Amsterdam Windmills Driving Tour Excursion Reviews

Amsterdam Windmills Driving Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Drive through a picture-perfect landscape inundated with canals, authentic wooden houses, small fishing villages, and of course, Holland's famous windmills.
Member Image BigD48
1 review
Sep 2016
We toured Zaanse Schans, which is an outdoor windmill village. This was quite a unique experience and opportunity to see and explore an operating windmill and to see other historic style buildings as well. Our tour guide did an excellent job in taking us around and explaining what we were seeing.
Read BigD48's full Avalon Felicity cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image cherylandmikem
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Great tour of north country, Zaanse windmills, Marken Village and countryside.
Read cherylandmikem's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Lindbergh Travel
Member Image sbalax
7 reviews
Aug 2016
Very good excursion into the countryside with a driveby tour in the city.
Read sbalax's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image bencurry
1 review
Aug 2016
We met in Amsterdam on Dramrak street at the tour operators office and then boarded a bus for our tour of the Dutch country side and its windmills. The tour included stops at a place that had 3 still working windmills, which we toured and learned that the dutch used windmills as factories for making paints, crushing old roof tiles for paint pigment in order to produce different paint colors, and as saw mills for producing lumber from giant trees. The tour also included a walking tour of Edam and a water front village that contained nice little outdoor bars, restaurants and a cheese making factory where we got to watch cheese actually being made.
Read bencurry's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: viator
Member Image psdietcoke
1 review
Aug 2016
Booked on line through Viator.
Read psdietcoke's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Booked on line through Viator
Member Image lisammc
1 review
Aug 2016
I've been to Amsterdam before, but this was a very informative tour about how the Netherlands have reclaimed their land from the sea and created successful farms.
Read lisammc's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image crusingnut
1 review
Jul 2016
We took the "Marken, Volendam and the Windmills" it was very good. It covered a lot of area so were quick visits to each but we didn't have a lot of time since we got off the ship and went to meet the tour. It was worth it and very inexpensive.
Read crusingnut's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Amsterdam City Tours
Member Image bobmeda
1 review
Jun 2016
Our guide was informative and the walking pace made for a pleasant day.
Read bobmeda's full Viking Lif cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image trixietab
1 review
Apr 2016
Loved seeing the old windmills, and environment around them.
Read trixietab's full Viking Mimir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image cmcnam3
1 review
Apr 2016
It was exciting to see the windmills, the traditional icon of Holland!
Read cmcnam3's full Viking Skirnir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image
1 review
Mar 2016
I'm glad the older windmills have been preserved and are still working. It's humbling to think of how old they are and how much they protect the land.
Read's full Viking Skirnir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image kkymmy
1 review
Nov 2015
This was part of the same excursion as the city tour, it was good to see the contrast between the city and the countryside, and it was good to go and get some authentic cheese!
Read kkymmy's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Triplets2013
1 review
Aug 2015
A beautiful place, great to see the windmills and get an idea of the history. The stop over of the cheese farm was also yummy as you were given cheese tasting
Read Triplets2013's full Scenic Opal cruise review
Provider: Scenic
Member Image RhineGetaway 2015
1 review
Jul 2015
Seeing all the Kinderdijk windmills was fantastic. Our viking tour guide was very knowledgeable and we enjoyed his talk on the windmills. Going inside one of the windmills was a great experience.
Read RhineGetaway 2015's full Viking Idi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image daberry
1 review
Jun 2015
Went to the clog factory for clogs-awesome.Went to a private cheese factory- yum Tool the public boats up and down the canals very nice.
Read daberry's full MSC Splendida cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Nicky'smom
1 review
Sep 2014

The windmills are definitely worth seeing! Set in a beautiful, countryside area, the canals, windmills, animals, buildings, and attractions are not to be missed. Highlights included climbing to the top of a windmill, the cheese making demo and tasting, and the wooden shoe making demo plus ample time to shop. The only downside was having to pay to use the restroom!

Read Nicky'smom's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image caripito
1 review
Apr 2014

horrible, exhausting, poor guide, not worth the time, film terrible, big waste of time and energy

Read caripito's full AmaBella cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image clubofan
1 review
Jul 2012
Must have been 10-15 windmills. Got to go in one up to the top. Very scenic.
Read clubofan's full Viking Idun cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image gohawks6
1 review
Jun 2012
Poor commercial village sight. Edam town great but not enough time to explore as wasted too much time at Windmills. Ship berth was terrible in industrial port area of canal not very welcoming at all. !!!!
Read gohawks6's full Ocean Princess cruise review
Member Image ronay55
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2012
It was an overcast day, with dramatic clouds in the distance, which formed a perfect backdrop for the windmills. We were allowed to visit a working windmill, to see how families can live and work in these odd structures.
Read ronay55's full Viking Danube cruise review
Member Image pubadviser
1 review
Apr 2011

Never got to see movie; Danube bumped out by another Viking group

Read pubadviser's full Viking Europe cruise review

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?