Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Some 2,400 years old, the Acropolis is the largest temple ever completed in Greece. It’s a popular attraction for visitors to Athens; make sure you visit early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image ghavers
1 review
Nov 2016
The tour guide was very informative but then put on her salesperson hat and tried to get us to buy some jewelry at on of the stores that was near our pick up point
Read ghavers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BarbarianPaul
1 review
Nov 2016
A must see that didn't disappoint
Read BarbarianPaul's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image amharris829
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Beautiful. They didn't actually provide the tour of the Acropolis. Nikos dropped us off there and waited for us to go in.
Read amharris829's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Welcome Pickups
Member Image Almond01
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Took the transfer from the ship to the airport with a tour of the Acropolis. Got some good information. However, the walking around the Parthenon is very dangerous. Spots are very slick.
Read Almond01's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image GreenAcres10110
1 review
Oct 2016
The Acropolis was incredible. A good guide was money well spent and got us past the line. Public bus service (X80) available from right outside the port was a cheap, 30 minute bus ride into the downtown. The plaka was full of food and shopping and we enjoyed it. Two days in Athens was not necessary.
Read GreenAcres10110's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image urbanite1985
1 review
Oct 2016
Was my dream location to visit - top of the bucket list. So of course it wasn't as grand as I hoped. But it was impressive and very nice. Tour guide was one of the worst I've had.
Read urbanite1985's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Petrosey
4 reviews
Oct 2016
Our first visit to Athens so played safe with a NCL tour. Good guide. Plenty of time at the Acropolis and then in centre of city. Parthenon excellent.
Read Petrosey's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kirk6400
1 review
Sep 2016
The Parthenon was amazing. This was my favorite tour!! Do not miss touring the Parthenon.
Read Kirk6400's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vision2reality
1 review
Sep 2016
Nice guide.....Acropolis, city tour then free time in The Plaka
Read vision2reality's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sharons424
1 review
Sep 2016
This was well worth it. You go at your leisure.
Read sharons424's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Hop on Hop off bus
Member Image The Mumbles
1 review
Sep 2016
Over crowded; too long to wait in line...had been there before. Plenty to take in, in & around the site.
Read The Mumbles's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursions
Member Image parr2300
1 review
Sep 2016
good tour
Read parr2300's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image paulinem1959
1 review
Sep 2016
very expensive would do independent tour in future
Read paulinem1959's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Turbo Trace
1 review
Sep 2016
Athens is a sprawling dump but the antiquities more than make up for it. Be careful of the slippery marble at the Parthenon - I saw 3 people go flying in the space of 5 minutes and even rubber soled shoes don't grip. As we went in September, there were lots of people, so may be exceptionally busy depending which time of year you go.
Read Turbo Trace's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Huntingdon1701
1 review
Sep 2016
This was NCL's Athens and its Scenic Coast. It started off by going to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon, which was impressive, and then went back to Athens for a meal and a visit to the Acropolis. The meal was a mass-produced thing and not great, but was a good chance to meet other cruisers. The visit to the Acropolis was good, but rushed as our tour guide spoke for far too long on trivia (which should have been done on the coach). We then stopped off briefly at a shop on the way back to the ship - they gave away free postcards which saved me buying some.
Read Huntingdon1701's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LowPas1186
1 review
Sep 2016
We wanted to see the acropolis and were concerned about return times to the ship, so we booked a ship tour. The tour was ok, the plaque areas and time to ourselves was a bit long in our opinion.
Read LowPas1186's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Terilsarkar
1 review
Sep 2016
It was almost a spiritual experience. The history of the place is extraordinary. The views from the Acropolis are amazing. It should not be missed.
Read Terilsarkar's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image daleleah
1 review
Sep 2016
We toured the city and then went to the Acropolis. The sites were outstanding and the tour van very comfortable. Would like to stay in Athens longer to explore more of the city and the ancient areas. Certainly a great stop.
Read daleleah's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: FOR GOT NAME!
Member Image McLeans
1 review
Sep 2016
Wow, what a fantastic feat of engineering, beauty of the Acropolis and surrounding areas were wonderful.
Read McLeans's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image neonbubble
1 review
Sep 2016
Disembarkation tour included a very informative trip to the Parthenon via the streets of Piraeus and Athens. The early morning start helped with the heat at the top of the Acropolis.
Read neonbubble's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Artupex
1 review
Sep 2016
Wonderful ancient city
Read Artupex's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Hop on bus tour from port
Member Image Trevorg
1 review
Sep 2016
Wonderful sights and guide excellent
Read Trevorg's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Charlotten
1 review
Sep 2016
we stayed in Athens for a couple of days before the cruise started and just explored the City on our own.
Read Charlotten's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: on our own
Member Image Springfieldguy
1 review
Aug 2016
Walking tour of Acropolis, tasty lunch at museum and browsing of shops. Tour guide Barbara was knowledgeable and hospitable.
Read Springfieldguy's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Travelingsherry
1 review
Aug 2016
Enjoyed
Read Travelingsherry's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?