Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mendenhall Glacier is easy accessible from Juneau and one fo the most popular attractions among cruise travelers. This magnificent glacier measures 12 miles long!
Member Image JohnAM
1 review
Jul 2016
About a 25 minute drive to the national park. The driver was very informative and gave us a quick tour of Juneau which was nice. It was about a mile walk to the glacier and it was beautiful. On the way back we walked the beach which was not the path we took to the glacier, it was very scenic and no people. Would definitely recommend it!
Read JohnAM's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image charris0013
1 review
Jul 2016
Hike through woods with naturalist
Read charris0013's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ct8
2 reviews
Jul 2016
$30/pp round trip on blue bus. At the park, 20-minute walk 1.25 miles from visitors center to falls. Only need about two hours at the glacier if you just want to walk to Nugget Falls and back.
Read ct8's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: blue bus
Member Image lnoonan
1 review
Jul 2016
After reading reviews of the combination tours which included time at the Mendenhall Glacier, we decided to take a shuttle to the glacier. We did this because many combination tour reviews contained regrets about not getting to spend more time at the glacier. We were able to ride on the 9 a.m. shuttle, which allowed us to beat the crowds to the glacier. Many reviews note that Nugget Falls becomes very crowded later in the day, making photography more difficult. Our shuttle driver was very friendly and shared tips about what we should see once we arrive at the glacier. He expressed concern that we might not get to hike to Nugget Falls since the trail had been closed the day before due to flooding. Fortunately, the water had receded and the trail was open. We took a lot of pictures of the falls and the glacier. At the Visitors' Center, we viewed an interesting video about the history of the glacier and then had the opportunity to touch a large chunk of ice that had recently come off the glacier. It was gritty because of the glacial silt. We also hiked part of the Trail of Time and the Steep Creek Trail. At 12:40, as we waited for our shuttle back to town, we noticed several buses filled with visitors arriving for tours. We're glad we decided to visit the glacier on our own.
Read lnoonan's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image fussellk
1 review
Jun 2016
I liked the waterfall the best. Not much of the glacier left to see...
Read fussellk's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image middleton183
1 review
Jun 2016
Very interesting, informative and well worth the money.
Read middleton183's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cmakar1
1 review
Jun 2016
Awesome!! What else can one say!!!!!
Read Cmakar1's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mariay
1 review
Jun 2016
Again, the guide was pleasant and knowledgeable. the scenery was breathtaking. A fair amount of walking was done.
Read mariay's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mirandy
1 review
Jun 2016
some our our group hiked the glacier and found caves. they loved it.
Read Mirandy's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Independent
Member Image StormyStarwardCruise
1 review
Jun 2016
whale watching 5 stars. Mendenhall 3 because not enough time was allowed.
Read StormyStarwardCruise's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ltoneill
1 review
Jun 2016
The Mendenhall Glacier was beautiful, but not very impressive. Catch the $15 bus from the pier to the park - no need to book a trip online. You can totally do this by yourself. There's a nice short walk on a dirt trail to the waterfall and a closer view of the glacier and a decent visitor center.
Read ltoneill's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Supertwinsmom
1 review
Jun 2016
Great tour of the town, tour guide was very knowledgeable. Hike to nugget falls if you have a chance, great pictures.
Read Supertwinsmom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shadoweyeone
1 review
Jun 2016
Was awesome... unfortunately we were dropped there for 5 hours and thats is way too much time to spend there.
Read shadoweyeone's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cindysuz
1 review
Jun 2016
Paddle and Trek. We were in eight-person canoes and paddled three miles to the glacier, spent about an hour and a half on the glacier, and paddled the three miles back. It's a great experience!
Read cindysuz's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Robert Bullock
1 review
Jun 2016
Greatly enjoyed the Glacier but only had 1 hour there, not really enough. Also visited a cemetery for some reason, not interesting at all.
Read Robert Bullock's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image heybrah
1 review
Jun 2016
Combination tour with Whale watching. Had 75 minutes at Mendenhall Glacier. Excellent
Read heybrah's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Jet Boat Tours
Member Image FireGuy12
1 review
Jun 2016
Helicopter ride from Temsco airport over the ridge to the glacier.
Read FireGuy12's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SATXcruiserDeb
1 review
Jun 2016
Worth seeing.
Read SATXcruiserDeb's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Chippewa74
1 review
Jun 2016
Visited Mendenhall Glacier as the other part of the Whale Watching. Tongass National Forest is unique and beautiful and Mendenhall Glacier is a must see.
Read Chippewa74's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bonniematthews
1 review
Jun 2016
Not worth what it cost! Learned much more about the bus driver and his family than about the area.
Read bonniematthews's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image connie.mick7@gmail.com
1 review
Jun 2016
Easy to get off the boat and find a tour operator for a shuttle there and back. They come every 30 minutes so you can come/go as you want.
Read connie.mick7@gmail.com's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image drkitkat123
2 reviews
Jun 2016
glacier gardens part could be quicker
Read drkitkat123's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Taotea
1 review
Jun 2016
I loved the visit to the Mendenhall glacier visitor center. There wasn't enough time to walk out to the waterfall, but I was able to do some shorter hikes and they were lovely.
Read Taotea's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Roger_le_Frog
3 reviews
Jun 2016
I wish we had more time on site, I did not had enough time to reach the waterfall
Read Roger_le_Frog's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image California Desert Rat
1 review
Jun 2016
If the other tour guides are anywhere as good as ours. What a great time you will have. After visiting the Glacier & garden. We took the Tram and enjoyed the rest of the sights.
Read California Desert Rat's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.