Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mendenhall Glacier is easy accessible from Juneau and one fo the most popular attractions among cruise travelers. This magnificent glacier measures 12 miles long!
Member Image Slwright
1 review
Sep 2015
Was good value for the amount we spent. A little more time at the glacier would have been nice as we walked into the glacier which took most of our time so did not leave us enough time to really see the movie in the observation area. It was a really nice day so we wanted to be outside, I guess if it were raining the observation tower would be of more value.
Read Slwright's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DACzuhause
1 review
Sep 2015
The glacier itself was a bit disappointing. Also, we were also unable to do any real hiking. The Nugget Falls trail was closed due to flooding and others due to bear activity.
Read DACzuhause's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: blue bus transport
Member Image gmarks6870@yahoo.com
1 review
Sep 2015
The trip to the glacier was really nice and i saw something that i had never seen before. That was followed by a whale watching tour which turned out to be awesome. We saw a large amount of whales and had lots of opportunities to get pictures.
Read gmarks6870@yahoo.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Carollee71
1 review
Sep 2015
Great views! Save time to walk to the waterfall if you can!
Read Carollee71's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sherrieg
1 review
Aug 2015
Loved the hike to nugget falls, however glad we didn't do the visitor centre first because it wouldn't have been enough time. The salmon bake was great but because of a Problem with their firing of the salmon the line ups were incredible. Overall it was good.
Read sherrieg's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Skipjo
1 review
Aug 2015
Needs to have more time at the Glacier. It was 2 hours there but to walk out to the waterfall was about 45 minutes each way and with walking issues I would have needed more time to do that and see all of visitor center
Read Skipjo's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tericalhoun
1 review
Aug 2015
We took a bus trip to a rainforest with a short hike, and then he took us to Mendenhall Glacier where we did some more hiking to see the waterfall as well as the snow covered mountain and beautiful glacier. This was a favorite excursion!
Read Tericalhoun's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JamesCA
1 review
Aug 2015
Beautiful place, grab a tour with just the glacier or you wont be able to hike to the waterfall and visit the center at the same time.
Read JamesCA's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HoustonMomof2
1 review
Aug 2015
The scenery is surreal. We had about an hour at the visitor center which is informative.
Read HoustonMomof2's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image MikeD4134
1 review
Aug 2015
We were met at the ship, and promptly transported to the glacier. Had about an 1 hour the wander around the area and facilities before the transportation to the whale watch boat arrived.
Read MikeD4134's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image IrishEyes1969
1 review
Aug 2015
It was interesting.
Read IrishEyes1969's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ontariocruiser2010
1 review
Aug 2015
Glacier was crazy busy!
Read ontariocruiser2010's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tuitionowed
1 review
Aug 2015
Great driver with lots of knowledge. Nugget Falls is a easy trail and a must see!
Read tuitionowed's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: MGT Tours
Member Image Off2seeAlaska
1 review
Aug 2015
We hiked 9 miles RT climbed the glacier with an ice axe and crampons to a huge crevasse and explored a stunning ice cave. AMAZING experience. The guide who started with us was perfect. She was giving us history and geology info as we went. Unfortunately, one of the guests hadn't realized what a strenuous hike it was and had to turn back and this lovely young lady took her. The guy we were left with was sort of your typical late 20 something outdoors-man. Lots to say about himself and his mad skills and not much else. Still one of he best experiences we had on our trip :)
Read Off2seeAlaska's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Juneau Adventure Tours
Member Image golden6911
1 review
Aug 2015
This was the first part of a combo tour. The glacier was truly impressive. There is a 20 minute hike out to the glacier on the nugget trail. We only had an hour at the glacier so we hiked out, hung out for 20 minutes then walked back. Another half hour might have been nice to see the visitors center a little better and watch the movie.
Read golden6911's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image deedee0814
1 review
Aug 2015
Mendenhall Glacier was beautiful. Book before the cruise, it will cost more on the cruise.
Read deedee0814's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Colleen and Steve
1 review
Aug 2015
Taking the Glacier Shuttle and using our National Park pass cost 50% of a booked tour and was very enjoyable plus we could stay as long as we wished to view the glacier, sockeye salmon and visitor center
Read Colleen and Steve's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Glacier Shuttle
Member Image RossandRebecca
1 review
Aug 2015
Take a leisurely walk to the waterfalls for a closer look at the glacier.
Read RossandRebecca's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dianaleeq
1 review
Aug 2015
The Mendenhall glacier and waterfall and museum were lovely.
Read dianaleeq's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sdfgsdfg
1 review
Aug 2015
The glacier was neat, but not that impressive.
Read sdfgsdfg's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Ranger521
1 review
Aug 2015
Very simple to meet our guide, enjoyed seeing the bear and glacier.
Read Ranger521's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CharissaP
1 review
Aug 2015
Took a bus to the glacier. It was an expensive bus ride but I was happy to see the glacier. The best part was walking down to Nugget Falls. Beautiful!
Read CharissaP's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image clb5
1 review
Aug 2015
Did the canoe to Mendhall Glacier. It can be exhausting with all the paddling. But it was fun. However, there are no fish in glacial waters so there is limited shore-line wildlife other than birds. I would try the kayak for that.
Read clb5's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image philipcheng
1 review
Aug 2015
It was a good trip to see the glacier
Read philipcheng's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Alaska bucketlist
1 review
Aug 2015
Beautiful. Touched a 200 year old glacier and a piece broke off, my grandson had history for about 5 minutes
Read Alaska bucketlist's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.