Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mendenhall Glacier is easy accessible from Juneau and one fo the most popular attractions among cruise travelers. This magnificent glacier measures 12 miles long!
Member Image Tigs01
1 review
Aug 2016
After a wa thought the forest which was good, we had a few minutes to take photos of the glacier which was miles away! Very disappointing.
Read Tigs01's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Aliyah17
1 review
Aug 2016
Great
Read Aliyah17's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Juneau WW
Member Image JulieMorr
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Awesome!
Read JulieMorr's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ibeplato
1 review
Aug 2016
Fantastic trip, we booked a shuttle bus on our own so that we could stay as long as we wanted, a must-visit in Juneau
Read ibeplato's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Glacier Express
Member Image Smilin'_Cruiser
1 review
Aug 2016
We were dropped off and given ample time (1 hr) to go through the visitors center and walk to the nearby salmon creek.
Read Smilin'_Cruiser's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Last Chance Tours
Member Image ALdreamer
1 review
Aug 2016
The Mendenhall Glacier and Gardens was spectacular in every way. This tour needed to be longer, so more time could be spent at the Glacier to enable those who do not hike quickly to be able to make the hike to Nugget Falls.
Read ALdreamer's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image shankster
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Mendenhall was awesome.
Read shankster's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image madigan008
1 review
Aug 2016
mendenhall beautiful blue glaciers
Read madigan008's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jabi8236
1 review
Aug 2016
We just took a cab and drove there to hike and walk around! So beautiful, definitely recommend. Get there early to beat the crowds!
Read jabi8236's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Beanhead62
1 review
Aug 2016
Don't miss Mendenhall Glacier, but add Whale Watching to your excursion.
Read Beanhead62's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image emailbansal
1 review
Aug 2016
Rent a car and go do the Mendenhall Glacier/Hatchery/Tramway and Walk the Downtown
Read emailbansal's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image mmousai
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Great views. Spend at least 2 hours and walk the trail to the waterfall.
Read mmousai's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours
Member Image saltydoc40
1 review
Aug 2016
Park facility had good site to view glacier and had Ranger talks and many informative displays.
Read saltydoc40's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image msidescooter
3 reviews
Aug 2016
This would have been great had the excursion allowed for more than 45 minutes at the glacier. We would have liked to take the short 1 mile hike but the tour guide told us that we wouldn't have time and we'd miss the bus to the salmon bake.
Read msidescooter's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image isewnsew@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
We took the Mendenhall Glacier excursion in the morning and loved it. While there we were able to see two black bears up close and personal, fishing in the river for spawning salmon. We were standing within 20 feet of them, on the bridge above, and it was fascinating.
Read isewnsew@gmail.com's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image westwindies
1 review
Jul 2016
Delightful sight
Read westwindies's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lynnmarv1
5 reviews
Jul 2016
Short bus ride from town, saw lots of eagles. Facilities at Mendenhall are beautiful. Loved the short trails.
Read lynnmarv1's full American Spirit cruise review
Provider: American Cruise Lines
Member Image mhwhidbey
1 review
Jul 2016
Nice little Juneau information snippets from driver as we went through town on our way out to the glacier. Saw a bear in a creek, very close to a "Bear crossing" sign. Glacier and hatchery were both quite interesting.
Read mhwhidbey's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image goblualum
1 review
Jul 2016
Being AZ people, we were so cold! We had already done whale watching before hand so we were tired too. We did not go in the visitor center but watched the salmon and a bear came right under the elevated walkway chasing salmon.
Read goblualum's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Glacier tours?
Member Image DayStar
1 review
Jul 2016
Wish we had more than an hour so we could walk to the falls
Read DayStar's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gardengirls12020
1 review
Jul 2016
This was a very beautiful glacier. Although if you are unable to hike, it is a long time at this site with not a lot to do. There is a short movie and some nice exhibits though. The scenery is beautiful.
Read Gardengirls12020's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jrwelle
1 review
Jul 2016
Booked this last minute. Enjoyed a scenic bus ride, the glacier and falls were beautiful. As well as the botanical gardens. Good for older cruisers.
Read jrwelle's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image katmoran77
1 review
Jul 2016
Easy transportation, excellent driver/guide
Read katmoran77's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image renata18
1 review
Jul 2016
We did this on our own. There are kiosks where you can get shuttle tickets to the glacier. The public bus is less costly, but the ride is twice as long and not as dependable as the shuttle. The driver was terrific and gave us a great overview of Juneau.
Read renata18's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Narniaman
1 review
Jul 2016
Must do while in Juneau
Read Narniaman's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?