Juneau Float Plane Excursion Reviews

Juneau Float Plane cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A float plane will provide you with some of the most exquisite views that Juneau has to offer. Some tours include a salmon feast at a quaint lodge.
Member Image first time cruiser 136
1 review
Jul 2016
We took the Taku Lodge Feast and 5 Glacier seaplane. This was fabulous. It was indescribably beautiful with a wonderful lunch of fresh salmon cooked outside on the open flame. We were also lucky enough to be visited by some black bears while we were there!!!
Read first time cruiser 136's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image trystran72
2 reviews
Jul 2016
THE BEST! Do not hesitate to see the Juneau ice fields this way. Best excursion of the trip!
Read trystran72's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image allimoor
1 review
Jul 2016
Awesome experience to see the glaciers and surrounding scenery. Highly recommended.
Read allimoor's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image VegasGirl1108
4 reviews
Jul 2016
What a fun ride!! We learned a lot from the narration and got a wonderful view of many glaciers and mountains! Great for adults and children (we took our 5 year old and she thought it was amazing!)
Read VegasGirl1108's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pittmansb
1 review
Jun 2016
Well done and tons of fun! Terrific lunch at Taku Lodge.
Read Pittmansb's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image California78
1 review
Jun 2016
Take the float plane over five beautiful glaciers and enjoy a delicious salmon bbq at the historic Taku Lodge. Black bears visit the lodge frequently; we saw two!! This is a must for the entire family!!
Read California78's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Oregonone
1 review
Jun 2016
Taku Glacier float plane and salmon bake and Taku Lodge. The scenery and food were excellent!
Read Oregonone's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image belkin58
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Well run operation, everyone has a window seat, spectacular view of mountains and glaciers.
Read belkin58's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chris92057
1 review
Jun 2016
The best trip on the plane and a grand family meal at the Taku Lodge. Buzz and April at the Lodge were great hosts in the dining room!
Read Chris92057's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cinesage
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Taku Lodge and 5 Glacier Tour
Read cinesage's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Happy Holidaymaker
1 review
Jun 2016
The float plane over the Glaciers was expensive but you are only going to do it once well worth the cost.
Read Happy Holidaymaker's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image stevans106
1 review
May 2016
Excellent experience! The only excursion I would do all over again. Worth every cent and then some.
Read stevans106's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sw100177
1 review
May 2016
The glaciers are amazing!
Read sw100177's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CruiseDillz
1 review
May 2016
bring bug spray for Taku Lodge!
Read CruiseDillz's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mikethebus
1 review
May 2016
Too expensive
Read mikethebus's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image gigglz13
1 review
May 2016
Most amazing scenery. Love the seaplane. Felt very safe
Read gigglz13's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gfgramma
2 reviews
May 2016
Flying over 5 different glaciers was awesome! The tops of the glaciers are rugged and very beautiful with colors of white, grey, and blues. It was amazing to see how one began and ended and then another one started. The glacier fields are miles and miles long and just breathtaking!
Read gfgramma's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gino138
1 review
May 2016
We saw four glaciers from the air. We could hear comments all along from our headphones. Worth it
Read gino138's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Stephinjoe
1 review
Sep 2015
Taku Lodge Float Plane Tour - This is a must do. We flew to the Taku Lodge on a float plane and the rested on fresh caught salmon. Amazing!
Read Stephinjoe's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Debrajump
1 review
Aug 2015
This was by far the best excursion that we went on. The scenery from the plane was beautiful. The lunch at the lodge was awesome and the highlight of the trip was the bear that we saw at the lodge. I felt we were a little rushed while eating our lunch but another group was coming out so we had to finish up.
Read Debrajump's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Catlover54
9 reviews
Jul 2015
Scenic flight over Juneau ice fields and back. No landing at destination. Did this as helo trip was cancelled due to a broken chopper.
Read Catlover54's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Larry L
1 review
Jul 2015
Good aerial view of Juneau ice cap. Amazing to see ice cap so close to state capital. Our first time on float plane ride but it was very smooth, everyone had window seat, and most enjoyable.
Read Larry L's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image quiltingamy
1 review
Jul 2015
Views were awesome
Read quiltingamy's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sammie511
1 review
Jul 2015
We enjoyed the seaplane ride and able to see the Taku glacier and the lodge, as well as the salmon bake. My kids kids enjoyed the bear encounter around the lodge
Read sammie511's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SeeDream
1 review
Jun 2015
The plane ride was a bit bumpy, but it has amazing views. It lets yo see the size of the glaciers. The feast at Taku Lodge was delicious. While we were eating it was fun to watch the bear come and lick the salmon drippings out of the grill. After lunch another big bear climbed up in a tree to take a nap, gave some great photo opportunities. The trails around the lodge are easy walking and so beautiful.
Read SeeDream's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?