Athens (Piraeus) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore ancient Athens, cradle of western civilization and birthplace of democracy. Popular stops include the Parthenon, the Temple of Hephaestus, and the stadium that once held the first modern Olympics.
Member Image Maz636
1 review
Aug 2016
Guide was real nice. Athens is pretty bad-concrete jungle but the Acropolis is a must see. Also stopped at the Olympic stadium which was great to see. I don't have a need to go back but once is worth it for sure.
Read Maz636's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image erikjoha
1 review
Jul 2016
We spent most of our time in Athens in an air conditioned bus, and if you come at the end of July beginning of August its really too hot for anything else. We saw the acropolis from the bottom and that was just fine.
Read erikjoha's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image French Gal
1 review
Jul 2016
It was a nice tour, however spoiled by the fact that my wallet was lifted out of my purse just before boarding bus back to ship in Plaka. So people be aware.
Read French Gal's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image arkansas travelers
1 review
Jul 2016
good overview of city
Read arkansas travelers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: PK Travel
Member Image Cvrs3swan
1 review
Jul 2016
Great visit to all big attractions, informative tour guide with tips for great food. Gave us a variety of options to cater for our interests.
Read Cvrs3swan's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Private Greece Tours
Member Image JanLeeC
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Took the "Taste of Athens" tour which was very good. Spent 2 hours at the Acropolis and then drove around the city to view more sites. The bus left us at The Plaka for shopping and lunch and then returned us to the ship. Tour guide was informative.
Read JanLeeC's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WalterZ
1 review
Jul 2016
What you'd expect
Read WalterZ's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image danielUK2016
1 review
Jul 2016
£40 for a bus tour. Just a few hours in Athens. Tour was in 2 languages since they couldn’t get a whole bus of English speakers. Didn’t get a single photo as noting we stop for was worth photographing.
Read danielUK2016's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image kathyjesmonth@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent way to see the city--our first visit. Allowed us to spend as little or as much time as we wanted at the many sites. Would use this way of touring again in any city that offers this way to tour.
Read kathyjesmonth@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Hop on, Hop off
Member Image bdelahanty
1 review
Jul 2016
The day the ship docked, we took Hellenic Flying Dolphin to Aegina Island. Took a taxi (10euro with tip) to Marathon Beach. Was nice. Free chairs if you buy some drinks and/or food!
Read bdelahanty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: self
Member Image Lovecruisin01
1 review
Jul 2016
Sooo hot and we had to wait in long lines for the bus. But we could hop on and hop off anytime.
Read Lovecruisin01's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image AmNotRay
1 review
Jul 2016
Amazing tour, great food and excellent opportunity to touch history
Read AmNotRay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Athenstourdriver.com
Member Image PaulDonohue
1 review
Jul 2016
Our taxi driver took us around the city. Ask to see the changing of the guard and take a video camera. Pomp and ceremony at its best. Loved it
Read PaulDonohue's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Grill Britannia
1 review
Jul 2016
Great Cunard excursion to Athens which included the Acropolis although not enough time to explore the Plaka as indicated.
Read Grill Britannia's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image kwbts124
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Just a tour by bus going from one location to the next, not bad but prolonged bus time.
Read kwbts124's full Harmony G cruise review
Provider: Variety Cruises
Member Image kingoswing70
1 review
Jun 2016
Caught the hop on hop off bus around Athens we saw so much
Read kingoswing70's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Rebecca cambridge
1 review
Jun 2016
All part of the Acropolis tour
Read Rebecca cambridge's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Payneep
1 review
May 2016
Very hot and bus was crowded but great way to see the sights
Read Payneep's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image AJinOhio
1 review
May 2016
Took a city tour at night, very interesting around the port!
Read AJinOhio's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image liv789
1 review
May 2016
hot, ok over view. Easy way to get off cruise ship.
Read liv789's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: hop on off
Member Image MPalermo
1 review
May 2016
The tour is great, but always a little leery about not booking through the cruise line in case something goes wrong. We have used Viator in the States and in Sicily so we were happy enough with them to take the chance.
Read MPalermo's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: viator
Member Image Juffer
1 review
May 2016
Was impressed with tour on little train first all around the port and through the city then the bus trip to Athens seeing so many historical buildings and Olympic stadiums.wished I'd had more time to see the Acropolis maybe next time.also visited the Panathenic stadium so fantastic these buildings are still standing after all these centuries. Only down side was all the open areas so shabby and untidy also the abanded airport with immigrants.for the amount of cruise ships and visitors time these tourist areas were tidied up.
Read Juffer's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image maryewoods1@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
This was done on the bus and was a good way to see the most of the city within the short time frame.
Read maryewoods1@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sagirits
1 review
Dec 2015
good guide
Read sagirits's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image HockeyLady
1 review
Oct 2015
Day bus--showed how poor Athens is.
Read HockeyLady's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?