Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Float Plane Excursion Reviews

Juneau Float Plane cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A float plane will provide you with some of the most exquisite views that Juneau has to offer. Some tours include a salmon feast at a quaint lodge.
Member Image Stephinjoe
1 review
Sep 2015
Taku Lodge Float Plane Tour - This is a must do. We flew to the Taku Lodge on a float plane and the rested on fresh caught salmon. Amazing!
Read Stephinjoe's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Debrajump
1 review
Aug 2015
This was by far the best excursion that we went on. The scenery from the plane was beautiful. The lunch at the lodge was awesome and the highlight of the trip was the bear that we saw at the lodge. I felt we were a little rushed while eating our lunch but another group was coming out so we had to finish up.
Read Debrajump's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Catlover54
7 reviews
Jul 2015
Scenic flight over Juneau ice fields and back. No landing at destination. Did this as helo trip was cancelled due to a broken chopper.
Read Catlover54's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Larry L
1 review
Jul 2015
Good aerial view of Juneau ice cap. Amazing to see ice cap so close to state capital. Our first time on float plane ride but it was very smooth, everyone had window seat, and most enjoyable.
Read Larry L's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image quiltingamy
1 review
Jul 2015
Views were awesome
Read quiltingamy's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sammie511
1 review
Jul 2015
We enjoyed the seaplane ride and able to see the Taku glacier and the lodge, as well as the salmon bake. My kids kids enjoyed the bear encounter around the lodge
Read sammie511's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SeeDream
1 review
Jun 2015
The plane ride was a bit bumpy, but it has amazing views. It lets yo see the size of the glaciers. The feast at Taku Lodge was delicious. While we were eating it was fun to watch the bear come and lick the salmon drippings out of the grill. After lunch another big bear climbed up in a tree to take a nap, gave some great photo opportunities. The trails around the lodge are easy walking and so beautiful.
Read SeeDream's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image eyeheartniki
1 review
Jun 2015
the Taku Lodge floatplane trip is amazing and a MUST do!
Read eyeheartniki's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ErnieButah
1 review
Jun 2015
WinAir. Good planes and a very good pilot. Recommend highly
Read ErnieButah's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rhonda26
1 review
Jun 2015
Taku Lodge is a must in my eyes! The salmon bake brunch was excellent! ! The beauty I will never forget!! A must do!
Read rhonda26's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lespres
1 review
Jun 2015
The takeoff in the harbor was easy followed by a beautiful flight over the glaciers. The Taku lodge was perfect for dinner and the location is amazing.
Read lespres's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Chef Rob
1 review
May 2015
Taku lodge was wonderful, an unforgettable day.
Read Chef Rob's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lollywc
1 review
May 2015
This is great because I don't think you can truly get a view of the glaciers and ice fields from the ground. It's expensive but worth it. It went by fast.
Read lollywc's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Uk Wrinkly
1 review
May 2015
Five glaciers and a float plane experience. Wow! Had it not been for my stomach being left up in the air prior to lunch, I would also have been able to comment on that! Still more than a worthwhile trip. Just take the tablets, if you need them!!
Read Uk Wrinkly's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image et101
1 review
May 2015
It was amazing to see the glaciers and landscape from that angle. Food was amazing at Taku Lodge. Service was the best. Got to see 2 bears. Would do this excursion again in a flash. Was worth every penny I spent!
Read et101's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JessTX1207
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Took a seaplane to Taku Lodge. AMAZING! Planes took off from very close to the dock. Getting on was quick and easy. The sites were nothing like I've ever seen before. The lodge was adorable, food was second to none including salmon, there was a bear. Could not have asked for a better experience.

Read JessTX1207's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Tarheelmama
1 review
Aug 2013

Fabulous! Flew over 5 glaciers on the way to a lodge built in the 1920s. Staff prepared a delicious meal with grilled salmon. Hiked the area with a geologist. Encountered (from 50+ feet) a couple of black bears.

Read Tarheelmama's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image bandrich
2 reviews
Not Rated
Aug 2013

My husband and I agreed this was our favorite tour. Flying over the glaciers was a once in a lifetime experience. Our guides at the Lodge were graduate students, which were full of knowledge about the area and much unexpected understanding of the history and ecological significance of the area. The lunch was the best salmon (cedar planked) and fresh. Coming from Florida fresh fish or none is my rule and the lunch was all fresh down to the glacier ice that cooled the drinks. Only downside is that we could have spent more time exploring the area, but it is a business and the bottom line of money flow keeps this place open and the students studies possible.

Read bandrich's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sheyshey
1 review
Jul 2013

Spectacular views of glaciers and Juneau.

Read Sheyshey's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image KSpen
1 review
Jul 2013

My husband did the float plane to an island to look for bears. The whole trip was not very well planned, the other guests on the tour were very loud the whole time (if there was bear in the area, it would have left from all the noise) One of the guests could not walk, kept falling, out of breath. The tour guides took us to several places-we only stayed at each place a few minutes, not long enough to have a chance to see any bears. One of the guides was a 17 year old high school student- much to young to be leading this type of tour. Neither of the guides told us to talk quietly, walk quietly, etc. The only good part was the airplane flight. For $430- this was a complete waste of money!!!!! I would give this tour a negative number.

Read KSpen's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image gometros
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

We took the Taku Lodge Feast & 5-Glacier Seaplane Discovery tour and this was one of the highlights of our trip. My wife is a very nervous flyer, only getting back into it three years ago, so obviously there was some trepidation about taking a flight in a small plane. Our pilot was the Director of Operations and invited her to sit in the copilot seat, which helped ease any fears she might have. The plane itself was a 10-seater de Haviland and it handled like driving in a car. Every passenger got a window seat and the views were spectacular. You don't really appreciate the expanse of a glacier until you fly over it. We flew twenty minutes to the Taku Lodge, a quaint hunting lodge opposite the Taku Glacier. We were served a feast of wild salmon and other Alaskan delicacies that were just scrumptious. We spent an hour and a half at the lodge, allowing enough time to eat and explore the grounds. The return flight was equally spectacular.

Read gometros's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Wozzie29
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2013

The Five Glaciers flight is my personal highlight and the pilot was excellent.

Read Wozzie29's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kathleenwalsh
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013

this was the best trip ever! the float plane was awesome and Taku Lodge was a wilderness delight....the staff there was as good as the scenery and the food was great...even bought the cookbook.

Read kathleenwalsh's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bec_bec2012
1 review
Sep 2012
Our flight to the Taku lodge near Juneau was the ost amazing trip. The lodge was beautiful, we had a fantastic lunch and even saw some bears. Thoroughly recommend.
Read bec_bec2012's full Celebrity Century cruise review
Provider: Taku lodge flight and feast
Member Image Bradmajors
1 review
Sep 2012
Great excursion! Highly recommend even though it is not cheap. Awesome does not do this justice. This is where to spend your money if you can afford this. The tour operator ran a tight ship; and had safety awards in the office.
Read Bradmajors's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.