Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Some 2,400 years old, the Acropolis is the largest temple ever completed in Greece. It’s a popular attraction for visitors to Athens; make sure you visit early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image HockeyLady
1 review
Oct 2015
We hiked by ourselves to the top. No tour guide.
Read HockeyLady's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Serggo6
6 reviews
Oct 2015
8 person private minibus tour 5 hours plus to all the sites and shopping. 35EU a person and not crammed on a huge bus paying 90EU for the same thing. Much better, always book independent they will get you back on time. Their reputation hinges on getting passengers back before the ship leaves.
Read Serggo6's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sodicoff
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Originally planned as a 1 day stop this turned into a 2 day stop. Day 1 we did of Athens on our own - Hopon Hopoff bus worked well. Day 2 we arranged a private tour through someone on Roll Call. We went to Corinth then Athens. With Corinth starting the tour it became too much. A guided tour of Athens alone would have been enough.
Read Sodicoff's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kimna
1 review
Oct 2015
We booked an excursion thorugh Viking because we wanted to visit the Acropolis Museum and since we had been to Athens before (it was closed), this was a priority. The excursion exceeded expectations--the guide was wonderful and not only did we get to go to the world class museum, because of our group's small size and punctuality we also were able to have a nice lunch and shopping time in the Plaka as well as and optional quick hike to get up to the Acropolis itself (
Read Kimna's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image goldenpirate
1 review
Oct 2015
good - but would have liked more information once we got to the top! the bus tour was "ok". Go to the new acropolis museum - great place (went on own) Tip - the on-off bus comes to the port
Read goldenpirate's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image philw1776
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Museum & Acropolis not to be missed. Walked the port on our own touring the marina & fishing boats. Fun.
Read philw1776's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image nicola78
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Again another super, informative and patient tour guide. We headed up to the Acropolis and was told plenty of information before having some free time. I would say we had enough time there and we even managed a stop at the 1896 Olympic sight. Due to traffic however we didn't manage any free time in Athens unless we did it ourselves and made our own way back to the ship. We didn't as all aboard was fairly early and we wouldn't have had too long anyway. There is so much to do and we only got a small snip of whats on offer but enough to make me want to go back and visit the museums.
Read nicola78's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image debbieg14
1 review
Sep 2015
Worth going to see the Acropolis and few sites. Only place I'd never go back. Very busy and very dirty. I've done it I've seen it. That's it really
Read debbieg14's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tjd59
1 review
Sep 2015
Our guide "Nancy" provided a good pace and gave us plenty of time to explore the Acropolis.
Read tjd59's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: PK Travel
Member Image Ginger Martin
1 review
Sep 2015
The brochure was rated as a 2 under difficulty but there was no mention of the 160 plus steps. Should have been rated a 3.
Read Ginger Martin's full MSC Opera cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image merwench
1 review
Sep 2015
Do not bother booking a trip, we found this one not up to the standard of other trips, we didn't have a headset and with 52 of us it was not easy to hear or see our guide, I would suggest viewing the Acroplis from outside as too busy and very difficult walking as slippery too many tours at the same time. We went to Plaka still not certain what was meant to be there as couldn't hear the guide. My advice is take the little train as people seemed to enjoy this more.
Read merwench's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image uscdrm
3 reviews
Aug 2015
A driver picked us up at the port, drove us to the main sites in Athens including the Parthanon and the Archeological Musem. He was knowledgable and professional and we liked that it was a private tour.
Read uscdrm's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: PK Travel
Member Image snorkel bum
1 review
Aug 2015
The Acropolis tour was interesting but terribly crowded. The stones are polished smooth and slippery, but you could not fall because the mass of people would hold you up. The Parthanon was under construction and covered in the front with scaffolding. Although kind of a must see, somewhat disappointing.
Read snorkel bum's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image NickyE
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Very busy even though we arrived at 9.45am. We didn't have enough time there and really needed more info. Followed by a bus tour of the main area below by the parliament building and a couple of hours in Plaka for lunch and shopping.
Read NickyE's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image prufock
1 review
Aug 2015
We began our trip in Athens for a four-day mainland stay. This was the most enjoyable part of the trip, and had we known how bad the cruise cabin would be, we would have preferred to stay there.
Read prufock's full Celestyal Crystal cruise review
Provider: Air Canada Vacations
Member Image Toucanman
1 review
Aug 2015
After being picked up at the pier we were whisked off to the Acropolis and after a climb to the top heard all the wonders performed in building the Parthenon. Then down the Mountain to the bus and to the Plaka for lunch and shopping.
Read Toucanman's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: shoreexcursiongroup.com
Member Image kc20202
1 review
Aug 2015
we did the Princess excursion Acropolis and Time on your Own in the Plaka. Whatever you do, don't miss out on going to the Acropolis if you haven't been before. It is not at all like I expected, there is so much more to see than just some ruins! Our guide was lovely and once again, very informative. Climbing to the top wasn't too hard because there are several stops on the way up where the guide explains what you are seeing. Once you get to the top, the view is well worth it. Make sure your shoes have good grip, it is a bit slippery in some places. After we left there, we had a bit of a bus tour around Athens which I was not expecting. We went past a number of interesting sites and buildings, and had a short stop at the site of the first modern olympics so we could take photos.
Read kc20202's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Boxie_boy
1 review
Aug 2015
Booked a Taxis to the Acropolis and toured ourselves
Read Boxie_boy's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Davidjohn
1 review
Jul 2015
Great to do . just be prepared for the lines and wear sunblock
Read Davidjohn's full MSC Musica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image pwhedd
1 review
Jul 2015
I say the excursion was poor. It did what it said and the tour guide was very knowledgeable, but it wasn't worth the $100 each we paid for it especially when the official hop on hop off open tour bus would have cost us only 20 euros and the entrance to the Acropolis was only 12 euros. The advice from Royal Caribbean was not to do it independently; which we took. In hind sight I would have been far better getting either a taxi or the hop on hop off bus.
Read pwhedd's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dukerev
2 reviews
Jul 2015
We were exhausted, having flown into Athens from the US on the same day as the tour, but "braved" it to tour the Acropolis and the Acheological Museum. Anna was professional and flexible and showed us the amazing sights.
Read dukerev's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Viator - Anna Benaki
Member Image mossergirl
1 review
Jul 2015
We loved the Acropolis and House of Poseidon's . The city is filled with graffiti and very dirty . They Greeks spray paint their own monument which was weird
Read mossergirl's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dot52
1 review
Jul 2015
While the Acropolis is spectacular, our tour guide was not. She was disinterested in our group and the ear phones didn't work. We ended up breaking off from the group and doing the tour on our own and met the bus at the end. Once on the bus, we drove by other sights. Honestly though, Athens is not a very likable city. A little dirty and worn down.
Read dot52's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sarasfw
1 review
Jul 2015
Athens is beautiful. Amazing architecture. Very hot. Would definitely visit again
Read sarasfw's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Booked as we exited the ship
Member Image mikiddo123
1 review
Jul 2015
Long line ups and short excursion, would not recommend booking with cruise ship excursion, go private!
Read mikiddo123's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.