Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Deep in the Mexican jungle, Chacchoben is among the most famous ruins in Cozumel. These ancient pyramids have been excavated and restored, and now stand as testament to the myths and rituals of the mysterious Mayan peoples.
Member Image stevenschultz50
1 review
Apr 2017
A/C ride for 50 minutes with great narration by Diego of customs, some history and today's natives. The ruins are impressive to walk on and around. We also visited a Mayan village family nearby. We learned of customs, homes, plants used for beauty, cooking, medicinal uses as well as several local dances performed. The Mayan based lunch meal was delicious with variety, etc. We would give this a #1 priority to anyone. We learned two Mayan words: Junbotek and Malo Keen... ask what they mean when you arrive.
Read stevenschultz50's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursioneer
Member Image Kristinl
1 review
Apr 2017
Guide was great and very friendly
Read Kristinl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jomaro
1 review
Mar 2017
Excellent tour guide. Learned a lot about the ruins and Mayan culture. Highly recommended!
Read Jomaro's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native choice
Member Image furnrep
2 reviews
Mar 2017
This was an excellent tour of the ruins and a great guide and driver. The vans were all virtually new maxi van types and with bottled water for all. Very interesting and reasonable compared to the ones offered by Oceania. our guide was Mayan himself and very knowledgeable about the Mayan culture therefore. we were able to see up close some great examples of Mayan architecture and sites used for various ceremonial events. On the return trip to Costa Maya and our ship, the driver stopped to allow those who wanted to buy some fresh sliced locally grown pineapple! Oh, it was so sweet you could even eat the core!
Read furnrep's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Native Tours
Member Image Rohhib70
1 review
Mar 2017
The ride there was 55 minutes each way. Take car seats for small children as they will use them! The walk is very uneven and I had to constantly look down to make sure of my footing. I waited for the others on a bench while they climbed the steps (many of them) and still felt I got my money's worth from the experience.
Read Rohhib70's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image k10_north
1 review
Mar 2017
Very informative! Great history lesson as well as exploring. Our guide was Diana and she was wonderful. Answered every question. Great for kids and adults.. adults got to learn a bit about the culture and kids loved climbing all over the ruins.
Read k10_north's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Matt195
1 review
Mar 2017
Wish we had more time to explore the sites more. Greatly enjoyed the excursion but would have been better with more time.
Read Matt195's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sionainn
1 review
Mar 2017
Tour guide "Gerry" was fantastic and provided a lot of interesting details regarding the area, culture, history... He made the bus trip there and back fun and very informative. The motor coach seemed safe and was quite comfortable. Ruins were very impressive - a must see!
Read Sionainn's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image seadog007
1 review
Mar 2017
The ruins themselves were small. The guide, Luis, and the Beach and Lunch were exceptional. Highly recommended.
Read seadog007's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image clxpert
1 review
Feb 2017
The guide was very knowledgable and definitely loves what she is doing. She made the hour long bus ride pass by very quickly by entertaining us with interesting tidbits about the Mayan culture.
Read clxpert's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Emairis
1 review
Feb 2017
Very good. Excellent tour guide presentation on the history of the Mayan ruins and culture. Good English. Plenty of time to take pictures and not rushed. Did some shopping also.
Read Emairis's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Coprolite
3 reviews
Feb 2017
Alex was a GREAT tour guide...very professional. A great tour for archaeology buffs!
Read Coprolite's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image KomoxVIP
1 review
Feb 2017
Group of 10 guests; guides were very informative. Fascinating history of Ruins. Long drive to site. Bottled water was provided. Guide stopped and bought freshly cut pineapple for the group. Fun excursion.
Read KomoxVIP's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing Ltd.
Member Image WineandRoseLady
6 reviews
Feb 2017
Had a bit of a walk to the office to meet the tour. Bussed to the ruins. Personable guide told us the history and culture, and showed us around the site. Good trip.
Read WineandRoseLady's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image liz1963
1 review
Feb 2017
Great tour. Saw the Chacchoben Mayan Ruins then went to a beach where they served buffet. Food was delicious and drinks flowed freely.
Read liz1963's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Flawless_1011
1 review
Feb 2017
Costa Maya was a lot of fun as well. They dock at a private dock, so when you walk off the boat the excursions being sold are going to be from NCL at NCL prices. Once you walk through the gates is where you can find the local tours for half the price. We booked through a company called Toucan Tours, they also have a website you can book through : http://www.tucancostamaya.com/ Carlos was our tour guide and he was excellent! Very informative. The company provides beverages of all sorts: Mexican Sodas, water, beer… which seemed to be unlimited and Carlos stopped and purchased local pineapples for everyone to try. The ruins were amazing to see and quite the experience. Worth the money! Afterwards we brought to the beach/town. We decided to explore the town. We wanted to have lunch at an authentic Mexican restaurant and then do some shopping.
Read Flawless_1011's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Toucan Tours
Member Image DeniseLCR
1 review
Feb 2017
Enjoyed the tour of the ruins. Tour guide very knowledgable
Read DeniseLCR's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image alansdale
1 review
Jan 2017
Our tour guide Roberto was awesome! He gave us so much information! Very friendly and easy to get a long with! The ruins were awesome. So much cultural information. Great experience!
Read alansdale's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image debeni
1 review
Jan 2017
took the excursion to the Mayan Ruins which was one of the highlights of the trip.
Read debeni's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseGuy87
1 review
Jan 2017
The ruins were incredible, and our Native Choice tour guide (Eddar) was top notch. They even gave us a ride to downtown Mahahual after the tour. Highly recommend!
Read CruiseGuy87's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Harlinator
1 review
Jan 2017
The deluxe tour provides a smaller group and the guides are very knowledgeable of Mayan history and culture.
Read Harlinator's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gaspari
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Good trip and guide (Edder) Professionally run, more like a mainstream coach trip than we were expecting. Cheaper than cruise trip and probably better.
Read gaspari's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Hunt1530
8 reviews
Jan 2017
Outstanding site. Easily walkable. Not ruins in a field (see: chichen itza) but rather has native plants and animals visible. Go early in the day to avoid crowds and heat.
Read Hunt1530's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jalbertfarm
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Phenomenal!!! Best excursion I have been on!! I would actually do it again!! We did ruins tour with lunch at a Mayan village!!
Read jalbertfarm's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native choice
Member Image agibbs
1 review
Jan 2017
V busy, difficult to get the full experience with that amount of people milling around.
Read agibbs's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?