Costa Maya Beach Break Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Beach Break cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Kick back and relax on the sandy beach in Costa Maya. Whether you book an organized beach break or venture out on your own, fun and sun await.
Member Image Jessland
1 review
Mar 2017
amazing excursion. Beverages included. Awesome staff and private area on beach with good chairs with cussion.
Read Jessland's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Joe Blodgett
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Nice place, nice people....would go again.
Read Joe Blodgett's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan Beach
Member Image mavswin
2 reviews
Feb 2017
YaYa Beach. Great drinks and great service. If you don't want to deal with local vendors, don't go. They will take no for an answer and offer some great deals.
Read mavswin's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image zany janey
1 review
Feb 2017
Went as part of a large group. Was quite good but depended on if the owners knew you well - if they did then you got excellent service; if they didn't then the service was a bit less effusive. Good food and nice drinks though.
Read zany janey's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan Beach
Member Image mdw825
1 review
Feb 2017
Clean and relaxing beach with friendly locals.
Read mdw825's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pambecause
1 review
Feb 2017
Drinks seemed to be missing the alcohol but nice day on the beach. Did not get our first choice resort as they were sold out. They recommend the on we choose chairs were comfortable service was good nachos were good. First time in this port the places are all on one beach lined up one next to the other so many to choose from.
Read pambecause's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jeditden
6 reviews
Feb 2017
Booked the Maya Chan all inclusive resort based on the great recommendations from everyone on this website. They were right. The people in charge are so nice! They greet you with Rum punches and homemade chips with Guac. From then on it’s to your semi-private cabana with loungers, beach bed, and hammock. The drinks flow as quick as you can drink. They’ll bring them out to you in the water even. There are beach activities, kayaks, paddleboards, floaty chairs all included. Not to mention some of the best tacos ever. Everything is prepared fresh and homemade! They are very upfront on the amount of seaweed that accumulates on the beach, and that the water can get cloudy near the beach area. I had no problem whatsoever with it, but keep it in mind. First Class all the way around. The port area is also pretty nice as well if you don’t end up booking anything specific.
Read jeditden's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan
Member Image redheadspitfire
1 review
Feb 2017
Highly recommend this Beach break! just amazing service!
Read redheadspitfire's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan!
Member Image cruising canucks
3 reviews
Jan 2017
This beach is beautiful, unfortunately it rained the whole time we were there. They served a great lunch and there were lots of residents selling their wares.
Read cruising canucks's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cantonfirecruise
1 review
Jan 2017
Mahahual was weird. Desperate pleas to buy ANYTHING and the begging for a $20 massage got to be too much. Not relaxing with constant sales pitches. KL was nice enough, probably would've liked Blue Kay better.
Read Cantonfirecruise's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Krazy Lobster
Member Image agparrotta
1 review
Jan 2017
Went to Muhahual beach and spent the day at the Krazy Lobster. Highly recommended. The food was outstanding, the service attentive, and the beach was crystal clear and warm. We bought the most souvenirs from this stop, with good prices and fun local gifts for friends. Would visit this beach again in the future.
Read agparrotta's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sghafir
1 review
Jan 2017
Great beach, lots of water "toys". We were told that paddle boards were included but there were none.
Read sghafir's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image coffeeNcruise
1 review
Jan 2017
After breaking away from the port, we took a cab to the beach club where we had a cabana and palupa reserved. Food and drink there was average, but the water and beachfront access more than made up for it.
Read coffeeNcruise's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: YAYA Beach Club
Member Image Koohimame
1 review
Jan 2017
Although this as listed as a level 1 difficulty tour, there are lots of steep hill to navigate to move around the island. The beach was wonderful, as were the historical and animal preserve viewing options.
Read Koohimame's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Remyi6
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Nice beach. Free drinks. Sunny weather.
Read Remyi6's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gr8fulforcruising
3 reviews
Jan 2017
great day off the ship. food and drink was good. beach and pools excellent
Read gr8fulforcruising's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: mr. sanchos beach resort
Member Image Sarah Sally
1 review
Dec 2016
Excellent service, drinks included. Nice beach area.
Read Sarah Sally's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jbritt
1 review
Dec 2016
Perfect tour! A must see for everyone. Costa Maya is a hidden [paradise. Great food, ruins toured were very nice. Always felt safe. The beach is SO clean and nice with great food buffet of typical food and free drinks. Service is exceptional.
Read jbritt's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image millieconclave
1 review
Dec 2016
Went to a beach called Jungle Beach. Don't know why they called it that. The package was $54 pp and it included ground transportation and open bar for 4 hours. It was worth it. Great lounge chairs, beach and drinks.
Read millieconclave's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vicsan01
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Had a lovely day at the beach at Nohoc Cay. Food was delicious and the drinks flowed freely.
Read vicsan01's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image GGBOXERS
1 review
Dec 2016
Wonderful time in Maya Chan, a perfect piece of paradise in Costa Maya! HIGHLY recommend this all inclusive get away just minutes from the port! Excellent food and beverages! Water sports included!
Read GGBOXERS's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Mark
Member Image KSand24
1 review
Dec 2016
Can't say enough good about this place! Our whole group of varied ages loved it! Our only complaint is that we didn't have enough time to spend here. Be forewarned that if your beach goal is crystal clear turquoise blue water with manufactured pristine white sand beaches, then this is not the site for you. BUT if you want an all-inclusive, with an authentic vibe, that is somewhat secluded, then this is ABSOLUTELY the place for you! The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel welcome. There were plenty of things to do--kayaks, stand-up paddle boards, floating rafts, footballs, and sand toys for the kids. There were plenty of shaded areas for those looking to stay out of the sun. There were restrooms on site and freshwater showers. COMMUNICATION for booking was fantastic via email. An English speaker met us near the cruise ship port to coordinate transportation, and another English speaker greeted us on arrival to the beach resort itself. We had a pre-reserved area waiting for us on arrival, with plenty of seating to accommodate our large group. We loved that this beach was less commercialized than some others in that it managed to maintain an AUTHENTIC, off-the-beaten-path vibe. There were other guests here, but not so many as to feel crowded, and we loved the relative seclusion. The FOOD here is absolutely fantastic. They have a taco bar with chicken, beef, pork, fish, and all the toppings. Our whole group raved about the food. Drinks from the bar flowed generously. We felt that we got more than our $60 per person money's worth. The ride here from port is about 20 minutes and is indeed a bit bumpy (they let you know this information ahead of time), but it really is worth it. There is some floating seaweed/greenery, but staff raked it off the beach multiple times during our stay.
Read KSand24's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan
Member Image mbennett
1 review
Dec 2016
Booked a beach day at Maya Chan. All inclusive and absolutely perfect. This was a fantastic way to spend the day! Fabulous food and drinks, beach was perfect and service was incredible.
Read mbennett's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan
Member Image mmlamberson
1 review
Dec 2016
Yuck! Felt like the ghetto. Waste of money!
Read mmlamberson's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pehilton
1 review
Dec 2016
Our group of six adults and one four year old were looking for a nice day at the beach, and we were very satisfied with where we were taken. The tour people met us at the pier and took us to Mahahaul and to their private area of beach where we were directed to chaise lounges, hammocks (some in shade areas), and shown some water toys we could use. Our four year old loved the inflatable tubes. The water was clean, and the beach area showed it had been raked clean recently. The tour also provided for showers, changing areas and toilets about 30 or 40 yards up from the waters edge. The beach was long and divided by little flags into areas run by various tour sponsors. We purchased Mexican food lunches and drinks from the waiter who delivered to our table or lounge chair. The day was bright and it was a very memorable beach day for our group.
Read pehilton's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bananarama

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?