Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Some 2,400 years old, the Acropolis is the largest temple ever completed in Greece. It’s a popular attraction for visitors to Athens; make sure you visit early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image thendriks
1 review
Jun 2017
disorganized guide and very poor information.
Read thendriks's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sheilashy603
1 review
Jun 2017
Get the best to get the best experience. Athens with Cape Union Lunch. They tour you around the city, then Acropolis, Cape Union. Lunch was a buffet in a very luxury hotel
Read sheilashy603's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kathleen681
1 review
May 2017
Amazing historical site! We were a full day your seeing both the Acropolis and the Temple of Poseidon. If I did another full day tour, I would certainly book again with the ship just for the sake of timing.
Read kathleen681's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Maddona
1 review
May 2017
Superb knowledgeable tour guide and driver .small group so we went ahead of the crowds and our itinerary was superb. much better than cruise excursions with large coach.
Read Maddona's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: P k tours.
Member Image heywhotookmypie
1 review
May 2017
Booked a shuttle through the ship - bad idea. Very expensive and didn't include access to the Acropolis! Just 100 euro basically for a shuttle bus. Not worth it - should have rented a car.
Read heywhotookmypie's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Bj_blue
1 review
May 2017
This was excellent. We got to the Acroplis early, out guide Danae was amazing - best of any of our excursions.
Read Bj_blue's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sarawara
1 review
May 2017
Our tour included a bus tour of the city's major sights, a trip to the Acropolis, and 3 hours on our own which we used to have a great lunch and visit the Acropolis museum. Our tour guide was very good, with great pictures and interesting stories and very good English. The acropolis is breathtaking, but it rained that morning and the marble at the top was very slick.
Read Sarawara's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sarahw2a
1 review
May 2017
Excellent tour, very long day be prepared for lots of walking.
Read Sarahw2a's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image m.morrow
1 review
May 2017
Acropolis was great to have done however local directions and information not very good or helpful. Locals not as friendly as elsewhere. I'm glad to have had the opportunity to visit Athens however I didn't expect that the city appeared to be in need of care. To get really anything out of Athens the time in port needs to be extended.
Read m.morrow's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: walked up
Member Image doxielover47
1 review
Apr 2017
Not for anyone with walking difficulty, but an amazing tour! We did Delphi one day and the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, the Parthenon and a city tour that included the Olympic Stadium and temple of Zeus. Don't miss the Museum and be sure to go there before going up to the Parthenon.
Read doxielover47's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Go Next
Member Image HOTCATPM
1 review
Apr 2017
The tour guide was excellent , the driver a magician , traffic as always was a nightmare. So glad we took a tour, fab. meal at Dionysis at foot of Acropolis. We had plenty of free time to shop and take pics. wished we had stopped to see Guards @ Capitol but just drove past. All in all Excellent tour
Read HOTCATPM's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image noprincess1
1 review
Apr 2017
Amazing to see and walk through. Better to book w/cruise because of time spent to get there and get through lines.
Read noprincess1's full Majestic Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Kathleen Thulin
1 review
Mar 2017
All I've ever seen on tv and in books and even more! This was a dream trip come true! We had lunch at a sidewalk cafe in Athens. Perfect!
Read Kathleen Thulin's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image BabaSue2
1 review
Nov 2016
Good bus tour of the city. Acropolis tour really interesting. Lots of steps but well paced.
Read BabaSue2's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image DALEPCASTRO
1 review
Nov 2016
Walking around Athens (Plaka District) was great, but the Acropolis was just unbelievable.
Read DALEPCASTRO's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ghavers
1 review
Nov 2016
The tour guide was very informative but then put on her salesperson hat and tried to get us to buy some jewelry at on of the stores that was near our pick up point
Read ghavers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pinerivercabin
1 review
Nov 2016
Hop on Hop off tour was right by port. We ate at god resturant by stop a3. It was excellent. The saw several sites and we took the bus right back to the ship. We wished we had more time.
Read pinerivercabin's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Hop on hop off bus tour
Member Image BarbarianPaul
2 reviews
Nov 2016
A must see that didn't disappoint
Read BarbarianPaul's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image amharris829
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Beautiful. They didn't actually provide the tour of the Acropolis. Nikos dropped us off there and waited for us to go in.
Read amharris829's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Welcome Pickups
Member Image Almond01
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Took the transfer from the ship to the airport with a tour of the Acropolis. Got some good information. However, the walking around the Parthenon is very dangerous. Spots are very slick.
Read Almond01's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image GreenAcres10110
1 review
Oct 2016
The Acropolis was incredible. A good guide was money well spent and got us past the line. Public bus service (X80) available from right outside the port was a cheap, 30 minute bus ride into the downtown. The plaka was full of food and shopping and we enjoyed it. Two days in Athens was not necessary.
Read GreenAcres10110's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image urbanite1985
1 review
Oct 2016
Was my dream location to visit - top of the bucket list. So of course it wasn't as grand as I hoped. But it was impressive and very nice. Tour guide was one of the worst I've had.
Read urbanite1985's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Petrosey
5 reviews
Oct 2016
Our first visit to Athens so played safe with a NCL tour. Good guide. Plenty of time at the Acropolis and then in centre of city. Parthenon excellent.
Read Petrosey's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kirk6400
1 review
Sep 2016
The Parthenon was amazing. This was my favorite tour!! Do not miss touring the Parthenon.
Read Kirk6400's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vision2reality
1 review
Sep 2016
Nice guide.....Acropolis, city tour then free time in The Plaka
Read vision2reality's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?