Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Barcelona City Tour Excursion Reviews

Barcelona City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the most important monuments in Barcelona in just one day on a tour of the city; popular sites include Park Güell, Sagrada Família, the Olympic Ring, and the beautiful views afforded by the scenic Montjuic Hill.
Member Image shackpacker
2 reviews
Nov 2014

We drove through the major parts of the city and to the Olympics area. Barcelona is beautiful--like a giant living work of art.

Read shackpacker's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image catharsis_vc
1 review
Sep 2014

We took the city and gaudi tour but unfortunaly it was very rainy and dark the day of the tour, so we were drenched wherever we went. The segrada familia was the highlight of the day, definately the most beautiful Church we have ever seen, unbelievable. We were hoping to see more gaudi work from up close, but only saw a few other building from Inside the bus. there was traffic and rain so this might be why we couldn`t get out for some pictures of them, which is unfortunate, but we were happy to see them. Aside from the Gaudi works though, the rest of the city was not spectacular.

Read catharsis_vc's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bharrelslp
3 reviews
Jun 2014

Greyline city tours, very nice and we saw almost every inch of Barcelona.

Read bharrelslp's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ccwells707
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

excellent

Read ccwells707's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: day tours
Member Image HEYS
1 review
Sep 2013

Very interesting place, totally spoilt by hopeless guide.

Read HEYS's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image dwstutt
1 review
Sep 2013

Did the HOHO around the entire city. Plenty to see and do. Gaudi anything was amazing. Aquarium was nice. Tapas were great.

Read dwstutt's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Bobaloo66
1 review
Sep 2013

Fair price for a city-wide tour- this was a good way to take in a lot in a minimum amount of time so you can stop at just those spots that interest you.
We booked reservations through Julia Travel for a dinner & flamenco show, but discovered that Julia dropped the ball (reserve seats directly with the restaurant, http://www.tablaocordobes.com).

Agree with everyone else- Gaudet's architecture is a sight to behold.

Read Bobaloo66's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Hop On/Hop Off bus
Member Image Aussievicki
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

We were met promptly at the ship. Bags were stowed under the bus and we saw the highlights of Barcelona which is a beautiful city in the company of a lovely tour guide. We were then taken to our hotel. A great end to our 3 week cruise. We both felt very safe there. It is a vibrant city with many places to shop, dine and relax which is just what we like to do.

Read Aussievicki's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Barcelona Day Tours
Member Image milolii
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2013

Barcelona: We arrived at 5am. Still sleeping and dreading leaving the ship. We had breakfast in Cagney's one last time and then were escorted off with our luggage by Yahira. Very easy.

We met outside with more from our group for a tour of the city with Barcelona Day Tours. Anna was our guide. She was delightful. This was a shared tour and we picked up six more who were getting on the ships( 4 to the spirit and 2 on a RCL ship) the tour included la Sagrada Famllia(church of the holy family) Anna was very knowledgeable and shared her expertise. We then said good bye to our Canadian Friends (happy planner and family) and went on to our hotel Holiday inn express with Haleoak. This was a budget friendly hotel that had a marvelous boulevard with cafes and shop and vendors one street over that lead to the Beach. This was very lively without the crowds of Las rambles . By now we had had enough of crowds and markets. We enjoyed Paella on the beach at Eseriba.

Read milolii's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image loveandcruises
13 reviews
Jul 2013

Stayed on the bus most of the time with stops for a panaromic view and a walk through the Gothic Quarter.

Read loveandcruises's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hummer88
1 review
Jul 2013

Took hop on hop off bus. First stop was a 5 euro cab ride from port. Make sure you get on the correct bus for which loop you want to go on. Used the red buses. Sagrada Familia is a must, as is the Las Ramblas.

Read hummer88's full MSC Preziosa cruise review
Provider: online
Member Image joanieg1
3 reviews
Jun 2013

City tours are great to get a over all picture and decide what you want to see the next day as we were in port over night. After being on a private taxi the prior port, we got tired of the bus and took a cab back to ship.

Read joanieg1's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Travel R
1 review
Jun 2013

After two not-so-great RCI tours (I did not go with private tour groups on this cruise), I was hoping I would not get a third. We were happily surprised to get a great tour Barcelona City Tour with a very good tour guide. This tour allowed us to visit (although not go inside) all of the highlight attractions of this city, as well as travel up many of its famous streets. It was a great teaser tour to show us everything, and also brought us back in the early afternoon with enough time to then see the city DIY, which we spent in the Las Ramblas area.

Read Travel R's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image raylor1
1 review
Apr 2013
Very Professional. Tour guide was very concerned for our happiness.
Read raylor1's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Barcelona Day Tours
Member Image goofysguy
1 review
Apr 2013
Hop on Hop off bus. Was a good tour. they have three routes which you can choose between. All you can do in one day.
Read goofysguy's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: hop-on-hop-off bus
Member Image momcat
2 reviews
Dec 2012
Bus tour which included considerable walking to reach La Sagrada Familia and other sites, including the park at the top of Montjuic and the lovely cathedral.
Read momcat's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sofmoll
2 reviews
Oct 2012
On the day of disembarkation in Barcelona our plane did not leave till 6.35pm, so we booked our only Carnival tour with some on-board credit. It was expensive, and we knew it, but we did it simply because we didn't want to be dumped in Barcelona early in the morning with all our luggage hampering us from doing anything at all. At least this tour meant our bags would be safe in the tour bus and we would be transferred to the airport later in the day. The excursion was average. There was a bit of a drive round the city, which was not much use to us as we'd spent 3 days in Barcelona pre-cruise but which people might value if they had not done like us. Following that we were taken to catch the train to Montserrat, something you could do independently for a fraction of what we had paid for our tour... but yes, we had bag sitting and that is what we needed. We were left to wander in Montserrat - a lovely spot but I feel we had too much time up our sleeves. The tour guide was pleasant enough but confusing in the instructions and directions he gave. A very nice lunch was provided. Then off to the airport. Therein lies my main gripe... the tour description said we'd finish at the airport at 3pm or 3.30pm (can't remember which), but we were deposited there at 2pm. Definitely not worth the money, and I'm left wondering if what someone else did would have been a better idea... go straight from the ship to the airport to check in bags, then return to spend the day in Barcelona, then travel back to the airport later. The Aerobus to and from Catalunya Square would have been a cheap and easy method of travel to the airport.
Read sofmoll's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image cruzcruzcruz
3 reviews
Oct 2012
Found it interesting but crowded on a busy Sunday. This tour included the transfer to the ship. The next time we saw our luggage was in our room.
Read cruzcruzcruz's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hillside
1 review
Oct 2012
We disembarked in Barcelona and explored on our own. We stayed on Las Ramblas at Le Meridien and it was a great location. We spent a day riding the Hop On Hop Off Bus. We especially enjoyed the food market at Las Ramblas.
Read hillside's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TrudeDC
1 review
Sep 2012
Barcelona is a nice city but you must beware of pickpockets!! Tour was not worth the money. Showed main Cathedral and Gaudi Cathedral and other Gaudi buildings which were pretty ugly in our opinion. Spanish model village was quite good. If we went back to Barcelona we would go to the harbour on our own.
Read TrudeDC's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image wannaberetired
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Too rushed in Barcelona and we didn't go in the Sagrada Familia. Spent too much time in Montserrat and not enough in Barcelona. Recommend a private tour. Very industrial port.
Read wannaberetired's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image MJ from PA
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Booked City Highlights of Barcelona. The tour guide was good and we saw some of the facilities used when the Olympics was held there. The city seems to have declined since I was there a few years ago - more dirty and stinky than I remember. But we decided to stay in the city instead of returning to the ship and walked down Las Rambles toward the port until we found a good restaurant. We enjoyed tapas, paella and sangria for lunch on our own.
Read MJ from PA's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image QuietTraveller
2 reviews
Sep 2012
This was and end of the cruise, get to know Barcelona tour. The tour guide covered all of the outside attractions in Barcelona and was quite knowledgeable. The city is amazing and three days is not enough to scratch the surface.
Read QuietTraveller's full Wind Surf cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Katie Starlight
1 review
Sep 2012
Barcelona Day Tours gave us a great tour. Jody dropped us off at the sites after explaining them to us and stayed with the van and luggage. I would definitely recommend them.
Read Katie Starlight's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image heather147
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Was a bit disappointed with the Sagrade Familia as it was a bit like a building site and the area was crowded with tourists, especially as there were several cruise liners in port that day.
Read heather147's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Orchid 135
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2012
Barcelona Loop Tour: Promised one hour at the Gaudi Park. One hour at The Cathedral. one hout at The Ramblas/ In actuality 30 mins at the Park £0 mins looking at the Cathedral from the outside then a 4 block walk accross roads to return to the coach. One ghour at The Ramblas. An absolute fraud.
Read Orchid 135's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image limerick101
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Again short bus tour of the city's sporting history, Nou Camp & Montjuic /Olympic stadium. 4 hr Tour again enough with children in very hot climate. Again prices for tour to be expected could have gone on our own but the ease of being ferried around on air conditioned bus was great.
Read limerick101's full Island Escape cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Stephen James
1 review
Jun 2012
guide concentrated on cathedrals and very little else. It was very busy in the city and we were left to wander around a market even if we did not want to
Read Stephen James's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image NewsyCruisey
1 review
Jun 2012
Our tour guide kept us engaged and was extremely knowledgeable. We even had spots where we had a little exploration time. We arrived at the cruise port timely and better educated about Barcelona!
Read NewsyCruisey's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ohionana26
2 reviews
Jun 2012
A good way to see the city and then we could go back later and visit areas we wanted to see better (Las Rambas)
Read ohionana26's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Travel_Grande
1 review
Jun 2012
This was a great choice. We went on the hop on hop off bus and visited a number of places. Had fun in the football stadium and my son got a no 10 with his name on it!!
Read Travel_Grande's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Crazymama2
1 review
Jun 2012
Big city, busy but interesting. Went to soccer stadium, market on the Rambla and a bicycle cart tour.
Read Crazymama2's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JohninDC
3 reviews
Jun 2012
Wonderful, beautiful city. After our tour we walked the Ramblas, enjoyed a wonderful lunch, a pitcher of sangria, and did some shopping.
Read JohninDC's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image weatherguy
12 reviews
May 2012
C.) Barcelona, Spain Here, weatherGIRL's biking in Barcelona tour was cancelled due to lack of participation, so I re-booked another tour entitled Barcelona half-day and FC football stadium (soccer) in Barcelona. The highlight for me in this tour was the La Sagrada Familia catedral -- the cathedral that ain't never been finished for hundreds of years, and still won't be finished at the earliest in the year 2026. Still in spite of its on-going construction, it offered beautiful photo opportunities for which I seized on the outside. We were then whisked along to the Barcelona soccer stadium, which they call football. We were escorted inside to see the press area, the inside of stadium, locker areas, the many trophies won, up close, and a photo opportunity with the trophies & a selected player, super-imposed in the image. After our tour, we then took ourselves to the pretty shopping district of Las Ramblas, whose walking strip has a canopy of trees along it, that lines it, and many outside cafes & eateries along the wide walking area. We also ate here within the strip as well.
Read weatherguy's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Stephen Tompkins
1 review
May 2012
Too much to see in a day, will go back. Very clean city, lots and lots to see and do.
Read Stephen Tompkins's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Kathy Terry
1 review
May 2012
We went all over the city- our personal driver on a motorcycle. Wonderful, wonderful.
Read Kathy Terry's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: sidecar Barceloona
Member Image EATPRAYTRAVEL
1 review
May 2012
Very impressed with the buildings, architecture, and cleanliness of the streets. Graffitti are a problem, but did not take away the beauty of the city.
Read EATPRAYTRAVEL's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image EATPRAYTRAVEL
1 review
May 2012
Impeccable service, very knowledgeable driver who gave a narration of the city and its surroundings, gave us tips for future visits, where to get tickets, when to visit, etc. etc.
Read EATPRAYTRAVEL's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Linda Swanson
1 review
May 2012
This excursion was organised free of charge by the cruise line and was excellent. Lasted about 3 hours.
Read Linda Swanson's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Still Dreaming
2 reviews
May 2012
Great tour loved that she used a mike, but I wish we could have toured a few more places. It was a great way to get a feel for the city.
Read Still Dreaming's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Barcelona day tours
Member Image Sagacious Traveler
1 review
May 2012
We booked two tours with Barcelona Day tours. The first was a private 1/2 day city tour in which we were picked up from the airport, shown quite a bit of the Barcelona and then delivered to our bed and breakfast when done. Right after disembarking from our ship, the second tour was a day long trip that combined a Freixenet Cava winery tour and tasting followed by a few hours in Montserrat. We were picked up from the ship, taken on these tours, and afterwards participants were taken to their respective hotels.
Read Sagacious Traveler's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Barcelona Day Tours
Member Image Jen and Joe Traveler
1 review
Apr 2012
This was not an only English speaking tour therefore the tour guide was switching from Italian and English so quickly that you felt like you were missing out on so much. I would tour Barcelona on my own next time or try to hire a tour guide not booked through the cruise line.
Read Jen and Joe Traveler's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Lynn and John Plant
1 review
Apr 2012
My husband loved it the 5 rating is his!.......i wanted to see La Sagrada Familia ):
Read Lynn and John Plant's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image escape12
1 review
Apr 2012
Had a SUPERB guide. Loved the city, loved the shopping.
Read escape12's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image relaxatsea
7 reviews
Apr 2012
We took the Barcelona City Tours hop on, hop off bus for two days. By doing this, we saw all of the major sights. We also walked all over the city and enjoyed our four days there very much. We had been warned about pickpockets, so left all of our valuables in the hotel safe and used money belts under our clothes for the small amount of cash we took with us each day.
Read relaxatsea's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Barcelona City Tours
Member Image EJKorvette
3 reviews
Apr 2012
Just amazing. Just being in Barcelona is amazing, and we got to drive all over while looking out of the window at everything!
Read EJKorvette's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Ah Noooooooo
2 reviews
Apr 2012
Fantastic guide, very knowledgeable. Great city. LOVED Barcelona.
Read Ah Noooooooo's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Alba Dia
1 review
Feb 2012
Comfortable coach, as with any coach tour the passenger's side if the devoid of tourist. The excursion allowed us to get off at las Ramblas and make our own way back to the ship.
Read Alba Dia's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Niffykat
1 review
Jul 2011
I LOVED BARCELONA, and will plan a trip to go back there. The Gothic Area is Fantastic. I could spend more time exploring the roads and alleys. Would love to have seen inside some of those BIG doors in the alley's the led into home courtyards etc... maybe they should add a HOME tour, I would have really like to see some of them on the inside.... fantasy.... also our Guide as Fabulous.....
Read Niffykat's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.