Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Deep in the Mexican jungle, Chacchoben is among the most famous ruins in Cozumel. These ancient pyramids have been excavated and restored, and now stand as testament to the myths and rituals of the mysterious Mayan peoples.
Member Image coldweather
4 reviews
Jan 2016
I booked this excursion through my travel agent. It takes about 1 hour on an new, smooth road to get there in an air conditioned van. The van seemed relatively new and safe. The walking tour takes about 1 - 1.5 hours. There are a few places to sit along the way. The walking area is mostly smooth but it is not paved. It has loose gravel. If you are unsteady on your feet it will be ok but you will need to pay attention to your footing in some areas. You need climb up onto of one structure because there are 2 temples on top. If you don't want to climb there is a bench to sit on. You are not allowed to climb the largest of the structures. It was a nice trip. My companion had never seen any ruins so she was trilled with the tour and the information provided. Our tour operator dropped us at the port gate upon return.
Read coldweather's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image seattlecritic
1 review
Dec 2015
Eduardo, Mary were awesome--and did a great job driving us in their air-conditioned van to the ruins and back. Would have been nice if we could have stayed a little longer to sample the food, however.
Read seattlecritic's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Happy NCL Cruiser
1 review
Dec 2015
A small-van, well run and profesionally guided tour of this smaller and newer set of ruins an hour inland from Costa Maya. After a wa lking tour of the ruins, an awesome lunch provided by a native family in an authentic thatched roofed hut setting provided a nice ending to this great tour.
Read Happy NCL Cruiser's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice Tours
Member Image patonleeward
3 reviews
Dec 2015
Interesting and well hosted
Read patonleeward's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 2FMJ
1 review
Nov 2015
over priced for what is there
Read 2FMJ's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image corgichlover
1 review
Nov 2015
Here is a bit of advice -- take the deluxe trip as there is a maximum of 12 guests. We only had ten on our air conditioned bus. Our guide was terrific telling everyone the history of the area as we drove to the Mayan ruins. These ruins are a treasure to see. Our group had a very personal interpretation of the ruins thanks to our guide. We even sampled gum from the gum tree and were advised that Starbucks has started a cooperation with the locals on make a gum called Chicksa that will be available in the states mid 2016. At the end of the tour there is a gift shop full of items that the locals have made.
Read corgichlover's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image susanstar88
3 reviews
Nov 2015
I'm only rating Very Good - although the ruines were interesting - the bus ride was 2 hours each way. We had read that information but after seeing the previous ruines, in hind site, we wish we had elected another activity - perhaps something else on the water (but that's just us). The bus was very comfortable & this tour guide had many, many pictures to show us and was extremely knowledgeable. He was interesting ... even for the long tour time!
Read susanstar88's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JimeBeMe
4 reviews
Oct 2015
Value was not great, but for about $50 per person we got a ride to the ruins and a guide to help us interpret what we saw. They did a good job. Bring bug spray and bug bite relief medicine, as the mosquitoes and ants and spiders were everywhere. Now we have seen it, so we won't go back again, but we would recommend it to anyone unfamiliar with the Mayan culture.
Read JimeBeMe's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JDRC_1998
1 review
Oct 2015
Absolutely terrific. Kasi was an amazing guide.
Read JDRC_1998's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruznluv97
1 review
Jul 2015
Took taxi to the ruins - $50 round trip
Read cruznluv97's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Local Taxi
Member Image guysdolls66
4 reviews
Jul 2015
We had a really good, fun guide. He was able to keep our five kids interested on the whole tour.
Read guysdolls66's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mmira
1 review
Jun 2015
We went to the Chacchoben Mayan Ruins on our won taking the Taxi and hired a guide at the site. Had a wonderful time.
Read mmira's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Dewmonster
1 review
May 2015
Nice ride on a comfortable bus. Luis the tour guide was interesting and showed us his own recreations of Mayan paintings. We were allowed plenty of time to visit each area of the ruins.
Read Dewmonster's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Clawman
1 review
Apr 2015
Costa Maya- Mayan Ruins- We decided to book directly with the ship on this excursion as it was the last port of call and the shortest allotted time in port. We took a nice bus to Chacchoben to see the ruins. On our way to the stop it began to rain. The rain was quite heavy when we arrived. We tried to purchase a rain coat but they sold out very quickly. We did end up purchasing garbage bags for 1.00 where we made ponchos out of them. We were given a tour of all of the ruins and provided with an amazing amount of history. Despite the rain this was a very cool excursion.
Read Clawman's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mironosica
1 review
Apr 2015
This tour I liked much better. We have very comfortable bus and professional guide. Organization was also good. It was a pleasure. Facilities in Chacchoben Mayan Ruins was great.We bought water and had a little rest.Thanks
Read mironosica's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image duluthga
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Very well handled. Met quickly and escorted to our bus. Bus was in great shape. tour guide knew her history and the trip went by fast. the ruins are great as they are not overly developed and not all have been uncovered so you could compare to what they found when they first stumbled on them
Read duluthga's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image debbob51
1 review
Apr 2015
The ride was long but worth it, the tour guide was excellent both on the bus and at the location. We had plenty of time at the site for pictures and walking around.
Read debbob51's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jimbmw
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Long bumpy ride, but not well paved roads. Tour Guide (Ivan) had degree in Anthropology and it showed that he studied very well! Spellbound us! Went before, but learned more this time.
Read jimbmw's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Chachoben Ruins (Native Choice tours)
Member Image titangas
1 review
Mar 2015
Did the Mayan Experience with Native Choice. The meal at the Mayan Village of Chacchoben was the highlight of the entire cruise. The food was fresh and delicious.
Read titangas's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image LittleSister1006
3 reviews
Mar 2015
We decided to take the Chacchoben Mayan Ruins excursion - The Chacchoben Mayan Ruins are a fairly newly discovered set of ruins. Our guide Sergio was very helpful in explaining the life of the Mayans. Paths are uneven so watch where you are walking. There is another section of the ruins which I did not climb up to see. If you decide to climb these steps (which my husband did) you will see some pyramids and other structures. You will also see as you walk farther on what was considered to be the general living quarters.
Read LittleSister1006's full Ryndam cruise review
Provider:
Member Image eileendenny
1 review
Mar 2015
The tour guides, "Native Choice" were great. A relief to get off the ship! The tour guides, "Native Choice" were great. A relief to get off the ship! The tour guides, "Native Choice" were great. A relief to get off the ship!
Read eileendenny's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image penguin9
1 review
Mar 2015
Went to the ruins and had a great Mayan guide... we learned a lot of history from him. Then we went to a resort, had pina coladas, lunch and kayaked at the 7 color lagoon. This tour was through Shoretrips.com. Highly recommend!
Read penguin9's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Shoretrips.com
Member Image Cave Hill Grammie
1 review
Mar 2015
Beautiful site, with lots of history. Looking forward to seeing the site grow as excavation/exploration continues. This site has amazing pyramids and is very beautiful. We really enjoyed exploring this site and learning it's history.
Read Cave Hill Grammie's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image reklawd
1 review
Mar 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and the experience was very cool. I did feel a bit rushed to get back to the ship but overall we really really enjoyed our experience visiting the ruins.

Read reklawd's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Chilly Willy
1 review
Mar 2015

This was a fantastic tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable about where we were going and gave us a brief history of the Island. When we got to the ruins, another guide took us through a forest to get to the ruins and he gave us the history of the ruins and how they were made. It was so amazing to go back in history and see how these pyramids were made basically by hand. The whole tour lasted 4 hours. On our way back to the ship, we stopped on the road, where ladies were selling fresh pineapples. What a nice treat to have having walked in very hot temperatures Highly recommended.

Read Chilly Willy's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.