Costa Maya Beach Break Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Beach Break cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Kick back and relax on the sandy beach in Costa Maya. Whether you book an organized beach break or venture out on your own, fun and sun await.
Member Image coldje
1 review
May 2017
Avoid "Jungle Beach Break." At $49 each it is a rip-off. Thank you RCI. There is no jungle hike as described. You get pulled by a small Nissan truck in a trailer with bench seats. You get dumped at a public beach which is crowded and roped off for different hotels. You are harassed by vendors the whole time every five minutes to buy trinkets.
Read coldje's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SusieG1
1 review
Apr 2017
Lovely little beach, all inclusive, for $35.00 we had beach chairs reserved under a huge umbrella, all our drinks and a wonderful lunch included. Only complaint? We had to be back at the ship at 1:30. To short a day!
Read SusieG1's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: YaYa Beach Club
Member Image nor72
2 reviews
Apr 2017
We enjoyed our day on the beach. The beach was lovely and we were well looked after. Lots of people trying to sell things but everybody was friendly and took no for an answer. We were given taxi tolkens so could return to the ship when we wanted which was Excellent.
Read nor72's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image megan_ash
1 review
Apr 2017
We booked this excursion just to get off the ship and enjoy a beach day. I can't say that I would book this on again but for the price it wasn't so bad. Drinks are included but the food does cost. When picking our location to sit and enjoy our day we walked all the way to the end so as not be in the middle of everyone and that worked out decent. There are lots of people selling items and they will come by multiple times even if you say no but this is their way of life and how they make money. Again, I can't say that I would book this again but I don't have any complaints either.
Read megan_ash's full Carnival Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Beverlyp
1 review
Apr 2017
Terrible dirty ,smelled like a sewer so rocky you can cut your feet
Read Beverlyp's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image crusingcyndee
1 review
Apr 2017
Nice beach with beach loungers and umbrellas. Good beach service. We just drank, didn't eat the food b/c we weren't hungry but it looked good. We HATED the CONSTANT parade of locals coming through selling their wares. This was extremely annoying. The bathrooms were fairly clean. Overall we would skip this excursion. Do not recommend
Read crusingcyndee's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image justhappy
1 review
Apr 2017
Facility was in poor condition, beach in bad shape and full of trash. Drinks included were weak and basically mixers without booze. Constant parade of vendors all day trying to sell things. Trying to lay in a lounger that is in poor shape and jammed in with all the others was not a good time. Water was full of limestone rocks and while the water was clear, very poor snorkeling unless you swim very far out to the drop off. Not relaxing, not fun.
Read justhappy's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Grayboots
1 review
Mar 2017
Not impressed. Seemed like we were crammed onto a small beach with many chairs. Drinks were terrible.
Read Grayboots's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image coachlauster
1 review
Mar 2017
Yaya beach was very good for the price. Much cheaper than excursion in Cozumel. View as very pretty and service was also good.
Read coachlauster's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Yaya Beach
Member Image Jessland
1 review
Mar 2017
amazing excursion. Beverages included. Awesome staff and private area on beach with good chairs with cussion.
Read Jessland's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Joe Blodgett
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Nice place, nice people....would go again.
Read Joe Blodgett's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan Beach
Member Image mavswin
2 reviews
Feb 2017
YaYa Beach. Great drinks and great service. If you don't want to deal with local vendors, don't go. They will take no for an answer and offer some great deals.
Read mavswin's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image zany janey
1 review
Feb 2017
Went as part of a large group. Was quite good but depended on if the owners knew you well - if they did then you got excellent service; if they didn't then the service was a bit less effusive. Good food and nice drinks though.
Read zany janey's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan Beach
Member Image mdw825
1 review
Feb 2017
Clean and relaxing beach with friendly locals.
Read mdw825's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pambecause
1 review
Feb 2017
Drinks seemed to be missing the alcohol but nice day on the beach. Did not get our first choice resort as they were sold out. They recommend the on we choose chairs were comfortable service was good nachos were good. First time in this port the places are all on one beach lined up one next to the other so many to choose from.
Read pambecause's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jeditden
6 reviews
Feb 2017
Booked the Maya Chan all inclusive resort based on the great recommendations from everyone on this website. They were right. The people in charge are so nice! They greet you with Rum punches and homemade chips with Guac. From then on it’s to your semi-private cabana with loungers, beach bed, and hammock. The drinks flow as quick as you can drink. They’ll bring them out to you in the water even. There are beach activities, kayaks, paddleboards, floaty chairs all included. Not to mention some of the best tacos ever. Everything is prepared fresh and homemade! They are very upfront on the amount of seaweed that accumulates on the beach, and that the water can get cloudy near the beach area. I had no problem whatsoever with it, but keep it in mind. First Class all the way around. The port area is also pretty nice as well if you don’t end up booking anything specific.
Read jeditden's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan
Member Image redheadspitfire
1 review
Feb 2017
Highly recommend this Beach break! just amazing service!
Read redheadspitfire's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan!
Member Image cruising canucks
3 reviews
Jan 2017
This beach is beautiful, unfortunately it rained the whole time we were there. They served a great lunch and there were lots of residents selling their wares.
Read cruising canucks's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cantonfirecruise
1 review
Jan 2017
Mahahual was weird. Desperate pleas to buy ANYTHING and the begging for a $20 massage got to be too much. Not relaxing with constant sales pitches. KL was nice enough, probably would've liked Blue Kay better.
Read Cantonfirecruise's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Krazy Lobster
Member Image agparrotta
1 review
Jan 2017
Went to Muhahual beach and spent the day at the Krazy Lobster. Highly recommended. The food was outstanding, the service attentive, and the beach was crystal clear and warm. We bought the most souvenirs from this stop, with good prices and fun local gifts for friends. Would visit this beach again in the future.
Read agparrotta's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sghafir
1 review
Jan 2017
Great beach, lots of water "toys". We were told that paddle boards were included but there were none.
Read sghafir's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image coffeeNcruise
1 review
Jan 2017
After breaking away from the port, we took a cab to the beach club where we had a cabana and palupa reserved. Food and drink there was average, but the water and beachfront access more than made up for it.
Read coffeeNcruise's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: YAYA Beach Club
Member Image Koohimame
1 review
Jan 2017
Although this as listed as a level 1 difficulty tour, there are lots of steep hill to navigate to move around the island. The beach was wonderful, as were the historical and animal preserve viewing options.
Read Koohimame's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Remyi6
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Nice beach. Free drinks. Sunny weather.
Read Remyi6's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gr8fulforcruising
3 reviews
Jan 2017
great day off the ship. food and drink was good. beach and pools excellent
Read gr8fulforcruising's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: mr. sanchos beach resort

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?