Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Deep in the Mexican jungle, Chacchoben is among the most famous ruins in Cozumel. These ancient pyramids have been excavated and restored, and now stand as testament to the myths and rituals of the mysterious Mayan peoples.
Member Image liz1963
1 review
Feb 2017
Great tour. Saw the Chacchoben Mayan Ruins then went to a beach where they served buffet. Food was delicious and drinks flowed freely.
Read liz1963's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Flawless_1011
1 review
Feb 2017
Costa Maya was a lot of fun as well. They dock at a private dock, so when you walk off the boat the excursions being sold are going to be from NCL at NCL prices. Once you walk through the gates is where you can find the local tours for half the price. We booked through a company called Toucan Tours, they also have a website you can book through : http://www.tucancostamaya.com/ Carlos was our tour guide and he was excellent! Very informative. The company provides beverages of all sorts: Mexican Sodas, water, beer… which seemed to be unlimited and Carlos stopped and purchased local pineapples for everyone to try. The ruins were amazing to see and quite the experience. Worth the money! Afterwards we brought to the beach/town. We decided to explore the town. We wanted to have lunch at an authentic Mexican restaurant and then do some shopping.
Read Flawless_1011's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Toucan Tours
Member Image alansdale
1 review
Jan 2017
Our tour guide Roberto was awesome! He gave us so much information! Very friendly and easy to get a long with! The ruins were awesome. So much cultural information. Great experience!
Read alansdale's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image debeni
1 review
Jan 2017
took the excursion to the Mayan Ruins which was one of the highlights of the trip.
Read debeni's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseGuy87
1 review
Jan 2017
The ruins were incredible, and our Native Choice tour guide (Eddar) was top notch. They even gave us a ride to downtown Mahahual after the tour. Highly recommend!
Read CruiseGuy87's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Harlinator
1 review
Jan 2017
The deluxe tour provides a smaller group and the guides are very knowledgeable of Mayan history and culture.
Read Harlinator's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gaspari
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Good trip and guide (Edder) Professionally run, more like a mainstream coach trip than we were expecting. Cheaper than cruise trip and probably better.
Read gaspari's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Hunt1530
8 reviews
Jan 2017
Outstanding site. Easily walkable. Not ruins in a field (see: chichen itza) but rather has native plants and animals visible. Go early in the day to avoid crowds and heat.
Read Hunt1530's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jalbertfarm
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Phenomenal!!! Best excursion I have been on!! I would actually do it again!! We did ruins tour with lunch at a Mayan village!!
Read jalbertfarm's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native choice
Member Image agibbs
1 review
Jan 2017
V busy, difficult to get the full experience with that amount of people milling around.
Read agibbs's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image phelp1ma
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We did the deluxe package and others in our group did the regular. We were the first van there and they were the first bus (10 minutes later). Truthfully, so long as you are there within the first half hour or so, it really doesn’t matter if you do the deluxe or regular. We got there when no one else was there and have some really cool pictures. When we were leaving however, we could see the crowds forming and by then all of our pics would have been flooded with tourists. You can climb on some of the ruins, but you cannot go all the way to the top. You can go about 10 feet up on most of them. Some of the ruins were elevated courtyards that actually required some light climbing to even get to. The site is very nice (some spider monkeys were jumping around in the trees) and our guide was very knowledgeable and very passionate about the Mayan culture. I would recommend this tour. I know people who have now done this one and the Tulum ruin and they said this one was better. This is in the jungle and has a lot of tree covered areas (perhaps this could lead to mosquito issues in certain months) whereas I understand Tulum is far more wide open and takes all day. We were back from this excursion by about 12:30.
Read phelp1ma's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rgstoneinsc
1 review
Jan 2017
This was one of our bucket list stops and did not disappoint.....really good guide
Read rgstoneinsc's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image steverk
2 reviews
Jan 2017
This was our first time in Costa Maya. We took the Chacchoben Mayan Ruins and had a great time. Compared to Chichen Itza, these were smaller, but much less crowded and much more accessible. Our guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The trip was exactly what we expected and wanted.
Read steverk's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image gwenymac
1 review
Dec 2016
This company delivers what it promises. We were late getting off the ship due to weather and they waited for us. Enrique, our guide, was fantastic and knowledgeable. We thoroughly enjoyed it.
Read gwenymac's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image red-spot
1 review
Dec 2016
Stay clear off Toucan Tours. 1)Our guide’s English skills were very poor. This sucks since part of the experience is to learn about the history of the site. 2)The guide include an explanation of a killer tree which is very offensive towards women. 3)The guide asks everyone in the excursion to pay $1 as a donation to the local Mayan community which is not included in the price of the excursion. This is not true. I know Spanish and overheard the tour guides talking about how they would use this money to pay for part of the entrance fee to the ruins. 4)The tour guide on our way back had a cold and coughed without covering his mouth. I got sick the day after with a cold. 5) The drinks that were “included” did not have alcohol, even though they were supposed to and I complained to the server. 6) The food was cheap but not bad. However, it is obvious that they want to get you there so that they can upsell. This was an overall bad experience. I would not recommend this tour service to anyone.
Read red-spot's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Toucan Tours
Member Image Mac4YYZ
8 reviews
Dec 2016
Interesting tour of major Mayan site. Well organized and guide was very informative.
Read Mac4YYZ's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image newistcruiseaddict
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Glad we did the extreme tour with stop at the lagoon. Otherwise we would have spent 2 hours at the ruins instead of one. It was interesting but how much time can you spend looking at a pile of rocks?
Read newistcruiseaddict's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jbritt
1 review
Dec 2016
Perfect tour! A must see for everyone. Costa Maya is a hidden [paradise. Great food, ruins toured were very nice. Always felt safe. The beach is SO clean and nice with great food buffet of typical food and free drinks. Service is exceptional.
Read jbritt's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image brentwglobal
1 review
Dec 2016
Chacchoben was excellent. Our Guide was fantastic. The busses we Mercede's with air conditioning, not beat up vans like in Belize. The beach buffet was also very nice. We say monkeys in the Mayan Ruins as well. Our favourite day of the cruise!
Read brentwglobal's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Fafnar
5 reviews
Dec 2016
Luis Torres was the best tour guide we have ever encountered. His vast knowledge, teaching aids and professionalism helped us appreciated the Mayan culture more than any college class could have. Try to get on his bus.
Read Fafnar's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dakemann
1 review
Dec 2016
The trip to the ruins and back was about 50 minutes each way from the port compound. It was as expected, I would remember inset repellent. We had an added stop billed as an all inclusive beach stop. This portion was not what I expected as our van pulled into a lot in the village with other vans. The lot seemed in a run down area but we were directed to wood tables with canoipies across from the main beach road. Many locals were there and we were visited by many vendors which all took no politely. It had a much more local feel that your more classic resort all inclusive
Read dakemann's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer
Member Image markinch
1 review
Dec 2016
Short (about 1h), comfortable bus ride, good, knowledgeable guide. Water provided!
Read markinch's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jchowell5
1 review
Dec 2016
Tour guide was great and ruins were very impressive. Learned a lot.
Read Jchowell5's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bradyk
1 review
Dec 2016
nice tour of ancient mayan city
Read bradyk's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CaseyJoJo
1 review
Dec 2016
We did the excursion that says Exclusive Drive. We were on a van with only 11 people as opposed to a huge tour bus with lots more. Pablo E was our guide and he was terrific. So excited about what he does. We were very comfortable for the 50 min drive. The ruins are fantastic! Didn't feel crowded and we got great pictures. My 16yo and 21yo said this was the highlight of the trip.
Read CaseyJoJo's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?