Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Deep in the Mexican jungle, Chacchoben is among the most famous ruins in Cozumel. These ancient pyramids have been excavated and restored, and now stand as testament to the myths and rituals of the mysterious Mayan peoples.
Member Image Chee West
1 review
Sep 2016
Tour guide was outstanding! Lots of History in Mexico
Read Chee West's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PillowTalk4
1 review
Sep 2016
Enjoyed the ruins and learning about the Mayan culture. Our tour guide was very nice and informative. The bus ride to the ruins was on very comfortable buses and water was provided.
Read PillowTalk4's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruiser Bruiser
5 reviews
Sep 2016
Excellent, informative guide; impressive ruins. Back to the ship by lunch time.
Read Cruiser Bruiser's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Olivine84
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Lizbeth and our choffer showed us a great time during our tour. Very knowledgeable about the Mayan's.
Read Olivine84's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image larel
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Educational and enjoyable!
Read larel's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rabidtraveler
1 review
Jul 2016
This company was outstanding! After taking hundreds of tours, the guide, David, was one of the very best. Full of information and exploration opportunities at the Mayan Ruins at Chacchoben.
Read rabidtraveler's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image JLO_1212
1 review
Jul 2016
The kids loved this place. Waterslides and ziplines!!! Elevators up to the waterslides!!!!!! The park was nearly empty. It was a ton of fun. There was a lot to do for all our kids (ages 1-14) Food set up was terrible and the water looked dirty.
Read JLO_1212's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dr.Mitch
1 review
Jun 2016
Wonderful, knowledgeable guide, who took us to the ruins, and provided excellent information. Then went to Uvero beach to a private beach club for a wonderful buffet lunch and relaxing swim at the beach. Some seaweed in the water, but overall a beautiful, clean beach. Unlimited drinks, including alcohol was an unexpected perk.
Read Dr.Mitch's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sandy157
1 review
Jun 2016
More like Costa Ripoff. Mayan Ruins-- cool to see, but it is SO HOT and there is no shade. They packed us into a van and drove 45 minutes to the ruins, where we spent most of the 1 hour tour sweating buckets. Tour guide then called his buddies to tell them he was about to drop 12 tourists off at the beach. We were met by dozens of people trying to sell us everything from kayaks to lobsters. One man followed my boyfriend and I onto the beach, where he tried to sell us a free beach chair. The port area is nice, with a pool and small beach area. Leave your wallet on the ship-- everything was at least 4x the price of other ports. If I could do it again, I would not book an excursion here. I would stay in the port area for a few hours and then get back on the ship to enjoy the (hopefully) less crowded pools.
Read Sandy157's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image janetgrad
1 review
Jun 2016
David was very knowledgeable!!
Read janetgrad's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Jona7
1 review
May 2016
Booked privately through Native Choice. Tour guide Diego was informative and interesting. Answered all our questions and made tour interesting for the grandchildren.
Read Jona7's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image jalapeno32
2 reviews
May 2016
lots of walking, lots of different areas seen one at a time, with a history lesson at each one. cool stuff.
Read jalapeno32's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Ded0823
1 review
May 2016
Best ruins I have seen of all the ones we have visited. Absolute must.
Read Ded0823's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image srm0016
1 review
May 2016
Amazing excursion for a great price! Glad I booked off the ship!
Read srm0016's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Native Tours
Member Image Ilvtotravel
1 review
May 2016
Great tour of the ruins. Very nice bus as well as tour guide. Ended at a resort with a wonderful beach as well as very tasty lunch
Read Ilvtotravel's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image carolineinthecity
1 review
May 2016
Costa Maya - (Side Note: Once you leave the ship there is a nice shopping area, with a pool and sunbathing chairs at this port, had no idea that was going to be there. But we did not stay too long there, besides for some shopping after our tour.) Found a tour operator through cruise critic website for a company called" Native Tours Costa Maya" you can google it, we booked through them because their reviews were so good on trip advisor! We booked the tour for the Chaccoben ruins and the blue lagoon tour (just checked the website, not sure they are offering this particular tour anymore sorry) Anyhow, you have to leave the port area and walk a bit outside of it to get to the tour headquarters, and it was the end of may in Mexico so it was hot. Took about 10-15 mins. But once we got there they had a man handing out waters while we waited for our tour bus to load, and got our wristbands. You have to drive for a bit, i believe it was about an hour, but its almost a straight shot there, then there is a little market area with local people selling touristy items before you see the ruins (beware they are more expensive than by the port) but you can always negotiate and they are pretty good about that. Toured the grounds of the ruins, and got to do so at our own pace, but our tour guide Rosa was awesome, she was very knowledgable and friendly! She would let us look around then tell us some info about the place. You get to see the big pyramid, and the area where they used to live, and two other smaller pyramids! Really cool! Someone from the company carries around cold waters while on the tour to hand out to us all during it, which was an amazing feature! I didn't see anyone from other groups getting ice cold water on that blazing hot day! Once we were done there, we took a short bus ride, to the blue lagoon (although we weren't sure where we were going because you turn down a dusty side road and that takes about 20 mins to get to the actual location) but once you get there! Holy cow, it's beautiful! We had lunch, which was amazing, it was a make your own taco sort of thing, rice and beans, that included drinks (beer, pina colada, and liquor i believe). Once you are done eating you go down to the water and hang out, they have kayaks and all types of things you can use for free, but we just hung out and took it easy. Not a lot of lounge chairs but enough for the amount of people that were there. The water was gorgeous and it was the perfect end to an amazing day.
Read carolineinthecity's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Native Tours
Member Image jetski777
1 review
May 2016
The Norwegian Dawn ship tour to Chaccoben Mayan Ruins was $95 and included a 45 minute greyhound bus to the ruins and free entry to the ruin site. We decided to skip this tour and book on land. When you exit the ship, you enter a private village where all of the tours offered and exactly the same ones on the ship with the same prices. Costa Maya Tucan Tours @ $45 per person (www.tucancostamaya.com) is the one we selected, but its a little hard to find. Walk off ship into village. Walk past the pool, take a right down alley to the village exit. Go past the 'Last Chance Tour' desk which has the same tours and pricing as the ship. You will then enter a large street with a lot of closed businesses. On the right of the street are Taxi's which offer $25 rides per person to Ruins. They will wait then return you to the ship. You pay for admission to ruins ($4/55 pesos). On the left side of the street should be a sales rep for the Costa Maya Tucan Tours. If they are not there, the tour booth is at the end of the short street. We booked with them for $45 per person. There tour was excellent and included a private mini van with great air conditioning and leather seats, a water bottle for each passenger, free entrance to ruins AND a free guide. In the middle of the tour the van driver brought us a water bottle for each passenger. We then got a ride back to town with a stop for pineapple during the trip. Before making our way back to the ship, we got an hour stop at fishermans village about a mile from ship. This village is right on beach with lots of restaurants, tables palm trees and shopping. Finally a ride back to ship. Skip the ship and private village tours to the ruins and spend the time to find Costa Maya Tucan Tours just outside the village, you will be glad you did.
Read jetski777's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Costa Maya Tucan Tours
Member Image ItaliCuba2005
1 review
Apr 2016
Very good tour! Interesting, educational, loved the ruins that are actually authentic. These are not replicas. The guy that gave the tour is Daniel, and he is the only Mayan tour guide, he even speaks the language. I think it is a little bit overpriced as you only get the tour of the site and water! That's it. They also try to sell you some of their books and mayan calendars, etc. But that is optional, you don't have to buy anything if you don't want to. But as an overall the tour was really good. My wife and I loved it.
Read ItaliCuba2005's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Txldyngent
1 review
Apr 2016
This Mayan experience includes a visit to the ruins and a Mayan village. Our guide Erick was great. There were only 4 if us but we were given the full experience. Lunch at the village was so fresh and delicious. No ship excursion included both the ruins and village tour for one price. Would definitely recommend this tour. We were dropped off in town by our choice for a couple of hrs at the Tropicante, a beach side restaurant . Great margaritas!. (Highly recommend)
Read Txldyngent's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Native choice
Member Image newbie68
3 reviews
Mar 2016
Joel was a great guide. Went to ruins and a Maya family home for a great meal.
Read newbie68's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Native Choice Tours
Member Image dafcpa
1 review
Mar 2016
Another small Mayan ruin in Mexico. What can I say; you can only visit so many Mexican ports. For someone who's never seen a ruin it's interesting. If you've been to Cancun, Cozumel or other Mexican ports, yawn.
Read dafcpa's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tricia@silverpen.com
1 review
Mar 2016
This is one of the oldest known Mayan ruins. It's extensive and impressive.
Read tricia@silverpen.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Road Scholar
Member Image GerBobcruisers
1 review
Mar 2016
Our tour guide was a former teacher and had vast knowledge base of Mayan culture to share with us. Enjoyed our tour
Read GerBobcruisers's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Oliemaxx
1 review
Mar 2016
Throughly enjoyed this tour.
Read Oliemaxx's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sls030992
1 review
Mar 2016
The ride to the ruins was so boring. The ruins themselves were very cool and different. A lot of walking but also a lot to see. The Costa Maya port itself is so beautiful I wish we would have just stayed there.
Read sls030992's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?