Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Athens (Piraeus) The Plaka Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) The Plaka Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Known as the "Neighborhood of the Gods," Plaka is the oldest in all of Athens. In addition to its substantial history, expect to find a wide variety of museums in the area.
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

Lots of fun. I wish we had had lots more time.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Shore excursion group
Member Image bjrose
2 reviews
Sep 2013

Not to our liking. The tour guide didn't interest us at all. The climbing at the Acropolis with all the construction going on was a nightmare. It seemed very disorganized and hard to hear the lady. The city was in turmoil with strikers shutting down the streets. We didn't feel welcome there at all. The Plaka is not like it used to be. Overpriced items and shopkeepers not as friendly as I had remembered from the 90's. We ate in a Taverna recommended by the guide, and I personally got food poisoning. I returned to the ship with great pain and new what it was from the moment I ate the late lunch. I had to rest that whole evening in bed to recover.

Read bjrose's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Mrs.JSparrow
1 review
Sep 2013

Bus took us to bottom of acroplis but the tour guide spent so much time talking no one had time to walk around, then bus took us to Plaka, again after walking thru santorini and mykonos the shopping was the same with narrow streets filled with shops and restaurants. I would recommend take the Acroplis tour instead.

Read Mrs.JSparrow's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image loveandcruises
13 reviews
Jul 2013

Would have rather toured the Acropolis.

Read loveandcruises's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JLU917
1 review
Mar 2013
Plaka was included as part of our all-day excursion. Coming at the end of the day, after we had climbed up to the Acropolis, it was nice to take our time and walk around, find an Internet cafe, have a cup of Greek coffee, and do some shopping.
Read JLU917's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions.com
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
After seeing what we'd seen of Athens, no one wanted to get off the bus! Just take us back to the ship.
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image vs8864
4 reviews
Sep 2012
Intersting shops and restaurants. Nice area of Athens.
Read vs8864's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Katie Starlight
1 review
Sep 2012
The Acropolis is Fabulous. It winds up the hill so it is gradual. My mom is in her late 70's and did it just fine. We got to stop at the Olympic Stadium also and took some funny picture there of us being goofy and pretending to throw discus. The Plaka shopping district is filled with little shops and we also enjoyed a lunch nearby. The guide recommended the lunch and it was quite good. We then wandered the Plakka on our own. I thought that our guide walked a little too fast while we were in the city and some people had a problem keeping up. Be sure to read the description for activity level.
Read Katie Starlight's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kct76
1 review
Jul 2012
The Akropolis is out of control busy, but that isn't the cruise lines fault, and it is STILL worth seeing. Athens is so big and busy that it is worth taking an excursion. I would get worried about getting lost otherwise.
Read kct76's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jsgoodrich
1 review
Jul 2012
We really just walked to Plaka and our guide told us when to meet the bus
Read jsgoodrich's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2PATBOUNCE
1 review
Jul 2012
He drove around the city, pointing things out, then dropped us off at the Plaka for independent shopping and lunch while he took a group to the Acropolis. The bus was clean and pleasant, the tour guide quite knowledgeable.
Read 2PATBOUNCE's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image World Gallery
12 reviews
Jun 2012
We booked with Context Travel. We did the Acropolis, New Acropolis Museum and Plaka. These places we visted were excellent but our guide was average. Would not use a Context Travel guide again for Athens but would highly recommend these places. It was just the right amount of places to try and cover with one day in Athens. We prefered this instead of running all over Athens trying to see everything.
Read World Gallery's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseNovice10
1 review
Jun 2012
Booked a private taxi tour. Got to see exactly what we wanted and escape the heat to an a/c van. Driver was funny and knowledgeable. Acropolis was wonderful. Plaka interesting. Convenient and cost effective for 5.
Read CruiseNovice10's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LaughCali
1 review
Apr 2012
We walked, ate and shopped at Plaka
Read LaughCali's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image explore4ever
8 reviews
Apr 2012
Great place for souvenirs.
Read explore4ever's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Rio Brewster
1 review
Apr 2012
Not much of a tour, but it was nice to just kick back and experience Athens.
Read Rio Brewster's full Costa Pacifica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.