Athens (Piraeus) The Plaka Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) The Plaka Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Known as the "Neighborhood of the Gods," Plaka is the oldest in all of Athens. In addition to its substantial history, expect to find a wide variety of museums in the area.
Member Image McLeans
1 review
Sep 2016
The tour and free time in the Plaka were a little stressful just due to the narrow streets and the amount of motorbikes that were zooming around, however it was a great excursion and the tour guide was good. The city itself seems to be a contradiction with all the historical or importiant places being well kept while those buildings surrounding them being covered in graffitti. There were a lot of hawkers and beggars around too, which cannot be helped in the countries economic climate.
Read McLeans's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Traveling redhead
1 review
Jul 2016
Had lunch and walked the plaka. Great for souvenirs.
Read Traveling redhead's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bdelahanty
1 review
Jul 2016
We walked through this area several times as it was on the way from our hotel and to/from sites. Lots of shopping and good eats!
Read bdelahanty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: self
Member Image Lovecruisin01
1 review
Jul 2016
nice
Read Lovecruisin01's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jenni33
1 review
Jul 2016
We felt the guide was disinterested and that we could have been given longer to explore.
Read Jenni33's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kwbts124
2 reviews
Jun 2016
My favorite part of Athens aside from the Microlimina area of Pireaus.
Read kwbts124's full Harmony G cruise review
Provider: Variety Cruises
Member Image vinotinto
2 reviews
Jun 2016
One of our favorite days. Took a walking tour of Acropolis, Food Tour and New Acropolis Museum with Athens Walks. It was fantastic. After the Acropolis, we stopped at 3 places to try small bites. Finished the day at the New Acropolis Museum. Learned a lot!
Read vinotinto's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Athens Walks
Member Image HYE6
1 review
Jun 2016
Athens was sad.
Read HYE6's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image caribesun
1 review
Jun 2016
Greek salads are huge
Read caribesun's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Cruise excursions
Member Image GillMG
1 review
May 2016
Loved the shops - much cheaper than Santorini
Read GillMG's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AJinOhio
1 review
May 2016
Had lunch on the Plaka and did some shopping. The street peddlers were annoying but it was fantastic!
Read AJinOhio's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image madi59269@aol.com
1 review
May 2016
We did this independently after our Viator of the Acropolis and Museum. We enjoyed it thoroughly including an excellent cafe lunch.
Read madi59269@aol.com's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image oldwo
2 reviews
May 2016
A great walk and lunch in a Greek Restaurant is and Essential. Calamari is a must have.
Read oldwo's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image arizona777
4 reviews
May 2016
Got to be part of a strike of excited thousands of transportation workers in the Plaka who added immensely to my appreciation for this cruise.
Read arizona777's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kc20202
1 review
Aug 2015
At the Plaka we had a look around at the shops (lots of souvenir shops) and had some lunch at the restaurant recommended by the guide (Hermion/Epmeion). The restaurant was quite nice, but the food was pretty average.
Read kc20202's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sarasfw
1 review
Jul 2015
Great food. Quite a lot of beggars, only fell for it once with a little girl but then saw her giving all her money to her older rough looking brother so wont be fooled again! Lovely shops and very picturesque
Read sarasfw's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: As previous
Member Image mgoudoras
1 review
Jun 2015
Had time to have lunch along the plaka. Food was good.
Read mgoudoras's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kaf1sh
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Great shops. Friendly cafés for a much needed pit stop.
Read kaf1sh's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Orlando2000
1 review
Jun 2015
We booked with the cruise and paid way too much. $109. The guide was horrible. She left early and we ended up waiting in a crowd where we were accosted. We heard some people were pick pocketed and a lady had her purse stolen. This wouldn't have happened if our guides warned us in advance and stayed with us. Greece is in bad shape but the people were generally nice.
Read Orlando2000's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LMM1801
4 reviews
Jun 2015
Plaka walking tour was super fun. I had been to the Plaka by myself back in 2009, but I hadn't ventured around much. This time we did a great walking tour that ended at a restaurant that served snacks. The food was plentiful and delicious. My favorite photo of the cruise was taken on the Plaka walking tour.
Read LMM1801's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Happyhopper 33
1 review
Mar 2015
The shops were mainly of a poor quality with nik naks for the tourist trade. The chapel near the entrance was positioned in a tranquil area. I found a bench nearby and did some bird and people watching whilst our other group members wandered around the shops.
Read Happyhopper 33's full Panorama II cruise review
Provider: Variety Cruises
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

Lots of fun. I wish we had had lots more time.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Shore excursion group
Member Image bjrose
2 reviews
Sep 2013

Not to our liking. The tour guide didn't interest us at all. The climbing at the Acropolis with all the construction going on was a nightmare. It seemed very disorganized and hard to hear the lady. The city was in turmoil with strikers shutting down the streets. We didn't feel welcome there at all. The Plaka is not like it used to be. Overpriced items and shopkeepers not as friendly as I had remembered from the 90's. We ate in a Taverna recommended by the guide, and I personally got food poisoning. I returned to the ship with great pain and new what it was from the moment I ate the late lunch. I had to rest that whole evening in bed to recover.

Read bjrose's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Mrs.JSparrow
1 review
Sep 2013

Bus took us to bottom of acroplis but the tour guide spent so much time talking no one had time to walk around, then bus took us to Plaka, again after walking thru santorini and mykonos the shopping was the same with narrow streets filled with shops and restaurants. I would recommend take the Acroplis tour instead.

Read Mrs.JSparrow's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image loveandcruises
16 reviews
Jul 2013

Would have rather toured the Acropolis.

Read loveandcruises's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?