Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mendenhall Glacier is easy accessible from Juneau and one fo the most popular attractions among cruise travelers. This magnificent glacier measures 12 miles long!
Member Image ktaylor8324
1 review
Sep 2016
Too much excess time after viewing the glacier and falls.
Read ktaylor8324's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image FamilyCruise4321
4 reviews
Sep 2016
Good view and education about glaciers and the area. Nice hiking. Some chances to see wildlife
Read FamilyCruise4321's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MrCrazyguitarlicks
1 review
Sep 2016
Up close glacier experience.
Read MrCrazyguitarlicks's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Surrey0
1 review
Sep 2016
Was good to see but walks not open
Read Surrey0's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SCMountaineer
3 reviews
Sep 2016
The Mendenhall glacier and falls were beautiful, and the park gave us a glimpse of a mama bear and her cubs.
Read SCMountaineer's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Debtarheelgirl
1 review
Sep 2016
Again most excellent and breathtaking - get your tickets from the booths at the ship dock and NOT on the cruise line - you will safe a bundle!
Read Debtarheelgirl's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Juneau sightseeing
Member Image 2freespirits
7 reviews
Sep 2016
JUNEAU (excursion) Juneau might be a very pleasant town on a summer’s day, but it was wet, misty and not very welcoming when we visited. We booked an excursion to the Mendenhall Glacier with an optional ride on a cable-car (mysteriously described as a ‘tram’). We enjoyed viewing the glacier, but we must warn other potential visitors that with 4 large ships discharging passengers intent on visiting the glacier on a rainy day, the Mendenhall Visitor Centre was overwhelmed. The visitor area itself was easy to navigate with paved paths and plenty of look-out spots, but the Centre was heaving with people. This was most noticeable at the washrooms, where the usual gender disparity was on display. Men could simply walk in and complete their ablutions while the ladies were shuffling uncomfortably in a line that snaked along the corridor and out into the foyer! TIP: ladies, if you intend to come here, forget that extra cup of tea/coffee for breakfast! We decided to give the cable-car a miss because it disappeared into the mist at the top of the mountain, and we reasoned that if we rode up to that height all we would see was a valley filled with cloud. TIP: we think Juneau might be more enjoyable earlier in the season.
Read 2freespirits's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image barb186
1 review
Sep 2016
We took a hike to the glacier which was just ok. The glacier is very far off in the distance. Then we took a boat out to try and see some whales. Saw a few going through the water but no tails or breaching. Did get to see some stellar sea lions up close and that was really cool.
Read barb186's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image weofthenevernever
1 review
Sep 2016
The description of the tour implied a much closer look at the glacier. Our tour also didn't take us to where it could best be viewed.
Read weofthenevernever's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Carnemom
2 reviews
Aug 2016
The guide, Keira, was outstanding. She knows her town and was able to give information about its history, culture all peppered with a wonderful sense of humor. The Mendenhall Glacier is beautiful and we felt near - but were not actually on the glacier. We also visited some gardens on the tour the couple that owns the gardens gave us lots of background on Alaska, the original inhabitants, the oil industry etc...
Read Carnemom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AG123456
1 review
Aug 2016
Whale watching & Hike was 1 excursion for 4-5 hrs. Hike to glacier uneventful, wish it had advised bug spray for hike to glacier at 4PM.
Read AG123456's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kazalcruise2
1 review
Aug 2016
The whale was was not so fun but was ok. The MendenhallGlacier was excellent walk around adventure
Read kazalcruise2's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Visitor.com
Member Image Looking4somethingspecial
1 review
Aug 2016
Not a lot to see. You hike up a mile and see a waterfall and the end of a glacier. The best part was watching a mama black bear with her three cubs catching salmon. We also saw a couple of porcupines up in the trees. I got a great picture of a bald eagle way up in a tree. Didn't go in the book shop building. Spent all our time waiting for mama bear to wake up. That was worth it.
Read Looking4somethingspecial's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image marymac11
1 review
Aug 2016
Hiked to Nugget Falls from the visitor center. Very scenic and encountered a porcupine on the way!
Read marymac11's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image PhillyHelene
1 review
Aug 2016
This is a beautiful park. Had about an hour to take the 2 mile round trip walk to the bottom of the waterfall with the glacier in the background. While this was fantastic next time I would take the helicopter tour to the top of a glacier and get out.
Read PhillyHelene's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image ban1104
1 review
Aug 2016
Beautiful. Found a path that was less traveled and really enjoyed that
Read ban1104's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image teenad
1 review
Aug 2016
Mendenhall Glacier was beautiful, and our driver Lynn was terrific. Wish we saw a bear but we didn't :(
Read teenad's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Djazzbro1
1 review
Aug 2016
Mendenhall Glacier Park was beautiful. We took the blue bus express which was great and runs on the half hour. The park was scenic and beautiful. We took the trail and saw Nugget Falls. awesome
Read Djazzbro1's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ca92111@hotmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
This Last Chance Tours was mostly a van trip to the Mendenhall Glacier visitor center lot and very little of the city except what you see on the drive there. The guide was a local resident so had stories of life in Juneau. The Mendenhall Glacier visitor center is a US Forest Service facility and the walks are fairly easy for most people. The 20 minute walk to the falls is easy for reasonably fit travelers but not appropriate for anyone with physical issues. We heard that a mama bear had her cubs at the salmon viewing bridge the day before. In the visitor center, the storyboards, exhibits, and short film in the center were very informative. They also have scopes set up to get close-up views of the glacier and the falls. The sights were great, although the tour was a little thin on information.
Read ca92111@hotmail.com's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Last Chance Tours
Member Image happygirlchocolate
1 review
Aug 2016
The glacier is gorgeous. One of highlights of our trip.
Read happygirlchocolate's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pegatha5
1 review
Aug 2016
Very beautiful. About a mile walk to the glacier and waterfall. Well worth the walk. Not a hard walk. Need at least a couple of hours. If you do a combo tour you will only get an hour here, not enough time. Book this as a separate excursion so you have time to explore.
Read Pegatha5's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cdskurat@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Loved it-- not enough time there
Read cdskurat@gmail.com's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rleefamily
1 review
Aug 2016
Very good!
Read rleefamily's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image GingeredMelodyTravles
1 review
Aug 2016
Expensive but worth it trip to walk on the glacier. Not terribly physically tasking or extremely cold.
Read GingeredMelodyTravles's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nocruise9
1 review
Aug 2016
Happened to have an adventurous boat captain. Great vista.
Read nocruise9's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?