Athens (Piraeus) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore ancient Athens, cradle of western civilization and birthplace of democracy. Popular stops include the Parthenon, the Temple of Hephaestus, and the stadium that once held the first modern Olympics.
Member Image One Smart Kitty
1 review
Sep 2016
This is a Hop On - Hop Off tour of the port of Piraeus and Athens. You have to change buses at the Acropolis. Once you get past the best tourist places in Athens the remaining part of the route isn't worth it. Transfer back to the Piraeus bus at the Acropolis to return to the ship was problematic due to everyone wanting to return at the same time. However, it was orderly and well managed by the Hop Off - Hop On people and all was well in the end.
Read One Smart Kitty's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image WizGnome
1 review
Sep 2016
HP Tours picked us up from our hotel and provided a great tour of the City and Acropolis with a group of Cruise Critic members, afterwards dropping us at the ship with our luggage
Read WizGnome's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Hellenic Private Tours
Member Image angelbear911
1 review
Sep 2016
We took a tour of Athens with "Private Tours Athens" aka George's Taxi. This company has extremely positive reviews and they did not disappoint! They drove us to the Acropolis/Parthenon first thing in the morning before massive crowds. It was breathtaking!! They drove our group of 12 around Athens asking at each place if we wanted to jump out and take pictures. The afternoon ended in the Plaka area for shopping and lunch! Caution this area is full of pickpockets, hustlers, and overly aggressive men trying to sell $5 yarn bracelet for some party. This made us eager to get back to the bus and leave Athens..first and only time we felt stressed during the whole trip! However do not miss the opportunity to see the Acropolis!
Read angelbear911's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: George's Taxi
Member Image Sunshine Club
1 review
Aug 2016
I was surprised at the amount of graffiti around, tour was by coach looking at the main places of interest (not the acropolis as only half day) plenty of time to shop in the main street where the shops are happy for you to look around and not harass you to buy, very nice people.
Read Sunshine Club's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Mrmemor7
1 review
Aug 2016
great mall for shopping
Read Mrmemor7's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: gorge
Member Image chrika@hotmail.nl
1 review
Aug 2016
Interesting but ..... You feel you miss something, cause you dont go up to the Akropolis! The audio in the bus was not ok. Several speakers did not work.
Read chrika@hotmail.nl's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image mahamelb
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Not long enough to see Athens, no real good view of the Acropolis. Plaka district interesting , but to long at Museum. Religious Feast day so shops mainly closed.
Read mahamelb's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Maz636
1 review
Aug 2016
Guide was real nice. Athens is pretty bad-concrete jungle but the Acropolis is a must see. Also stopped at the Olympic stadium which was great to see. I don't have a need to go back but once is worth it for sure.
Read Maz636's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image shilapatel7@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Tour guide ok
Read shilapatel7@gmail.com's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image erikjoha
1 review
Jul 2016
We spent most of our time in Athens in an air conditioned bus, and if you come at the end of July beginning of August its really too hot for anything else. We saw the acropolis from the bottom and that was just fine.
Read erikjoha's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image French Gal
1 review
Jul 2016
It was a nice tour, however spoiled by the fact that my wallet was lifted out of my purse just before boarding bus back to ship in Plaka. So people be aware.
Read French Gal's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image arkansas travelers
1 review
Jul 2016
good overview of city
Read arkansas travelers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: PK Travel
Member Image Cvrs3swan
1 review
Jul 2016
Great visit to all big attractions, informative tour guide with tips for great food. Gave us a variety of options to cater for our interests.
Read Cvrs3swan's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Private Greece Tours
Member Image JanLeeC
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Took the "Taste of Athens" tour which was very good. Spent 2 hours at the Acropolis and then drove around the city to view more sites. The bus left us at The Plaka for shopping and lunch and then returned us to the ship. Tour guide was informative.
Read JanLeeC's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WalterZ
1 review
Jul 2016
What you'd expect
Read WalterZ's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image danielUK2016
1 review
Jul 2016
£40 for a bus tour. Just a few hours in Athens. Tour was in 2 languages since they couldn’t get a whole bus of English speakers. Didn’t get a single photo as noting we stop for was worth photographing.
Read danielUK2016's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image kathyjesmonth@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent way to see the city--our first visit. Allowed us to spend as little or as much time as we wanted at the many sites. Would use this way of touring again in any city that offers this way to tour.
Read kathyjesmonth@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Hop on, Hop off
Member Image bdelahanty
1 review
Jul 2016
The day the ship docked, we took Hellenic Flying Dolphin to Aegina Island. Took a taxi (10euro with tip) to Marathon Beach. Was nice. Free chairs if you buy some drinks and/or food!
Read bdelahanty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: self
Member Image Lovecruisin01
1 review
Jul 2016
Sooo hot and we had to wait in long lines for the bus. But we could hop on and hop off anytime.
Read Lovecruisin01's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image AmNotRay
1 review
Jul 2016
Amazing tour, great food and excellent opportunity to touch history
Read AmNotRay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Athenstourdriver.com
Member Image PaulDonohue
1 review
Jul 2016
Our taxi driver took us around the city. Ask to see the changing of the guard and take a video camera. Pomp and ceremony at its best. Loved it
Read PaulDonohue's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Grill Britannia
1 review
Jul 2016
Great Cunard excursion to Athens which included the Acropolis although not enough time to explore the Plaka as indicated.
Read Grill Britannia's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image kwbts124
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Just a tour by bus going from one location to the next, not bad but prolonged bus time.
Read kwbts124's full Harmony G cruise review
Provider: Variety Cruises
Member Image kingoswing70
1 review
Jun 2016
Caught the hop on hop off bus around Athens we saw so much
Read kingoswing70's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Rebecca cambridge
1 review
Jun 2016
All part of the Acropolis tour
Read Rebecca cambridge's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?