Athens (Piraeus) City Tour Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore ancient Athens, cradle of western civilization and birthplace of democracy. Popular stops include the Parthenon, the Temple of Hephaestus, and the stadium that once held the first modern Olympics.
Member Image SLydon
1 review
Nov 2016
We took the hop on Hop Off, from the ship to Athens. Some people took public busses but I was with an older person and wanted to maximise view of the city. We went to the top of the Acropolis which wasn't as difficult as it appears. Perhaps in summer it is mobbed and the groups make it difficult to see. We had a great time but perhaps booking an English language tour of the Acropolis would be recommended for people without a good understanding of the related history and culture.
Read SLydon's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Open Tour
Member Image davidandjie
1 review
Oct 2016
A waste of time. The traffic in Athens made it impossible to see anything as there was a fear we would not be able to return to the ship on time.
Read davidandjie's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Hop On Hop Off
Member Image amharris829
2 reviews
Oct 2016
It was good. Nikos was extremely personable and drove us around and then to the port. This was helpful because it was raining outside and my 62 year old mother doesn't like to walk too much. However, where he drove us, we basically could have walked to (on a normal non-rainy day with a person who doesn't mind walking). The price of the excursion was way more than it should have been, but Nikos was a great companion for the day.
Read amharris829's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Welcome Pickups
Member Image GreenAcres10110
1 review
Oct 2016
Part of the Acropolis tour was a quick bus tour past some of the highlights of Athens. All we needed to see this time
Read GreenAcres10110's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Boyrauch
1 review
Oct 2016
The day was mostly rainy so we didn't venture off the ship until after lunch.We took one of the hop-on hop-off tours. The rain stopped soon after we got on the bus and we had a nice tour of the city.
Read Boyrauch's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image winter.escapee
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Saw everything with a very entertaining guide, included a lunch stop in Cape Sounion
Read winter.escapee's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: George's Taxi
Member Image BeachBoundGirl72
2 reviews
Oct 2016
This was an 8 hour tour, called The Best of Athens, that we booked on our own. We had a very nice driver who was very nice and extremely knowledgeable about Athens. He took us all over the city with stops at the Acropolis, the Parthenon, and a few other places. We ate lunch at a hole in the wall tavern called 5eff's. We ate a family style lunch and were completely stuffed when we left. The price was amazing and this was by far the best meal I ate in 15 days in Europe.
Read BeachBoundGirl72's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Share a Shore Excursion
Member Image Tbird58
1 review
Sep 2016
Ancient Athens is not to be missed. We got to the Acropolis early in the day before the crowds and so glad we did. Our guide was so knowledgeable. She gave us the history and stories in such a way they came alive. From there we went to the Olympic Stadium and the tomb of the Unknown Soldier to watch the changing of the guards, which was awesome. Very nice day and recommend this tour company.
Read Tbird58's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: PK Tours - Greece
Member Image parr2300
1 review
Sep 2016
ride to and from town 5+/- K
Read parr2300's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image HappyFeet66
1 review
Sep 2016
Good tour. We had time to see the Platka to shop and eat lunch and walked to the government building to see the guard change before meeting the bus. Lots of time at the Acropolis to see everything there. We were happy with this tour. No hassle with finding buses etc. we just went directly to the tour bus when we left the ship.
Read HappyFeet66's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sanel
1 review
Sep 2016
Great city but weak tour.
Read Sanel's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: Centrotrans
Member Image Turbo Trace
1 review
Sep 2016
Made good because of our excellent guide, Eleni.
Read Turbo Trace's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AmazingAsheville
3 reviews
Sep 2016
This tour started with a driving tour of Athens and gave us a chance to view the Acropolis but only from the outside. We then were taken to Plaka where we had an hour and a half for shopping (we spent our time at a sidewalk cafe). Overall, this was the worst Celebrity tour we took.
Read AmazingAsheville's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image computerqwerty
3 reviews
Sep 2016
We stopped for photos at all the main sites and then dropped off and walked to the Government to see the amusing changing of the guards.
Read computerqwerty's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image sunwalker
1 review
Sep 2016
Again, I think we saw as much as folk on other tours on our own(I heard complaints of too much talk from guide to taking too much time) Acropolis is a must see! Easy to walk around.
Read sunwalker's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Weboos2
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Used the hop on hop off bus, which was excellent. Saw everything
Read Weboos2's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: hop on hop off bus
Member Image daleleah
1 review
Sep 2016
Toured the city and had the different areas described/explained.
Read daleleah's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: FORGOT
Member Image Warno
1 review
Sep 2016
We were too worn out to appreciate it. Great food!
Read Warno's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image photos4U
1 review
Sep 2016
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and we had very comfortable van for the tour.
Read photos4U's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: PK travel
Member Image One Smart Kitty
1 review
Sep 2016
This is a Hop On - Hop Off tour of the port of Piraeus and Athens. You have to change buses at the Acropolis. Once you get past the best tourist places in Athens the remaining part of the route isn't worth it. Transfer back to the Piraeus bus at the Acropolis to return to the ship was problematic due to everyone wanting to return at the same time. However, it was orderly and well managed by the Hop Off - Hop On people and all was well in the end.
Read One Smart Kitty's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image WizGnome
1 review
Sep 2016
HP Tours picked us up from our hotel and provided a great tour of the City and Acropolis with a group of Cruise Critic members, afterwards dropping us at the ship with our luggage
Read WizGnome's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Hellenic Private Tours
Member Image angelbear911
1 review
Sep 2016
We took a tour of Athens with "Private Tours Athens" aka George's Taxi. This company has extremely positive reviews and they did not disappoint! They drove us to the Acropolis/Parthenon first thing in the morning before massive crowds. It was breathtaking!! They drove our group of 12 around Athens asking at each place if we wanted to jump out and take pictures. The afternoon ended in the Plaka area for shopping and lunch! Caution this area is full of pickpockets, hustlers, and overly aggressive men trying to sell $5 yarn bracelet for some party. This made us eager to get back to the bus and leave Athens..first and only time we felt stressed during the whole trip! However do not miss the opportunity to see the Acropolis!
Read angelbear911's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: George's Taxi
Member Image Sunshine Club
1 review
Aug 2016
I was surprised at the amount of graffiti around, tour was by coach looking at the main places of interest (not the acropolis as only half day) plenty of time to shop in the main street where the shops are happy for you to look around and not harass you to buy, very nice people.
Read Sunshine Club's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Mrmemor7
1 review
Aug 2016
great mall for shopping
Read Mrmemor7's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: gorge
Member Image chrika@hotmail.nl
1 review
Aug 2016
Interesting but ..... You feel you miss something, cause you dont go up to the Akropolis! The audio in the bus was not ok. Several speakers did not work.
Read chrika@hotmail.nl's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?