Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Some 2,400 years old, the Acropolis is the largest temple ever completed in Greece. It’s a popular attraction for visitors to Athens; make sure you visit early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image McLeans
1 review
Sep 2016
Wow, what a fantastic feat of engineering, beauty of the Acropolis and surrounding areas were wonderful.
Read McLeans's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image neonbubble
1 review
Sep 2016
Disembarkation tour included a very informative trip to the Parthenon via the streets of Piraeus and Athens. The early morning start helped with the heat at the top of the Acropolis.
Read neonbubble's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Springfieldguy
1 review
Aug 2016
Walking tour of Acropolis, tasty lunch at museum and browsing of shops. Tour guide Barbara was knowledgeable and hospitable.
Read Springfieldguy's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Travelingsherry
1 review
Aug 2016
Enjoyed
Read Travelingsherry's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mrmemor7
1 review
Aug 2016
historical place
Read Mrmemor7's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Gorge
Member Image Bob_plus_Four
1 review
Aug 2016
Beautiful city - clean and modern, with the amazing historical sites right in the middle. Great guide on our private tour.
Read Bob_plus_Four's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: The Travel Insiders
Member Image gazaroo
1 review
Aug 2016
Excellent
Read gazaroo's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: 118.com
Member Image Alan Cardwell
1 review
Aug 2016
Great guide and very good in all aspects of information at every site.
Read Alan Cardwell's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image MiamiCruiser1214
1 review
Aug 2016
Greek guides are incredibly knowledgeable. Though the Acropolis is quite busy, there's nothing like it. A must-do.
Read MiamiCruiser1214's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Corleysalt
1 review
Jul 2016
tour guide exceptional
Read Corleysalt's full MSC Orchestra cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image jackaberlin
1 review
Jul 2016
You need a minimum of three full days to take in Athens. So much history, so much to see. Do travel to Sounion, see the Temple of Poseidon and get a nice seafood lunch on the way!
Read jackaberlin's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Traveling redhead
1 review
Jul 2016
Just snagged a driver outside the port. He gave us a great tour. Knew where to take us at the perfect times to avoid the crowds.
Read Traveling redhead's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: P,rivate Driver
Member Image colli037
1 review
Jul 2016
Walking Tour of Acropolis with Viator was a great excursion - easy pickup at the port, drop off to meet the guide, and return to ship. Plenty of time to shop in the Plaka. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable (Masters degree level). We saw the Parliament & watched the changing of the guards, the Temple of Zeus & Hadrian's Arch, then walked up the Acropolis. She took stops in the shade to talk to us about the life & culture, famous Greek philosophers & politicians, the various incursions & europeans who have excavated or occupied the area, and how the site is being preserved today.
Read colli037's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image sandbbannon@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
at 10 euros each for a return ticket very good value, If you are a senior citizen take your passports for ID because you get half price entry to the Acropolis.10 euros instead of 20 each.
Read sandbbannon@gmail.com's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: blue bus
Member Image bdelahanty
1 review
Jul 2016
We stayed on 2 days in Athens and did the sites. Stayed at Airotel Parthenon Hotel - nice, great location, near Plaka, free bfast - would highly recommend. We purchased a combo ticket for 30 euros for Acropolis entry (worth 20 euros) as well as 5 others including Temple of Zeus, etc. The views from the top of the Acropolis were AMAZING! Note: next to our hotel was a roof top bar, Anthenswas, which had views of the Acropolis lit up at night! A bit pricey, but beautiful!
Read bdelahanty's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: self
Member Image Lovecruisin01
1 review
Jul 2016
This was fine by City Tour Bus but we should have gone on a guided tour by the cruise line. More economical. Nevertheless, we saw everything we wanted to.
Read Lovecruisin01's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image AmNotRay
1 review
Jul 2016
Amazing tour, great food and excellent opportunity to touch history
Read AmNotRay's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: athenstourdriver.com
Member Image PaulDonohue
1 review
Jul 2016
The Acropolis is easliy reached by taxi and so we booked our own. Well worth seeing
Read PaulDonohue's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Girlcat
1 review
Jul 2016
Easy to go and climb. Impressive. Didn't liked the place we stopped to shop.
Read Girlcat's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PelicanNorth
1 review
Jun 2016
Didn't take an organized tour but walked up to and toured the Acropolis ourselves. Not to be missed.
Read PelicanNorth's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image Hansfrau
1 review
Jun 2016
Another fantastic tour with an independent tour operator. The guide was so knowledgeable. The steps to/from the Acropolis are very slippery so please watch your step. The only negative was that I wished it would have lasted longer.
Read Hansfrau's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image Walshy96
1 review
Jun 2016
Very hot day kind of ruined the experience. Tour was fine though.
Read Walshy96's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image claudiniusmaximus
1 review
Jun 2016
The acropolis itself is great, a real bucket list item. The low score is for the excursion. It was basically a coach taking to you near the acropolis and dropping you off. The rep on the coach told us we can take a taxi back for 15 euros if we didn't want to wait for the coach, so for 30 euros we could have taken a taxi there and back, so the cost per person would have been 15 euros which is much less than the coach charged. If we had got together with another couple if would have only cost us 7 euros. Ah well, you live and learn.
Read claudiniusmaximus's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kwbts124
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Awesome but go early! Not to be missed sight.
Read kwbts124's full Harmony G cruise review
Provider: Variety Cruises
Member Image PegZ
1 review
Jun 2016
The tour guide was very good but the Acropolis was very crowded. I enjoyed walking around the Plaka.
Read PegZ's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?