Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Costa Maya Beach Break Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Beach Break cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Kick back and relax on the sandy beach in Costa Maya. Whether you book an organized beach break or venture out on your own, fun and sun await.
Member Image lbebert91
1 review
Jan 2016
We decided to do "our own thing" in Costa Maya. We took a taxi to a beach strip about 1-2 miles from the cruise port. Taxi cost was $2pp. Ended up at a beautiful beach boardwalk with lots of local vendors and restaurants. The restaurants have a portion of the beach in front of their shop that they own, I think and allow their patrons to use beach chairs, tables, etc. I don't think purchase is required, I saw some people just utilize the beach w/o eating or drinking, but I think that's it's frowned upon. I can't, for the life of me, remember the name of the restaurant we ate at, but there were many that looked wonderful, we chose this one because it had a nice stretch of beach in front of it. Great (and cheap) margaritas and guac/chips. Waiters were incredibly attentive and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Beach was incredible! Just like the pictures you see...clear, blue water--just like a pool w/white sand! Hope to go back some day!
Read lbebert91's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image travelingmead@gmail.com
1 review
Jan 2016
This was the Tabyana beach trip. The open bar was a nice surprise. That was also a problem with those who abused it and drank too much. The music was blasted way too loud to carry on conversations with our friends -- all urban/techno and hip hop. We finally left after moving several times and finding it impossible to get away from cigar and cigarette smoke everywhere. The water was full of trash -- seaweed, bottle caps, plastic -- but they had people out there picking it out by the tubful the whole time we were there so they knew it was a problem. Rest rooms were rather tight and rudimentary.
Read travelingmead@gmail.com's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bigdaddy5
1 review
Dec 2015
Avoid the pushy sales folks at port trying to get you to ride the towable sightseeing cars. We asked many times where to find the Yellow Cabs a recommendation made by our beach resort and over and over we were either told they would get us to our beach or they did not understand what yellow cab was. After consulting with a security guard he pointed us to the cab station a few hundred yards away. Cab Cost $2 per person. 2nd time there, Small intimate, Food and drinks included as are beach toys and Kayaks. Food is amazing as are the drinks. Shout out To Matt From Minnesota. He is living the dream.
Read Bigdaddy5's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Nohoch Kay
Member Image jlkb
1 review
Dec 2015
In Costa Maya, we booked a beach excursion with ShoreExcursioneer for $120 for two. This included all you can drink, lunch, 60 minute massages for both of us (wonderful!), one hour snorkel rental, and one hour kayak rental. We had a great time relaxing on the beach, laying in the hammock, and enjoying the ocean breeze. My lunch of steak nachos was delicious. Visit Samuel, the proprietor of the Tipsy Turtle and the Barefoot Beach Club for wonderful service and a great day at the beach.
Read jlkb's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: ShoreExcursioneer
Member Image tbmrt
9 reviews
Nov 2015
Visited Blue Kay Beach Club which I had read about on Cruise Critic. Took $2 taxi back and forth. You can also take an open air bus for $3. We somehow missed where to board it though so taxi was fine. No charge to visit there although they do expect you to buy food or drinks. Pina Colada was awful. Local beer and nachos good. Walked the Malecon, passing various beach clubs. Great beach day. Shallow, clear water.
Read tbmrt's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Blue Kay Beach Club
Member Image claytron9
1 review
Nov 2015
Costa Maya was a change from Coco Cay due to high winds -- kudos to RC for switching. That said, Costa Maya is incredibly small. Do NOT go here if there are other ships. It'll be fine by about 2025, but otherwise is so small. They are frantically building it out, but man, they still have some work to do. It's perfectly nice, just not quite ready for Prime Time. I put no onus on RC for this as this stop was unplanned, and so I was actually really excited to explore. I would recommend leaving behind the RC area, and just going to talk to the locals who are just past the RC area as you get a beach excursion for $25 for a family of 5, versus $58/person. The beach is nice, snorkeling is fine. You have to get there early as beach chairs go fast. I would recommend taking a private ATV ($25) to the beach and then buying snorkeling, and towel (which you don't have to pay $25/per if you lose) at the beach. Basically for $50 you can get all of this versus more than $750 through RC.
Read claytron9's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image slane416
1 review
Jul 2015
This was a HORRIBLE excursion... We went on a ride about 15 minutes through this very run down town where the buildings were all empty. We ended up in the middle of this town. Went into a little alley way to this desk that smelt SO bad, I actually threw up at one point. We went to the beach area to some shelter which was good w/ lounge chairs. There was a pool that was so nasty that we could use. This was an open bar, but the drinks were horrible. We couldn't go into the ocean b/c the seaweed was so thick you had to walk though about 100 feet to get to the clear water. No thank you. I felt dirty and nasty the whole time. I couldn't wait to leave.
Read slane416's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mojomorris
16 reviews
Apr 2015
The biggest issue was finding your way OUT of the shopping area to catch a cab to take you to the Ya Ya Bach Club. Other than that, once you got there it was unlimited drinks and a nice area with umbrella on the beach. Food was not included but you can bring your own or buy at the beach. Wi Fi can be found at several places. Since it’s an open beach, there are peddlers selling things to you but they’re not very pushy and once you say “no, thank you” they leave you alone. You can leave at any time and take a cab back to the pier. It was inexpensive and I'd do it again.
Read mojomorris's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: ISLAND MARKETING LTD (CAYMAN)
Member Image hcgraham4840
1 review
Apr 2015
This was a very relaxing day. The section of beach we were on was very clean and the staff took great care to ensure that we had plenty of food, drink and fun. When I return to Costa Maya, I will definitely include a day at Nohoch Kay.
Read hcgraham4840's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Nohoch Kay
Member Image Acedublb
1 review
Apr 2015
What a fantastic day at Nohoch Bar and Beach. The Owner, Hymie and his staff were amazing super food, great drinks and lovely beach plus free and fast wifi too. Highly recommended. Easy cab ride from port.
Read Acedublb's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image greeneyedgirlt
1 review
Mar 2015
We booked the Pez Quadro beach day. This is our 3rd time doing this excursion and we love it! This year the beach at Pez Quadro was much busier then it was on previous trips but the staff did a great job of not piling in people around those that had reserved space in advance. We appreciated that! If you are looking for an all inclusive beach day I would recommend Costa Maya Tours Pez Quadro beach day.
Read greeneyedgirlt's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Costa Maya Tours
Member Image Cruiser42
3 reviews
Mar 2015
We have taken the beach break several times now. For some reason, this year, the water seemed dirty. Its always warm, and there are grasses. Maybe an effort to clean up the water would be beneficial. The staff, and facilities and ease of finding a shady spot boosted the ratings!
Read Cruiser42's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rmelo5
1 review
Mar 2015
There was too much sea weed. The market was good and the internet was good. It is too bad the beach was full of sea weed. Everyone should go and try the market to get a better deal but you need to low ball their pricing.
Read rmelo5's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: went by taxi
Member Image carolema33
1 review
Mar 2015

The beach is pretty, but there is practically no coral and therefore almost no fish! The place is absolutely insect infested with an amazing variety of biting ones, some painful and others itch producing! Seating was comfortable and plentiful. At $18, the buffet was over priced. The BBQ ribs were beef and VERY tough. The food was tasty. The open bar had a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks all of which were tasty and the drinks were included with the excursion.

Read carolema33's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mavswin
1 review
Mar 2015

Spent the day at the beach!!! $2 per person taxi ride. YaYa was wonderful and the service was top notch!!!!

Read mavswin's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: YaYa Beach Resort
Member Image rthorson01
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2015

I found out about Maya Chan after reading another review on this website. Maya Chan is a beach resort that is run by an American couple. They've been on numerous cruises in their lifetime and wanted to give Cruisers a place to go for the day. The cost is $60.00 per person and only a certain number of spots are sold each day. Every group will be given their own palapa (covered gazebo-type area) with chairs, hammocks and lounge beds. The cost includes transportation to and from the port, all food, drinks and activities. They have scuba gear and glass-bottom kayaks to use. The water isn't the pristine, clear Caribbean water most people expect. It's a little more murky so I heard from a gentleman there that the scuba diving was not the best. They rake the beach everyday to remove the sea grass. The facilities were very nice and it was a perfect day at the beach. Quiet and relaxing. If you're interested, book early because they do fill up quickly.

Read rthorson01's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JOGcruises
1 review
Feb 2015

Very disappointing - Jungle Beach break. Exaggerated tour description. 40 minute bus ride -. We were told that bus to return to ship (the beach was in the middle of nowhere) would return every hour. However, we got to the beach on the first bus at 10:20 and were forced to take the 12:20 return as there was NO 1:20 bus and we had a commitment on the ship at 3 pm. $60 for 2 hours. The beach in Connecticut is better than this as far as the water/seaweed is concerned. Staff were not friendly and the "free" beer was watered down. I would not recommend this excursion at all.

Read JOGcruises's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image linnemj
1 review
Feb 2015

We went to Maya Chan beach resort. It was a very relaxing day and the setting was beautiful. The resort has some very nice beach huts with comfortable furnishing. It is an all inclusive resort offering drinks and a wonderful lunch. The resort offers snorkeling gear and glass bottom kayaks. The area has a lot of sea grass washing up on the beach and they work hard to remove it every day. My wife had an hour long massage which was wonderful. Reservations are required but they have a flexible cancellation policy. We recommend this resort.

Read linnemj's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tad54
1 review
Feb 2015

Booked the Senor Frog Beach break, pleasant beach, we got there early and had our pick of the chairs. The food and drinks were fine, but the noise level was more than expected. Music blaring for the pool group was way too loud and totally inappropriate for young ears.

Read tad54's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseChic84
1 review
Jan 2015

We loved this excursion on Costa Maya! This was the second time going to this location (30 minute tour bus ride from port). It's a little resort area with free alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, free kayaking, water sport area and great snorkeling. Beach chairs are provided and the staff is very friendly and happy to see you. They have a nice shower area and covered tables for a break from the sun. We saw so many fish and starfish while snorkeling and kayaking. We could leave at 3 different times, even though the paperwork specified each hour. We left so we would have some time to shop in port.

Read CruiseChic84's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DebJ14
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2015

We booked a day at Almaplena Eco Resort directly with the resort. After a harrowing 25 minute taxi ride through the mangroves and down an unpaved road, we arrived the resort. We were immediately greeted and paid the balance due. The girl at the front desk arranged for the taxi to return for us at 3pm and we chose our time for lunch. We were offered drinks, given a quick tour and sat for a while in the restaurant using the free WiFi to check e-mail and make calls. We then went out to the beach and chose our loungers. The beach was great. They were raking up the seaweed and hauling it away. The water was warm, crystal clear and very calm. The bottom was sandy with no rocks or shells, so no watershoes were needed. We went up to the restaurant for our lunch. First we were given a large bowl of guacamole and chips, then a plate of nachos and then plates of chicken, beef and shrimp tacos. There was so much food we couldn't finish it all. Everything was delicious. At 3pm, the taxi returned right on time and we went straight back to the pier.

Read DebJ14's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image _RaveN_
2 reviews
Dec 2014
I can't say enough good things about Maya Chan. I will plan a cruise again just to stop at this beach!! The service was excellent, the food sensational and the drinks delicious. I loved having our own private spot on the beach and a nap on the beach bed was heavenly. Thanks for an amazing day, I won't soon forget this one.
Read _RaveN_'s full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan
Member Image rxgirl05
1 review
Dec 2014

Went to Mahahual. Took the trolley ($3 per person) and the ride seemed like it took a long time to get there. There were 6 stops and we got off at 3 or 4. Went to El Delphin and had some shaded beach chairs. Could see the cruise ships from the beach so that was a good background picture. Service was very good. Had a fried whole fish and it was EXCELLENT. Made fish tacos with the fish. YUMMY. Would definitely recommend. Also would highly advise to negotiate the price of the fish. Coconut water was cheap. Beer was cheap but smaller bottles than in the U.S. Other drinks were not as well priced. Good area. Waiter was kind enough to help us get a taxi back to the port. Taxi was only $14 for a big van.

Read rxgirl05's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image fbusch
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Visiting Simone at Costa Maya Yoga while in Mahahual for SUP with Carolyn at Undertoe SUP and Ya Ya Beach club was my best moment of our trip. I had an impromptu yoga session with Simone and it was truly an physical, spiritual and emotional experience I will never forget. This is not TV yoga or anything like a yoga class. Words can't describe how wonderful I felt the entire time and how at peace I was when I left Simone's studio - second floor with an amazing view of the beach. Mahahual is just a quick taxi ride from the port. this place is VERY SAFE - if you read otherwise don't believe it. The guy who owns the port doesn't want you to venture out of his shops. Do not miss this opportunity

Read fbusch's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BleednBlu
1 review
Nov 2014

Maya Chan Beach Club was a bit of a ride, but what service. The place is awesome and clean. The food was great and the drinks were as well. The staff is the best.

Read BleednBlu's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.