Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Athens (Piraeus) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore ancient Athens, cradle of western civilization and birthplace of democracy. Popular stops include the Parthenon, the Temple of Hephaestus, and the stadium that once held the first modern Olympics.
Member Image aldernete
1 review
Sep 2014

Glorified coach tour

Read aldernete's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Stanley Cruiser
3 reviews
Sep 2014

Just right!

Read Stanley Cruiser's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

Brief drive around.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mary6405
1 review
Sep 2014

Saw the main attractions in Athens. Shopped a little and returned to the ship. Athens was somewhat under whelming to us.

Read mary6405's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ju1
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

As the port is 7 miles away we decided to book a trip and very glad we did. Saw all the sites and then left for 1.5 hours at the Plaka at the foot of the acropolis. Had we had longer we would have explored the acropolis by ourselves as this wasn't included in the tour we booked but time was limited. We enjoyed Athens much more than we thought we would. A really beautiful city and the Plaka area was lovely. The tour guide was very informative and professional.

Read ju1's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Autumn72
6 reviews
Sep 2013

We went to the old Olympic stadium, the Acropolis, the Acropolis museum and the Plaka. Our guide was not the best. We did have enough time at the Acropolis, but not as much at the museum. Included in this tour was lunch at an ancient Greek theme restaurant. The food was good and it was mildly interesting. Time allowed for shopping at the Plaka was too much - it would have been nicer to be able to see more at the museum. I would book independently next time.

Read Autumn72's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dwstutt
1 review
Sep 2013

Taxi for the day was 100 euros plus tip. Takes you to all the sites.

Read dwstutt's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Tuney
1 review
Sep 2013

The bus tour hits several highlights of the city. Most notably the 19th century Olympic Stadium which seats 66,000 people, and is still used for Concerts and other programs. Especially interesting to me being from Atlanta, GA where the community is spending in excess of One Billion Dollars ($1,000,000,000) to replace a stadium that is less than 20 years old for a football team that has a hard time having a winning season.

Another interesting site is the tomb of the Unknown Soldier with the changing of the guards hourly 24x7x365.

Read Tuney's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image CarolynAustralia
1 review
Aug 2013

The shop they took us too was disappointing but the sightseeing was great.

Read CarolynAustralia's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cltraveler
1 review
Jul 2013

We really enjoyed the excursion through Athens and the Acropolis. Our tour guide, Aphrodite, was very knowledgeable. The excursion allowed for free time in the Plaka area which we really liked.

Read cltraveler's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image loveandcruises
13 reviews
Jul 2013

Athens was a disappointment. It is not as "old" as I expected and is filled with graffiti. The Plaka is very crowded and touristy.

Read loveandcruises's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tmt3698
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Took a shore excursion here too. This tour guide was very good. Our first stop was the Acropolis it was the 7:45am time slot. We climbed the first set of stairs stopped for a bathroom break then climbed the rest of the way. Once on top the rocks are slippery and you really have to watch where you walk plus watch all the other people. It was a remarkable place. I'm glad we arrived early before the throngs of people got there. It's hard to take pictures without people in them. After that we went to some stadium then the bus dropped us off at the Plaka. We had lunch there and shopped until we dropped then headed back to where the bus was to pick us up. Very nice excursion.

Read tmt3698's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CARMAD65
1 review
Jun 2013

Tour of the city with the main sights pointed out. Stopped below the Acropolis to take photographs.

Read CARMAD65's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ginka123
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013

The museum and city tour were both fantastic. My husband had recently had hip surgery so we ruled out hiking up to the Acropolis but were able to learn a lot from the museum and could easily see it at a distance from several places. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we enjoyed the day.

Read ginka123's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Babaganush
1 review
Jan 2013
We took a tour package that we had booked independently as many private companies offer shore packages to meet cruise ships. The guide, bus and the tour was very good. There was even free wifi on the bus and the port terminal that was useful as the cruise ship wifi through satellite is very expensive.
Read Babaganush's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image little acorn
1 review
Nov 2012
HOHO bus---very good tour, but slightly uncomfortable with the crowds massing to protest.
Read little acorn's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image trexdex
1 review
Nov 2012
Another wasted Bus tour as we only got to see buildings covered with graffiti, and the Acropolis so far away it might as well have been in another Country. Would have been better to do our own thing.
Read trexdex's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Libby1787
1 review
Oct 2012
We arranged a private tour through Private Greece tours with Nikos prior to leaving for our trip. Since we wanted to see as much as Athens as possible, a private tour was the best option for us because we got to tailor our schedule for the day. We met Nikos in the port terminal at 8am and immediately drove to the Acropolis before the crowds starting pouring in. We didn't have to wait in any lines and easily walked to the top in just a few minutes. We joke now that we basically had the entire Acropolis to ourselves. Our pictures are phenomenal due to this. By the time we headed back down around 10am, the line to get in was unbelievable. We really lucked out. It would have been miserable waiting in that long of a line, but luckily it was cool out. I can't imagine what it's like in the summer heat. We highly recommend that if you want to see the Acropolis, do it as early as possible. Next, we headed to the Temple of Olympian Zeus, then to the old Olympic stadium, then to the changing of the guard. We drove around downtown Athens for a bit before ending up at a lunch spot near the Plaka. We strolled through the Plaka, did some shopping, then visited the Ancient Agora. After, we headed to the new Acropolis museum, but my husband and I decided to walk around the streets of Athens given that we only had an hour before driving back to the ship. All in all, we had an amazing day in Athens thanks to our tour with Nikos. I personally would pay the extra money for a private tour because you get to see a lot more than the large tour groups through RC, and you don't have to deal with the subway or taxis.
Read Libby1787's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Private Greece Tours
Member Image chestnuthouse
1 review
Oct 2012
We opted for the cruise line tour because it seemed like the simplest way to visit the Acropolis, our primary interest, and get an overview of the city. The experienced guide knew the ropes for moving us around the Acropolis before it was mobbed. It was a perfectly fine experience, nothing superior, but our goals were accomplished.
Read chestnuthouse's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cb1968
14 reviews
Sep 2012
Athens Sightseeing & Acropolis Bus hardly slowed down as the guide pointed out the window at what we were suppose to be seeing. Many monuments covered in graffiti.
Read cb1968's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lookingforwater
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Ahtens on your own - Athens must have at one point been a beautiful city but seeing almost every bit of spare space in the city spray-painted with graffiti was a shame. Also, walking past buses parked outside their parliament building full of solders tooled-up for a war waiting to happen was sad to see. Plenty of shops it that is what you want. Didn't go up to Acropolis as did this on previous visit. There is a lovely interesting park just behind the parliament building, - go there. It is only 15 mins walk from pick-up point.
Read Lookingforwater's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Peter Christmas
1 review
Sep 2012
good insight in to city with views & photo stops for all the main tourist points - rather over priced but enjoyable apart from the backstreet tacky souvenir shop which they drop off at for 25 minutes!
Read Peter Christmas's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image CCDH
1 review
Sep 2012
After speaking to other people, decided to opt for bus tour of city. Go out of port and buses are on left (we got directions from very nice taxi driver). Tickets are €20 pp which gives you travel on 2 routes, 1 from port to city and 1 around city. Be prepared for a lot of walking and hill climbing as most monuments are elevated. Historically this is a great tour but disappointed with all the grafitti in the city. Be prepared for a long day.
Read CCDH's full Costa Mediterranea cruise review
Provider: Hop-on Hop-off Bus
Member Image ge1shh
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
Booked a bus similar to the hop on/hop off type except that it had a guide, and you stayed with the same bus. Worked very well. Drove us around various places, and the most memorable stop was at the Changing of the Guards. We had an hour and a half of our own time walking around the Plaka area, where we got a nicely home-cooked meal at the 'Taverna Plaka', recommended by our guide.
Read ge1shh's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rossgregg
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2012
City tour was good. Stopped at the Acropolis. Very nice; but very hot.
Read rossgregg's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image stagetek23
3 reviews
Aug 2012
could have done more with the hop on and hop off bus, it was very expensive. $120 for 5 hours.
Read stagetek23's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jsgoodrich
1 review
Jul 2012
Nice tour..
Read jsgoodrich's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image surelyso
2 reviews
Jul 2012
Enjoyed time in Plaka. Opted not to climb to top of Acropolis. Ate at open-air cafe serving gyros. Nice authentic Greek meal. Shopped a little, too.
Read surelyso's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image fabnfortysomething
7 reviews
Jul 2012
We had Pauls son Dimitri as our guide and had a fantastic time The Acropolis was difficult to negotiate even by the able bodied because of slippery steps and uneven surfaces but worth it cost for a 12 seater minibus worked out at 37 euros each for 11 of us plus 12 euros admission to the ancient sites
Read fabnfortysomething's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: greek taxi
Member Image NewsyCruisey
1 review
Jun 2012
Outstanding tour with Private Greece Tours with an experienced driver-guide. His English was excellent and he was extremely knowledgeable and flexible, tailoring our tour to our needs and sites we wanted to see on our half-day panoramic. Vehicle was clean and comfortable. Our tour included most of the popular attractions and some time to do things on our own. When the driver-guide wasn't able to park near an attraction to wait, we were temporarily provided a local cell phone to call once we were ready to be picked-up. Very good tour company with great driver-guides.
Read NewsyCruisey's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Private Greece Tours
Member Image barcafan
1 review
Jun 2012
Nikos Loukas took us to the Acropolis, Agora, and Plaka, as well as the Chapel of St. George on Lycabettus Hill, where we enjoyed a breathtaking view of Athens. He helped me make the day special for my wife Laura, on her birthday, met us at the boat with a bouquet of flowers as requested, and for lunch reserved a rooftop restaurant with a view of the Acropolis.
Read barcafan's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Nikos Loukas (www.privategreecetours.com)
Member Image CleoandAnthony
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2012
The tour 'Ancient Athens, plaka and shopping' was 4 hours. Excellent mix of activity and time at each.
Read CleoandAnthony's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Debs
1 review
Jun 2012
Really good.
Read Debs's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bugsdad
1 review
Jun 2012
private tour of athens including Acropolis, old olympic stadium, ancient agora, temple of zeus, acropolis museum, and city tour with lunch at a local sidewalk cafe
Read bugsdad's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mazla
1 review
Jun 2012
I organised for Greek Taxi to be our private tour guide during our day's visit to Athens by cruise ship having read the very positive reviews on Trip Advisor. From the first email Paul was efficient, knowledgeable and friendly and gave me confidence that they could take care of our needs. We arrived early and Konstantinos was there waiting for us and whisked us off to the Acropolis, Zues' Temple, the Roman Agora, etc. He conversed with us not just on the sights and history of Athens but at our initiation talked about the more contemporary issues facing Greece. We took advantage of a long port stay and also went to Cape Scunion to see Poiesdon's Temple which was worth the drive. We had greek salad and souvlaki in a local restaurant recommended by Kos and it was the best greek salad I've ever tasted with the water virtually lapping at our feet it was truly a waterfront restaurant. We thorougly enjoyed the day but if we had to pick a highlight it was the Acropolis. Thanks to Paul and his team for offering such a high quality sightseeing service in the airconditioned comfort of a mercedes sedan with a very knowledgeable and friendly driver. Thoroughly recommend.
Read Mazla's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Greek Taxi
Member Image TravlOpz
1 review
Jun 2012
Amazing Acropolis Museum
Read TravlOpz's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Artteacher
2 reviews
Jun 2012
This tour was basically a bus ride in traffic through a densely urbanized sprawl. Occasionally we would pass a ruin (forget about getting a picture from the moving bus). We stopped at the base of the hill upon which the Acropolis was built - yes, you could see it - yes, you could get a photo - basically like trying to shoot the top floor of a thirty story building from the sidewalk. We stopped at the Archeological Museum and the "guide" took it upon himself to lead us by the nose around the place for about an hour before "letting" us have some free time. Unless you can't read or have never been to a museum before, this was kind of annoying. Probably will not take a tour of this type again.
Read Artteacher's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mmeachm
4 reviews
Jun 2012
Great guide, great tour. Would do this one again.
Read mmeachm's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Fleur
1 review
May 2012
Hated Athens! We did the tour of Athens and the Acropolis, we only paid EUR30PP but still I wouldnt bother with this one, if your going to go to Athens you should go to the Acropolis but don't bother with anything else. We didn't get to go into the Acropolis but saw it from the base. I am pregnant and it was hot, so didnt fancy the steep steps and climb to the top. I understand you can get the metro from across the port to the Acropolis for EUR5 return , Not sure how much it was to get in. All in all couldnt wait to leave.
Read Fleur's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image doffina
2 reviews
May 2012
Athens/Piraeus - Except for visiting the Acropolis with the Princess excursion (only one we booked through them) this was the worst port of all. Our tour didn't depart until afternoon, so we walked around Piraeus in the morning. It was dirty, with public green areas not maintained at all. It may be attributed to the economy, but nonetheless was not pleasant. When we drove through Athens in the afternoon, we were equally disappointed. There was graffiti and trash everywhere, even on old buildings. Truly a shame. Would not visit again.
Read doffina's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mokopuna2
2 reviews
May 2012

George is an excellent driver who knows his way around and through the many narrow streets and crazy drivers of Athens. His knowledge of the city is fantastic. He took us to the Acropolis and around town including a fantastic neighbourhood restaurant where we enjoyed a typical Greek family lunch. He also took us to the highest point of the city for a great photo opportunity, returning us back to the ship with plenty of time to spare. He is very professional.

Read mokopuna2's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: George Taxi and Limo
Member Image PHWoman
1 review
Not Rated
May 2012
Interesting, the residents and shop keepers were kind,helpful.
Read PHWoman's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LaughCali
1 review
Apr 2012
The excursion included the entry to the acropolis and the museum, we learned so much from the local guide. worth every penny.
Read LaughCali's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image lexmiller
10 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2011
On our day in Athens, we booked shore excursion PR06, Athens Exclusive Tour. This shore excursion, I have to say, of all of the Celebrity shore excursions that we have taken (I am writing this review a year and a few months after the fact so my experience is broader than at the time we took this one), was the most disappointing of all of the shore excursions ever, for one reason, and one alone, but it was a big reason. It was the excessive time spent in the Benaki Museum. A lovely museum, lots of antiquities, very well run and organized, beautiful - but from the shore excursion description, we had no idea at all that we would be in there for 2.5 hours!!! OH THAT WAS WAY TOO MUCH for this museum, considering how much else was packed into this day - our guide was brilliant, full of information, but she felt that it was her primary duty in life to make sure that we knew everything that she knew, every last fact, by the time we would leave this museum! What this meant is that we had too little time at the Acropolis and almost no time at all at the Plaka to shop, which was very disappointing. Lunch at Dionysos Zonar's at the foot of the Acropolis was truly fantastic, a view that was almost unreal, multi-coursed meal, traditional but modernized Greek dishes, exceptional quality - BUT, too long at the Bernaki, way way too long, leaving not enough time for individual exploration of the Acropolis and almost no time to explore Plaka and shop there.
Read lexmiller's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.