Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Amsterdam Anne Frank House Excursion Reviews

Amsterdam Anne Frank House  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Many decades after WW II, a line still forms almost every day at The Anne Frank House with visitors waiting to view the small, hidden rooms where the then 13-year-old wrote her famous diary. When you visit, prepare for a heart-felt and very personal experience.
Member Image JanHusker
1 review
Mar 2016
The memories within that house are poignant and heartbreaking.
Read JanHusker's full Viking Baldur cruise review
Provider: Robert Abeln
Member Image mcggirl@comcast.net
1 review
Dec 2015
Not worth waiting in line for hours, but worth the visit. Puts a concrete picture from the book
Read mcggirl@comcast.net's full Viking Hlin cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Arling2nGal
6 reviews
Nov 2015
We saw the Anne Frank House as part of a Jewish tour. It also included the Diamond Factory, the Jewish Museum, and other Jewish sites.
Read Arling2nGal's full Viking Idi cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image pookeysmom
9 reviews
Oct 2015
Get there early. It's always crowded but totally worth the wait. There's a LOT of climbing of steep stairs. Wonderful tour. If you get a chance, also tour Our Lord in the Attic secret church. It's beautiful!
Read pookeysmom's full Avalon Affinity cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image 4227Jan
1 review
Sep 2015
It was interesting to see, we paid a lot to use the company, but had we gone on our own would probably not got in as there was 2 hour wait.
Read 4227Jan's full Magellan cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image sueajp
5 reviews
Sep 2015
very moving and worth the time. However, either go through the cruise line or book ahead of time... long long lines!
Read sueajp's full Avalon Felicity cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image katherineandnigel
1 review
Sep 2015
This is a very moving experience. Give yourself time here. Totally worth it.
Read katherineandnigel's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Anne frank House
Member Image MrPeabody11
1 review
Aug 2015
My wife was really glad she did this tour. Because she bought this tour in adavnce she did not have to wait in line for access. I wen to the maritime museum, which had a great interactive exhibit.
Read MrPeabody11's full Avalon Panorama cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Rondrit
1 review
Aug 2015
Well worth seeing book ahead.
Read Rondrit's full Viking Ve cruise review
Provider: Booked on line
Member Image Kingnm
1 review
Aug 2015
Extremely confronting but a must do. make sure you book either before going or through cruise company as you will queue for hours
Read Kingnm's full Avalon Impression cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image RhineGetaway 2015
1 review
Jul 2015
The lineup was long waiting to get into Anne Frank's house. Decided to come back later around 4 pm - waiting time was 45 minutes then. Very interesting to learn about Anne Frank and her family. What an ordeal they had to do just to live. An awful time in history.
Read RhineGetaway 2015's full Viking Idi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image bjquinn
2 reviews
Jul 2015
This was a nice post cruise tour which wound up at the airport. We stayed in the area so that worked well for us. Enjoyed the tour very much except for the tour guide leaving us at the Anne Frank Museum with no money or passports.
Read bjquinn's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image River Cruise Fan
1 review
Jul 2015
Glad we rebooked so we could avoid the long lines.
Read River Cruise Fan's full Viking Ve cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image tizzy555
1 review
Jul 2015
Very long wait, and very hot, and no a/c in building. No water available, so glad I brought my own.
Read tizzy555's full Viking Idi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image jdechter
27 reviews
Jun 2015
Be sure to book in advance and avoid the long lines
Read jdechter's full AmaCerto cruise review
Provider: online myself
Member Image leo178
3 reviews
Jun 2015
I had visited the Ann Frank house in 1970, and it has changed dramatically. I did reserve amy ticket ahead, and could walk right in instead of waiting in a three hour line. It is a very small space, but the accompaying museum is more open and full of information.
Read leo178's full AmaCello cruise review
Provider: self
Member Image 30th anniversary cruisers
1 review
Member Image karelet
4 reviews
May 2015
Would help to read the book prior to visiting the house. Be sure to make reservations online 6-8 weeks before visiting to avoid long lines. Requires the ability to navigate steep narrow staircases.
Read karelet's full Viking Baldur cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image david46
1 review
May 2015
Great experience a little hard to take but well worth it. The short life of Anne Frank epitomizes the tragedy of what may be the darkest chapter of European history.
Read david46's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image The Scar
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Anne Frank tour is in very high demand! Book early. We didn't but Renata helped us do it on our own and it worked perfectly. It is an amazing experience.
Read The Scar's full River Splendor cruise review
Provider: Anne Frank Museum
Member Image eugenebasher
1 review
Apr 2015
The guide was very informative and friendly. I enjoyed the short walk around the canals and we didn't have to wait in the very long queue for the museum.
Read eugenebasher's full Marco Polo cruise review
Provider: Cruise & Maritime Voyages
Member Image Nicky'smom
1 review
Sep 2014

We didn't book ahead and that was a mistake. The line was very long, even on a week-day, and the crowd inside was slow from room to room. In spite of this, the experience was moving and extremely informative.

Read Nicky'smom's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image baitang@gmail.com
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

If you wish to visit this place, it is recommended to make your booking well in advance on the Anne Frank House website. Since we did not have time to do that (all reservations were taken one month before our cruise date!), our only option was to stand in line to wait for entry. We arrived in the early morning and waited in line about one hour. Arriving later in the day would necessitate a longer wait.

Some people might find this visit a bit "heavy," since it deals with a historical period that makes many uncomfortable. However, it is well worth while for those who wish to know more about Anne Frank and her family, and to see the places where they lived for a few years while The Netherlands was under German occupation. The accompanying museum has many features unavailable elsewhere, including video interviews of some of the Dutch people who helped the Frank family remain in their hiding place.

Read baitang@gmail.com's full Viking Delling cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image baitang@gmail.com
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

If you wish to visit this museum, it is highly advised to book in advance via the Internet. By the time I learned this, it was too close to our cruise for me to make the arrangements (no tickets were available online for our dates). So, my wife and I got in line by 8:00 a.m. for the 9:00 a.m. opening. If you go later in the day, the line (and wait) is much longer.
To get the greatest benefit from the visit, you should read Anne Frank's Diary beforehand.
Visitors climb steep stairs to see the family's "secret annex," as well as the company offices on the lower floors. Displays show how the rooms were furnished during the Frank family's stay. The museum has purchased the neighboring building to facilitate moving through the Frank house, and to provide more space for special exhibits. Among the most important are oral histories by the Dutch people who helped the Frank family. This is as much a shrine as it is a museum.

Read baitang@gmail.com's full Viking Delling cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Cruising@60
1 review
May 2013

Very moving

Read Cruising@60's full Scenic Ruby cruise review
Provider: Scenic

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.