Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Athens (Piraeus) Temple of Poseidon Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) Temple of Poseidon  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Create your own postcard-worthy snapshots of Cape Sounion’s Temple of Poseidon on a scenic trip from Athens.
Member Image prufock
1 review
Aug 2015
Very good!
Read prufock's full Celestyal Crystal cruise review
Provider: Air Canada Vacations
Member Image Gamut
1 review
Jul 2015
For me, the trip there and back was relaxing and I saw beautiful scenery. For my grandson, it was too curvy and hilly and he got car-sick. Maybe a mention of this in the description? I don't remember seeing it...
Read Gamut's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TravelingActuary
1 review
Jul 2015
We took an all day excursion that included the Acropolis, a Greek buffet lunch, and a trip to Cape Sounion to see the Temple of Poseidon. Not a lot of people know about Cape Sounion, but the drive there (about an hour) was beautiful along the coast. The Temple of Poseidon suddenly rises in the distance, and it's quite a sight to see.
Read TravelingActuary's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hyker1
7 reviews
Jun 2015
The drive to Cape Sounion is longer than I expected... about an hour and a half. However, the views are fantastic and it was great getting out of the crowded city and see some of the Attic landscape. Maria again, was very good about describing and interpreting sights along the way. Cape Sounion was very impressive. I highly recommend this tour. It takes you out and away from the zillions of people scrambling over one another. At Cape Sounion, the Temple of Poseidon isn't crowded at all. There are lovely bathroom facilities, a restaurant to grab a snack or something to drink, and the views of the Aegean are magnificent!
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LCJones629
1 review
May 2015
Athens, overall, was not a favorite of our family of 5. In fact, out of all the awesome stops we had on this cruise, Athens was our least favorite and most disappointing. I hope that someday they will be able to recoup from the economic decline and be the amazing historical place to visit, that it can be.
Read LCJones629's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image garywarry
1 review
May 2015
Long 1 day trip but was excellent and very informative. The lunch was excellent also and one of the best we have had
Read garywarry's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mandala
1 review
May 2015
A beautiful temple, in a very beautiful location. One of the best parts was the number of leftover pieces lying about the site. We were amused to see that the builders had used a peg and hole type of assembly to hold the stones in place. My husband was amused by this, quipping that "the Greeks invented Legos!"
Read Mandala's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cruise-vacation2015
1 review
May 2015
Pretty cool to see. Really really really windy there. If your a girl with long hair BRING A HAIR TIE! You will seriously regret it if you don't. Other than that the coast is beautiful and defiantly worth the kind bus ride there.
Read Cruise-vacation2015's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image prinsjh
2 reviews
Sep 2013

Fabulous tour. We had both been to Athens some 35 plus years ago so it was great to return. I had remembered Athens being very filthy and unappealing but found the city and particularly the Acropolis being well cared for and clean. Lunch was fabulous (Greek buffet) at the Intercontinental Hotel. Our guide, Helen, was very knowlegeable and responsive to people's questions and needs. The climb to the top is quite steep and on uneven terrain. Wear good footwear. The city tour showed hightlights of Athens followed with a coastal drive to Cape Sounion. Coastal drive was just spectacular and the Temple of Poseiden was lovely albeit very small compared to the Acropolis.

Read prinsjh's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image retired2012
1 review
Oct 2012
Our tour operator met us at the ship and gave us a great tour of the city, Acropolis, brought us to a fantastic place for lunch, brought us to the Mediterranean so we could stick our foot in and see how warm the water was. We toured Sounion - which was great timing - no one at Poseidon's temple but the 4 of us.
Read retired2012's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Nikos Tours
Member Image hillside
1 review
Oct 2012
We weree met at the port by Nick of Athens By Txi, a company I found on Cruise Critic posts. It was a great choice. We booked the Athens and Cape Sounion full tour and saw the highlights of Athens in the morning and then traveled to Cape Sounion and the temple of Poseidon in the afternoon. We finished the day with fabulous giros that we asked nick to order as the menu was only in Greek. We enjoyed everything about our day. The Temple of Poseidan was a short uphill walk on a mostly newly paved walkway. The ruins were beautiful overlooking the sea.
Read hillside's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Athens by Taxi
Member Image colbuck
6 reviews
Aug 2012
The Temple is located in a lovely scenery and really deserves a visit, especially if you have seen Athenms already (it was my 3rd time there). However, the excursion offered by NCL was quite disappointing as we spent more time at a bar near the beach in Vouliagmeni (without the chance to go into the sea, though!) than at the site of the temple itself.
Read colbuck's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MsAvalon
1 review
Jun 2012
The Temple didn't disappoint. Fantastic views from the cape...tour guide was good but sometimes could hear or understand her.
Read MsAvalon's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.