Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Deep in the Mexican jungle, Chacchoben is among the most famous ruins in Cozumel. These ancient pyramids have been excavated and restored, and now stand as testament to the myths and rituals of the mysterious Mayan peoples.
Member Image ItaliCuba2005
1 review
Apr 2016
Very good tour! Interesting, educational, loved the ruins that are actually authentic. These are not replicas. The guy that gave the tour is Daniel, and he is the only Mayan tour guide, he even speaks the language. I think it is a little bit overpriced as you only get the tour of the site and water! That's it. They also try to sell you some of their books and mayan calendars, etc. But that is optional, you don't have to buy anything if you don't want to. But as an overall the tour was really good. My wife and I loved it.
Read ItaliCuba2005's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Txldyngent
1 review
Apr 2016
This Mayan experience includes a visit to the ruins and a Mayan village. Our guide Erick was great. There were only 4 if us but we were given the full experience. Lunch at the village was so fresh and delicious. No ship excursion included both the ruins and village tour for one price. Would definitely recommend this tour. We were dropped off in town by our choice for a couple of hrs at the Tropicante, a beach side restaurant . Great margaritas!. (Highly recommend)
Read Txldyngent's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Native choice
Member Image newbie68
3 reviews
Mar 2016
Joel was a great guide. Went to ruins and a Maya family home for a great meal.
Read newbie68's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Native Choice Tours
Member Image tricia@silverpen.com
1 review
Mar 2016
This is one of the oldest known Mayan ruins. It's extensive and impressive.
Read tricia@silverpen.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Road Scholar
Member Image GerBobcruisers
1 review
Mar 2016
Our tour guide was a former teacher and had vast knowledge base of Mayan culture to share with us. Enjoyed our tour
Read GerBobcruisers's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Oliemaxx
1 review
Mar 2016
Throughly enjoyed this tour.
Read Oliemaxx's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Another Adventure!
1 review
Feb 2016
Ruins were in the jungle as opposed to open country from a different ruins tour. Many foundations, but also a couple of structures. You were allowed to climb on two of them. The ruins are an interesting experience. One hour bus ride each way. The guide on this tour only responded to questions at the site of the ruins. As we started out he said "What questions do you have?" We expected more upfront information presented to us so we knew what questions to ask. Also, during this tour, the guide informed us that the Mayans were able to determine the gender of their children in very specific, inappropriate, unscientific, terms. This, and other unrelated commentary, was not what I paid for on this tour. On our bus ride this same tour guide literally presented a 30 minute sales pitch for his book, Mayan calendars, and a Mayan medallion to be paid in cash on the bus.
Read Another Adventure!'s full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kashube2003
1 review
Feb 2016
The tour was excellent. Our Guide was Sergio. He was very pleasant and really showed us an experience to remember
Read kashube2003's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image killineybay
5 reviews
Feb 2016
We took a tour of the Chacchoben Mayan Ruins with the Native Choice tour group. It was well run and we enjoyed our tour. It does require some climbing up some uneven stone steps to see all pyramids. It is well shaded on the whole and well worth seeing. My one comment is that I thought our tour group was too large for the guide and it was a challenge to keep up.
Read killineybay's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Eleanortabor
1 review
Feb 2016
Booked through Cruise Deals and adventure was provided by locals which was great. We missed our bus and they made a special trip to catch us up with our group. So accommodating. Clean safe transportation. Guides were very knowledgeable and polite. Excellent English. Ruins were amazing and facility exceeded our expectations.
Read Eleanortabor's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coldweather
4 reviews
Jan 2016
I booked this excursion through my travel agent. It takes about 1 hour on an new, smooth road to get there in an air conditioned van. The van seemed relatively new and safe. The walking tour takes about 1 - 1.5 hours. There are a few places to sit along the way. The walking area is mostly smooth but it is not paved. It has loose gravel. If you are unsteady on your feet it will be ok but you will need to pay attention to your footing in some areas. You need climb up onto of one structure because there are 2 temples on top. If you don't want to climb there is a bench to sit on. You are not allowed to climb the largest of the structures. It was a nice trip. My companion had never seen any ruins so she was trilled with the tour and the information provided. Our tour operator dropped us at the port gate upon return.
Read coldweather's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image seattlecritic
1 review
Dec 2015
Eduardo, Mary were awesome--and did a great job driving us in their air-conditioned van to the ruins and back. Would have been nice if we could have stayed a little longer to sample the food, however.
Read seattlecritic's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Happy NCL Cruiser
1 review
Dec 2015
A small-van, well run and profesionally guided tour of this smaller and newer set of ruins an hour inland from Costa Maya. After a wa lking tour of the ruins, an awesome lunch provided by a native family in an authentic thatched roofed hut setting provided a nice ending to this great tour.
Read Happy NCL Cruiser's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice Tours
Member Image patonleeward
3 reviews
Dec 2015
Interesting and well hosted
Read patonleeward's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 2FMJ
1 review
Nov 2015
over priced for what is there
Read 2FMJ's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image metterchin
1 review
Nov 2015
The independent tour was mores suited to my elderly parents.
Read metterchin's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image corgichlover
1 review
Nov 2015
Here is a bit of advice -- take the deluxe trip as there is a maximum of 12 guests. We only had ten on our air conditioned bus. Our guide was terrific telling everyone the history of the area as we drove to the Mayan ruins. These ruins are a treasure to see. Our group had a very personal interpretation of the ruins thanks to our guide. We even sampled gum from the gum tree and were advised that Starbucks has started a cooperation with the locals on make a gum called Chicksa that will be available in the states mid 2016. At the end of the tour there is a gift shop full of items that the locals have made.
Read corgichlover's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image susanstar88
3 reviews
Nov 2015
I'm only rating Very Good - although the ruines were interesting - the bus ride was 2 hours each way. We had read that information but after seeing the previous ruines, in hind site, we wish we had elected another activity - perhaps something else on the water (but that's just us). The bus was very comfortable & this tour guide had many, many pictures to show us and was extremely knowledgeable. He was interesting ... even for the long tour time!
Read susanstar88's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JimeBeMe
4 reviews
Oct 2015
Value was not great, but for about $50 per person we got a ride to the ruins and a guide to help us interpret what we saw. They did a good job. Bring bug spray and bug bite relief medicine, as the mosquitoes and ants and spiders were everywhere. Now we have seen it, so we won't go back again, but we would recommend it to anyone unfamiliar with the Mayan culture.
Read JimeBeMe's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JDRC_1998
1 review
Oct 2015
Absolutely terrific. Kasi was an amazing guide.
Read JDRC_1998's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruznluv97
1 review
Jul 2015
Took taxi to the ruins - $50 round trip
Read cruznluv97's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Local Taxi
Member Image guysdolls66
4 reviews
Jul 2015
We had a really good, fun guide. He was able to keep our five kids interested on the whole tour.
Read guysdolls66's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mmira
1 review
Jun 2015
We went to the Chacchoben Mayan Ruins on our won taking the Taxi and hired a guide at the site. Had a wonderful time.
Read mmira's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Dewmonster
1 review
May 2015
Nice ride on a comfortable bus. Luis the tour guide was interesting and showed us his own recreations of Mayan paintings. We were allowed plenty of time to visit each area of the ruins.
Read Dewmonster's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Clawman
1 review
Apr 2015
Costa Maya- Mayan Ruins- We decided to book directly with the ship on this excursion as it was the last port of call and the shortest allotted time in port. We took a nice bus to Chacchoben to see the ruins. On our way to the stop it began to rain. The rain was quite heavy when we arrived. We tried to purchase a rain coat but they sold out very quickly. We did end up purchasing garbage bags for 1.00 where we made ponchos out of them. We were given a tour of all of the ruins and provided with an amazing amount of history. Despite the rain this was a very cool excursion.
Read Clawman's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.