Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Barcelona Montserrat Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Barcelona Montserrat Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take the pilgrimage from Barcelona to Montserrat, one of the most important spiritual and cultural centers in the region. "The Serrated Mountain" -- over 4,000 ft. high -- is a working monastery and is home to Benedictine monks.
Member Image jacsdan
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

This portion of our private tour was excellent.

Read jacsdan's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image zedman
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Disney Montserrat with transfer to Barcelona hotel. Great. Bus from debarkation to rail stop. Railroad up to Montserrat. Excellent tour guide. Then time to explore. Went to art museum on own. (OK, not great. I am spoiled by Florence, Paris, Lima, etc. If I were not, the art museum would have been fine.) Church awesome. Hike to cross enjoyable. Tour included drink in cafeteria. Nice selection. Local market outside - be sure to try the local cheeses and honey. Excellent. Then to our hotel. Montserrat is worth the extra time and money.

Read zedman's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image russg140
12 reviews
Apr 2014

Took the train from Placa del Espana train station. Very easy. Lots of walking/hiking. The site itself is amazing!

Read russg140's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image liveoncelovelife
1 review
Apr 2014

We took the Monstatry tour and man what a view from up there. Absolutely beautiful and picturesque. Loved the architecture and views. Can't say enjoy about the views.

Read liveoncelovelife's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lynvirgin
1 review
Mar 2014

We were a bit rushed especially the long queue to see Mary, Mother of God in black. We had to get in and out before the Church service commenced andonce the Church service was in process we could not take any pictures. It was a very expensive trip and we did not do or see much to warrant that amount of money being spent.

Read lynvirgin's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image egyptes
4 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

We were lucky to get both brothers that own this business on the day we were in Barcelona. Peter and Carl were the best guides we have ever had in our decades of traveling. They went out of their way to accommodate my Mother who was in a wheelchair. We felt like they were friends instead of tour guides for the day. They showed us everything imaginable in Montserrat. This is a place you must see if you are in Barcelona. We had been to Barcelona several times prior to this visit but had never been to Montserrat. Carl and Peter were worth double what we paid them for the day. We saw more than you could imagine in one day and we were not rushed or hurried. They knew where for us to sit for the best view and the perfect time to get a seat to hear the boys choir and the Madonna statue at Montserrat. Go with Peter and or Carl and you will have a day you will remember for the rest of the your lives. Peter and Carl can be contacted at DayTripsBarcelona.com.

Read egyptes's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Days Trips Barcelona
Member Image Balcony12152
1 review
Sep 2013

This was the highlight of the cruise! Montserrat is absolutely magnificent. We marveled at how the monks could possibly have built the church and their quarters in such steep mountainous conditions. The church is a work of art in itself and we were fortunate to be there on a Sunday and attend a Mass.

Read Balcony12152's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bobzahlmann@gmail.com
2 reviews
Apr 2013

weather was bad. Guide was good

Read bobzahlmann@gmail.com's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kernelman
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Visited the monastery and walked the area. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Read Kernelman's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EATPRAYTRAVEL
1 review
May 2012
We booked a semi-private tour with Barcelona Day Tours, and ended up having a private tour!! We were met at the cruise terminal since this was the disembarkation port. The morning was spent at Monserrat, a monastery perched on top of a very interesting looking mountain. We got there early enough to have avoided the crowds, and thus didn't need to line up to see the church and explore its interior, with stunning architecture and sculptures. A cable car ride further up provided us with some hiking trails, which if you intend to do, better be prepared with a hat and water. The hike up to the hermitage was worth the effort, and is an interesting site to visit. After a brief lunch, we headed back to town, and circled the main sites, including a stop at Las Ramblas and its famous market, La Bogueria, before being dropped off at our hotel. Service was impeccable. On the second day, we did the Hop-on Hop-off bus and toured the area further, enjoying the beautiful building architecture, monuments and plazas. A wonderful city to visit. Did not feel threatened at all.
Read EATPRAYTRAVEL's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Still Dreaming
2 reviews
May 2012
We were picked up from the airport so we had all our luggage and it was raining and we were exhausted. So I would rate us a 2 and the guide a 4. The guide stayed with the car and guarded the luggage, so we made our way around Montserrat but ended up missing a lot because of exhaustion and rain. Barcelona day tour guide was very nice.
Read Still Dreaming's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Barcelona day tours
Member Image Cooley Consumers
7 reviews
Apr 2012
There was grumbling on the coach about leaving soooooooooooo early to visit the church, but when we got there, we were all glad. The church closes its doors to the Black Madonna at 10:30 a.m. and we just barely made it. Great job.
Read Cooley Consumers's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 61forever
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2011
This was a beautiful location and a great site to see. One of the few tours I would put in the excellent catagory.
Read 61forever's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.