Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Amsterdam City Tour Excursion Reviews

Amsterdam City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A city tour is the perfect way to explore Amsterdam. From its famous canals to beautiful architecture and renowned museums, there is much to see in this storied city.
Member Image kkymmy
1 review
Nov 2015
Tour guide was friendly and informative, I found out lots of new facts about the city, but it was a shame we were stuck on a bus the whole time!
Read kkymmy's full Arcadia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image silverlakelady
1 review
Oct 2015
Nice walking tour, good info.
Read silverlakelady's full Viking Modi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Dunworkin2011
1 review
Sep 2015
Enjoyed learning about the history.
Read Dunworkin2011's full Viking Kvasir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Rondrit
1 review
Aug 2015
Walking tour very good.
Read Rondrit's full Viking Ve cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Lynda Stewart Dame
1 review
Aug 2015
Excellent! Very knowledgeable tour guide!
Read Lynda Stewart Dame's full Viking Embla cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image RJGilbert
1 review
Aug 2015
A short walking tour of the old city. We had stayed in Amsterdam for three days prior to boarding the ship. We enjoyed the Anne Frank Huis, Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Canal Tours, and other experiences. After boarding the ship we were invited to a walking tour of the city prior to departure. Even though we had been there a few days, we went along. It turned out to be a good move on our part. We saw areas we had not covered during our stay, learned a good deal about the city, canals, and buildings. We enjoyed the guide and were glad we had made the trek.
Read RJGilbert's full Viking Kvasir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image skorpios
1 review
Aug 2015
It was a long walk at the end of a two-week tour, but our tour guide was knowledgeable.
Read skorpios's full Viking Ingvi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Remedial therapist
1 review
Jul 2015
The walk followed a coach tour direct from the boat. The local guide was with us all the time and her knowledge was very good
Read Remedial therapist's full Emerald Dawn cruise review
Provider: Emerald Waterways
Member Image CapRodg
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Muriel was fantastic. Informative, funny, and helpful.
Read CapRodg's full Viking Ingvi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image tizzy555
1 review
Jul 2015
Just toured on our own. Very hot, and no a/c in most places, so hard to stay in a shop for to long, and hard to find a place to eat outside, as so hot, no seats. But managed to always end up with a seat somewhere
Read tizzy555's full Viking Idi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image tomanddj
1 review
Jun 2015
The walking tour was very informative. You do need to WATCH OUT for the bicycles!! The tour guide was really helpful in locating things and places that were near but not able to get everything in with the time that we had.
Read tomanddj's full Viking Mimir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Dot D
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed the drive around the city and heard things of interest , very interesting hearing why there are so many bikes and the high cost of parking a car in the city .
Read Dot D's full Magellan cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image Paul Jenks
1 review
May 2015
enjoyable tour
Read Paul Jenks's full Viking Alsvin cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Linchristn
1 review
May 2015
Knowledgable tour guide covering high points. Only difficulty was the rain.....
Read Linchristn's full Viking Kvasir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image karelet
3 reviews
May 2015
Viking provided an excellent bus tour of the city. the tour guide was excellent and provided a thorough explanation of all the relevant sites and history associated with each site.
Read karelet's full Viking Baldur cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Stella's Favorite
1 review
May 2015
Complimentary with Viking- we did a quick walking tour & even though we had time inAmsterdam before our cruise, we did see different sites & he gave us great insight about the area
Read Stella's Favorite's full Viking Sun cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image SnickersSiri
1 review
Apr 2015
It was the first decent weather day, as in no rain, and the sun came out for a while but still cold. The guide was knowledgeable.
Read SnickersSiri's full Viking Magni cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image KaittyKat
1 review
Apr 2015
Very interesting
Read KaittyKat's full Viking Baldur cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image mjmcam
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Our tour guide with Viking was wonderful. We started the walking tour in the rain and ended in sunshine. She was informative and friendly and very helpful. Although she was Dutch herself, she is married to an Italian and suggested a restaurant to us for dinner which turned out to be fabulous. Viking provided these wonderful headphones during your cruise which you recharge at night in your room. They work well and we had no problems with them during the cruise. We loved this Amsterdam tour.

Read mjmcam's full Viking Atla cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image caripito
1 review
Apr 2014

Lots of fun, good guide. Hard for me to keep up. Wouldn't have wanted to miss it.

Read caripito's full AmaBella cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image baitang@gmail.com
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

This tour is a must for those who have never before visited Amsterdam. Although I have been to the city several times in the past, I still appreciated the points made by the tour guide about the history and development of the city, why certain forms of architecture prevail, the commercial value of the city's canals, and the individual touches that owners gave their houses. The tour essentially is a history of Amsterdam and the Dutch state, as well as its evolution from a Catholic to a Protestant country.

Read baitang@gmail.com's full Viking Delling cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image baitang@gmail.com
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

The city tour is a land-based version of the canal tour (although not as extensive). The guide was excellent in helping us get oriented from the hotel, and in pointing out important features of the buildings, as well as life in Amsterdam (be mindful of the bicycles). We found the city tour as a start of our own exploration of the city by foot.

Read baitang@gmail.com's full Viking Delling cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image rrgator
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

The last stop on the cruise was Amsterdam, where we had booked a 2-day extension. In hindsight, we should have planned a pre-cruise extension and left immediately after the cruise to fly home. I woke up on Saturday in Amsterdam with one of the worst hangovers I have had in a long time, on top of a lack of sleep catching up with me. Needless to say, we had a great time at the Captain's dinner and the last night in the bar the previous night. We were taken to our hotel, the Radisson Blu, and while waiting for our rooms, we were taken on a two hour walking tour. The tour was great and the guide was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, especially after the tour during the rest of the day and the next day. However, nursing a hangover and needing some sleep, a walking tour was not the best way to recover, especially as the weather had turned cold. We made it through the tour and back to the hotel, where we got into our room around 2:30 pm, and were able to get some much needed rest, before tackling the crazy city of Amsterdam. Amsterdam is nice, but honestly, don't think we will be going back, other than using the airport. Amsterdam is noted for the red-light district and the availability of marijuana. And yes, there is a lot of both. However, once you've seen the red light district, you don't need to see it again. And even though marijuana is not legal in Amsterdam, a huge misconception, it is, in the words or our tour guide, "tolerated". Also, after the cruise is over, being as tired as we were, it would have been better to have gone straight to the airport, got on the plane, and slept on the way home. Oh well, you live and learn. Even though a pre-cruise extension would have worked for us, a post-cruise extension may work better for others. Some people may also want to extend the cruise at both ends; nothing wrong with that approach either. We did get to tour the Heineken factory. It was great and we picked up some presents for my son and son-in-laws there. We also did one of the get on/get off buses, which gave us a chance to see all of Amsterdam, from a distance. Also, the Radisson Blu is a very nice hotel, very well located. Our room was great. Good choice by Viking.

The airport in Amsterdam is great. Very organized and easy to get around in. Line to check in Monday morning (12/30) was extremely long, but it moved fast as they had plenty of people working the counter. I think we only stood in line for 30-45 minutes. As we kept getting closer to our gate, I kept waiting for the security lines, but they never appeared. It turns out that the security checkpoint is at the individual gate. Once we got to the gate we went to a little stand where we showed our passports and tickets and were asked the usual questions, did you pack your own luggage, has it been in your possession the whole time, etc. We then went through the scanners. Pretty easy for the most part. My wife got a pretty thorough hand search, but that seems to happen to her every time she flies. Also, the other thing that I liked about flying into Europe was once we got through customs in Frankfurt, we were done until we left Amsterdam. Because of the European Union, they have removed border checks for passports, so once you get into a country you can to everywhere else without having to be checked. Made for traveling through 4 different countries very easy.

As I said, we really enjoyed the cruise. It was pretty much what I expected based on the research I had done before we left. Let me take the opportunity, before I forget, to thank everyone who participates on these boards, allowing folks like me and my wife, to do a lot of research before any of our trips. There are a lot of issues with the internet, but the Cruise Critic website and the message boards are part of what is great about the it.

Read rrgator's full Viking Rinda cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image ScubagirlVA
1 review
Sep 2013

We had an excellent walking tour of the City

Read ScubagirlVA's full Viking Atla cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image lanzie99
2 reviews
Oct 2012
Walking tour was nice, got to see the homes, churches and flower market area. Be aware of the "killer bikes". Lots and lots of city traffic.
Read lanzie99's full Viking Sun cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.