Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mendenhall Glacier is easy accessible from Juneau and one fo the most popular attractions among cruise travelers. This magnificent glacier measures 12 miles long!
Member Image illbcnu
1 review
May 2016
The glacier was amazing. Tour guide could have known more about the area.
Read illbcnu's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Gatorjw
1 review
May 2016
The excursion tour group kept us out in the rain waiting on a bus to arrive for 30 minutes and then we had to wait for a bus that broke down while trying to get on the boat for whale watching seriously cutting into our time to see and do thing. We did not get to see Juneau.
Read Gatorjw's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image subtlefantasy
4 reviews
May 2016
We bought tickets for $30 each. This gave us unlimited time at the site. We were not rushed. We walked the trails and spent some time staring at the glacier. We did not go in the visitor center. It looked very crowded. The buses come every 20 minutes, so you just show up at the bus stop and show your ticket. The drivers give good info about Juneau along the way.
Read subtlefantasy's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Blue bus express
Member Image My32Shamrocks
1 review
May 2016
Very beautiful scenery!
Read My32Shamrocks's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CyndiSue
1 review
May 2016
Awesome to see the glacier and waterfall, and saw plenty of whales and bald eagles, but hated the crowded, large bus load of people for the trip to see it all. Also did not have time to stop in Juneau to walk around or shop.
Read CyndiSue's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Slwright
1 review
Sep 2015
Was good value for the amount we spent. A little more time at the glacier would have been nice as we walked into the glacier which took most of our time so did not leave us enough time to really see the movie in the observation area. It was a really nice day so we wanted to be outside, I guess if it were raining the observation tower would be of more value.
Read Slwright's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DACzuhause
1 review
Sep 2015
The glacier itself was a bit disappointing. Also, we were also unable to do any real hiking. The Nugget Falls trail was closed due to flooding and others due to bear activity.
Read DACzuhause's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: blue bus transport
Member Image gmarks6870@yahoo.com
1 review
Sep 2015
The trip to the glacier was really nice and i saw something that i had never seen before. That was followed by a whale watching tour which turned out to be awesome. We saw a large amount of whales and had lots of opportunities to get pictures.
Read gmarks6870@yahoo.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Carollee71
1 review
Sep 2015
Great views! Save time to walk to the waterfall if you can!
Read Carollee71's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sherrieg
1 review
Aug 2015
Loved the hike to nugget falls, however glad we didn't do the visitor centre first because it wouldn't have been enough time. The salmon bake was great but because of a Problem with their firing of the salmon the line ups were incredible. Overall it was good.
Read sherrieg's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Skipjo
1 review
Aug 2015
Needs to have more time at the Glacier. It was 2 hours there but to walk out to the waterfall was about 45 minutes each way and with walking issues I would have needed more time to do that and see all of visitor center
Read Skipjo's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tericalhoun
1 review
Aug 2015
We took a bus trip to a rainforest with a short hike, and then he took us to Mendenhall Glacier where we did some more hiking to see the waterfall as well as the snow covered mountain and beautiful glacier. This was a favorite excursion!
Read Tericalhoun's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JamesCA
1 review
Aug 2015
Beautiful place, grab a tour with just the glacier or you wont be able to hike to the waterfall and visit the center at the same time.
Read JamesCA's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HoustonMomof2
1 review
Aug 2015
The scenery is surreal. We had about an hour at the visitor center which is informative.
Read HoustonMomof2's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image MikeD4134
2 reviews
Aug 2015
We were met at the ship, and promptly transported to the glacier. Had about an 1 hour the wander around the area and facilities before the transportation to the whale watch boat arrived.
Read MikeD4134's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image IrishEyes1969
1 review
Aug 2015
It was interesting.
Read IrishEyes1969's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ontariocruiser2010
1 review
Aug 2015
Glacier was crazy busy!
Read ontariocruiser2010's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tuitionowed
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Great driver with lots of knowledge. Nugget Falls is a easy trail and a must see!
Read tuitionowed's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: MGT Tours
Member Image Off2seeAlaska
1 review
Aug 2015
We hiked 9 miles RT climbed the glacier with an ice axe and crampons to a huge crevasse and explored a stunning ice cave. AMAZING experience. The guide who started with us was perfect. She was giving us history and geology info as we went. Unfortunately, one of the guests hadn't realized what a strenuous hike it was and had to turn back and this lovely young lady took her. The guy we were left with was sort of your typical late 20 something outdoors-man. Lots to say about himself and his mad skills and not much else. Still one of he best experiences we had on our trip :)
Read Off2seeAlaska's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Juneau Adventure Tours
Member Image golden6911
1 review
Aug 2015
This was the first part of a combo tour. The glacier was truly impressive. There is a 20 minute hike out to the glacier on the nugget trail. We only had an hour at the glacier so we hiked out, hung out for 20 minutes then walked back. Another half hour might have been nice to see the visitors center a little better and watch the movie.
Read golden6911's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image deedee0814
1 review
Aug 2015
Mendenhall Glacier was beautiful. Book before the cruise, it will cost more on the cruise.
Read deedee0814's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Colleen and Steve
1 review
Aug 2015
Taking the Glacier Shuttle and using our National Park pass cost 50% of a booked tour and was very enjoyable plus we could stay as long as we wished to view the glacier, sockeye salmon and visitor center
Read Colleen and Steve's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Glacier Shuttle
Member Image RossandRebecca
1 review
Aug 2015
Take a leisurely walk to the waterfalls for a closer look at the glacier.
Read RossandRebecca's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dianaleeq
1 review
Aug 2015
The Mendenhall glacier and waterfall and museum were lovely.
Read dianaleeq's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sdfgsdfg
1 review
Aug 2015
The glacier was neat, but not that impressive.
Read sdfgsdfg's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.