Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Amsterdam Anne Frank House Excursion Reviews

Amsterdam Anne Frank House  cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Many decades after WW II, a line still forms almost every day at The Anne Frank House with visitors waiting to view the small, hidden rooms where the then 13-year-old wrote her famous diary. When you visit, prepare for a heart-felt and very personal experience.
Member Image Nicky'smom
1 review
Sep 2014

We didn't book ahead and that was a mistake. The line was very long, even on a week-day, and the crowd inside was slow from room to room. In spite of this, the experience was moving and extremely informative.

Read Nicky'smom's full Avalon Visionary cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image baitang@gmail.com
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

If you wish to visit this place, it is recommended to make your booking well in advance on the Anne Frank House website. Since we did not have time to do that (all reservations were taken one month before our cruise date!), our only option was to stand in line to wait for entry. We arrived in the early morning and waited in line about one hour. Arriving later in the day would necessitate a longer wait.

Some people might find this visit a bit "heavy," since it deals with a historical period that makes many uncomfortable. However, it is well worth while for those who wish to know more about Anne Frank and her family, and to see the places where they lived for a few years while The Netherlands was under German occupation. The accompanying museum has many features unavailable elsewhere, including video interviews of some of the Dutch people who helped the Frank family remain in their hiding place.

Read baitang@gmail.com's full Viking Delling cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image baitang@gmail.com
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

If you wish to visit this museum, it is highly advised to book in advance via the Internet. By the time I learned this, it was too close to our cruise for me to make the arrangements (no tickets were available online for our dates). So, my wife and I got in line by 8:00 a.m. for the 9:00 a.m. opening. If you go later in the day, the line (and wait) is much longer.
To get the greatest benefit from the visit, you should read Anne Frank's Diary beforehand.
Visitors climb steep stairs to see the family's "secret annex," as well as the company offices on the lower floors. Displays show how the rooms were furnished during the Frank family's stay. The museum has purchased the neighboring building to facilitate moving through the Frank house, and to provide more space for special exhibits. Among the most important are oral histories by the Dutch people who helped the Frank family. This is as much a shrine as it is a museum.

Read baitang@gmail.com's full Viking Delling cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Cruising@60
1 review
May 2013

Very moving

Read Cruising@60's full Scenic Ruby cruise review
Provider: Scenic Tours
Member Image Jdrumsdad
1 review
Sep 2012
Physically challenging but an experience I will never forget. Don't miss it.
Read Jdrumsdad's full Viking Njord cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image clubofan
1 review
Jul 2012
Brought the book and movie to life. Very sobering.
Read clubofan's full Viking Idun cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image tannerm
1 review
Jul 2012
Ordered tickets on line and didn't have to wait in line, tickets are timed. Amazing, the space where the Frank family and others lived for so long was much larger than you imagine when reading Anne's diary. So personal.
Read tannerm's full Viking Prestige cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image Csbjim
1 review
May 2012
Don't be imtimidated by the lines as the tour is inspiring as to the human spirit.
Read Csbjim's full Viking Njord cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises
Member Image rgarick
1 review
May 2011
Also purchased tickets to Anne Frank house before cruising--wise choice! Lines were very long outside and we went straight into with our prebooked tickets.
Read rgarick's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image pubadviser
1 review
Apr 2011

very interesting, touching to see the artifacts

Read pubadviser's full Viking Europe cruise review
Provider: Viking Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.