Costa Maya Beach Break Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Beach Break cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Kick back and relax on the sandy beach in Costa Maya. Whether you book an organized beach break or venture out on your own, fun and sun await.
Member Image MrsHall1108
3 reviews
Aug 2016
LOVED this beach break! We will definitely be returning.
Read MrsHall1108's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan Beach
Member Image JollyMia
1 review
Aug 2016
A great day as much or as little as you want,kayaking,snorkelling relaxing, drinking Cocktails and great food and service.
Read JollyMia's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mlanders
4 reviews
Jul 2016
I emailed before I left to Steve Uhl at Tropicate beach he emailed back about holding beach chairs, great beach side messages for $30/hr. Food and drink were excellent.
Read mlanders's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tropicate beach
Member Image Dave1974
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Yaya Beach Club. This was the best excursion of all. The beach was AMAZING. all drinks were included with the price and the service was the best. The massages on the beach were great too.
Read Dave1974's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: shoreexcursioneers.com
Member Image Starlicious88
1 review
Jul 2016
We didn't do an ship-sponsored excursion but decided to just get off the boat like we did in Roatan. We ended up doing an excursion that really wasn't -- a company that works with Norwegian but isn't necessarily Norwegian sold us a beach excursion. We paid with our room card and it was priced like a ship-sponsored excursion. It was more expensive than Roatan. It was a similar set up to Roatan, they take you to a resort and the resort gives you a chair/umbrella at the beach. However, the resort fee was included in this trip. It was a much nicer ride as well -- a huge charter bus. The resort was much nicer than in Roatan. No vendors, and we got a chair with a nice canopy over it. Free drinks were included, but you had to pay if you wanted food and gratuity wasn't included. They had waiters circulating that would bring food/drinks. We ordered fries and salsa, and both were delicious. I recommend eating here. The water was the downfall of this trip. It was murky with a lot of debris and seaweed. It didn't feel as safe because there was no buoys -- there was a sign that said don't swim beyond the buoys, but I did not see one marker. Everything else was so nice, but I didn't enjoy swimming or snorkeling as much as Roatan. I did enjoy actually laying on the beach here.So peaceful I fell asleep.
Read Starlicious88's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Unknown
Member Image montylee
1 review
Jun 2016
Salsa making and Salsa dancing tour. Too much talking, not enough making. Chips for lunch a little light. Would have been nice to have a taco or something. No selection in margarita's so you couldn't sample different types, and could not sample or taste the types of tequila.
Read montylee's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image buddykins@comporium.net
1 review
Jun 2016
Hired outside of port entrance local group with golf carts which we drove ourselves with good directions to beach, cannot be sure name, may be West Bay beach private beach with tables and thatch roofed cabanas and lounge chairs included, great beach and water, free kyacks, ate at Crazy Lobster, good food, tacos. Seems like it was about $100 for all day for eight of us. Good experience.
Read buddykins@comporium.net's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: ? golf cart that held 8 of us
Member Image FloaterGirl
8 reviews
Jun 2016
Uvero Beach Club. We've been to this beach in the past and have always enjoyed the water (except for the seaweed). However, the workers are never friendly and appear annoyed with visitors.
Read FloaterGirl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image suebbbhoney
1 review
Jun 2016
I couldn't wait to get off the ship, so we could head to one of my favorite places - Maya Chan. We went last year and fell in love with the place. This year, as returning guests, they even gave us a discount:) We were the first people there and we stayed until 3. Why do I loved it there? The lovely palapa, with chairs hammocks and our our little bed? The rum punch, fresh guacamole and chips they greet you with? Or maybe the delicious drinks? Wonderful, fresh lunch? Excellent service? Yummy drinks? All of the above! Last year, my DD and her BFF actually asked if we had to go back to the ship :) They were joking of course, but that kind of summed it up as to how LOVELY it is.
Read suebbbhoney's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bigb112
1 review
Jun 2016
Amazing service. Had all-inclusive and the beach was gorgeous.
Read bigb112's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Yaya Beach
Member Image Lmn1996
2 reviews
May 2016
Very rough surf. Hard to snorkel. They changed the beach to UVero. It was a dirty beach. Pay for the food and the free drinks were watered down. We ended up getting a refund.
Read Lmn1996's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image berdeau
1 review
May 2016
Great value! Low prices and free beach access!
Read berdeau's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Krazy Lobster
Member Image KSHII2
6 reviews
May 2016
Nice beach, but crowded and the food was NOT good. Overpriced for the "all inclusive"...
Read KSHII2's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jamescpk
1 review
May 2016
Nohoch Kay Beach Bar and Restaurant was good. Food and drinks good quality, beach very nice, pretty good service, but not great. Not crowded at all. Takes 10 minutes to get their by taxi - $2 per person. on far side of MAHAHUAL. Recommended.
Read jamescpk's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: ISLAND MARKETING LTD-Costa Maya Cruise Excursions
Member Image Nash9597
1 review
Apr 2016
We had a beach day at YAYA day resort!!! I would highly recommend the resort!! The beach was breathing taking!!! We had a beautiful view and the food was very good!!! You never had an empty glass!!! We had an amazing DAY!!!
Read Nash9597's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image Purliegirlie
1 review
Mar 2016
Highlight of our 11 days, can't wait to go back!
Read Purliegirlie's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Maya Chan
Member Image auscple
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Was not too bad, your typical Mexican beach type resort, its no Cancun but worth a ship visit only.
Read auscple's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image floripagirl
1 review
Mar 2016
Too expensive, could have done on our own for next to nothing. Our original excursion was canceled due to winds and at the dock my daughter chose this beach day.
Read floripagirl's full Veendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ellenoneil
1 review
Mar 2016
Our destination was changed when we got onboard. The new place was too crowded to even find a chair, never mind get near the water. Originally the food was included in the price, and we didn't realize that changed too and almost left without paying. Not too happy with this one - the reason we cruise is for the beach and the water.
Read ellenoneil's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Luckyswife
1 review
Feb 2016
Loved the salsa making and salsa dancing. We had so much fun making the salsa and then getting to eat it. Margueritas were great. Salsa dancing was a blast. The beaches are beautiful. Favorite stop on the cruise.
Read Luckyswife's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lbebert91
1 review
Jan 2016
We decided to do "our own thing" in Costa Maya. We took a taxi to a beach strip about 1-2 miles from the cruise port. Taxi cost was $2pp. Ended up at a beautiful beach boardwalk with lots of local vendors and restaurants. The restaurants have a portion of the beach in front of their shop that they own, I think and allow their patrons to use beach chairs, tables, etc. I don't think purchase is required, I saw some people just utilize the beach w/o eating or drinking, but I think that's it's frowned upon. I can't, for the life of me, remember the name of the restaurant we ate at, but there were many that looked wonderful, we chose this one because it had a nice stretch of beach in front of it. Great (and cheap) margaritas and guac/chips. Waiters were incredibly attentive and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Beach was incredible! Just like the pictures you see...clear, blue water--just like a pool w/white sand! Hope to go back some day!
Read lbebert91's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image travelingmead@gmail.com
1 review
Jan 2016
This was the Tabyana beach trip. The open bar was a nice surprise. That was also a problem with those who abused it and drank too much. The music was blasted way too loud to carry on conversations with our friends -- all urban/techno and hip hop. We finally left after moving several times and finding it impossible to get away from cigar and cigarette smoke everywhere. The water was full of trash -- seaweed, bottle caps, plastic -- but they had people out there picking it out by the tubful the whole time we were there so they knew it was a problem. Rest rooms were rather tight and rudimentary.
Read travelingmead@gmail.com's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bigdaddy5
1 review
Dec 2015
Avoid the pushy sales folks at port trying to get you to ride the towable sightseeing cars. We asked many times where to find the Yellow Cabs a recommendation made by our beach resort and over and over we were either told they would get us to our beach or they did not understand what yellow cab was. After consulting with a security guard he pointed us to the cab station a few hundred yards away. Cab Cost $2 per person. 2nd time there, Small intimate, Food and drinks included as are beach toys and Kayaks. Food is amazing as are the drinks. Shout out To Matt From Minnesota. He is living the dream.
Read Bigdaddy5's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Nohoch Kay
Member Image jlkb
1 review
Dec 2015
In Costa Maya, we booked a beach excursion with ShoreExcursioneer for $120 for two. This included all you can drink, lunch, 60 minute massages for both of us (wonderful!), one hour snorkel rental, and one hour kayak rental. We had a great time relaxing on the beach, laying in the hammock, and enjoying the ocean breeze. My lunch of steak nachos was delicious. Visit Samuel, the proprietor of the Tipsy Turtle and the Barefoot Beach Club for wonderful service and a great day at the beach.
Read jlkb's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: ShoreExcursioneer
Member Image tbmrt
9 reviews
Nov 2015
Visited Blue Kay Beach Club which I had read about on Cruise Critic. Took $2 taxi back and forth. You can also take an open air bus for $3. We somehow missed where to board it though so taxi was fine. No charge to visit there although they do expect you to buy food or drinks. Pina Colada was awful. Local beer and nachos good. Walked the Malecon, passing various beach clubs. Great beach day. Shallow, clear water.
Read tbmrt's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Blue Kay Beach Club

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?