Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Athens (Piraeus) Cape Sounion Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) Cape Sounion  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Cape Sounion, about 50 miles from Athens, is the site of the ruins of the ancient Greek Temple of Poseidon, the mythological god of the sea.
Member Image dsayers
1 review
May 2015
Guide was a very nice person. Perhaps a bit too much time spent on explaining the history of each thing. Found it a little boring after a couple of hours.
Read dsayers's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
The historical remains are great but it takes over an hour to get there and another hour back to the ship. You do see more of Greece and the summer homes and boats of the rich along the shore.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image garywarry
1 review
May 2015
Long 1 day trip but was excellent and very informative. The lunch was excellent also and one of the best we have had
Read garywarry's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mandala
1 review
May 2015
We took the bus out of Athens to Cape Sounion, where the Temple of Poseidon is. We were amused by the number of grouse (chicken-sized birds that did, in fact, look quite tasty) just hanging about the place.
Read Mandala's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HimAndMeGoCruising
2 reviews
Apr 2015
The drive down the coast was amazing and relaxing. Visiting the Temple of Poseidon was great with inspiring views of the sea below. Recommend this tour to see the beautiful coastline.
Read HimAndMeGoCruising's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DDCruiseFL
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Covered all the ancient Athens sites and Cape Sounion. Booked an independent Cab company online. He dropped us for lunch at a great seaside restaurant! Our total bill for two with wine was 12 Euro's.

Read DDCruiseFL's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: PK Tours
Member Image sadied
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
this is not worth the money or the long journey. Stay in Athens.
Read sadied's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MsAvalon
1 review
Jun 2012
A wonderful ride out on our bus, but hot ...don't know if the AC wasn't working or what. Sad to see what economic shape Greece is in, million euro homes abandoned along the sea.
Read MsAvalon's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.