Athens (Piraeus) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore ancient Athens, cradle of western civilization and birthplace of democracy. Popular stops include the Parthenon, the Temple of Hephaestus, and the stadium that once held the first modern Olympics.
Member Image danielUK2016
1 review
Jul 2016
£40 for a bus tour. Just a few hours in Athens. Tour was in 2 languages since they couldn’t get a whole bus of English speakers. Didn’t get a single photo as noting we stop for was worth photographing.
Read danielUK2016's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image kathyjesmonth@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent way to see the city--our first visit. Allowed us to spend as little or as much time as we wanted at the many sites. Would use this way of touring again in any city that offers this way to tour.
Read kathyjesmonth@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Hop on, Hop off
Member Image AmNotRay
1 review
Jul 2016
Amazing tour, great food and excellent opportunity to touch history
Read AmNotRay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Athenstourdriver.com
Member Image kwbts124
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Just a tour by bus going from one location to the next, not bad but prolonged bus time.
Read kwbts124's full Harmony G cruise review
Provider: Variety Cruises
Member Image kingoswing70
1 review
Jun 2016
Caught the hop on hop off bus around Athens we saw so much
Read kingoswing70's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Rebecca cambridge
1 review
Jun 2016
All part of the Acropolis tour
Read Rebecca cambridge's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Payneep
1 review
May 2016
Very hot and bus was crowded but great way to see the sights
Read Payneep's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image AJinOhio
1 review
May 2016
Took a city tour at night, very interesting around the port!
Read AJinOhio's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image liv789
1 review
May 2016
hot, ok over view. Easy way to get off cruise ship.
Read liv789's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: hop on off
Member Image MPalermo
1 review
May 2016
The tour is great, but always a little leery about not booking through the cruise line in case something goes wrong. We have used Viator in the States and in Sicily so we were happy enough with them to take the chance.
Read MPalermo's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: viator
Member Image Juffer
1 review
May 2016
Was impressed with tour on little train first all around the port and through the city then the bus trip to Athens seeing so many historical buildings and Olympic stadiums.wished I'd had more time to see the Acropolis maybe next time.also visited the Panathenic stadium so fantastic these buildings are still standing after all these centuries. Only down side was all the open areas so shabby and untidy also the abanded airport with immigrants.for the amount of cruise ships and visitors time these tourist areas were tidied up.
Read Juffer's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image maryewoods1@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
This was done on the bus and was a good way to see the most of the city within the short time frame.
Read maryewoods1@gmail.com's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sagirits
1 review
Dec 2015
good guide
Read sagirits's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image HockeyLady
1 review
Oct 2015
Day bus--showed how poor Athens is.
Read HockeyLady's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image CobraJet
1 review
Oct 2015
Too much crammed into too little time. The driving was long. The city itself is not pretty. The ruins and the museum were awesome. Take focused, targeted tours, not the big general one.
Read CobraJet's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image AWW3
1 review
Oct 2015
Liked the stops the bus made at original Olympics sites
Read AWW3's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Keevan
1 review
Sep 2015
Bus available at port for 22 euros each. Visited key sites independently including Acropolis, agora and plaka.
Read Keevan's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Hop on hop off tour
Member Image Karin1959
1 review
Sep 2015
Excellent
Read Karin1959's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Travelmad
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Saw all important sights. Had free time in the old town which was good.
Read Travelmad's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Julia Huddless
2 reviews
Aug 2015
We just bus that dropped you off in Athens and watched the changing of the guards at Parliament Buildings which was fantastic. We the took the Hop on hop off city tour bus.
Read Julia Huddless's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Clive99
1 review
Aug 2015
Got open top bus out of the terminal 15 euros great value
Read Clive99's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image brummiekev
1 review
Jul 2015
Didn't get very close to attractions. Dropped off at recommended shop for half hour. Very expensive.
Read brummiekev's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tdelpinal
1 review
Jul 2015
A little disappointing, because it was very hectic and lots of people, very windy.
Read tdelpinal's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruisemissile
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Great guide great tour, George our driver took us to a restaurant behind the Hilton near the US Embassy called "5 Phi" (The greek symbol for PHI) awesome, family style and very inexpensive
Read cruisemissile's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Spirostours spirostours@yahoo.com
Member Image Igetseasick
1 review
Jun 2015
A quick tour of the city where the guide pointed out a few of the landmark. We then took ourselves up to the Acropolis. Amazing. Very hot and dry, and lots of tourists with selfie sticks, grrrrr! We got lost coming down the hill and I'm sure we circumnavigated the Acropolis 3 times before we found our way back to the main district near where we to meet up for the bus back. A great city and I understand why the Greeks have no money, how do they keep these great sites open?
Read Igetseasick's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.