beforehand. LOL
Read Floater58's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Barcelona Day Tours
Member Image ThelmLou
17 reviews
Oct 2016
No crowds, only waited 15 minutes to see the black Madonna - very well organized and great guide
Read ThelmLou's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cruisepaper
1 review
Oct 2016
It was beautiful. The scenery was spectacular. The train ride up the mountain was awesome. We actually attended mass in the church.
Read cruisepaper's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Ms. Mariner
2 reviews
Oct 2016
A very comfortable bus took us on a quick overview of the city, then it was off to Montserrat and the monastery there. It was quite a surprise to find ourselves winding up narrow roads, way up into the weird and fantastic mountains. The monastery was lovely and the Basilica of the Black Virgin gorgeous with medieval architecture and statuary and tombs of knights...like walking into a fairy tale. The shops and kiosks selling cheese and other local fare were very nice. We had a lunch that was included in the tour and I think everyone had a jolly time. I am not used to seeing bottles of red wine on the table - just help yourself! The bread was excellent too. Then it was back down the mountain side, back into Barcelona for a quickie walking tour of Barri Gotic. Our tour guide took us to the Ramblas at the entrance of the Gothic Quarter. Some of our group could not make the walk, and our guide instructed them to wait in the large park where the bus let us off, and where we would meet up. She was efficient and friendly. We had a brisk walk through the old quarter. There was so much to see! But I do think I got the feel for old Catalonia. Then there was time, although limited, to explore on one's own. I myself, not being used to the "Times Square" press of people all around, was a bit unsure about being left to my own devices and stayed in the gift shop she recommended (public restrooms) but the more adventuresome could grab a bite of tapas or otherwise experience a bit of Barcelona. The three or four people we left in the park were still there upon our return and then it was back to the ship! Perhaps tours to Montserrat, or Barri Gotic should be done separately, but with so much to see and so little time, what can one do?
Read Ms. Mariner's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mccosh
1 review
Oct 2016
We only had 2 hours in Monserrat but the tour guide was excellent.
Read mccosh's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jetter314
1 review
Oct 2016
The scenery was spectacular. I definitely recommend going there.
Read jetter314's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kedick01
1 review
Oct 2016
This was a Montserrat tour from Barcelona which left at 8 AM and returned at 8 PM to Barcelona. A half day was spent at Montserrat where we saw the church, the boys choir sing and a time to tour the area on your own. After that we headed to a winery where we had a wonderful lunch and then toured and sampled wine from the winery. Another great excursion
Read kedick01's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image MAXER07
1 review
Oct 2016
Needed to be at the World Stage at 8AM as we were first off on HAL excursion to Monserrat. It was about an hour away by motor coach with lots of room. Some rain on the way, but mostly fog. It blocked what we were sure would have been spectacular views. On the divided highway our guide talked about the industry, tourism, and agriculture of the area surrounding Barcelona. Lots of automobile production....Volkswagen. Very curvy and fun ride up Montserrat Ridge with a few peeks through the fog for shots. The place is pretty impressive for its natural surroundings, location, and history. We could have been dropped off near the Monument to Columbus near Las Ramblas, but we did not want to buy lunch out and the cathedral we wanted to see was just closing for siesta until 3 PM. There was also the issue of walking a long way back to the ship over a bridge, negotiating the city bus for a shuttle back or the HAL for 12€. So, back for lunch (delicious DutchCafe) ultimately deciding on a relaxing afternoon.
Read MAXER07's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image peter grant
11 reviews
Oct 2016
Two days in Barcelona, a wonderful city. First day, two HOHO routes; second day, Montserrat tour, which was very interesting and well done, although the lineup for the Black Madonna precluded a viewing.
Read peter grant's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image formbysquirrel
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Montserrat is fantastic, and the views are incredible. The tour is marked down because of the poor quality of the bus and guide. We got a partial refund.
Read formbysquirrel's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image winter.escapee
2 reviews
Oct 2016
great way to spend the day and get to embarkation point
Read winter.escapee's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lfultz
1 review
Sep 2016
Nearly an hour out of town and up a very steep mountain, but well worth the wait. Took the gondola to the very top, which had awesome views of Barcelona and Spain
Read lfultz's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: viator
Member Image Loujul
4 reviews
Sep 2016
The tour guide was in a rush and had an attitude.
Read Loujul's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Charlotten
1 review
Sep 2016
excellent! we really enjoyed our day! one of the few excursions where there was no "hard selling" going on of any kind!
Read Charlotten's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Barcelona Day Tours
Member Image Springfieldguy
1 review
Aug 2016
See city tour.
Read Springfieldguy's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?