Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Athens (Piraeus) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore ancient Athens, cradle of western civilization and birthplace of democracy. Popular stops include the Parthenon, the Temple of Hephaestus, and the stadium that once held the first modern Olympics.
Member Image sagirits
1 review
Dec 2015
good guide
Read sagirits's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image HockeyLady
1 review
Oct 2015
Day bus--showed how poor Athens is.
Read HockeyLady's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image CobraJet
1 review
Oct 2015
Too much crammed into too little time. The driving was long. The city itself is not pretty. The ruins and the museum were awesome. Take focused, targeted tours, not the big general one.
Read CobraJet's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image AWW3
1 review
Oct 2015
Liked the stops the bus made at original Olympics sites
Read AWW3's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Keevan
1 review
Sep 2015
Bus available at port for 22 euros each. Visited key sites independently including Acropolis, agora and plaka.
Read Keevan's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Hop on hop off tour
Member Image Karin1959
1 review
Sep 2015
Excellent
Read Karin1959's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Travelmad
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Saw all important sights. Had free time in the old town which was good.
Read Travelmad's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Julia Huddless
2 reviews
Aug 2015
We just bus that dropped you off in Athens and watched the changing of the guards at Parliament Buildings which was fantastic. We the took the Hop on hop off city tour bus.
Read Julia Huddless's full Thomson Spirit cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Clive99
1 review
Aug 2015
Got open top bus out of the terminal 15 euros great value
Read Clive99's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image brummiekev
1 review
Jul 2015
Didn't get very close to attractions. Dropped off at recommended shop for half hour. Very expensive.
Read brummiekev's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tdelpinal
1 review
Jul 2015
A little disappointing, because it was very hectic and lots of people, very windy.
Read tdelpinal's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruisemissile
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Great guide great tour, George our driver took us to a restaurant behind the Hilton near the US Embassy called "5 Phi" (The greek symbol for PHI) awesome, family style and very inexpensive
Read cruisemissile's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Spirostours spirostours@yahoo.com
Member Image Igetseasick
1 review
Jun 2015
A quick tour of the city where the guide pointed out a few of the landmark. We then took ourselves up to the Acropolis. Amazing. Very hot and dry, and lots of tourists with selfie sticks, grrrrr! We got lost coming down the hill and I'm sure we circumnavigated the Acropolis 3 times before we found our way back to the main district near where we to meet up for the bus back. A great city and I understand why the Greeks have no money, how do they keep these great sites open?
Read Igetseasick's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mermamasailsagain
1 review
Jun 2015
Very good tour walking to the sites of Acropolis, The Plaka, etc
Read mermamasailsagain's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Not sure
Member Image hyker1
8 reviews
Jun 2015
Basically, it was a bus tour in a crowded city. Sadly, this was the one area Maria lacked as far as dialogue. She pointed things out, but didn't divulge in much history behind those things.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sandygram
1 review
May 2015
interesting to see all the sites of Athens
Read Sandygram's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LCJones629
1 review
May 2015
Athens, overall, was not a favorite of our family of 5. In fact, out of all the awesome stops we had on this cruise, Athens was our least favorite and most disappointing. I hope that someday they will be able to recoup from the economic decline and be the amazing historical place to visit, that it can be.
Read LCJones629's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image newsbob
2 reviews
May 2015
We were sorely disappointed at the Acropolis, which ranked high on our bucket list. But there is a lot of restoration work underway, which is good for the future, but now I'll have to spend time Photoshopping cranes and workmen out of photos of the Parthenon. Our tour also took us to Cape Sounion, which was a fairly long bus ride, but the interesting remains of a Roman temple.
Read newsbob's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image garywarry
1 review
May 2015
Long 1 day trip but was excellent and very informative. The lunch was excellent also and one of the best we have had
Read garywarry's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jumpjump
2 reviews
May 2015
I arranged pick up from Athens Airport upon arrival & begin Athens city tour & Cape Sounion. Since arriving not early enough & not really late, I did not want to waste the day. Our party of 6 arrived 10 AM & off we went. I was in contact with Frank by email (great communication) & he figured out what to do best & so we would miss the crowds. The tour was great. We had a driver & a guide with us. The day we arrived it was very windy but the sites were amazing! Great tour. We had a late lunch & they dropped us off at our hotel. Stayed until we were checked-in & made sure we were good before leaving us. They also told us what was available to do near our hotel which was great. Got some delicious fruits & walked around the Plaka.
Read jumpjump's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Hellenic Private Tours
Member Image tfolkert
1 review
May 2015
We saw several things on a very limited period of time. The changing of the guards at the Tomb of the Unknown was an interesting visit. A much different atmosphere than our Nation Unknown Tomb.
Read tfolkert's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image IntrepidExplorers
1 review
Apr 2015
Fotis was professional and extremely friendly. He knows his stuff and will tailor your sightseeing to whatever you want to do. He knows how to pace the tour to avoid crowds.
Read IntrepidExplorers's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Fotis Kolliris
Member Image aldernete
1 review
Sep 2014

Glorified coach tour

Read aldernete's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Stanley Cruiser
3 reviews
Sep 2014

Just right!

Read Stanley Cruiser's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

Brief drive around.

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.