Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis Excursion Reviews

Athens (Piraeus) Acropolis cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Some 2,400 years old, the Acropolis is the largest temple ever completed in Greece. It’s a popular attraction for visitors to Athens; make sure you visit early in the morning to bypass the long lines.
Member Image 1jackpot1
1 review
May 2016
okay
Read 1jackpot1's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kristine Y
1 review
May 2016
Acropolis and Leisure - wish we had more free time.
Read Kristine Y's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cat shepard
1 review
May 2016
Our travel agent comped this excursion for us. The 4.5 hour tour included the Acroplis with the use of an iPad with software that allowed us to see theses ancient buildings fully restored, and a glimpse inside them. Very innovative and creative. Other areas of interest were pointed out, and we had some free time to walk around the Plaka. Our guide, Barbara, generously offered to write our names in Greek. We went with low expectations, but loved this excursion.
Read cat shepard's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kmfreytag@comcast.net
1 review
May 2016
Great seeing the Acropolis. The steps going up to the acropolis were slippery to wear sneakers. It was a little crowded so be prepared.
Read kmfreytag@comcast.net's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rexdillinger
2 reviews
May 2016
Did Athens and Corinth with HP Tours as a private tour for the 4 of us. Excellent!
Read rexdillinger's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: H.P. Tours
Member Image Lv2bmovin
1 review
May 2016
we enjoyed this so very much, but the day we were there the buses were striking so the traffic was nasty and the crowds at the Acropolis were hard to deal with but we enjoyed this none the less. They gave us time at the marketplace to shop and we had the best lunch. for 15 euros, we split the meal and it was deliscious, such a great greek experience
Read Lv2bmovin's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Pilot Fish
1 review
Apr 2016
Good guide
Read Pilot Fish's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Viatour Athens Walking Tours
Member Image DeMarco1948
1 review
Apr 2016
Good tour but exhausted afterwards. We thought we had good walking shoes but our feet were really hurting during this tour. Would strongly recommend the best walking shoes possible.
Read DeMarco1948's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image forepaughs75
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Everyone knows this is a must see. What many do not know, is that it is far better to have a private car & driver who is knowledgeable and fluent. Stelios fits the bill perfectly! We spent the day with him. He saved us time by getting us tickets so we could skip the lines. He is highly recommended.
Read forepaughs75's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Greek Tour Drivers, Stelios Spinoulas
Member Image HockeyLady
1 review
Oct 2015
We hiked by ourselves to the top. No tour guide.
Read HockeyLady's full Wind Star cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Serggo6
6 reviews
Oct 2015
8 person private minibus tour 5 hours plus to all the sites and shopping. 35EU a person and not crammed on a huge bus paying 90EU for the same thing. Much better, always book independent they will get you back on time. Their reputation hinges on getting passengers back before the ship leaves.
Read Serggo6's full Splendour of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sodicoff
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Originally planned as a 1 day stop this turned into a 2 day stop. Day 1 we did of Athens on our own - Hopon Hopoff bus worked well. Day 2 we arranged a private tour through someone on Roll Call. We went to Corinth then Athens. With Corinth starting the tour it became too much. A guided tour of Athens alone would have been enough.
Read Sodicoff's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kimna
1 review
Oct 2015
We booked an excursion thorugh Viking because we wanted to visit the Acropolis Museum and since we had been to Athens before (it was closed), this was a priority. The excursion exceeded expectations--the guide was wonderful and not only did we get to go to the world class museum, because of our group's small size and punctuality we also were able to have a nice lunch and shopping time in the Plaka as well as and optional quick hike to get up to the Acropolis itself (
Read Kimna's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image goldenpirate
1 review
Oct 2015
good - but would have liked more information once we got to the top! the bus tour was "ok". Go to the new acropolis museum - great place (went on own) Tip - the on-off bus comes to the port
Read goldenpirate's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image philw1776
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Museum & Acropolis not to be missed. Walked the port on our own touring the marina & fishing boats. Fun.
Read philw1776's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image nicola78
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Again another super, informative and patient tour guide. We headed up to the Acropolis and was told plenty of information before having some free time. I would say we had enough time there and we even managed a stop at the 1896 Olympic sight. Due to traffic however we didn't manage any free time in Athens unless we did it ourselves and made our own way back to the ship. We didn't as all aboard was fairly early and we wouldn't have had too long anyway. There is so much to do and we only got a small snip of whats on offer but enough to make me want to go back and visit the museums.
Read nicola78's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image debbieg14
1 review
Sep 2015
Worth going to see the Acropolis and few sites. Only place I'd never go back. Very busy and very dirty. I've done it I've seen it. That's it really
Read debbieg14's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tjd59
1 review
Sep 2015
Our guide "Nancy" provided a good pace and gave us plenty of time to explore the Acropolis.
Read tjd59's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: PK Travel
Member Image Ginger Martin
1 review
Sep 2015
The brochure was rated as a 2 under difficulty but there was no mention of the 160 plus steps. Should have been rated a 3.
Read Ginger Martin's full MSC Opera cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image merwench
1 review
Sep 2015
Do not bother booking a trip, we found this one not up to the standard of other trips, we didn't have a headset and with 52 of us it was not easy to hear or see our guide, I would suggest viewing the Acroplis from outside as too busy and very difficult walking as slippery too many tours at the same time. We went to Plaka still not certain what was meant to be there as couldn't hear the guide. My advice is take the little train as people seemed to enjoy this more.
Read merwench's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jannie711
1 review
Aug 2015
Loved seeing Temple of Poseidon and the Acropolis. Our tour guide was great and very informative. Bring comfortable walking shoes and maybe a hat. Terrain is very rocky, hilly and windy. It was beautiful at both locations!
Read jannie711's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image uscdrm
4 reviews
Aug 2015
A driver picked us up at the port, drove us to the main sites in Athens including the Parthanon and the Archeological Musem. He was knowledgable and professional and we liked that it was a private tour.
Read uscdrm's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: PK Travel
Member Image snorkel bum
1 review
Aug 2015
The Acropolis tour was interesting but terribly crowded. The stones are polished smooth and slippery, but you could not fall because the mass of people would hold you up. The Parthanon was under construction and covered in the front with scaffolding. Although kind of a must see, somewhat disappointing.
Read snorkel bum's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image NickyE
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Very busy even though we arrived at 9.45am. We didn't have enough time there and really needed more info. Followed by a bus tour of the main area below by the parliament building and a couple of hours in Plaka for lunch and shopping.
Read NickyE's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image prufock
1 review
Aug 2015
We began our trip in Athens for a four-day mainland stay. This was the most enjoyable part of the trip, and had we known how bad the cruise cabin would be, we would have preferred to stay there.
Read prufock's full Celestyal Crystal cruise review
Provider: Air Canada Vacations

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.