Amsterdam Van Gogh Museum Excursion Reviews

Amsterdam Van Gogh Museum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Van Gogh Museum houses an impressive array of impressionist and post-impressionist art, including the world's largest Vincent Van Gogh collection.
Member Image Heather meehan
1 review
Sep 2016
facinating look at his art and his life
Read Heather meehan's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image bencurry
1 review
Aug 2016
As I indicated above the Van Gogh tour was booked through viator as a package with the Rijksmuseum, which included lunch at the van gogh. The pre arranged lunch that came with the tour wasn't very good. If I had it to do over again I would forgo the tour lunch and simply pay for my own at the little cafe in the museum which offered much better menu items then we were served.
Read bencurry's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image pillperson@hotmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
3 hours of Van Gogh - Fabulous
Read pillperson@hotmail.com's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: self
Member Image angelaAyeg
1 review
Jul 2016
Our tour guide was an art history major and was very knowledgable about Van Gogh.
Read angelaAyeg's full Scenic Pearl cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image lefant
1 review
Jun 2016
Had to wait in line for tickets but we had an Amsterdam City card which got us in a faster line. City cards get you free transportation and discounts in some places.
Read lefant's full Viking Baldur cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Eludidated 1
1 review
Jun 2016
Wow.
Read Eludidated 1's full River Empress cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image dave8816
2 reviews
May 2016
Excellent guided tour
Read dave8816's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Hamakua
1 review
May 2016
Just OK
Read Hamakua's full Viking Bragi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Madone4
2 reviews
May 2016
Perfect half day museum experience for those who love the art of Van Gogh.
Read Madone4's full River Queen cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image mircnod10
1 review
Apr 2016
We were a little disappointed as there were so many people in the museum that it was hard to view the paintings.
Read mircnod10's full Viking Bragi cruise review
Provider: We purchased online
Member Image LoveToTravel9
1 review
Apr 2016
Loved this museum - and got the head phones which gave us so much more insight into the paintings and his life.
Read LoveToTravel9's full Viking Hlin cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image MJB0788
1 review
Apr 2016
Loved, loved, loved the museum. Get tickets ahead and get there early because it gets crowded.
Read MJB0788's full Viking Gullveig cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image dserota0973
1 review
Mar 2016
I loved the museum. I learned more about Van Gogh than I ever knew.
Read dserota0973's full Viking Bragi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image karenbod
1 review
Mar 2016
Loved it -- it started on the first floor and it was showed Van Gogh's works in chronological order, which I liked. I also liked the descriptions about his life, including family and friends.
Read karenbod's full Viking Mani cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Augustjuana
1 review
Nov 2015
goog
Read Augustjuana's full Viking Hlin cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image molly1196
1 review
Oct 2015
It was my favorite. The master paintings were so alive to see in person.
Read molly1196's full Viking Hlin cruise review
Provider: Became a member of Van Gogh museum
Member Image cliffsiders
3 reviews
Aug 2015
Again, a terrific guide who was SO knowledgeable.
Read cliffsiders's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image minmor3
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Definitely recommend it
Read minmor3's full Viking Eir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Santa Fe Cruisers
1 review
Jul 2015
It was awe inspiring....our guide was so knowledgeable
Read Santa Fe Cruisers's full River Queen cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image Schrader
1 review
Apr 2015
Fulfilled a dream.
Read Schrader's full Viking Skadi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Bpiglia1@aol.com
1 review
Apr 2015
We had a wonderful guide. She gave us the story of Van Goghs life, and a great overview of his work. We then had the rest of the afternoon free to walk the town.
Read Bpiglia1@aol.com's full River Duchess cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image Nicky'smom
1 review
Sep 2014

Good museum but long line even with voucher purchased ahead of time at the hotel. Their system didn't seem terribly organized or they just had more visitors than they could handle. The story of his life was interesting and well-presented.

Read Nicky'smom's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image caripito
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2014

dream of a lifetime

Read caripito's full AmaBella cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image baitang@gmail.com
2 reviews
Apr 2014

Although this museum is highly rated, its most famous painting, The Sunflower, was on display in London at the time of our visit. The museum does excel in explaining many of the influences on Van Gogh's art, as well as ways he influenced other artists.

The museum can get quite crowded, so be prepared for long lines.

Read baitang@gmail.com's full Viking Delling cruise review
Provider: Amsterdam Museum Card
Member Image ScubagirlVA
1 review
Sep 2013

The Van Gogh Museum was excellent. Get tickets in advance and avoid lines for tickets.

Read ScubagirlVA's full Viking Atla cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?