Athens (Piraeus) Cape Sounion Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) Cape Sounion  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Cape Sounion, about 50 miles from Athens, is the site of the ruins of the ancient Greek Temple of Poseidon, the mythological god of the sea.
Member Image liam.dasey
1 review
Sep 2016
Just 8 of us in a mini bus with a driver and and guide. It was a day long tour, very enjoyable, but I am not sure the drive out to Cape Sounion was worth it. The guide was fantastic and definitely made the day.
Read liam.dasey's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: https://www.pktravelgreece.com
Member Image antarctic penguin
1 review
Sep 2016
Had a long car ride to get to the Cape but spectacular ruins on a hill over-looking the sea. Even had time for a quick dip in the Aegean Sea.
Read antarctic penguin's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruise Tours Piraeus
Member Image Huntingdon1701
1 review
Sep 2016
This was NCL's Athens and its Scenic Coast. It started off by going to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon, which was impressive, and then went back to Athens for a meal and a visit to the Acropolis. The meal was a mass-produced thing and not great, but was a good chance to meet other cruisers. The visit to the Acropolis was good, but rushed as our tour guide spoke for far too long on trivia (which should have been done on the coach). We then stopped off briefly at a shop on the way back to the ship - they gave away free postcards which saved me buying some.
Read Huntingdon1701's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image suenneil
2 reviews
Sep 2016
this was supposed to be a sunset tour but someone forgot to tell the sun, it was cloudy and drizzly but we still enjoyed the tour
Read suenneil's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mrmemor7
1 review
Member Image jackaberlin
1 review
Jul 2016
Worth the trip to see the unbelievable coastal scenery.
Read jackaberlin's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image johncb7
1 review
Oct 2015
Long drive each way in heavy traffic but interesting to see. Great location for this Temp,e, on a very windy headland.
Read johncb7's full Minerva cruise review
Provider: Swan Hellenic Cruises
Member Image dsayers
1 review
May 2015
Guide was a very nice person. Perhaps a bit too much time spent on explaining the history of each thing. Found it a little boring after a couple of hours.
Read dsayers's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
The historical remains are great but it takes over an hour to get there and another hour back to the ship. You do see more of Greece and the summer homes and boats of the rich along the shore.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image garywarry
1 review
May 2015
Long 1 day trip but was excellent and very informative. The lunch was excellent also and one of the best we have had
Read garywarry's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mandala
1 review
May 2015
We took the bus out of Athens to Cape Sounion, where the Temple of Poseidon is. We were amused by the number of grouse (chicken-sized birds that did, in fact, look quite tasty) just hanging about the place.
Read Mandala's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HimAndMeGoCruising
2 reviews
Apr 2015
The drive down the coast was amazing and relaxing. Visiting the Temple of Poseidon was great with inspiring views of the sea below. Recommend this tour to see the beautiful coastline.
Read HimAndMeGoCruising's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DDCruiseFL
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Covered all the ancient Athens sites and Cape Sounion. Booked an independent Cab company online. He dropped us for lunch at a great seaside restaurant! Our total bill for two with wine was 12 Euro's.

Read DDCruiseFL's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: PK Tours
Member Image sadied
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
this is not worth the money or the long journey. Stay in Athens.
Read sadied's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MsAvalon
1 review
Jun 2012
A wonderful ride out on our bus, but hot ...don't know if the AC wasn't working or what. Sad to see what economic shape Greece is in, million euro homes abandoned along the sea.
Read MsAvalon's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?