Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Barcelona Montserrat Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Barcelona Montserrat Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take the pilgrimage from Barcelona to Montserrat, one of the most important spiritual and cultural centers in the region. "The Serrated Mountain" -- over 4,000 ft. high -- is a working monastery and is home to Benedictine monks.
Member Image kccruiser111
1 review
Jun 2015
Excellent tour and a must see in Barcelona..
Read kccruiser111's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Julia Tours
Member Image lady travel
1 review
May 2015
Now this is unique! the landscape is almost from another planet and there is spirituality in the air...you go in and you feel different, listen to the history and you don't want to leave...
Read lady travel's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kh1628
1 review
May 2015
Very pleasant, helpful tour guide who was concerned about well being and constantly ask if we were okay. Scenery was great. Lovely mountain. Walk was invigorating. Had a lovely day.
Read kh1628's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: Victor
Member Image China6
1 review
May 2015
Quite a climb up to the Montserrat monastery and cathedral, but it is worth a visit because the setting is so serene and peaceful, at least early in the day before most of the tourists arrive! We stayed to hear the boys' choir sing at 1 p.m. Just ten minutes and two songs, but it was enjoyable. The artwork and chandeliers in the just were very striking.
Read China6's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: spanish-trails.com
Member Image jumpjump
2 reviews
May 2015
We did a Montserrat tour with this company. It was pick up from cruise ship port, tour & drop off at hotel. They picked up at a timely fashion & the tour was great. Guide gave some history info & accompanied us to the sites. Pointed out best place for photos & what to look for, etc. Before dropping us off at the hotel, he also had recommendations on places to eat & info on what we can do on our own. Great tour!
Read jumpjump's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Barcelona Day Tours
Member Image xriva
6 reviews
Apr 2015
This was a waste of time and money. If you want to see Monserrat, find another tour. This tour gives you a tour of Barcelona (through morning traffic), then heads to the mountain. In our case, we arrived at the Church just after 10am, and told we needed to be back on the bus at 10:50am. So, this was less than an hour's time to see the Church - and then, Mass was starting at 10:30am and if you weren't there for Mass, you were expected to leave. So, the "four hours" at Monserrat were less than an hour. Very, very disappointing.
Read xriva's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Amber parks
1 review
Apr 2015
Excellent place to visit, incredible place this is a must. The only downside was we did not spend enough time there, this should be a full day and not half day tour as the journey to/from takes an hour.
Read Amber parks's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Sherib71
1 review
Apr 2015
Fantastic lunch was good, beautiful place, only negative tour guide talked that long we missed out on getting to go into the church to hear the choir as too many people
Read Sherib71's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jacsdan
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

This portion of our private tour was excellent.

Read jacsdan's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image zedman
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Disney Montserrat with transfer to Barcelona hotel. Great. Bus from debarkation to rail stop. Railroad up to Montserrat. Excellent tour guide. Then time to explore. Went to art museum on own. (OK, not great. I am spoiled by Florence, Paris, Lima, etc. If I were not, the art museum would have been fine.) Church awesome. Hike to cross enjoyable. Tour included drink in cafeteria. Nice selection. Local market outside - be sure to try the local cheeses and honey. Excellent. Then to our hotel. Montserrat is worth the extra time and money.

Read zedman's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image russg140
13 reviews
Apr 2014

Took the train from Placa del Espana train station. Very easy. Lots of walking/hiking. The site itself is amazing!

Read russg140's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image liveoncelovelife
1 review
Apr 2014

We took the Monstatry tour and man what a view from up there. Absolutely beautiful and picturesque. Loved the architecture and views. Can't say enjoy about the views.

Read liveoncelovelife's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lynvirgin
1 review
Mar 2014

We were a bit rushed especially the long queue to see Mary, Mother of God in black. We had to get in and out before the Church service commenced andonce the Church service was in process we could not take any pictures. It was a very expensive trip and we did not do or see much to warrant that amount of money being spent.

Read lynvirgin's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image egyptes
4 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

We were lucky to get both brothers that own this business on the day we were in Barcelona. Peter and Carl were the best guides we have ever had in our decades of traveling. They went out of their way to accommodate my Mother who was in a wheelchair. We felt like they were friends instead of tour guides for the day. They showed us everything imaginable in Montserrat. This is a place you must see if you are in Barcelona. We had been to Barcelona several times prior to this visit but had never been to Montserrat. Carl and Peter were worth double what we paid them for the day. We saw more than you could imagine in one day and we were not rushed or hurried. They knew where for us to sit for the best view and the perfect time to get a seat to hear the boys choir and the Madonna statue at Montserrat. Go with Peter and or Carl and you will have a day you will remember for the rest of the your lives. Peter and Carl can be contacted at DayTripsBarcelona.com.

Read egyptes's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Days Trips Barcelona
Member Image Balcony12152
1 review
Sep 2013

This was the highlight of the cruise! Montserrat is absolutely magnificent. We marveled at how the monks could possibly have built the church and their quarters in such steep mountainous conditions. The church is a work of art in itself and we were fortunate to be there on a Sunday and attend a Mass.

Read Balcony12152's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bobzahlmann@gmail.com
2 reviews
Apr 2013

weather was bad. Guide was good

Read bobzahlmann@gmail.com's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kernelman
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Visited the monastery and walked the area. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Read Kernelman's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EATPRAYTRAVEL
1 review
May 2012
We booked a semi-private tour with Barcelona Day Tours, and ended up having a private tour!! We were met at the cruise terminal since this was the disembarkation port. The morning was spent at Monserrat, a monastery perched on top of a very interesting looking mountain. We got there early enough to have avoided the crowds, and thus didn't need to line up to see the church and explore its interior, with stunning architecture and sculptures. A cable car ride further up provided us with some hiking trails, which if you intend to do, better be prepared with a hat and water. The hike up to the hermitage was worth the effort, and is an interesting site to visit. After a brief lunch, we headed back to town, and circled the main sites, including a stop at Las Ramblas and its famous market, La Bogueria, before being dropped off at our hotel. Service was impeccable. On the second day, we did the Hop-on Hop-off bus and toured the area further, enjoying the beautiful building architecture, monuments and plazas. A wonderful city to visit. Did not feel threatened at all.
Read EATPRAYTRAVEL's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Still Dreaming
3 reviews
May 2012
We were picked up from the airport so we had all our luggage and it was raining and we were exhausted. So I would rate us a 2 and the guide a 4. The guide stayed with the car and guarded the luggage, so we made our way around Montserrat but ended up missing a lot because of exhaustion and rain. Barcelona day tour guide was very nice.
Read Still Dreaming's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Barcelona day tours
Member Image Cooley Consumers
7 reviews
Apr 2012
There was grumbling on the coach about leaving soooooooooooo early to visit the church, but when we got there, we were all glad. The church closes its doors to the Black Madonna at 10:30 a.m. and we just barely made it. Great job.
Read Cooley Consumers's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 61forever
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2011
This was a beautiful location and a great site to see. One of the few tours I would put in the excellent catagory.
Read 61forever's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.