Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Some 2,400 years old, the Acropolis is the largest temple ever completed in Greece. It’s a popular attraction for visitors to Athens; make sure you visit early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image usateg
2 reviews
Nov 2014

We did a tour of the Acropolis as well as the New Acropolis Museum. You cannot imagine just how awesome & huge the Acropolis & Parthenon are until you are standing on the hill. The New Acropolis Museum is full of history & very interesting. The museum is built directly above ruins whereas you can see them as the floors are glass.

Read usateg's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GottaTravel55
1 review
Oct 2014

Our guide at the Acropolis was an archeaology major and he explained exactly what we were looking at..it really made the Acropolis come alive!

Read GottaTravel55's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image barberapatel1
1 review
Oct 2014

OK Too busy and poor crowd control,

Read barberapatel1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bhturtle
1 review
Sep 2014

Beware: lots and lots of steps (some of which are slippery) and walking uphill. Worth it though!

Read bhturtle's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mary6405
1 review
Sep 2014

Beautiful. Very crowded and very unorganized crowd control.

Read mary6405's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Littlely64
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Wow what a place full of History worth a look

Read Littlely64's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Clarejem
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

We really enjoyed the "Best of Athens" trip the tour guide was really knowledgeable and understandable. Athens is massive and sprawls for miles a real eye opener, Its worth paying the extra £10 I think.

Read Clarejem's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image TerryR
1 review
Jul 2014

Poor value.

Read TerryR's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image walker_michelle
1 review
Jul 2014

Did the ship’s excursion of a city bus tour and a stop at the Acropolis. We found our tour guide’s English difficult to understand. The guides seemed to like to find trees for shade and have us stand there while they jabbered on. I had purchased a guide book and read about Athens that morning so rather than looking at a tree, we ditched the guide and walked around on our own. We met up with her at the appointed time to board the bus for the rest of our tour. The bus then took us through the city and stopped briefly at the site of the Olympics then back to the terminal. On that particular excursion, there was little opportunity for shopping. RCI has a Taste of Athens tour that adds in the shopping experience but is 7 hours in length.

Read walker_michelle's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image skinnyguide
1 review
Jul 2014

We enjoyed visiting the Acropolis, but loathed the touristy Plaka neighborhood, with its tchochkes and crap. Fortunately (and no thanks to any information provided by Celebrity), we ventured, on our own, outside of that neighborhood and got to see more of the real Athens. We found a few great neighborhoods (like Monastiraki) and had a great lunch at Athinaikon in Syntagma.

Read skinnyguide's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image groryjm
1 review
Jun 2014

We did a tour of the Acropolis before spending time at liberty in the Plaka. The guide was really excellent and the flow of information very good. She did get into a bit of a rant about the Elgin marbles but stopped quickly enough when she remembered most of us were English. The acropolis is very crowded and there is nothing in the way of safety gates. This is quite risky on the slopes to and from the top. Take real care if you have smaller children or someone not steady on their feet. There is pretty much no shade at the top so it is better - and quieter - to plan to go as early as possible. Much of the structure is now covered in scaffolding -but you can still appreciate it.

The Plaka is very nice. We had a quick lunch and my daughter could shop to her hearts content. Lots of shade and cool spots to rest. Highly recommended.

Read groryjm's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image adkirk25
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Semi private tour with Yannis Taxi from trip advisor.

Our group of 14 mini-bused to the Acropolis from Piraeus port after being met promptly by our driver and our fluent english speaking guide, Eleni (Helen). One thing I loved about this is that my husband and I didn't know any of the other people on the tour. Yannis set up the whole thing which made it a lot cheaper than private.

Eleni guided us through the Acropolis and the Museum of the Acropolis with exemplary knowledge and detail. We had time on our own for shopping and lunch in the beautiful pedestrian area of Plaka. After lunch, we visited the Holocaust Memorial and Constitution square for the changing of the guard at the tomb of the unknown soldier.

Eleni was EXTREMELY knowledgeable and I wonder if she is not actually a History major. She had extensive detail on everything!

Read adkirk25's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Yannis Taxi
Member Image foxtraveler
5 reviews
May 2014

Athens, Greece - used ship excursion to go to the Acropolis and see the sites with many, many folks doing the same thing. Was a very good tour but it is quite crowded on the hilltop and after a while we just left the group and walked around on our own. From the dock it is 6 kilometers to the Acropolis and takes approx 30 min given the traffic. If you are doing any shopping recommend doing so in the city or by the excursions as there is not much at all by the port. Recommend an excursion here as getting off and walking around will not be of value.

Read foxtraveler's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pugdom@verizon.net
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

This was an energetic tour with lots of climbing and walking, but well worth it! Before arriving at the Acropolis, we were given a tour of the city of Athens, so had the opportunity to hear information on sights we didn't see when touring independently the day prior to the Cunard-arranged tour. Our guide was passionate about her country and its history, and managed to convey the sense of wonder over this incredible site to all of us in the group.

Read Pugdom@verizon.net's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image vladamsoh
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2013

We hired a private tour company we found on TripAdvisor. Since we had 6 people it was affordable and it is the way to go. We also hired a private guide through Athens Limo. She was extra but well worth it! They took us everywhere worth seeing and took us to lunch at a local restaurant that is not a tourist restaurant. The food was delightful. Highly recommend!

Read vladamsoh's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Athens Limo
Member Image kennbrandt
1 review
Sep 2013

The walk up to the site is steep. It was very crowded and they were restoring most of it. There was scaffolding and men all around the site with power tools. It really detracted from the historical value of an ancient site when you hear jack hammers and sanders being used.

Read kennbrandt's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image bjrose
2 reviews
Sep 2013

This was a difficult climb for anyone. The stones are slippery and dangerous. The Acropolis is an amazing sight that it even exists, but the repairs and the crowds will make me stay away forever now.

Read bjrose's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Tuney
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

The Acropolis is another of those must be there to appreciate it sites.

This tour is combined with the city tour by HAL and listed as strenuous because of the steep slipery climb up to the Acropolis. However, the literature fails to mention that for people who decide that they don't want to risk the walk up there is a cafeteria by the bus stop where they can wait for the others to return from the top. My wife would have enjoyed the first part of the tour even if she wasn't able to make the walk to the top.

Read Tuney's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image webpilot11
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2013

If you book independently, you may risk not getting back in time.. When the ship sails...be on it.
The Parthenon sits atop the Acropolis and is a the most important structure on the planet for what it represents, is also a must see. The view down onto the incredible city of Athens is only realized by being there. It is memorable.

Read webpilot11's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pedrocampa
1 review
Aug 2013

Excellent tour with a good guide.

Read pedrocampa's full MSC Fantasia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Mrsfshesgawjus
1 review
Aug 2013

We did a panoramic bus tour of ancient Athens stopping at times to take photos. We then had about an hour and a half free shopping time at the plaka.

Read Mrsfshesgawjus's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SarasotaPro
4 reviews
Aug 2013

Great site - allow 1 to 1.5 hours

Read SarasotaPro's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image FunCouple13
1 review
Aug 2013

Athens- we did the cruise 1/2 day Athens Sightseeing & Acropolis walking tour- lots of steps and people but very informative and beautiful. Parthenon was just amazing. Great tour guide! Returned to ship and napped/rested on deck 15 in the sun. Whew...

Read FunCouple13's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Seapink
1 review
Aug 2013

Very informative and enjoyable.

Read Seapink's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image beave30
1 review
Aug 2013

Awesome visit to the Acropolis and then a transfer to the airport. Wonderful experience.

Read beave30's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image beave30
1 review
Aug 2013

Awesome visit to the Acropolis and then a transfer to the airport. Wonderful experience.

Read beave30's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image CK57
2 reviews
Aug 2013

We had a group of 8 on a private tour that saw all the sights and all of us felt as though it was the best route to go. The size of our group was just right for this tour. We used Nikos Loukas for our Tour planning.

Read CK57's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cocomoe18
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

We had been to Athens many years ago and this was the main thing we wanted to see - I made sure we booked the morning tour as it was going to be hot. There are lots of tours there at any time but our guide kept us together well, she was very good. It was actually not as strenuous as they advertised (fortunately) but the stones are smooth and uneven ..

Read cocomoe18's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cltraveler
1 review
Jul 2013

We expected the Acropolis to be crowded but it wasn't too bad. Those who walked a bit slower moved off to the sides so the faster walkers to get ahead. Luckily there was a breeze on the day we were there making it much more enjoyable.

Read cltraveler's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sparkx
1 review
Jun 2013

Again, a good tour around the acropolis but don't get caught out as its very hot at the top. Worth doing if you visit.

Read sparkx's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AllisonB
1 review
Jun 2013

Loved Athens, somewhere I had always fancied visiting and a good day trip. Acropolis was spectacular and we had a very good English speaking guide who took us there then left us with a few hours on hour own which we enjoyed. Would definitely return to Athens again.

Read AllisonB's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image blue_butterfly2012
1 review
May 2013
Great enjoyed my time there
Read blue_butterfly2012's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JLU917
1 review
Mar 2013
Our tour guide, Rina, was fabulous. She did not rush us, was so full of information, told us what we would be doing next at every stop. Acropolis climb was a life-altering experience.
Read JLU917's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions.com
Member Image Pezzy
1 review
Feb 2013
Pictures do not do this justice. Amazing site. Lots of walking and LOTS of steps. Wear appropriate shoes. You cant miss this. Be prepared for crowds and long lines.
Read Pezzy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Babaganush
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2013
The Acropolis was not as difficult to climb as some of the literature had indicated. One gets excellent view of the city and even the cruise ship from the top of the hill.
Read Babaganush's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mimi A
9 reviews
Nov 2012
Our tour started with a visit to the Acropolis which I had previously visited, but my husband had not -- it was nice to see without so many tourists in November. Guide was excellent.
Read Mimi A's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HickoryShampoo
1 review
Nov 2012
Very nice and tidy. Totally unlike the rest of Athens we saw. Athens is a dump!
Read HickoryShampoo's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Darshan1
10 reviews
Oct 2012
I was expecting the Acropolis to disappoint, but it did not. The Parthenon and other buildings were impressive, and made more so by the details given by our guide (Effie from Navigator Tours) and the views from the top are fantastic. If you are worried about falling at the Acropolis, I would say to still go on the tour as the stairs are not the problem. You can get fairly close to the top without running into the slippery surfaces that cause the falls. However, the area that is level with the Parthenon can be very difficult to walk on unless you're quite careful. We did see more than one person with a cane both there and at Ephesus, so it can be done. I want to add that several couples complained loudly about the cruise line's "Highlights of Athens" tour which apparently had a terrible guide (also Navigator) who did nothing but talk about a jewelry shop and did not offer views of the Acropolis as promised. I've heard more than once that there is a lot to appreciate in Athens besides the Acropolis, but I've heard the opposite as well. Based on my experience and what I heard from others,we were very glad we risked the "strenuous" excursion to the Acropolis.
Read Darshan1's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kellie Poodle
6 reviews
Oct 2012
Same tour Standing on the Acropolis was the fulfillment of a dream.
Read Kellie Poodle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image peicruisers
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
This was a wonderful tour about 6 hours, tour of the city the Acropolis the Museum and the old shopping area, was very educational with great guide who was an archaeologist.
Read peicruisers's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chestnuthouse
1 review
Oct 2012
One of those "must see" sights of the world.
Read chestnuthouse's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cb1968
14 reviews
Sep 2012
All the tour buses showed up at the Acropolis at the same time. Total confusion trying to enter the site. The Acropolis is amazing though (I just wish the scaffolding and crane were not there.
Read cb1968's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TRUEBLUE66
3 reviews
Sep 2012
With Piraeus port being some distance from the main attractions in Athens and having not been before we opted for the full day Acropolis and Plaka tour. Cannot fault the tour which was on a new bus which dropped us at the foot of the Acropolis with a bottle of much needed water. Tour guide was very informative and we all had radio receivers to listen. We were given plenty of time to wander the ruins ourselves before getting a bus tour of the main city highlights.We were then dropped off in the old town district of Plaka, beneath the Acropolis for a few hours of DIY sightseeing. Had a great day!
Read TRUEBLUE66's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ge1shh
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
It was a bit hectic at the Acropolis. Our guide had bought our tickets in advance, which was meant to prevent us queuing in the main queue. However, the people at the Acropolis had moved the goal posts and wouldn't let us in without us going into the main queue to get our tickets stamped or something. Fortunately we found our guide (who on this type of tour was not going to take us around the Acropolis himself - he would wait with the bus until a pre-arranged time for us all to meet back at the bus. He sorted things out for us, but it was a bit annoying at the time, as there were people everywhere pushing and queuing. We enjoyed the visit anyway, and would like to visit Athens again sometime.
Read ge1shh's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Budlight2012
1 review
Sep 2012
We did this ourselves using the City Sightseeing tour bus.
Read Budlight2012's full Mariner of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Parakalo
1 review
Sep 2012
Highly recommend Context Travel if you like small, intimate groups (6 people max). We had a guide for just our group of 4 - Kelly Bourni with a Master's degree in modern letters from the Sorbonne and a certificate in archaeology from the National School in Athens. She gave us not just a history lesson but insight into the passion and loyalty of the greek people. It would be easy to spend hours in the museum thinking you need to "see everything". Kelly moved us though the museum efficiently and the entire tour was informative and worthwhile.
Read Parakalo's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Context Travel
Member Image vs8864
4 reviews
Sep 2012
Surroudned by a scaffolding. Not that intersting.
Read vs8864's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kingrodney
1 review
Sep 2012
The Acropolis was quite interesting a worth seeing. the tour we we one was informative and the guide knowledgeable (as you would expect). Unlike some of the other sites we'd been to during the cruise we were given ample time on our own after the guided part of the tour which was good. Once again it was expensive but at least it was more enjoyable.
Read kingrodney's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Katie Starlight
1 review
Sep 2012
It is a must see. The Acropolis is Fabulous
Read Katie Starlight's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image EmmyLaBlonde
2 reviews
Aug 2012
guide was not very good, kind of crabby. acropolis is crowded and hot. Take water!! Port 2 was Ephesus Turkey. This is a must do excursion.
Read EmmyLaBlonde's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image neoncandle
1 review
Aug 2012
Full of people. Long waits. Hot. Windy. We should have hired a guide, but then maybe we would have been stuck there longer. Never plan to go back. Wished we had skipped it and headed for Plaka.
Read neoncandle's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DebsLpool
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Booked an organised excursion as we had an early sail away and were conscious of time limitations. Athens looked much improved from the Athens of 20 years ago, the last time we had visited, and I know they had worked hard at improving the city for their Olympic games. When we last visited the Acropolis it had been busy, it is probably always busy, but the amount of people at the Acropolis was staggering, wall to wall bodies. Our guide was very knowledgeable but slightly boring, people started to drift away from her, including us, I think she must have been left just talking to herself in the end. The park around the base of the Acropolis provided a lovely shady place to enjoy and iced lemon drink and get our breadth back, before returning to the ship. A flying visit to an important city but it made me want to return
Read DebsLpool's full Thomson Majesty cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image kct76
1 review
Jul 2012
fabulous!
Read kct76's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jsgoodrich
1 review
Jul 2012
Tour guide gave a brief history and then we explored on our own
Read jsgoodrich's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lanny01
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2012
Acropolis was fantastic. Plaka, not enough time.
Read Lanny01's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dollyddraws
1 review
Jul 2012
Too much time left at Plaka for Shopping, but otherwise a great informative tour. If travelling in peak summer take the earliest tour to the Acropolis to allow for the high temperatures
Read dollyddraws's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image slewis7
1 review
Jul 2012
It is incredibly hot and crowded around the Acropolis. Be sure to wear good shoes as the marble surface is quite slippery. The ship tour stopped at a crummy gift shop of course; no more ship tours for me from now on. The saving grace of the tour is that the Acropolis is truly spectacular.
Read slewis7's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Pooh ear
1 review
Jul 2012
Morning at the Acropolis and time on our in Athens in the afternoon. Excellent and knowledgeable guide, very helpful.
Read Pooh ear's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image babertie
1 review
Jun 2012
Spectacular. Guide gave us a review of the Acropolis and guided us almost the entire way. She also was very explicit on the meeting places.
Read babertie's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MsAvalon
1 review
Jun 2012
Fantastic to see the Acropolis...wished we'd had more time to explore the surrounding area where Socrates and Plato taught. On all of the tours they give you ear buds to listen to the tour guides, but if you have small ear canals, you ears will hurt for hours. Some of them are very stat-icky.
Read MsAvalon's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image RobTexas
3 reviews
Jun 2012
With the crowds and the scaffolding (they are working on the Parthenon) it is difficult to really get into the spirit of what you are seeing. There is also a problem with most guided tours. If you are on a cruise then essentially you are getting "a taste of" each of the places you visit. You probably are not interesting in every little detail. Tour guides don't get that and want to fill you up with data you can't absorb - especially if you are standing out in 95 degree sun.
Read RobTexas's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image World Gallery
12 reviews
Jun 2012
We booked with Context Travel. We did the Acropolis, New Acropolis Museum and Plaka. These places we visted were excellent but our guide was average. Would not use a Context Travel guide again for Athens.
Read World Gallery's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Context Travel
Member Image PAULsG
1 review
Jun 2012
well worth it. just be careful in summer- it was VERY hot, VERY crowded, so go early - by 1000 there were 40 coaches waiting to park , in addition to the 25 already parked !
Read PAULsG's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Happy1211
1 review
Jun 2012
Irene was a great guide who knew so much and delivered it clearly and consistently. 7.5 hours and worth it.Great lunch at a greek Taverna in the Plaka District - Greek salad, wine, chicken, vegetables and baklava.
Read Happy1211's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ALBIRD1
1 review
May 2012
I am not a big fan of using the headsets but otherwise it would be difficult. The tour included a city tout and shopping in Plaka as well. Be careful going up to the Acropolis as the smooth store path is quite slippery even when dry. Very worthwhile
Read ALBIRD1's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image traceygirl
5 reviews
May 2012
The ruins were great. The Temple of Poseidon is a long ride but nice country side. They are facing a vote in June on the Euro and the guide showed her dislike.
Read traceygirl's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mokopuna2
2 reviews
May 2012

The ruins are fantastic and Georges knowledge of the history of the place is outstanding. He is an encyclopedia. The Acropolis is a "must do" on anyone's list of things to do in Athens. I have read about them and have seen photos of them, but until you visit them in person you can not appreciate them as they should be appreciated.

Read mokopuna2's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: George Taxi and Limo
Member Image kamali kuri
1 review
May 2012
Again we did a half day tour as was torn between Corinth Canal and Acropolis. Acroplis won for me! Acropolis for great for some awesome views, & the the Parthenon perched at the top of Athens' most famous hill was stunning. Some 500 steps to climb here so wear some comfortable shoes so you dont slip on the marble steps+it is also very hot at the top and there is no shadey spot to hide under..... Acroplis is just that in the middle of a built up city so don't expect much else in Athens except traffic! driver did stop outside ancient olympic stadium where the Olympic 2012 flame was lit for quick photos.
Read kamali kuri's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image esb7
1 review
May 2012
Great tour!
Read esb7's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Twinmum
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2012
This tour was to take us to the Acropolis and then time on our own at the Plaka. I would have preferred to do the hop on hop off bus as I had a hard time understanding our guide and he then spent most of the Acropolis tour standing in the same spot next to the Parthenon and talking about a lot of technichal details that were interesting for about ten minutes. I then got a little bored and wandered off on my own to just soak up the atmosphere of this ancient spectacle.The Plaka was nice to stop and have a leisurely greek lunch of Souvalaki and appreciate being in this beautiful. We did a little shopping but it was like shopping in any city.
Read Twinmum's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image indyfranks
1 review
May 2012
Hot and crowded, but still worth seeing.
Read indyfranks's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kiheisands
1 review
Apr 2012
Although the Acropolis was amazing ... the view of Athens equally amazing, I was not moved by the sheer volume of this urban city. If not for the Acropolis we would not have done a day tour.
Read Kiheisands's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image explore4ever
8 reviews
Apr 2012
Magnificent! but Crowded. Also a MUST-SEE if you have not visited before.
Read explore4ever's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Rio Brewster
1 review
Apr 2012
The acropolis tour was just OK. The tour guide stood in one place and talked for a long time and we wanted to move around a bit more. We ended up setting out on our own and meeting the bus at the end.
Read Rio Brewster's full Costa Pacifica cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image havegunwilltravel
3 reviews
Mar 2012
A lot of fun being on your own. Bus, and subway run 24/7 even on holidays.
Read havegunwilltravel's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Self guided.
Member Image -Aitch-
1 review
Feb 2012
Not long enough at this port
Read -Aitch-'s full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.